Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Questions?

Call (888) 651-9785

ATTRACTIONS See all

Akaroa Cruise Port

Akaroa Cruise Port Akaroa is a historic French and British settlement not far from Christchurch on New Zealand’s South Island. Set on a long harbor and surrounded by volcanic hills, Akaroa’s French influence is still evident today. With a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Domenick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent excursion, the boat was comfortable, we cruised the entire harbor and saw Hectors dolphins very rare, seals, varied sea
birds. The captain was knowledgeable and gave a good history of the area and the natural rock formations. The fact it was a cloudless day helped too.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour ! Really saw a lot of the beautiful countryside on the way into Christchurch. Tour guide did a great job taking us to the various places in Christchurch and explaining areas in depth - with a wide knowledge and deep feeling for the area

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Margaret S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

6 of us did this trip and our driver was great. We also enjoyed the Antarctic exhibition . It was great to see Christchurch rebuilding but it still had beautiful flowers and plenty to offer. We were extremely sad to hear of the bush fires and the death of such a brave helicopter pilot. Would recommend this to any one visiting New Zealand. My apologies for forgetting driver's name have had a senior moment once again Marg from Brisbane

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

bertramfl United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour with a wonderful guide.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

Joseph B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Small van with about 12 passengers. Driver answered our questions and very pleasant to travel with.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

Yves A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour is very comprehensive, the tour host Dave was absolutely brillant, explaining everything in minute details, I would recommend this tour to anyone that is seeking well informed narration and knowledgeable descriptions of places and events.
Dave you were impecable and you won our friendship.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

sukhanna5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Thr tour was informative. The driver was knowledgable. Only problem was the weather. Due to the level of the river we had to change our day. There was a cold spell so summer in New Zealand was cold and raining. Had to change the Jet Boat trip to a trip to the Antarctic Center which was great. We got a back door tour of the center from a very helpful quide. The day was a little rushed due to changes in our cruise ship times and seemed a little chaotic initially when we got to the meeting spot. We got the change in cost back during the day as the Antarctic center was less expensive. Sorry the weather and the river were not cooperative. Would recommend the Antarctic Center. Know nothing about it until be got there. Did not even think about being close to the Antarctic in New Zealand.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

Elizabeth T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed this cruise immensely. The commentary was excellent, saw dolphins, many birds, all types, was told what they were etc. but the most exciting part for me was that we went in close and saw baby seals with their mums crawling over the rocks 'crying'. It was so loud I took a video and you can clearly hear them. You don't often see that, especially in the wild, it was very exciting for all.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Akaroa Harbour Nature Cruise

Carol M. V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Knowledgeable guide about the damage of recent quakes near his home and in Christchurch, and also knowledgeable about the efforts to repair damage. Had lunch at Re-Start Mall - a quick rebuild by way of shipping containers made into cafes, shops, etc. We ate at one - what an interesting adventure!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Kymberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour, great sites, Antarctica center was fantastic, guide was very knowledgeable on sites in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

very nice tour guide, gave us lots of information and able to answer our questions. Trip to Christchurch was good and had time to explore and then he showed us around Christchurch and explained about the earthquake 6 years ago and the building process etc - all very interesting.
Due to the fact we had to get back to our cruise ship, it unfortunately did not allow us enough time to explore Akaroa - have to come back!

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

stepres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip is fantastic! We had been before and knew that our 11 year old grandson would love it. He did --- definitely his favorite excursion during our 17 day cruise. Christchurch was interesting more from the perspective of the damaging earthquake that it 6 years ago --- so much of the city has yet to be re-built. But the International Antarctic Research Center is the BEST part of the tour. From riding in the Hagglund, to the penguin exhibit they were molting, to donning a parka and standing in an Antarctic blizzard, to viewing the 4-D movie plan to sit in the front row---it's all terrific. Of all the excursions we have been on around the world this rates in the top 5. It's a MUST.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this excursion. The ride to Christchurch from Akaroa is spectacular and the city tour of Christchurch was really interesting. There is still much construction going on and still more demolition needed. The reconstruction appears to be extremely well planned. The building and architecture are beautiful. We are just sorry that we didn't have several days to spend in this beautiful city. We equally enjoyed the Internstional Antarctic Center. We would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a full day tour. The drive to and from Christchurch was worth it with spectacular views. The Antarctic Center was really amazing - do not miss it, and the ride on the Haggelund vehicle memorable. The tour of Christchurch was quite detailed. We are till talking about the memorial white chairs in the city, 1 for each person who died in the earth quake. We highly recommend this trip that was very enjoyable and quite informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

brendangregory

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best Tour of the Trip to New Zealand......an absolute must do......Super flexible operator due to slow disembaration from the cruise operator.....but this tour operator went above and beyond to make sure that we had a wonderful day......very professional and would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended! The trip from Akaroa which was a very pretty seaside village, worth investigating on its own to Christchurch was about an hour over the top of a volcanic rim and very pretty, while the Christchurch City Tour was very interesting and showed the determination and resourcefulness of the city in rebuilding after the massive earthquake almost six years ago. An absolute highlight was the International Antarctic Centre with a ride in a Haglund snow mobile and the 4D movie experience, together with the snow experience room and a close encounter with the penguins. Both the coach driver and the Antarctic Centre guide were very informative and a credit to the tourism industry on NZ. We loved it.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Sandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on this tour - the Antarctic Centre was one of the highlights of our entire trip, our kids loved it. We had a fantastic tour guide who was extremely informative - he gave a running commentary for the whole trip which was really interesting. We had a short tour around the earthquake affected areas of Christchurch, and then on to the Antarctic Centre. The reenactment of an Antarctic blizzard was very fun but very cold!!.

Just a word of warning - It's a 1.5 bus trip from Akaroa to Christchurch along very windy roads. If you suffer from motion sickness, you should definitely take medicine before the trip, make sure you sit towards the front and bring a sick bag in case you throw up on the trip as happened on our tour!.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

philip c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic small new comfortable bus. Graeme the driver gave excellent commentary views sensational . We were able to see and learn all about the quake and rebuilding progress. We were were however astonished at the tram fare.... But it was also a lovely way to see around the town. Recommended!!! Return via the main port was also an eye opener. John from Ballarat Victoria

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good tour, but a little bit more time in Christchurch would help.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Matthew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great local tour guide. Really nice lunch stop down beside the Avon. Knowledgeable guide who really enjoyed sharing his understanding of the local history.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

ron.wright2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Guide was excellent and took at the scenic route with some magnificant views. Shocked at still how damaged the city was and felt for the residents who were trying to restore it to its former glory. Really good trip on the tram.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Christchurch Highlights City Tour

marysuen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to the International Antarctic Centre was terrific. We were pleased to go to Christchurch but felt so much for the people who suffered the earthquake 5 years ago. Would have loved more time in Botanical Gardens and Museum.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

CHRISTOPHER J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a brilliant day! All organisation was excellent but the highlight of the trip was the Antarctic Centre.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message