The heart and soul of the Vieil Aix (Old Town) the historic Cours Mirabeau is the main thoroughfare of Aix en Provence, passing between the ring roads that mark the boundaries of the old medieval center and the new town. A broad tree-lined avenue ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Graham K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide Fred was great, Aix-en-Provence was great, Cassis was great. The boat trip to see some of the Calanques was not so great, but was only 45 minutes of the day. The views from above Cassis were spectacular!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Catherine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was custom-tailored to our interests and our guide was a delight.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Avignon

Monica N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Cedric was a very fun tour guide! Our favorite part was Cassis. What a magical little spot! So glad we did this tour. I could have done without the boat ride from Cassis because I would have loved more time to explore the town. Both my husband and I were very glad that we booked this tour. Do it! You won't regret it!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Nora C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mathew was great! We were the only 2 people in this tour all morning, and then picked up an additional 4 for the afternoon. What a great day. I would highly recommend this is you want to see Aix-en-Provence and Cassis. Cassis is a small town on the mediterranean . The short boat ride was great too. Thank you

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Kathleen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A perfect introduction to our stay in Marseille. Aix-en-Provence and Cassis are must-see locations as well as Les Calanges. Violette was an excellent tour guide and we very much enjoyed our time with her and all of the information she had to share with us!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Bidita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was great with Melanie and Emilie as our tour guides! We were just a group of three as this is not the busiest time of year. Melanie and Emilie explained everything thoroughly as we traveled through Aix-en-Provence, Cassis, and the heart of Marseille. Melanie and Emilie took us to the highest sea cliff in Cassis, which provided breathtaking views! We also took a small boat to see the three calanques of Cassis. In Marseille, we visited the Notre-Dame de la Garde, which also provided for spectacular views over Marseille. Melanie and Emilie made the experience so easy and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this tour as it is a comprehensive way to visit this area if you are visiting!

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Daniel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It's most suitable for those shortly visit Marseille. A must see ! The guide Anne Engel was great. Knowledgeable, nice, accurate and efficient ! We had a very good time.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Cedric was an excellent guide. He was friendly and made all participants comfortable. The tour was well organized and well-paced.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

signe s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip did a fine job of covering a LOT of area in the time allotted. The time in Aix was brief, but we understand that it had to be because of all that was on our agenda that day. Our guide DID drive us to Cezanne's studio, which we were all keen to visit, and which was not on our schedule. The Marseille churches were interesting, and their sites offered up wonderful sights of Marseille. On the way to Cassis, we had the thrill of being driven to the top of some monumental cliffs towering over the Cassis area, and being able to get outstanding views of the villages and boats out on the Mediterranean far below us. The boat ride to visit the Calanques was a wonderful opportunity to learn about the geology, savor the scenery, be the recipient of cooling sea breezes, and SIT DOWN and RELAX. Cassis was charming and hopping. When we returned to our morning's pick up point in Marseille, our guide offered to drive us back to our hotel near the airport since it was her way back to her home in Avignon, and after learning we had had to pay 70 euros for our cab ride to the Vieux Port that morning. One suggestion: It would have been nice to have been encouraged to have something substantial to eat in Aix, because we had no opportunity to buy anything to eat OR drink from the time we left there until we arrived in Cassis in the late afternoon.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Bruce A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a well paced but long day tour. We visited the markets at Aix and also found Cassis to be such a hidden treasure. Unfortunately but he boat tour was canceled due to wind so be wary of that happening. Rink, our guide was great.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Denise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Great Guide and Driver ....... She was very good at her Job

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Marseille

EDWARD H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Our guide, under a difficult situation, accident on freeway which cause hour + delays, adapted and made up for all the sights we wanted to see. She was extremely knowledgeable with all aspects of French life. We really appreciated her guidence.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Marseille

Penelope S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The trip meant we had good idea of the sights. This helped us decide what we wanted to do during our stay. Our guide was very good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Marseille

MARIELLA o

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide Sedrique, was extremely informative.
He knew all the historical events of the area.
Good value. Would recommend to others.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Dava F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed visiting several locations in one tour. Our guide, Cedric, was very friendly, animated, and full of knowledge. We give him 5 stars. The basilica is very high with steep incline, so we appreciated the drive up. A lovely view! Aix is a beautiful, but did not find the Paul Cezanne studio.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Joni H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Guide was late due to some communication problem as explained by her so we had a late start. The cruise (to see the calanques) was ok shorter than the version if you are to take from marseille itself. However you will get to see and enjoy Cassis better in this tour. Cassis is a nice little town and i felt that we did not have enough time to really explore this town esp if u want to catch some lunch. I spent some time looking for a public toilet, sigh..

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Yanna Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Marjelene is very good and thoroughly enjoyed esp to the not so common sights around Marseille.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Alice Shiqing H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Dinner and live music were good. However, the cruise was not as good as we expected because the illumination of the night in Paris was very disappointed. In addition, we did not get chance to the deck to take picture. I would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Michael D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The cruise was more like a Gilligan's Island cruise - tiny boat and we all got drenched.

Doing what: Provence Small-Group Sightseeing Tour: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and Cassis

Harold M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Driver guide drove us to Aix and dropped us after a short walk, generally telling us where to go and met us later after lunch at a pre-designated point for our return to Marseille. Did not mention Cezanne or his workshop. Tour of Marseille later, was a quick ride through some of the city concluding with a visit to Notre Dame on our own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Marseille City Sightseeing and Aix-en-Provence Day Trip from Marseille

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message