Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 301 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an interesting and fun tour. Our guide was Art, he was full of interesting information and very funny. There were only 3 of us on the trip so Art allowed us to decide which sights to visit. Pioneer Park was a highlight. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

John T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a highlight of our Alaska visit. Our driver was Nick, after a little trouble getting his microphone to work he told us loads of interesting stories. The roads are pretty rough in places but we knew that in advance so were expecting it. We had comfort breaks at Hilltop and Yukon River. We were well catered for - a snack bag when we boarded the van and a delicious stew at the Arctic Circle, Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Alyssa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took this tour in July of 2016, on our own when our cruise ship docked in Juneau. We met our tour guide, Tom, and immediately knew that it was going to be a great trip! Tom was the best, he had an amazing personality and was pretty funny! Definitely, ask for Tom! The glacier was amazing! I wish that we would have had a little longer there, but given the overcast weather we walked around the path and visitor center pretty quick and still had some time to explore outside. It was a little wet, so the one path was closed. However, we still got some great pictures. The tramway was great! It was a cool view to see the town and the cruise ships from. At the restaurant, we had the clam chowder and salmon dinner. We paid extra for the crab nachos, the food was pretty good!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Doug C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw humpback whales bubble feeding which was amazing! The Captain and the girl on the boat talking to the group were both very good. Great excursion!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Wai Man Nancy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very responsive to the last minute changes in road condition and made very appropriate alternative arrangement. Staffs were very helpful and courteous.

Doing what: Anchorage Shore Excursion: Pre-Cruise Transfer and Tour from Anchorage to Seward

DForest12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour. We saw a great number of whale sightings. We even got to see a bubble net feeding which is not very common. The glacier was amazing. The only small complaint was that the speaker system in the bus could use an upgrade

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Heather K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour, very professional and organized. Whale watching was amazing and highlight of our cruise! We will definitely do again!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Lawrence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great fun and crew was very helpful. Saw many whales

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

DALE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was interesting and informative, it was well planned, amount of time was appropriate, Tram ride a good addition for other views not available otherwise, dinner was good.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great way to spend our limited time in Juneau. We probably saw 25-30 whales, including both Humpback and Orcas! Apparently the Orca's were a rare siting so we were happy to have had perfect timing. We even saw some sea lions sunning themselves on a buoy! There was both inside and outside viewing on a smaller boat and snack mid way through the trip bagel and drinks. The second part of the trip was to Menenhall Glacier. We had enough time to hike down to the waterfall to get closer to the glacier and take some photos. There was a salmon walk too but since time was limited, we only walked a bit on that path. Enough to see the salmon in the creek and a porcupine in a tree. We missed a bear by minutes according to some others on our tour which was our only disappointment. I would have liked to spend a bit longer 30 minutes maybe here because we felt rushed but that was our cruises fault not the tour. We only had limited time. Next time I guess.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whale watching part of the tour was fantastic. Not only did we get to see a pod of Orcas very close up, we actually had a humpback whale swim directly under our boat! Our tour guide said that was the first time she had ever seen that happen. What an experience. Because of all the whale activity out on the water, the tour spent extra time there, so our time at the glacier was cut a little short. I didn't mind at all though, seeing so many whales so close up was well worth it.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Donald B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Awesome day, even though it was overcast, there were plenty of whales and lots of activities. The captain was active in locating the whales and the Mendenhall Glacier was interesting.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Dave F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide a 5. Overall a 4.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Mary T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Mendenhall Glacier is breathtaking. Unfortunately, we did not have a lot of time to enjoy it. By the time we walked to the glacier and back very quickly, I might add, there was not even enough time to see the videos at the Visitor Center. The whale watching was great. Our guide made a great effort so that we could see the whales. However, when 12 boats are standing around watching one whale, it is a little sad. I hope the whales don't mind the groups that had formed to watch them in their natural habitat.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

doctorpuneetmisra

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Tour was good. It is a small van tour, so viewing opportunity are not so good specially if someone on front seat remains tilted towards driver all the time, blocking view even from front , which happened to me.
Driver Mike was very good in narrating the entire tour and tell about Alaska however he never realized that his continuously paying attention to only one front passenger who remain tilted towards him all the journey caused great inconvenience to everyone else in back and they lost good viewing and photo opportunity despite being paid same amount as everyone else. I paid for three seats for my family for not so great views on the way due to reason mentioned above.
They offered food which was included in price along with hotel pick up and drop off.
I think it is better to take vehicle with large windows for good view as it is once a lifetime visit for most of visitors.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Debbie F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

It was a rainy day and because of that, lack of enough time in port, and waiting in line for buses prevented us from doing the Tramway and Salmon lunch since we had to get back on the ship....Didn't think things were very well organized, we were kind of on our own changing from one activity to another.....changing transportation, etc...Plus the fact that it wasn't a nice day, just made the whole experience seem like a waste of time.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Brian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was Dave, He is very knowledgeable, told us many his story, Dalton high way and Trans-Alaska pipeline system, I am very impressed when he said the pipe were bought from China.
Dave also very take care customers. The scenery was really beautiful. I will come back to see northern light someday.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Russa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. They picked us up on time and the bus driver gave great info on way to glacier. We were able to hike to the beach and falls. Whale watching was great. The boat was really nice. Captain Ken and Ashley were informative and excited. Saw lots of whales and wildlife

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. John and Troy were superb. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Janice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our tour. Easy access from the ship and we saw several whales. Then we went on to the glacier and was returned to the ship in plenty of time to board.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

JAY C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour, especially whale watching. One of our favorite Alaskan excursions.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Eksath S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Abba United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a great tour, the boat is very fast and comfortable, there are snacks and drinks being served by the tour guide, the boat is not crowded and very comfortable, great value for the money.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Kathy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the excurion very much. The two guides were fun and helpful...my husband has a disability and they could not have been more helpful!
Would recommend this tour in a heart beat!.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message