Adelaide ATTRACTIONS See all

Kangaroo Island

Kangaroo Island is a bit of paradise off the coast of South Australia. 96 miles (155 km) in length with a population of just 4,400 people, it is an unspoiled haven for Australia's native birds and animals. Kangaroos and koalas abound, and on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gerald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If going to Kangaroo Island, definitely take the two day tour. We had Marc as a tour guide, and he was SUPERB! There is so much more to see and do on the 2 day tour compared to the one day tour. We stayed at the Aurora Ozone, which was right on the water we kept the door of our balcony door overlooking the water open to hear the waves at night and also allowed an extra hour of sleep. This has been the highlight of our trip to Australia, so far.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Tour from Adelaide

Wendy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip required an hour long bus trip to the ferry, a ferry ride, transfer to another bus, and then all over again back to our hotel and was worth every minute. The buses were comfortable and the hotel pickup was prompt. Every transfer and aspect of the day was expertly overseen by SeaLink. Our guide for the tour was knowledgeable as he had lived on Kangaroo Island for many years. We saw kangaroos, koalas, and seals. The National Park guide who led us to Seal Bay was informative and loved her job. The lunch provided was good, if not great, but satisfying. Kangaroo Island itself is beautiful and in a 24 day trip, this day was one of our highlights!

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Yveta S Schweiz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Sehr schöne Reise, wurden sogar in Glenelg abgeholt! Wie heisst die Insel? Kangaroo Island? Wir haben leider nur 4 Kängurus gesehen, dafür viele Koalas uns Seehunde.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Paul E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Although a very long day picked up from our hotel @ 6.20am and returned at 10.30pm, it was a very enjoyable day which was thoroughly enhanced by having a very knowledgeable and funny driver / guide in Garry. His ongoing commentary was brilliant and he made everyone feel most welcome on the island as he pointed out the island's highlights and inhabitants. The highlights tour only wet our appetite to return to Kangaroo Island for a more thorough visit which we will do in the near future. A highly recommended tour for anyone visiting Adelaide and South Australia

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Alvin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a very full day and long tour even though we returned to Adelaide by plane which I highly recommend. Kangaroo Island was wonderful and we saw a lot of wildlife. There is quite a bit of walking that would be strenuous for people with walking difficulty.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

MARK Z

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was an interesting day. With 3 choices of how to get to kangaroo island chose carefully. I did not. We flew out in the morning and took the ferry home at night. I would suggest just the opposite. At the end of the day you are tired and want to get to Adelaide as quickly as possible, a 45 minute ferry ride followed by a 90 minute bus ride does not fit the bill. If money's no object fly both ways. As for the tour we saw Kangaroos in the wild, we had a gourmet lunch in a secluded area. We went for a Koala walk. We went to a beach area to see sea lions, The day seemed to end a tad too soon. Terry our guide did a great job keeping things moving. Six in our group.

Doing what: Small-Group Kangaroo Island 4WD Tour from Adelaide

Mitche227

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Kangaroo Island is a really wonderful place to visit. Unlike any places we have visited before. Kangaroos run free. Seals swim and cavort in their own private pools Your tour includes a ferry ride to the island. Our guide on the island was a resident and she was very informative and proud of her home. We only took a day tour. Wish we could have stayed longer

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Sandy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour around Kangaroo Island, our guide Greg, who is a local, was very knowledgeable about the island and what it has to offer. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Ramesh S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Awful, Will never recommend trip to kangaroo island
Used Victor to book a day trip They left us in lurch when their ferries were cancelled for 2 consecutive days, I had to pay additional Aud 1,200 to get out of that island

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

josephineleesweehong

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Well organized tour with awesome tour guide, Jane. Simple but delicious lunch and breakfast. Enjoyed the best sights of the beautiful Kangaroo Island.
Adelaide Hotel pick up and drop off is a plus.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Adventure Tour from Adelaide

Juliet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful full and interesting full day
We chose to fly over in the morning rather than go by ferry. A little extra cost butt well worth it as it was a later start to the day. We were also able to spend time at the eucalyptus centre which is not possible if you start the day by ferry due to lack of time.
Our guide was excellent and the only disappointing aspect was the wildlife park where there was very little wildlife out during the day but did see 1 or 2 kangaroos
All in all we'd certainly recommend this day visit to Kangaroo Island

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was an awesome way to see some of the best sights that the beautiful Kangaroo Island has to offer. The tour was very well organized even with a large group of 30. The included lunches and breakfast were delicious and the accommodation at the hotel was great.

Doing what: 2-Day Kangaroo Island Tour from Adelaide

CHERYL L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is well worth it! Our guide was excellent! We loved kangaroo Island!

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Laurent L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, Stamford plaza is a great hotel. Kangaroo Island was a must, superb organization all the way around. Les our guide was lovely too! Amazing sights and sites, fantastic people. Ozone Hotel was nice too though the kitcen was awfully busy and service was long.
One note though, AAT, please leave the pick-up times at the hotels or send them through emails so we don't have to call, thank you!!!!!

Doing what: 5-Day Adelaide and Kangaroo Island Tour Including Barossa Valley Wine Tasting

Joanne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Kangaroo island was a disappointment. We did not see kangaroos!! Thankfully we saw them elsewhere. Our driver Dave was very knowledgable about the seals etc but the trip was a bit boring. Thankfully we took the plane back home.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Frank M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I've already sent a review, but never mind, here it goes again !!
We loved it.
The bus driver on the KI leg was very knowledgeable about the island. His commentary did not stop and he gave very detailed descriptions. He supplied us with drinking water as well.
The other bus drivers, one who picked us up and the other one who took us to our hotel were also very good. Their service was very courteous.
Overall, it made our visit to Kangaroo Island one of the most memorable day trips we've had in Australia.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Kelly L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a very busy day but definitely worth the trip! We saw so much wildlife including a pair of boxing kangaroos! I learnt alot about Kangaroo island and would definitely go back there!

We decided to opt for the bus and ferry there and then we flew back to Adelaide in the evening. It was really worth the money to fly home, we were dropped off at the airport 1 hour before the others even reached the ferry. We were flown back to Adelaide where a driver waited with our names on a board and then drove us back to our hotel, we were back by about 730-8pm, the others would not have reached thier hotel until around 1130pm.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Wendy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Well organised, informative tour. Coach driver on Kangaroo Island a very good driver. Loved being able to get so close to seals and scenery on coast awesome.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Alberto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Pick up was perfectly on time, the driver on the Island was also the guide. He was really well prepared and nice. Lunch was good, with various choices. We did the return cruise and it fits perfectly in a day, although we wish we could have more time on the beautiful Kangaroo Island.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great trip but a long day, very tiring. Guide on Kangaroo island brilliant. Saw some brilliant creatures. Well worth the mon ey.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Marc J

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A great way to see the highlights of Kangaroo Island if you only have one day. I only wish that I had more time to spend there!

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

aj

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Marvelous to meet the wild animals and spectacular scenery on Kangaroo Island. Fantastic wine tasting with fine dining in Barrosa Valley.

Doing what: 5-Day Adelaide and Kangaroo Island Tour Including Barossa Valley Wine Tasting

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you're hoping to see a kangaroo on your visit to Kangaroo Island, don't get your hopes up. That's the bad news. The good news is that you will probably see everything else that you expected to see and then some.
Great opportunity to view sea mammals on the beach and fantastic rock formations. Extremely knowledgeable tour guides/bus drivers. A challenging ferry ride over and back on the Backhand Passage.
A delicious and abundant buffet lunch on the island (no kangaroo on the menu however!). We did see some kangaroos hopping away from the road on the ride from Adelaide to the ferry.

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Ka Keung Cavin C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Both tour guides to the Barrosa and the Kangaroo Island are excellent, esp. Les. He is amazing and knowledgeable of the tour. He is really a great asset to your company.

Doing what: 5-Day Adelaide and Kangaroo Island Tour Including Barossa Valley Wine Tasting

guido.fischer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

a good tour. stressful as it begins early in the morning and finishes very late in the evening. but overall good. would do it again. had a great driver on Kangaroo Island with Marc

Doing what: Kangaroo Island in a Day Tour from Adelaide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message