This city of two million is graciously traditional, with steep and narrow side streets, small glasses of sweet mint tea, and flowing daytime fashions. Amman is also optimistically modern, with its skyscrapers, miniskirts, and some of the Middle ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 120 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Trudy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Besides driving through the fog and snow, this was a great trip. I enjoyed listening to the driver's stories up and back. Both Petra and Little Petra were stunning.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Leyla K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you have limited time and want to see Petra, this is a great tour! Our family of six was greeted by our guide and driver at our Amman hotel and driven the three hours to Petra. The guide spoke perfect English - he was once an English teacher - and was very knowledgeable and helpful. We spent about 3 1/2 hours at Petra, which wasn't enough to see everything but gave us a really good understanding of the place. The tour exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

adrian w

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The desert sites are well worth the visit. The driver speaks good English and is a good driver, safe and stable driving. Unlike the promotion on the website, the driver is not really a guide, with only limited knowledge of the history of the castles. However, he is flexible if one wants to adjust the tour to include other sites, but possibly with some cost adjustments.
It is a half day tour to hit 3 sites, so a 8:30am departure would allow sufficient time to tour all 3 sites and then back to Amman for lunch at say 1-2pm

Doing what: Private Tour: Desert Castle Tour of Eastern Jordan from Amman

Scott T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Petra is beautiful, well worth it. The drive is long from Amman,3 hours. The driver did a good job. My tour guide there was knowledgeable and was good but beware of him taking you to a hut to try and get you to buy coins/goods of a man. Seemed like he may get kickbacks for bringing you there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fun day. The tour was all that was promised.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mount Nebo, Madaba and The Dead Sea Day Trip from Amman

JACQUELINE ROSS USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good trip and the ruins were fabulous.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Zach

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The site itself is amazing and you get a certified, trained local guide who is very knowledgeable. The trip itself is with a local in their personal car this person is not a guide at all, so lower expectations some. Warnings should be provided that you need to carry a passport/ID since roadside checkpoints are common.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

George A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I enjoyed the tour. The tour guide was friendly and provided a good historical background to Petra. I would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Eugene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The local tour guide is awesome!!! Well planning and time management in photo-shooting and not even asking for a single tips!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mount Nebo, Madaba and The Dead Sea Day Trip from Amman

Eugene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The local tour guide is awesome!!! Well planning and time management in photo-shooting and not even asking for a single tips!

Doing what: Private Tour: Mount Nebo, Madaba and The Dead Sea Day Trip from Amman

netras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I highly recommend this tour, truly excellent and I was traveling alone. Once I booked, I received an email confirmation. The Driver-Omar was prompt and knowledgeable and I felt safe. The tour at Petra was excellent and the tour guide-Shoyab explained everything in detail. My experience was priceless!

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Alessandra United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Completely excellent! Each part of the tour was well organised and prompt. Although there is much more to see in Jordan I feel like this was an excellent delivery of the two main attractions! The guides/driver were happy to cater the package to your needs and offered for me to stay in Petra for a longer period of time if I liked, but 4 hours was plenty! The vehicle used was modern and water was provided in the car which was well received. The dinner and breakfast buffets at each hotel were ample even though I only booked the 3 star hotels so I found the only extra expenses I had was buying the occasional drink whilst sightseeing. My main guide for the 3 days was called Basel, he was very knowledgable and able to answer all my questions, he was quick to assist in any way possible, and made me feel very comfortable even though I was travelling as a solo female. I felt very safe for my entire stay and would recommend this tour to all those considering it.

Doing what: 2-Night Jordan Private Tour from Amman: Petra and the Dead Sea

Xin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really nice driver. Awesome place to visit.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Lindsay H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great trip to Wadi Rum. Our tour guide Shadi was amazing. He was informative and provided us with an amazing experience. Not only would I recommend Viator for tours, I would absolutely request Shadi while in Jordan! I have already recommended him to a few friends. A great experience all round.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Trip to Wadi Rum from Amman

jeanine a. h

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Good tour,very enjoyable. Excellent local guide at Mt Nebo-Moses ask for him!

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Madaba and Mount Nebo

John B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This tour was very expensive.

Doing what: Private Half-Day Jerash and Amman City Sightseeing Tour

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really great tour. We spent the whole day in Petra and had a fantastic tour guide who told us a lot of history and information about local plants and was just an overall friendly guy to spend a day with. We declined the donkey ride at the beginning and the walk was not very far, so we felt like we made the right choice. We weren't able to pack a lunch, so had lunch at the Crowne Plaza restaurant in Petra not the cheapest option, but it was a buffet, so it was good value. We took an additional hike up one of the cliffs to see the view from above. It cost a bit extra, but was very much worth it.

The pick up and drop off was incredibly helpful and very flexible. We actually flew right into Amman, got picked up at the airport at 3am, drove straight to Petra and on the return, got dropped off at our hotel on the Dead Sea. The non-Amman pick up and drop off did cost extra, but not as much as hiring separate transport would have and the driver was fantastic driving so far at odd hours with us sleeping half the time.

Overall, with all the additional charges, it was not cheap, but considering this was the main highlight of our holiday and we had an incredible time there and everything went smoothly and easily, it was well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience if you have only a couple of nights in Jordan. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 2-Night Jordan Private Tour from Amman: Petra and the Dead Sea

Allyson W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My driver/ guide Shadi picked me up at 9am from my hotel. Drove by the Citadel and theater on the way to Madaba, then Mount Nebo and the Dead sea. Shadi was a very good driver. Always felt safe. Really enjoyed my visit to Jordan. Thank you Shadi.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mount Nebo, Madaba and The Dead Sea Day Trip from Amman

Allyson W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Once again my driver was Shadi. I was the only one on the tour and the only one visiting, nice for me I got great pictures. Had Jordan to myself. On the way to the first castle, we drove pass one of the refugee camps in Jordan. It was hugh, very interesting. Lots of security surrounding the camps. High recommend this tour. Bring water. About a 2 hour drive thru the desert. Air conditioned van. Thanks again Shadi.

Doing what: Private Tour: Desert Castle Tour of Eastern Jordan from Amman

Ken R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

As we were also going to Petra, the driver suggested that the visits be combined. Great idea otherwise we would have travelled over much of the same desert road two days in a row. Wadi Rum was terrific, and would love to see more of it sometime.

Doing what: Private Full-Day Trip to Wadi Rum from Amman

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My very friendly driver picked me up at the hotel in Amman and drove the 3 hours to Wadi Musa/Petra. He organised my entry ticket and a guide and after I'd finished walking to Petra city and back, he was there to drive me back to Amman. All in all a very nice day where I didnt have to think about a thing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Kyra F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is fantastic and convenient if you are limited by time and would like to discover the capital city Amman, Petra and float in the Dead Sea.
I had a brilliant time. Shadi was my driver - he was kind, friendly and knowledgeable. He was a safe driver and the vehicle was maintained. Shadi chatted openly on a variety of topics and provided me with valuable insights into the Jordanian way of life.
I was impressed by the punctuality and professionalism of the company when replying to emails and meeting me at the airport.
If you are considering visiting Jordan - I highly recommend you do it!! The Jordanians are warm and welcoming people. I felt safe the entire time considering the bordering countries.

Doing what: 2-Night Jordan Private Tour from Amman: Petra and the Dead Sea

Oumar M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

well worth doing if you have a few hours spare.

Unfortunately parts of Mount Nebo were closed off for renovations when i went so didnt get to see everything. was also told by the driver that if you come around sunrise or close to then you can see Jerusalem from the mountain

Doing what: Private Half Day Tour to Madaba and Mount Nebo

Matthew M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The driver from Amman was prompt and provided great service and conversation for the long trip. Petra itself was amazing and much larger than anticipated - make sure you plan for a long day in the desert. The primary complaints are the local guide (not very helpful), trash, and countless peddlers.

Doing what: Private Tour: Petra Day Trip including Little Petra from Amman

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message