Kings Canyon is one of Australia’s most legendary outback locations. Its palm-fringed waterholes, red gorges and eerie sandstone domes are ringed by walking tracks and camel trails for stupendous views over the surrounding Watarrka National Park. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 126 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing - lots of walking but some stunning views and very knowledgable people. I will remember this experience for life and highly recommend anyone to do this. Some say 'why go to see a rock in the middle?' but we're so pleased we did.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

bluey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent outback experience as promised, and all round. The whole experience, not just Uluru, KataTjuuta and Kings Canyon, was beyond expectations. Just returned from last trip of the year before the temperatures really hit tops, and although it was already hot, Joe, our guide made sure the walks were done before the heat cranked up. Wonderful walking, great long drives in the 4wd, wonderful bird life, and the camping experience was truly outback. Our group was mixed in age range but Joe made sure walking and climbing abilities matched the options. A great guide.
I was hoping for down to earth outback everything, and that's what Wayoutback delivered. Great praise from me and I'd certainly recommend this 4 day trip. Kings Canyon and its walks was especially fascinating, perhaps more so than Uluru, and the final day was
heaven swimming in the gorges and just gradually coming back down to earth.
This is a truly magical experience on a number of levels. Fully recommended. Didn't want to leave the Red Desert. It has a way of getting into you. I'd just like more time to absorb it all.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

bluey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An excellent outback experience as promised, and all round. The whole experience, not just Uluru, KataTjuuta and Kings Canyon, was beyond expectations. Just returned from last trip of the year before the temperatures really hit tops, and although it was already hot, Joe, our guide made sure the walks were done before the heat cranked up. Wonderful walking, great long drives in the 4wd, wonderful bird life, and the camping experience was truly outback. Our group was mixed in age range but Joe made sure walking and climbing abilities matched the options. A great guide.
I was hoping for down to earth outback everything, and that's what Wayoutback delivered. Great praise from me and I'd certainly recommend this 4 day trip. Kings Canyon and its walks was especially fascinating, perhaps more so than Uluru, and the final day was
heaven swimming in the gorges and just gradually coming back down to earth.
This is a truly magical experience on a number of levels. Fully recommended. Didn't want to leave the Red Desert. It has a way of getting into you. I'd just like more time to absorb it all.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Chad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The itinerary was perfect, and our guide was incredible. From the pickup to the drop-off, these folks were friendly and all was comfortable. In terms of going into a hot desert, it's hot! It's a desert! Understand your not in Shangrila. It was accommodating, comfortable, and very educational. We loved the many water holes to swim and cool off. I highly recommend WayOutback as your tourism guides.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

R C K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Excellent sites and views. Very good driver guides who were knowledgeable. Very poor organisation and customer delivery by A AT. Chaotic, frustrating and slow allocation of coaches, all last minute. We did not get an itinerary from A AT but had to get the hotel to contact them and send it. In confirming a couple of days before AAT could not initially find the booking and only after delay and being put on hold I was told the name of the hotel but no timings. Good tour but experience could have been better.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Jan Dunlap United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So much fun sleeping in a swag, under the stars, in the Australian outback!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Jairo V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although it was an intense 3 days tour, we certainly enjoyed all the activities included. The AATKings operators were good, excellent drivers and tour guides, very knowledgable and fun. Not being from Australia, we learned a lot about the culture, history and beauty of every place we visited and the aboriginal people, in a very short 5 days visit from Alice Springs to Uluru, Kings Canyon and the Olgas. Highly recommended .

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

jeanievan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a GREAT trip! If you are visiting Australia dont miss going to the Red Centre! It was an out of this world experience.

There are many highlights on this trip the hikes in the areas of Uluru, Kata Tjuta, and Kings Canyon are spectacular. A moderate to good level of fitness will be beneficial for the hikes, but there are many opportunities for less strenuous hikes that . Most days we would hike for three to five hours, have a nice lunch, drive in 4WD style to the next camp site. The drive was enjoyable while we listened to Outback history and stories, looked for animals in the wild horses, camels, dingos, kangaroos, birds, etc. and stopped to forage for firewood. The guide Nat Marshall was outstanding and made Aborigine history and culture, geographical highlights, and Australia history come to life.

One of the best parts of the trip for me was camping out in a swag an Australian bedroll under the bedazzling stars. That experience has a way of putting everything in perspective no matter who you are. I also loved the Dutch Oven dinners and eating by the camp fire. You will meet some great people on this tour as well! I hope to have visitors to the USA from Australia, Germany, The Netherlands, and England soon!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This trip was absolutely fantastic - I really only booked for Uluru but Kata Tjuta and the Kings Canyon trip also included were just spectacular! As a single person I felt completely safe all the time and the drivers and guides were so friendly and informative - Thankyou especially to Tanya my driver for making this trip such a laugh. Great value for money and I totally recommend this to anyone wanting the full Uluru experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Rodrigo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Totally worth it, amazing landmarks and even better staff, we really enjoyed our 3 days trip, i would recommend this for everyone

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

ross d

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip, great guides and drivers with heaps of local knowledge.
Cant wait to visit again.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great sights. An interesting landscape. Great driver - Karl - was friendly, helpful. Commentary was informative and respectful of local culture of indigenous population. Accommodation was good.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Janine T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well organised! All coach drivers very pleasant and knowledgeable. An excellent introduction to Central Australia!

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. We enjoyed Uluru,Kata Tjuta and the camel farm. Very short ride on the camel but was still fun. I would stay one day longer at Alice Springs. Long way for two days.. But well worth the trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru (Ayers Rock), Camel Farm and Kata Tjuta Trip from Alice Springs

Herman L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an amazing experience to take part of this tour! A must see when you visit Australia. We have seen so many beautiful landschapes. It was like walking trough a postcard. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

David M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Uluru and kings canyon tours excellent.
Waiting around time for bus interchange and extra long stops at kings creek station no good.
Sails at Uluru overpriced. Kings canyon resort very good, restaurant excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Sandy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I went to the red centre of Australia at the wrong time right in the middle of summer with sweltering heat and flies getting into every orifice. Despite that, I had a great time and most of it due to the tour.

The guide was excellent. He cooked good food despite being in the middle of the outback, drove safely and always on time. The highlight of the trip was that we got to sleep outside underneath the moonlight in our swags.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Eva S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was really good. The bus driver was very friendly and nice. Acommodation was really good.

The only problem i have found in this tour is that the return option is not available and you have to book it separate. This should be offered as an option as well.

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru (Ayers Rock) National Park Explorer Trip from Alice Springs

Floyd B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Annabelle is the best guide ever! Her knowledge and skills were greatly appreciated and she did her absolute best to ensure we had a fabulous time. Trainee Natalie was great, as well. We heartily recommend this trip if you really want to experience Uluru and the Outback. Thank you, Annabelle!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Justin

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I would have given it more stars, but I am more of a person that likes small group adventure tours. This tour was more for someone that just wants to take it really easy and see the sites. Still it was worth doing and the tour guides were very nice and very informative. Loved Kings Canyon, the optional rim hike was awesome! Oh and I don't think 3 days was enough, I would have booked it for longer if I booked again.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Uluru (Ayers Rock) to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon

Brian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip with the opportunity to feel you're experiencing the real Australia with a small group and an excellent guide in Adam from WayOutback Safaris. Give it a go...you won't be sorry!

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Joanna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

the tour was fantastic, the booking process may have been batter

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent Tour, The guides were all very knowledgeable and very helpful.

Doing what: 3-Day Alice Springs to Uluru (Ayers Rock) via Kings Canyon Tour

Richard C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It was a long journey from Alice to Uluru but our driver, Dave, was informative as we travelled which helped the journey no end. The coach was good and the air con superb.
The camel farm was not at all interesting to us but the tour of Uluru was enlightening

Doing what: 2-Day Uluru (Ayers Rock), Camel Farm and Kata Tjuta Trip from Alice Springs

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message