Put down the crampons! You don’t need to buy specialist equipment or join an Arctic expedition to the get the best out of Alaska. Day 1: Anchorage Start in the largest city of the largest state. Spend the morning exploring the highlights of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Felino L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very interesting and informative.It was raining on and off along the way and it was muddy and bumpy but we enjoy it.Once your surrounded with nature you'll forget the dust ,mud,rain enjoy the freshness of the forest high on the mountain top everything is wonderful.Nicholas our guide is very knowledgeable about the area and the people as well as the animals that lives and tribe all along the way to the Artic Circle.Amazing tour.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Connie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very informative and was well worth the price! Our cruise guides were awesome!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Seafood Lunch or Dinner atop Mt Roberts

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was very good! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative about the area. He made the drive enjoyable.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

POPS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was unbelievable. Great trip with this company. Very informative. Maybe a little more time at Mendenhall Glacier. Overall, great.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Andra H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

OMG! What an experience! This was the BEST part of our entire trip to Alaska. I'm so glad my husband talked me into doing this.

Doing what: Mt McKinley Flightseeing Tour from Anchorage with Glacier Landing

RRrr91860

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. We were there about two weeks ago and had an amazing time. The glacier is beautiful and we found several whales. The tour was well organized and the staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a fabulous day!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

ian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good day out with lots of information on Whales to explain what we were to see. The crew made sure everyone was safe and kept us informed then it was up to us to whale spot. The background information on how and why they were there about was good. We saw whales and sealions sun bathing. Lots of great scenery too. Much warning about inclement sea conditions seemed fine to me compared to North Sea of UK.
Mendenhall was awe inspiring. We hiked to the viewing area and saw a white bear or as it turned out on checking the camera carefully a mountain goat . We missed out on the mother and 3 cubs that wondered past the car park area whilst we were keeping fit hiking, but what a view. Porcupine overhead nodded to us and we returned the compliment carefully.
Well organized but you do need to pay careful attention to which bus you get after the whale watching check it with the driver before you get on it!
Thoroughly recommended if you like wildlife . You could be idle or go off as we did and hike. Photographs are incredible , driver was great collecting and dropping us off at the ship. Others went in huge buses this was far less formal but more intimate. Like going out with friends.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Eileen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely superb! Our guide was very knowledgeable, helpful and fun to travel with. Cannot praise him or the trip high enough

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a really good trip! Dave was an EXCELLENT guide. He was knew a lot about the country we were going through and had many stories. The only downfall as that his microphone in the van didn't work all the time so we had a hard time hearing everything. It was a very long day but so glad we went!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

crazy_jas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely brilliant, captain Larry and team very informative

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome sights bus and tram ride. All started on the dock beside our ship. Timely and delicious lunch st yo of tram. Waitress at lunch was perfect. Our trip couldn't have been nicer

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Mike B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great experience with great weather and a tour guidet hat was wonderful

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great outing - even in the rain - whales didn't care! Great explanation of the humpback whales physical attributes and behavior. Very informative. Saw at least 6 whales on our trip.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Juanita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was spectacular, guide was fantastic. Loved Mt. Roberts Tramway and the dinner was super.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Steve J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Be prepared for a long day but it was great. The van we were in was new and comfortable. The lunch they served was homemade and very good.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

George G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip lasted 11 hours. The driver was very informative and helpful. We learned many interesting facts. The road was rough. Pretty scenery. Great lunch hot at the Artic Circle. Pick up was on time.

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Dina F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Beautiful trip if you have time. Unfortunately we only had time to see the Glacier but not enough time to go up the tram nor eat lunch. Don't recommend if you are cruising.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

John T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an interesting and fun tour. Our guide was Art, he was full of interesting information and very funny. There were only 3 of us on the trip so Art allowed us to decide which sights to visit. Pioneer Park was a highlight. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks

John T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was a highlight of our Alaska visit. Our driver was Nick, after a little trouble getting his microphone to work he told us loads of interesting stories. The roads are pretty rough in places but we knew that in advance so were expecting it. We had comfort breaks at Hilltop and Yukon River. We were well catered for - a snack bag when we boarded the van and a delicious stew at the Arctic Circle, Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Arctic Circle Day Trip from Fairbanks

Alyssa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took this tour in July of 2016, on our own when our cruise ship docked in Juneau. We met our tour guide, Tom, and immediately knew that it was going to be a great trip! Tom was the best, he had an amazing personality and was pretty funny! Definitely, ask for Tom! The glacier was amazing! I wish that we would have had a little longer there, but given the overcast weather we walked around the path and visitor center pretty quick and still had some time to explore outside. It was a little wet, so the one path was closed. However, we still got some great pictures. The tramway was great! It was a cool view to see the town and the cruise ships from. At the restaurant, we had the clam chowder and salmon dinner. We paid extra for the crab nachos, the food was pretty good!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Doug C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw humpback whales bubble feeding which was amazing! The Captain and the girl on the boat talking to the group were both very good. Great excursion!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Wai Man Nancy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very responsive to the last minute changes in road condition and made very appropriate alternative arrangement. Staffs were very helpful and courteous.

Doing what: Anchorage Shore Excursion: Pre-Cruise Transfer and Tour from Anchorage to Seward

DForest12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great tour. We saw a great number of whale sightings. We even got to see a bubble net feeding which is not very common. The glacier was amazing. The only small complaint was that the speaker system in the bus could use an upgrade

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Heather K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing tour, very professional and organized. Whale watching was amazing and highlight of our cruise! We will definitely do again!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Lawrence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great fun and crew was very helpful. Saw many whales

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message