High in the rugged mountains of northern Guerrero State, the elegant city of Taxco de Alarcon was once an isolated Spanish stronghold. Today it is known for its mines producing rich, gleaming silver, and the generations of artisans who create some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ctatkin

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Taxco was an amazingly picturesque town. Wish we had more time to explore it, but I was happy to have spent the allotted lunch hour at the silver mine, as I bought some great pieces there. FYI when I was exploring historic Taxco on my own, I popped into one of the jewelry stores to compare their prices with the shop at the mine. The prices for comparable pieces were the same. In fact, I was able to negotiate a nice discount on the piece I bought at the silver mine, which actually made their price lower than the town's shop. All-in-all it was a very long day, but well worth the time and a great trip. If you go in December, the temperature is noticeably warmer in Taxco and Cuernavaca than in Mexico City, which for me was a plus. Mexico City's highs are only in the low 70's, whereas the temps in these two towns are in the 80's with abundant sunshine and plenty of fresh air. After returning to Mexico City that evening, I had one of the best meals I ever tasted at a restaurant frequented by locals near the Plaza de La Constitucion. It's called Café de Tacuba, and I highly recommend the beef tamale with tortilla soup and a beer the total bill was USD 10, including tip. It was the perfect cap to a perfect day. Happy travels.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

kedwards01 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great tour and great experience

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour guide, Miguel, couldn't have been kinder or more knowledgable about the cities and sites. I felt like I was traveling with a friend! Good stuff.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Eric K S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We did the five day tour and most of it was wonderful - especially the guides and the drivers. My only complaint - and it's a big one - is, there was too much time spent shopping. I have no problem with allowing 15 or 20 minutes here or there but I was very disappointed on the day we went to Taxco. We stopped outside of the city at a restaurant and silver shop. We had lunch and then we were given about an hour to buy silver. Fine. But that meant we had less than an hour in Taxco. My husband and I were very disappointed. If we hadn't already paid for the rest of the tour, we would not have continued. Again, the people and the service were great but it was supposed to be a tour, not a shopping trip.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Katharine D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I was disappointed in our Cuernavaca visit. I had been there several times in the past. And wanted to share it's beauty with my friends. This tour stopped at only the Cathedral. We did not see the beautiful neighborhoods of Cuernavaca. From what we saw...you would never guess...

Later realized that the time was needed for a longer stay in Taxco.

Taxco is a beautiful Colonial City. My friends were interested in shopping for silver...and i was interested in photographing the architecture and culture of the city. Do not miss Taxco. Take a look at You Tube videos and you will see how scenic it is.

Our guide was OK...not outstanding. He gave us the history of the churches in Cuernavaca and Taxco. He did his job.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

DERRICK W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Taxco is an amazing location. It was almost a UNESCO World Heritage site. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Jeff B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

With many of the tours, it is Church heavy, which I understand it is a big part of the history of Mexico. I am a Roman Catholic priest, so I understand seeing Churches. My big issue with this tour was that while in Cuernavaca we visited the old Church, we were down the road from the palace and house that Hernán Cortés built but did not go there. In Taxco, we went to a gift store of silver, learned about silver and then went for Lunch. We went to the Cathedral and only had 1/2 hour to explore Taxco. I also had to remind the tour guide that some english would be helpful.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Joanna B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful and magic places highly recommended for those that want to see a real Mexico. Our guide Jose was a real fun, good singer: and very informative.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

dlssports

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a great experience. We learned about the history, the culture, the religion, and the people of Mexico. We enjoyed the trip from start to finish.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

TIMOTHY JAMES C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent places to visit and tour company was high-quality

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Carlo d

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Trip started behind schedule. Good guide but there was not enough time to visit the sites. Also as usual too much time spent on visits to silver souvenir shops and other unrelated tourist traps

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

samgabe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my second time in Taxco, If one is only in Mexico for two or three days, this day-long trip should not be missed. A beautiful city high in the mountains.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Regine Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Francisco was a great guide and we adored the trip to Taxco and Cuernavaca.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Charles N

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Everything was great. Seriously. There is only one feedback I'd like to give the company: The driver of our van risked our lives on the highway by passing cars in areas where passing cars is not permitted. In fact, he was pulled over by the police once, and unfortunately, he simply gave the police officer a bribe and then continued risking our lives on the highway. Other than that, the excursion was great.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Michelle L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This is a tour where you spend 11 hours, mostly on the bus getting there and back.
We spent 30 min in Cuernacaca, clearly not long enough.
And yet when we arrive in Taxco, 45 minutes was spent in a shop trying to sell us silver. The so-called mine was a 2 minutes description in a fake room. I really did not appreciate that visit.
then we had lunch in Taxco and then a local guide took us to visit the cathedral, walking through the streets of Taxco. Again we had 45 minutes for shopping for silver. Really this should be stated in the description of the trip.
The guide was old and repeated the same personal stories, over and over. Not the quality expected from a guide. In addition, he called everyone Chicos, which was not very polite.
Overall, I was not impressed with this tour.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

caroline B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very beautiful cities ! Very good tour !

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Graeme R

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Enjoyable trip to a town set in the mountains. Was a little too long spent looking around the town could have left early afternooon so as to get back to the city before dark.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Cory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun and amazing

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Gary Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent tour. We highly recommend it, but it is a long day. Our guide, Scarlet, was exceptional and really looked after us in both places. We were the only English speakers in the group and she made certain we got al of the information, etc. we needed.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Cecilia C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful places...

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Santhi R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The guide's English was not the greatest and we only understand half of what she said. Nevertheless it was an enjoyable tour and the Mexican people on our bus were interesting and very friendly. We even belted out some karaoke on our way back! The traffic was horrible leaving Mexico City and we only got to Taxco at about 2pm. However our tour guide allowed us to stay in Taxco until 7pm and we got to watch the Easter Friday procession. Taxco was extremely beautiful and a must see.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Dennis B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Travelled in a car, guide/driver bilingual, traffic meant late return

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Central Mexico Tour: Teotihuacan Pyramids, Taxco, Cuernavaca and Puebla from Mexico City

Linda W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The tour of Cuernavaca consisted of a visit to the main church. The tour deviated because 3 of the 4 members of the tour wanted to visit Maximilian's house which turned out to be closed. The guide told us where it was and we went on our own. The Taxco portion began with a visit to a silver shop so that we could spend money. We bought. We then went on to the center of Taxco and visited the beautiful church and then went to a restaurant for lunch. The view from the balcony was great. Afterwards we were free to wander about on our own. My friend and I spent most of our time in the plaza fending off pleas to buy item after item. We had both a guide and driver. On the way out of Mexico City the guide gave us information and answered questions. Instead of Spanish as we had expected the guide spoke English because two Germans signed up the the tour in Spanish but could not understand very much of it. I wishe we had taken a Taxco only tour.

Doing what: Taxco and Cuernavaca from Mexico City

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message