Lovingly nicknamed the ‘soul of Provence’, the historic city of Arles is a key stop on the Santiago de Compostela pilgrim route and the gateway to the Camargue Natural Park, set on the banks of the Rhone River. One of the oldest cities in south ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DCGUY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Probably not people's first choice for a tour from Avignon, but if you have the time, I highly recommend this fun day away from the crowds. See the amazing salt ponds and learn how they retrieve and process the salt for various culinary and industrial purposes. Then on to two small villages--the quaint medieval town of Aigues-Mortes and the seaside town of Saintes-Maries-De-La-Mer. It was delightful to have just three of us on the tour and our guide Amelie was wonderful. Arles was the last stop and a tease, because we could have used so much more time there, but it was a great way to glimpse some of its highlights before returning for a full day. I was prepared, but didn't need, repellent for mosquitos in the Camargue, and was unprepared for the pleasant visit with the while horses of the area. All in all, a really nice day.

Doing what: Small-Group Arles, Camargue and Aigues-Mortes Day Trip from Avignon

Irini N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We appreciate the professionalism and friendliness of our tour guide and the half day trip was fun and memorable!

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Kathleen G M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour of St Remy and Arles was amazing! Violetta, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and had a lovely personality. She was quite happy to answer all of our many questions, and when we asked her at the last minute if we could change the order of our tour start in St Remy and end in Arles so that we could meet up with fellow travelers she was more than happy to accommodate our request. We are so happy that we signed up for this tour, instead of wasting precious time trying to find our way around. Definitely money well spent!

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: In the Footsteps of Van Gogh

Merle E V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very well done and informative.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Sandra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We learned so much history and loved seeing the scenery that inspired Van Gogh. It was a busy day that did not leave a lot of time to fully explore each town. But overall, well worth it.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Rachel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide. Thoroughly enjoyed the day, saw a lot of interesting things and learnt a lot. Very professional and friendly guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Arles, Camargue and Aigues-Mortes Day Trip from Avignon

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a transportation to Arles with local info on the way. We had plenty of time to explore Arles-Cedric was a great guide.

Doing what: Arles Passport with Transport from Aix-en-Provence

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Lots to see and very enjoyable. Good site choice. Friendly, upbeat tour guide, Violet.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Mary Jane B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Marc made our full day tour very personal with his knowledge and personality. He was very flexible in accommodating our interests. We enjoyed each of the towns: Arles, Les Baux-en-Provence and St Remy and he provided us with fascinating information about the importance of each. There were only four of us on this tour, which permitted a most enjoyable time. At each stop, Marc gave us information, then let us explore on our own during very reasonable timeframes.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Tracey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a memorable day trip, covering many places I could not have done myself. Our guide Violette was knowledgeable and helpful, showing several points with handheld illustrations.
I would recommend this trip, especially from September onward as public transport to Les Baux stops.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Olga B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and discussed any topic the group brought up. We learned all about the Roman ruins that are kept in great condition.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Even though it was so hot I had a great day. Guide, Amelie, was a joy

Doing what: Small-Group Arles, Camargue and Aigues-Mortes Day Trip from Avignon

Argiroula V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great! Lea was a fantastic guide. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour including Roman ruins in Orange and Arles, and the unique hill top city of Les Baux. Enough free time to roam about and take in all the history.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Raymond H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We found the town of Arles to be especially interesting because of its Roman ruins as well as the spots frequented by Van Gogh. Our guide Nicolas pointed out many highlights and was full of information. We enjoyed the colorful bright yellow cafe which was the subject of Van Gogh's painting, and also the lovely courtyard of flowers at the place he stayed to restore his health. Town square has noteworthy church and fountain.

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

susanmayfield

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour for experiencing both the Roman sites and learning about Van Gogh. Melanie was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide. If you only have a short time in Provence, this tour maximizes use of your time. Each stop was definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Alice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Renaud was a wonderful driver and guide, going out of his way to point out the best features of Arles prior to taking us to our drop off point. He was prompt, courteous, and kind. An amazing afternoon in Arles.

Doing what: Arles Passport with Transport from Aix-en-Provence

Stuart E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour gave an excellent overview of the Provence region, and every town we stopped at had something different and special to offer, and our tour leader provided an excellent and informed commentary. All three key aspects of the tour were very enjoyable and time was available for us to enjoy the features of each, e.g. the Arles market, the Roman amphitheatre in Orange and the beautiful village of Les Baux de Provence.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Jenny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

it's very good!!!!!!!! i enjoyed a lot! I wish i could have more time to do the one day trip!!

Doing what: Van Gogh in Provence Small-Group Day Trip

Donna H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A beautiful tour. Very informative and poignant.

Doing what: Private Provence Tour: In the Footsteps of Van Gogh

Rhonda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip to Arles, Les Baux and St Remy. Arles has a rich Roman history as well as being a city that inspired Van Gogh (café and gardens) - all pointed out with great knowledge by our guide Florence. We were also lucky that there was a small exhibit of original Van Gogh on display in Arles.The second stop was Les Baux- a beautiful small village in the Alpilles (little alps). Florence took us to lookout point over the city that was breathtaking. We had free time to walk around the village and do some shopping! The last stop was St Remy. Our guide pointed out the mountain just outside St Remy that inspired Van Gogh. Also just outside the town is the sanatorium that Van Gogh stayed and where he painted a great deal of art. You can choose to visit or go direct to St Remy. The town of St Remy is not as interesting as Les Baux; however, there were many local artisans and we bought a painting there. Overall a very pleasant day!

Doing what: Provence Day Trip from Aix-en-Provence: On the Trail of Van Gogh

Basilios K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fantastic experience. Our tour guide picked us up exactly at the time we were told. Selene was extremely professional yet very friendly and accomodating. She was very versed on the subject matter and answered all of our questions. Our day could not have turned out better. Lastly, after we left the vineyard where the wine tasting took place (probably half way back to our apt.) my husband realized that he had left his jacket with his camera behind. With the consent of the other person on our tour the guide called the vineyard to make sure that someone was still there and returned to pick up my husband's stuff. I think that she certainly went out of her way to accommodate us. Again, I would recommend Viator to friends and family based on several experiences of using their services from tours to pick up service to the airport. We will continue to use Viator in the future without hesitation.

Doing what: Orange, Les Baux de Provence and Arles Small Group Day Trip

Yogesh J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic tour! It takes you to many wonderful and exciting places that are not as well known as the coastal towns. To spend time in the area where Van Gogh painted many of his famous paintings, wander through Roman theaters and ruins, walk through castles and enjoy fabulous vistas makes this a very memorable excursion. The guide, Gail, though somewhat inexperienced, made up by being very helpful, enthusiastic and pleasant. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Arles, Les Baux and Saint Remy de Provence from Marseille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message