From the small towns of the Inside Passage to the city of Anchorage, Alaska’s ports of call offer beautiful landscapes, heritage attractions that dig into the state’s native history and, of course, access to the oh-so-Great Outdoors. The currency in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1165 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved everything about this trip. Our captain and his mate were so informative and we were even lucky to see a number of whales!! The bus trip to Mendenhall Glacier again was very informative and the scenery was breathtaking.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and funny and we even had the pleasure of having his husky on board for the trip. The scenery was beautiful and learned a lot about the area.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

Annette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Alex and Emma were great! Emma gave us an overview about whales and Alex knew exactly where to go. A huge bonus was seeing a whale breach right in front of our boat just a few minutes after Alex stopped the boat. A great tour price for a smaller group of people--well worth it!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Marie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We saw TONS of whales, both orca and humpback. We also saw sea lions, and bald eagles. The whales were very active, and we saw very unique behaviors of bubble net feeding, and breaching. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was not obvious where we were supposed to meet this tour, but after asking several people, we were able to find our tour. The driver to the boat was great with lots of information about the city and the area. The whale watching cruise and the Mendenhall Glacier visit were fantastic. We saw a large number of whales and had plenty of time to visit the glacier. Outstanding excursion!!

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Seema R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing. Josh and Alex were awesome guides - knew the area, knew the spots to go to and got us there. Great customer service with snacks, water, and laid back personalities. Bonus - MUCH cheaper, and smaller vessel to get closer to whales than the cruise line. I was not paid to do this, and rarely leave positive reviews but these guys deserved it. Would absolutely recommend them to anyone.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Irene D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Steven and Amanda were wonderful. We shaw a whole group of whales come up for feeding even before we stopped the boat. The show continued even after we had left. It was a most wonderful experience. The walk to the waterfall near the glacier was easy and worth it. The walk on the other trails was great because we saw the king salmon try to make it upstream to spawn. Great trip.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Sondra M D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

our guide was very knowledgeable ,polite. we able to a mother black bear and Cubs and cinnamon bear . I would go again.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

coralie.pieper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful excursion. Highly recommend this trip for lovers of hiking and river rafting. Absolutely gorgeous part of the world. Our guide was so informative.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Chilkoot Trail Hike and Float Tour

susan m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

very good tour we saw lots of whales would highly recomend

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Marilyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jessie was excellent in narrating history and information about the area, Very informative and good tour guide Nice day

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

lisabeif66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 Stars. Our driver / guide Mike was awesome. He was full of knowledge, super fun and made our 4 hours a blast. We stopped a number of times along the way to get signs of the Welcome to Alaska and Yukon signs, along with at the Canadian border, the suspension bridge, a waterfall, and a few other areas. We had a great day.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What could be more majestic than seeing whales surface and breech. What a thrill! The guides were knowledgeable about the whales, the boat was stable and fast. The captain was sure that both sides of the boat got to see the whales and made an attempt to follow them. Mendenhall Glacier was great, just be aware that this tour will not get you on the glacier, just close to it. The salmon bake was enjoyable. Salmon baked over an open fire, great sides and live music while we were there.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale Watching and Salmon Bake

tcbcshopping United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Super excursion! We did not see Orka's, but saw humpback whales bubble-net feeding. Tell guide to skip salmon bridge and give you enough time at Mendenhall Glacier to walk to water fall.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

Tisha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mike was awesome!!!! Great tour.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The crew was nothing short of great, great great. Their excitement topped ours. It was so much fun. This company shows the whales all the consideration they deserve. They approach them with great caution.
Marty, Norma and Granddaughter Joy

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

tony s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tomas was a great tour guide. Very informative and great sense of humor. Nice size of group- much better than big bus.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: White Pass Summit and Skagway City Tour

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It is so much better than the train tour which does not allow you to get on and off the train to take photos or view anything more than is visible from the train. Our driver Brooke was fabulous. Knowledgeable, professional, humorous and determined to provide us with the best experience possible. We had several bear sightings to make it even more special. We were able to stop and take photos at several vantage points along the way. The small bus was comfortable and easy to hop on and off. The rendezvous at the ship went smoothly and we had no issues whatsoever. Viator makes it simple to book a tour and our experiences have been excellent.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

wavifig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience, very scenic and informative. Just wished we would have had more time in town to explore once we got back from the Yukon but that's not Viator's fault. We just need to go back because we're not finished there yet: Wonderful tour guide and just a 5-star day. Great weather too!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

wavifig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME. Saw soooo many whales. Learned a lot and enjoyed the boat ride. The staff was wonderful and the whole thing was an amazing experience. We didn't even mind the weather being wet. Also enjoyed the glacier and Nugget Falls. This is certainly another revisit destination.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mendenhall Glacier was impresive but very crowded and touristy. Not the fault of the tour company!

The whale-watching portion was phenomenally good. We happened to be doing this tour while bubble-net feeding was happening, and got to witness an incredible show. Hats off to Juneau Whale Watching and our skipper and crew, Jason, Emma Naturalist of the year, reportedly and John.

The city tour part of the package was narration while on the bus and was enjoyable and adequate.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful - this trip made our entire stay while on vacation in Alaska! We saw bears that was so exciting. We saw views that were amazing. We loved this tour! Totally worth it. I would do it again, with my husband one day. Also, we loved that we were able to capture more stamps in our passports!

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Full-Day Tour of the Yukon

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best Whale watching tour I've ever been on. The wales really put on a show for us. We had them come up under the boat and could have almost reached out and touched them. Crew was great, captain did everything to make sure everyone saw and got to photograph the wales.

Doing what: Juneau Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Adventure with Mendenhall Glacier Tour

pamela j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent and informative. Comfortable bus for the journey. My friends booked their Yukon excursion through the cruise line. They paid double what I paid for the same excursion.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border

JayBee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A brilliant trip and would definitely recommend it - a light hearted view of days gone by and just the right sort of tour amidst a heavy touring holiday schedule.
We were picked up near where our ship docked promptly and driven out to Liarsville - we were the only passengers. There we were met by Miss Molly - a 'lady of the night'. She gave us a personal tour of the camp as other guests had not arrived yet.
We saw the tents laid out as they would have been during the mining days, saw the different types of activities the miners experienced, together with tools of the trade. We visited the gift shop which was well stocked, When the other gursts arrived by bus we went straight over to the BBQ meal. This was amazing - so much food - chicken, salmon, salads and veg. blueberry cake for dessert to follow. During the meal a man played the guitar and sang folk songs. Soft drinks were available but alcoholic ones could be purchased from the saloon at a reasonable price.
Following this we were entertained by the 3 'ladies of the night' together with a man on a guitar - this was quaint and funny. We were also showed how to pan for gold.
Then it was our turn - it was more difficult than I thought but did eventually find a very small amount planted prior to our visit!! which we were allowed to keep. We were told it had the value of a Mars Bar.!!!
The rest of our time was spent looking around further and chatting to Miss Molly, who told us that a grizzly bear had walked into their camp 2 weeks prior. It was eating the dandelions there and then wandered around drunk!!
All in all a very enjoyable experience - definitely recommend it for all ages if you want to have some fun. Good value for money.

Doing what: Skagway Shore Excursion: Liarsville Gold Rush Camp, Gold Panning and Salmon Bake Combo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message