Petra is a highlight not just of Jordan but of the entire Middle East, a sublime and mysterious city that sits as an incomparable jewel of ancient architecture. Petra was once an important stop on a Roman trading route, but was only assimilated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 210 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

tom_kincaid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I don't usually enjoy group tours, but this two day tour to Petra was one of my favorite travel experiences. Ayman was ana amazing guide, very informative and entertaining. He knows a lot about ancient history and current culture. The small group was cohesive and up for adventure, which let Ayman takes us to less visited area of Petra, which covers a large area. While I originally booked this to see Petra, I was happily surprised by the ancient ruins of Jerash and the Amman Citadel. The food was quite good, all you can eat buffets with a wide variety of delicious dishes

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Neil H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing tour with great hotels and absolutely stunning historical sites and natural wonders. Our guide Ahmad was excellent: very knowledgeable and personable. In Petra, Essam was also brilliant as was Mohammed in Wadi Rum. The guides all went out of their way to make our trip an unforgettable experience. Thanks so much, Neil, Sally and Petra.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

George A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed the tour. The tour guide was friendly and provided a good historical background to Petra. I would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

June Howe K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended. Petra is simply magical with its history. If you manage to climb to the top, you will know why?

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Elisa B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great experience. However, I still don't get why we had to wait more than one hour at the Jordan border to get everything settled with two Indian passport of two group members. Didn't they already had our passports numbers? However, verything was great and the early wake up was really worthy!

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Elena88

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The places we have visited were amazing. The organisation of the trip was poor. Hotel in Petra was way too far to have 4 stars.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Inga G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Just an excellent tour!!! Great guide!!! Just amazing!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Patrick I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip of sites you can't miss while in Jordan.

Our tour guide was Basel, whom I highly recommend. He met us at the airport, and we were carefree for the rest of the trip. He was very nice, knowledgeable, and well read. He was very flexible with additional sites we wanted to see, and we appreciate the history he provided, including his unique insights into the similarities and contrasts of Jordan with surrounding areas. He was a safe driver, and knew the ins and outs of the cities very well.

I consider myself fairly well traveled, and one major concern I had was the safety in Jordan. However, after landing and leaving the airport, I never once thought about this. The area is very safe, and I feel a bit embarrassed at how wary I was prior to the trip. There is police and an armed presence everywhere. The infrastructure is relatively clean and maintained, and is akin to some major cities in the US and Europe. The people seemed happy and nonchalant, and I was surprised to see the abundance of malls, massive homes, nice cars, and manicured highways. In a lot of ways, I felt like I was just in another part of Los Angeles good or bad lol.

With regards to the tour, it was well organized and we had a lot of free time each day. The only thing we would have wanted to improve was our hotel location in Amman. Our hotel was in Western Amman, which is definitely more of suburbia. We would have preferred the city and downtown area of East Amman to explore, and would have chosen this area if it is an option.

Some notes. We traveled in June, so the temperature reached 40C. Don't forget sunscreen and light clothing, and definitely bring some form of headwear that broadly covers your face and neck... This was an absolute life saver. Shoes will get sandy/dirty, so bring comfortable throw-aways. Voltage is 220. Average full course meal was 15. Water .50. The visa is 40JD, which you obtain at passport control.

Doing what: 6-Night Best of Jordan Tour from Amman: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum

Amanda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best attraction I did. I signed up through Viator and it was actually led by Abraham Hostel in Jerusalem. I did the 2-day Petra tour, we also went to Jerash and Aman. Best parts were the excellent tour guide from Jordan - very helpful with buying things, explaining details and spoke English well. Beduin camp overnight was like a hotel, not just a blanket on the floor. Tons of food included - all breakfasts lunches and dinners and all nice big buffet style.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

ajmelocoton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome. Our guide Ayman was the best tour guide I ever had. Such a wonderful experience overall.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Pete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It's an early start 0515 arrival at Dov airport, which thankfully is very close to the main hotels, 3 doses of Israeli border security 2 x internal flights for which they still scrutinise your passport and ask many questions, 1 x re-entry from Jordan, 1 border crossing into Jordan which takes about an hour in itself and 4-5 hours in the coach in total with an arrival back after 10pm all of which gives about 3 hours on site in Petra. But it's oh so worth it and much more.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Jake P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My two friends and I traveled to Jordan during Ramadan. This tour was SUPERB, and we would highly recommend it. Not only did it ease our travel concerns, as you receive pick-up from and drop-off to the airport, arranges transportation, and books hotels. We also loved the sights--the Wadi Rum, the Dead Sea, and Petra. And our guide, Basel, was incredibly welcoming and friendly, and answered all of the questions we had throughout our trip. He even helped set up separate tours to Mount Nebo and Jerash for us! For a shorter stay in Jordan, take this trip! And request Basel--an amazing guy and guide!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

S M B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can and #39;t rate this tour enough! The staff were very professional and helpful, everything was catered for. We saw all the main sites in comfort and were made to feel really safe.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Colm M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The trip to petra was amazing well with doing. If I was gping again I would not use this company. When I arrived in eliat my pick up was late. When we crossed the border there were 8 people in the group and we were in a SMALL van! The drive to petra is long and on bad roads. I was at the back of the sardine can with no direct aircon! When we got there petra is amazing. Out Guide was very good and had no fault with him. I had ordered a vegi meal and when I got there I was told I could pick the rice and potatoes out of the meat dish!!! I ended up getting a plate of hummas for dinner! Then I had to face the drive back to eliat in the sardine can!!! It is an expensive trip and I expected alot more !

Doing what: Day-Tour to the City of Petra from Tel-Aviv

netras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I highly recommend this tour, truly excellent and I was traveling alone. Once I booked, I received an email confirmation. The Driver-Omar was prompt and knowledgeable and I felt safe. The tour at Petra was excellent and the tour guide-Shoyab explained everything in detail. My experience was priceless!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

lkiefer

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Bad deal. The driver was good. The rest could have been done with a rental car and at half the price.

No information. Drop us off at Petra. Drop us off at Wadi Rum. Drop us off at the public pool at the Dead Sea. What did we pay for? The hotels were just OK and they served really bad food.

Really disappointed with the quality.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip was amazing - Petra and Jerash were both incredible. The visit to Amman was rushed with only a visit to the Citadel, a historical site that provides several great views of the city. The Bedouin camp was also very nice and extremely comfortable. We were given plenty of time to explore Petra and it was the highlight of the trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Grant R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A long day but very worthwhile.
Early start in Tel Aviv to fly to Eilat.
Crossing into Jordan was fairly easy with the help of the guide who met us at Eilat airport.
2hr trip to Petra in 2x16 seater aircon vans. Young, vibrant and friendly group.
Fantastic trip around Petra. Spectacular. Nice lunch overlooking Jordan valley.
Arrived back in Tel Aviv around 10pm

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

FOP234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

a must tour if you are visiting Israel. not only was petra amazing but also jerash and amman. our tour guide Rami Kawar was the best. he explained every little detail about all the sites. everything from start of tour to finish went smooth.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

Alessandra United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Completely excellent! Each part of the tour was well organised and prompt. Although there is much more to see in Jordan I feel like this was an excellent delivery of the two main attractions! The guides/driver were happy to cater the package to your needs and offered for me to stay in Petra for a longer period of time if I liked, but 4 hours was plenty! The vehicle used was modern and water was provided in the car which was well received. The dinner and breakfast buffets at each hotel were ample even though I only booked the 3 star hotels so I found the only extra expenses I had was buying the occasional drink whilst sightseeing. My main guide for the 3 days was called Basel, he was very knowledgable and able to answer all my questions, he was quick to assist in any way possible, and made me feel very comfortable even though I was travelling as a solo female. I felt very safe for my entire stay and would recommend this tour to all those considering it.

Doing what: 2-Night Jordan Private Tour from Amman: Petra and the Dead Sea

Joanne G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was a great tour! Our Jordan tour guide was very informative and helpful. Getting back across the border from Jordan to Israel took a long time and was a little stressful.

Doing what: 2-Day Petra and Jordan Tour from Jerusalem

sellmons

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Petra is incredible and definitely a must. There is an incredible amount to see and not enough time during the tour. In summary, we safely made it from Tel Aviv to Petra and back and had a great tour guide in Jordan. There are many options and I chose the included flight from Tel Aviv to Eliat. When you book this tour, you are simply given a flight time at the domestic Tel Aviv airport. They don't tell you the airline and just say to show your passport at the counter. This flight will be around 6:45am. The flight is about 40 minutes and you land in Eilat, Israel. Don't expect a guy to be holding a sign with your name when you arrive :. After about 10 minutes of waiting, a guy with a Petra sign comes over, doesn't introduce himself, doesn't ask who we are, and tells us to follow him. After a few quick words, he asks for the Israel/Jordan exit fee of 65USD. He has no change on hand and is far from formal about it. When then board a bus, which was actually a nice bus. They take us to the Jordan border. The process was fairly quick and you then walk across the border without the guide. The walk is about 100m. We then met another guy. He takes our passports. After 45 minutes or so, another guy collects the 60 Jordan visa fee. For about 2 hours, we waited at the Jordan border with flies buzzing around for them to complete this Visa process. We then boarded another bus with a new guide that takes us to Petra. We made one stop on the way. We finally got to Petra at 12:30pm 1:30pm Israel time. We had to be back to leave for lunch at 3:30pm. Reading previous reviews, I got my ticket from our guide and left the group immediately. I was able to make it to the monastery and beyond to the higher view points. I kept a quick pace and was able to see the majority of sites. However, I was fatigued on the way back and only had about 10 minutes left. I could have easily spent another 2-3 hours there. The tour will not see all the sites.

Doing what: Petra Day Trip from Tel Aviv - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Siva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Me and my wife did this tour for one of our marriage anniversary and this is the best tour we have done so far, the Driver Shadi Abdulla, my new friend in Jordan was awesome he took utmost care of us and was very very careful while driving and also made sure we were comfortable all through the trip, he gave us many suggestions and helped ways to save money without compromising on luxury and safety .
I'm really happy with the tour and the people in the Jordan, I was initial skeptical about safety but Jordan was really a safe place to travel, I really liked the hospitality of the people there.
During our tour, the tour manager Carol called us to wish us on our anniversary and made sure we were OK all through the trip, also they upgraded us with better accommodation in Wadi Rum for our anniversary.
Jordan has got lot to see with great history and culture, I would definitely recommend the place and the tour.

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Gillian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip is absolutely fantastic and highly recommended! Shadi was a wonderful guide and driver who was professional and reliable, as well as being a really nice guy! We were two young Australian women travelling together and he made us feel comfortable and safe at all times on the trip. We covered lots of ground and were so impressed by the parts of Jordan we saw. It is such a beautiful country with a fascinating history. We can't wait to return and explore more next time!

Doing what: 3-Night Jordan Private Tour: Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea

Xin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really nice driver. Awesome place to visit.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message