Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DAVID M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely an amazing trip. Our guide was the most informative guide , we have ever had. He was so knowledgeable in almost every topic. Would highly recommend! Even had a snowball fight at the artic circle.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent in all respects!a

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Angela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Although it's hours and hours of being in a car, our guide, Dave 1 or Dave Schmitz, made it worth the while.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

goober

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour, I enjoyed the animals at the Conservation Center, the tour guide was very knowledgable, and interested in what we had to say, and answered all our questions. I would definietly recommend this tour, and the price was awesome as well.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm and Alaska Wildlife Tour from Anchorage

Felino L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very interesting and informative.It was raining on and off along the way and it was muddy and bumpy but we enjoy it.Once your surrounded with nature you'll forget the dust ,mud,rain enjoy the freshness of the forest high on the mountain top everything is wonderful.Nicholas our guide is very knowledgeable about the area and the people as well as the animals that lives and tribe all along the way to the Artic Circle.Amazing tour.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very good! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative about the area. He made the drive enjoyable.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Andra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

OMG! What an experience! This was the BEST part of our entire trip to Alaska. I'm so glad my husband talked me into doing this.

Doing what: Mt McKinley Flightseeing Tour from Anchorage with Glacier Landing

Eileen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely superb! Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful and fun to travel with. Cannot praise him or the trip high enough

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Ann T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The transfer from Seward to Anchorage with Salmon Berry was fantastic. We were only a small group which meant we received very personalised service. Our tour guide was Kevin and he clearly loved everything he showed us. His knowledge of all things Alaska was excellent. This tour with Salmon Berry as oppose to others doing the same thing was a fantastic choice

Doing what: Seward Shore Excursion: Post-Cruise Transfer and Tour from Seward to Anchorage

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a really good trip! Dave was an EXCELLENT guide. He was knew a lot about the country we were going through and had many stories. The only downfall as that his microphone in the van didn't work all the time so we had a hard time hearing everything. It was a very long day but so glad we went!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Steve J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Be prepared for a long day but it was great. The van we were in was new and comfortable. The lunch they served was homemade and very good.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

George G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip lasted 11 hours. The driver was very informative and helpful. We learned many interesting facts. The road was rough. Pretty scenery. Great lunch hot at the Artic Circle. Pick up was on time.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

John T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an interesting and fun tour. Our guide was Art, he was full of interesting information and very funny. There were only 3 of us on the trip so Art allowed us to decide which sights to visit. Pioneer Park was a highlight. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

John T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a highlight of our Alaska visit. Our driver was Nick, after a little trouble getting his microphone to work he told us loads of interesting stories. The roads are pretty rough in places but we knew that in advance so were expecting it. We had comfort breaks at Hilltop and Yukon River. We were well catered for - a snack bag when we boarded the van and a delicious stew at the Arctic Circle, Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Wai Man Nancy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very responsive to the last minute changes in road condition and made very appropriate alternative arrangement. Staffs were very helpful and courteous.

Doing what: Anchorage Shore Excursion: Pre-Cruise Transfer and Tour from Anchorage to Seward

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Long ride but the guide can make it seem short. Nicholas gave us several stops at pipeline, camps, landmarks and other interesting places. He had a lot in information on Alaska and aspects of living there. We picked wild berries and saw many animals along the way. We learned more on the trip that anywhere we went. The soup at the Arctic Circle is outstanding and is unique to this tour. Weather was not the best for us with light rain at the Sign only. It was a minor distraction to the trip.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Dave F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide a 5. Overall a 4.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

doctorpuneetmisra

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Tour was good. It is a small van tour, so viewing opportunity are not so good specially if someone on front seat remains tilted towards driver all the time, blocking view even from front , which happened to me.
Driver Mike was very good in narrating the entire tour and tell about Alaska however he never realized that his continuously paying attention to only one front passenger who remain tilted towards him all the journey caused great inconvenience to everyone else in back and they lost good viewing and photo opportunity despite being paid same amount as everyone else. I paid for three seats for my family for not so great views on the way due to reason mentioned above.
They offered food which was included in price along with hotel pick up and drop off.
I think it is better to take vehicle with large windows for good view as it is once a lifetime visit for most of visitors.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Karen C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Could not recmend

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Brian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was Dave, He is very knowledgeable, told us many his story, Dalton high way and Trans-Alaska pipeline system, I am very impressed when he said the pipe were bought from China.
Dave also very take care customers. The scenery was really beautiful. I will come back to see northern light someday.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Eksath S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

teena p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

this was a great trip up to the arctic circle..it was long but worth it...the tour guide Art was really good , very friendly, warm and knowledgeable. He told us a lot about the tundra region, gas pipelines, the wild animals, the life in tundra region etc.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Steffen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an absolutely amazing daytrip to the arctic circle. Everthing, beginning with the contact before the trip to the trip itself was perfect. Uncomplicated email contact. The trip itself was astonishing! Our guide, Aart, was soooo funny keeping us awake on this very long trip. Awesome!!!!!!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Dave man!!!! What a great story teller! Had some trouble with his new wireless mic. Ha ha. I didn't have an idea of what to expect that far north! Go look for yourself. Once you discover how rare it is for Americans to travel to the Arctic Circle you will want to go. Ask for Dave!!! Good stew for lunch. And they give you a bag of snacks as soon as you board the van.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was really a fun day and saw a lot of the City of Fairbanks. Our Guide did a great job.
What a beautiful place Fairbanks is.

Jane A. Worel

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message