Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Canal Ring

The famous 17th-century district surrounding the old center of Amsterdam is well-known for the charming waterways that make up the city's Canal Ring, or Grachtengordel. The area is comprised of three rings of semicircular canals that are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 545 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jerry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome to see the city by canal.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Cruise by Small Open Boat

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful!!!!!!!! What an amazing way to see the canals and gave a completely different perspective then during the day. The staff on board were extremely nice. And the wine and cheese were very tasty as well!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

cmaryv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really nice tour! The canals are so interesting and we had wonderful cheese and wine to enjoy. Excellent service and well presented.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Prakash G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great experience going through the canals at night, good ambience with candlelight, wine and cheese and a couple of other starters. Wine is unlimited, the cheese and snacks are not and tend to run out before the cruise is over. A little more commentary or anecdotes would help to keep interest up towards the end.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Miss Pat

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We Amsterdam! The canal cruise was great, the weather was perfect, couldn't have had a better day if we tried.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Cruise by Small Open Boat

Craig R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was really nice! The captain was a very nice guy and right on time. The boat is perfect...wood and marble in the galley. He came equipped with wine, beer, sodas and snacks. It is a great way to see Amsterdam from the canals in a very comfortable, relaxing way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Canals Sightseeing Cruise

Jillian S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Everyone enjoyed the pizza, drinks and ice cream while cruising down the canal.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

Kalyn M

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was nice to see the city from the canal. Only downside is that New York pizza and Ben and jerry 's ice cream was served. Would have liked to eat something local.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

catdp

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

A great way to see the canals and a leisurely way to get around. A little repetitive since there are only 2 routes, but that just gives you more time to spot things you might have missed the first time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

lil179

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I went with my 21YO Daughter and 19 YO son so this was one they chose. Both the Heineken tour and the pizza canal cruise were great fun and we enjoyed the tour of brewery, free beer samples and stunning canal views immensely. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

Aileen L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a little difficult to find this company at first as there are at least three operators which have their own stops, and we had to walk to many locations and finally found this operator, however the canal boat was relaxing and there are seats with tables. The drivers were courteous and the boats were clean. It also saves time having to buy the museum ticket at the door.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Athena A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This cruise was an awesome way to see Amsterdam!! Wine was unlimited so be careful and the cheese plate was plenty of food for my friend and I. Seeing the sunset over the canal made this cruise absolutely breath taking. Would 100 recommend taking it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

mjk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good pizza, nice drinks, and fantastic canal cruise. All female crew was nice too

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great relaxing fun. Service was excellent, pizza mediocre, ice cream delicious. Our favourite part was that it was not a guided tour. We just floated down the canals, drinking beer, and chatted and talked. It was a great way to end a long day of travelling.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

Kay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great price which includes a choice of pizza, Ben and Jerry's icecream and unlimited Heineken, wine or soft drinks. 90 mins enjoying the canals and sights along the way.
Guide mentioned a few key places along the way and we both had a fab time relaxing.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

mark United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour . Pizza was good and we enjoyed the canal cruise.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

Paul D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We easily spent a couple of hours at the Heineken factory. Whilst beer is no longer produced here we were able to see all the traditional workings of beer production and learnt about the ingredients and process involved. We also discovered the history of the family members and their contributions to the industry and society in general. There were videos, personal talks and interactive modules. Some were informative and others were purely for fun. We were able to see the horses in their stables, having just returned from one of their twice daily promotional walks. We were taught how to pour beer correctly and also how to drink it properly.
There was a total of three beers included in the entrance fee -one for the learning and two for enjoyment. We enjoyed ours up on the sky deck with a burger. Plenty of merchandise was available to purchase and we even ordered a personalised bottle with our names and the year on it.
This cruise is available at a different times and turned out to be 6pm not 7pm that we had booked. Fortunately we found out about the change the day before so we didn't miss our cruise. The pier was centrally located near the main train station and order for choices of pizza and dessert took place before embarking. The cruise wasn't full so couples could have their own tables, as could families or groups.
The captain and two crew members were friendly and professional and we were served drinks and food as they were required. We spent 90 mins cruising through various canals and passed many barges along the way, as well as a floating restaurant. The pizza stop was well timed and pizzas were nice and hot. Unlimited drinks were provided and Ben and Jerry's desserts were delicious.
A very fun and relaxing experience that we combined with the Heineken Experience for a discounted price.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

Leah M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed the dinner canal cruise and would recommend if you have three or more nights in Amsterdam. The cruise didn't encompass the smaller canals through the city and we would have appreciated hearing a little more commentary from our captain as to the local buildings, etc. The dinner itself was good, the wine plentiful and the service friendly and attentive.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise Including Dinner and Onboard Commentary

Linda B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The hop on and hop off Canal Bus trip was a great way to beat the land traffic problems

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

Marie R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The view from the canals was lovely, but once we waited over 40 minutes for a boat and ended up taking an uber back to the hotel.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

mmcraft52

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The canal bus didn't' come very frequently and therefore we waited at times for almost 1/2 hour for a boat. At times we became frustrated and walked because we had only 2 1/2 days in Amsterdam and wanted to see quite a few sights. If there were more boats available, it would have been worth the money.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

Pam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend the canal cruise. The staff were awesome and the pizzas and refreshments were better than expected.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

battdarr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour. Had a wonderful evening on the canal. Had a beautiful plate of cheese and nuts. The wine continued throughout the cruise. It remained light throughout most of our cruise time but we loved it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

amrita.patnaik.ap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Touring the canals at night is a very different experience from touring during the day, the bridges are all beautifully lit and reflect on the water. Generous glasses of constant wine, a generous platter of Dutch cheese, and light commentary about different landmarks. Overall an amazing.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

dolly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great, the best way to see more of Amsterdam. Relax on the canal ride, get off anywhere, get back on anywhere. Recommend a two day pass.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message