Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Canal Ring

The famous 17th-century district surrounding the old center of Amsterdam is well-known for the charming waterways that make up the city's Canal Ring, or Grachtengordel. The area is comprised of three rings of semicircular canals that are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 523 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I highly recommend the canal cruise. The staff were awesome and the pizzas and refreshments were better than expected.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

battdarr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour. Had a wonderful evening on the canal. Had a beautiful plate of cheese and nuts. The wine continued throughout the cruise. It remained light throughout most of our cruise time but we loved it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

amrita.patnaik.ap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Touring the canals at night is a very different experience from touring during the day, the bridges are all beautifully lit and reflect on the water. Generous glasses of constant wine, a generous platter of Dutch cheese, and light commentary about different landmarks. Overall an amazing.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

dolly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great, the best way to see more of Amsterdam. Relax on the canal ride, get off anywhere, get back on anywhere. Recommend a two day pass.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Boat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Rijksmuseum Ticket

Erwin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is a great deal. The staff is very friendly, the food is excellent, and the tour thru the canals is informative and fun.

Doing what: Amsterdam Evening Burger and Beer Cruise

gtek007

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Canal cruise, yes...but spend your time and money on something other than the Harbor Cruise. Most sights on the Harbor Cruise were described as this used to be the site of insert shipping industry facility here, but it has since closed and the area is under redevelopment for upscale housing, retail, and restaurants.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Canal Cruise plus Harbor Cruise

RN W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The canal ride was great. To get the passes was a little bit of a struggle. The place to get them at the Amsterdam airport was out of the way. From our hotel, the office at the main station was also a bit of a hassel.

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

Kathryn G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

My husband and I booked the candeight cruise hoping or a romantic time out on the canals. We were beyond disheartened to discover that everyone had to share a table with another couple! What incredibly false advertising. Poor other couple squished next to us was on their honeymoon. So upsetting.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Graham T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

You have to do a canal cruise in Amsterdam. Right? So why not combine it with dinner and complimentary drinks. Have a great time and save a few bucks in the process. We had a fantastic time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The canal cruise was great. Pizza were good and the beer was cold

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

JOHN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was so amazing that we wanted to do it again that day plenty knowledge at the Heineken experience then all the sights on the pizza canal trip. Would recommend this to friends and family at any time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

bkhurana Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Heineken tour was excellent for any beer lover. The staff were very passionate and enjoyed what they did at both the Heineken experience and the Canal cruise. Amsterdam is very beautiful and seeing it from the canal's is a definite must.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

newhomerose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this canal trip! Made it easy to see and experience so many wonderful things in Amsterdam!! So happy we used Viator to plan our great vacation! Would recommend to all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off

Valerie R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A good way to see all the sights of Amsterdam, both from the road and the canals - this tour goes on the smaller roads where the Hop on Hop Off bus cannot go. We enjoyed both short tours and felt they were worth the money.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Saloon Boat Cruise

Timothy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was neat to see the canals at night. The wine and cheese were decent. My only complaint is that you are seated at a table of 4, with 2 people you do not know. You have to sit across from your partner. The experience is not as romantic or intimate as we pictured. We feel as though we should have researched our options more thoroughly, but we did enjoy it and felt that it was worth the cost.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Mary F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We loved the ride, pizza and drinks. There was a lot of food and it was great for kids!!!! However, I wish they would of explained more about the history of the Netherlands on the canal or information about the canals. They did a little bit but not a lot of information. If you have kids this is perfect trip!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

Fernando D

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Expected something better of the Heineken experience but it was still good and worth the time and money spent. The canals pizza cruise was excellent, great staff and views of the city and the pizza and beer were good.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

Cindy O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This was nice although if you already toured by canal boat during the day then the cost for small bites of cheese and rolls with a few glasses of 'okay' wine is a bit much. Met some nice people but went for dinner afterwards. By the way, there are no candles!! So if you are a couple do not expect candlelight anything.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Bill K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

My wife and I signed up for the city tour online before leaving home. The tour offered both a bus city tour followed by a canal cruise. Be forewarned, there is a 2 hour break between the bus and boat tour. In short we thought the city-by-bus tour was one of the worst we have been on. The guide dont remember his name was disinterested and offered nothing more than pointing out landmarks. No history, no back story, no nothing was given. Boring. Plus maybe our fault for picking it, the sites were all described by the guide in 3 languages. This of course cut down on the time available to describe anything in detail.
The canal cruise was better, but not great. The boat was a small closed-in cabin type boat. All pictures to be taken through windows. The audio portion was primarily taped and repeated in each language for the people aboard. There was a lot of silence where more detail city detail could have been provided. Most notable thing to mention about the cruise was how dirty the water was full of garbage. Very disappointing for the city.
Maybe some other company has a better tour. I would not recommend this one

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Saloon Boat Cruise

christinebrandt12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good perspective of the city from the canal boat! Fun dinner with some commentary on Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Pizza Cruise

Judy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a romantic cruise through the canals. The selection of wine and cheeses was delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this cruse to others who would like a relaxing evening cruising on the canals.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

mbwish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fun treat! Lovely to see the canals in daylight and then night. Wine is poured freely! A must do in Amsterdam!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I highly recommend this tour. We had a beautiful night, and the unlimited wine came in two varieties of red, French and Italian. I recommend the French, it was very good. Any trip to Amsterdam should include a canal boat ride, and the best time to do it is as the lights are coming on around the city. Also, very friendly staff.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Dennis H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Loved experiencing Amsterdam through the canals but the rain made it hard to see out of the canal boat windows. Other than that it was great!

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message