The vast expanse of the largest state in the Union offers sightseeing on a truly impressive scale. Did you know that half of the world’s glaciers are in Alaska? And the good news is you don’t have to go all the way to the state’s wild Arctic north ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 373 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

POPS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was unbelievable. Great trip with this company. Very informative. Maybe a little more time at Mendenhall Glacier. Overall, great.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

mcj299

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The scenery on the way to and from our stops was spectacular and we learned SO much for our tour guide, Chloe, who had a wealth of knowledge. Lunch was as delicious as promised. No one could do seconds even though it was family style service. The tram ride up Mt. Alyeska was breathtaking and impressive. We did not take the optional glacier cruise as it was already full. Well worth it!! Very comfortable travel coach, too.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

RRrr91860

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. We were there about two weeks ago and had an amazing time. The glacier is beautiful and we found several whales. The tour was well organized and the staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a fabulous day!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

ian United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good day out with lots of information on Whales to explain what we were to see. The crew made sure everyone was safe and kept us informed then it was up to us to whale spot. The background information on how and why they were there about was good. We saw whales and sealions sun bathing. Lots of great scenery too. Much warning about inclement sea conditions seemed fine to me compared to North Sea of UK.
Mendenhall was awe inspiring. We hiked to the viewing area and saw a white bear or as it turned out on checking the camera carefully a mountain goat . We missed out on the mother and 3 cubs that wondered past the car park area whilst we were keeping fit hiking, but what a view. Porcupine overhead nodded to us and we returned the compliment carefully.
Well organized but you do need to pay careful attention to which bus you get after the whale watching check it with the driver before you get on it!
Thoroughly recommended if you like wildlife . You could be idle or go off as we did and hike. Photographs are incredible , driver was great collecting and dropping us off at the ship. Others went in huge buses this was far less formal but more intimate. Like going out with friends.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

sanjoy.karma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, well planned along with the guide being very professional and helpful and experienced!!

Doing what: Mendenhall Glacier Trek and Climb

crazy_jas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely brilliant, captain Larry and team very informative

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful experience traveling with Rebecca our tour guide. She was informative, friendly and really cared for her passengers.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome sights bus and tram ride. All started on the dock beside our ship. Timely and delicious lunch st yo of tram. Waitress at lunch was perfect. Our trip couldn't have been nicer

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Mike B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great experience with great weather and a tour guidet hat was wonderful

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great outing - even in the rain - whales didn't care! Great explanation of the humpback whales physical attributes and behavior. Very informative. Saw at least 6 whales on our trip.

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Juanita H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was spectacular, guide was fantastic. Loved Mt. Roberts Tramway and the dinner was super.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Trip was wonderful. Waters were a little rough however this was to be expected with the weather during the trip. Staff was fantastic and highly accommodating and attentive to those that had difficulties due to the high waves.

Doing what: Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise from Seward

Linda E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful scenery and great commentary by the Captain

Doing what: Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise from Seward

Chuck F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour! Our tour guide, Sarah, was awesome! She knew a lot about Alaska and environmental sciences. The Seward Highway is a must-see. Mt. Alyeska was disappointing due to weather no fault of the tour. The bake shop is as good as others say it is. The glacier cruise is a nice way to check seeing a glacier up close, off your Alaska check list!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Craig K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour had two things going against it. First was weather-rainy and foggy. I think there should be a back up plan if Mt. Alyeska is fogged in. The other was an over zealous tour guide who was very informative but too over the top for us.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Dina F

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Beautiful trip if you have time. Unfortunately we only had time to see the Glacier but not enough time to go up the tram nor eat lunch. Don't recommend if you are cruising.

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Gordon L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The weather turned bad and the trip was cut down considerably. No tidewater glaciers on this trip. Some passengers got seasick. We will have to come back and try again.

Doing what: Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise from Seward

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was good for the amount of time we had. The captain was very knowledgable. You provided a lunch and charged for the drink? You did offer a glass of water from the ships potable water supply. I did not partake.

Doing what: Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise from Seward

Alyssa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We took this tour in July of 2016, on our own when our cruise ship docked in Juneau. We met our tour guide, Tom, and immediately knew that it was going to be a great trip! Tom was the best, he had an amazing personality and was pretty funny! Definitely, ask for Tom! The glacier was amazing! I wish that we would have had a little longer there, but given the overcast weather we walked around the path and visitor center pretty quick and still had some time to explore outside. It was a little wet, so the one path was closed. However, we still got some great pictures. The tramway was great! It was a cool view to see the town and the cruise ships from. At the restaurant, we had the clam chowder and salmon dinner. We paid extra for the crab nachos, the food was pretty good!

Doing what: Juneau Sightseeing and Mendenhall Glacier Tour and Mt. Roberts Tramway and Salmon lunch/dinner

Monika P Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

rpmungo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful. The captain was exceptional. His narrative was informative , humorous and made a huge difference in the overall experience.

Doing what: Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise from Seward

Doug C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw humpback whales bubble feeding which was amazing! The Captain and the girl on the boat talking to the group were both very good. Great excursion!

Doing what: Juneau Whale Watching Adventure and Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Cynthia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour with our animated and informative group leader!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

sandys0702

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very much enjoyed this tour even though weather was not good. Portage Glacier was awesome to see and the history given on the tour was wonderful. Good day.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Tara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

They took us out to see whales and we did. We also saw mountain goats, we also saw harbor seals, stellar seals as well. They were on time and treated us well. I would recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Kenai Fjords National Park Cruise from Seward

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message