Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Cruise Port

With one of the largest and postcard-worthiest historic districts in Europe, Amsterdam is one of the most-visited cities in Europe. It was made for a relaxing day of walking or biking while in port, or if you’ve already seen the city highlights, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations. It was well worth going. You so so many more sights then you could on your own. They took us to several different sights.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Philip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous day tour from Amsterdam. We thought we were only going to see old windmills, which in fact they were but still in use today. The one we visited was used for logging and sawing the logs for restorations etc. and was fascinating. The clog demonstration also great and fishing village great. Thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Kathryn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a wonderful tour that includes many interesting places. We loved seeing a working windmill that could be explained to us by the Miller. Next we went to a cheese factory and heard all about making cheese and as a bonus got to taste many different kinds of cheeses. Next was lunch at a local restaurant. They were waiting and ready for us so it was very efficient. Then the boat ride which gave a little time to relax and talk with other visitors to Amsterdam. Last we went to the wooden shoe factory. It was fascinating. Where else could you try on actual wooden shoes. All in all it was a perfect day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Ken C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Personable guide. Clean, safe bus. Beautiful views and commentary on countryside and reclamation of land from sea. Best part, though: I never expected to see an authentic windmill actually working up close and inside. A must see. Absolutely fascinating. The host miller ground flax seed with massive mills stones driven by the wind. Everything made of wood and absolutely the way they did it in the old days. Many thanks to the folks who have kept this windmill running.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

C L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was excellent - the service and information from the guide and bus driver was exceptional. A fantastic day!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Kate H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guides were excellent. Bus was good. There was a full bus of tourists but it went well. Long day but worth it. You do not have to do a tour of an area ie the cheese factory but keep an eye on the time so you can meet the group afterwards. Windmill was included in the price so keep with the group or you pay 4 euros for entrance. Defiantly a good day trip to experience some of Holland outside the city center.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Larry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The flowers were beautiful and the gardens so nicely displayed. It was a great day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulips Fields Tour

Henry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful time on our tour and were thoroughly impressed with our guides. We rate it a 10.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

rjmac611

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything went very smoothly. With perfect weather and spectacular flowers, we couldn't ask for anything more! Thanks for a great job

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulips Fields Tour

lindaclark154

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was the most beautiful Spring day, and tour of Keukenhof Gardens was more than we expected.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulips Fields Tour

mary m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a beautiful tour that is a must if you really enjoy quaint villages , beautiful scenery and getting a true taste of the Netherlands you imagined. The tour guides were excellent! Very informative and very enthusiastic personalities. I would take it again whenever I return to Amsterdam. I took several tours through VIATOR and were all great!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Mahesh E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was Well spent Few Hours and Money in Amsterdam . The tour guides too care to look after the bus load of people , keep us informed and entertained well . The Places of visit were magnificent !!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Joe S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The afternoon tour from Amsterdam on April 7th fit our schedule after departing our cruise in Rotterdam that morning. We walked to the local vendor from our hotel and joined others going on the same tour. The tour guide described the tour as well sites along the way in several different languages matching the needs to those on the tour. Anna was also able to respond to questions in the person's preferred language. After 45 minutes or so we arrived at the gardens and were given a map describing the various places. Although not all the flowers were in full bloom, the gardens were fabulous - breathtaking. A chilly wind made spending time in several of the pavilions a welcome reprieve for us from Phoenix, AZ. I can understand while one wants to visit several times during the season as the landscape is continually changing with different plants blooming at different times. The 3 hours went by quickly. We would highly recommend this special place for those travelling to Amsterdam in the Spring.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulips Fields Tour

Gail R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Beautiful! A great way to see some neat scenery and history outside of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Stacey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was extremely well done. The tour guide was knowledgeable and you have more than enough time to see everything. I would recommend this tour to anyone who really wants to see Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Jeff W S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was a great overview of the countryside with the story and history behind the draining of the poulders, how clogs are made, how windmills work and the important role played in the history of the Netherlands. Bus tour combined with a boat cruise. Efficient use of time - for a half day cruise it was informative and the pacing of activities and knowledge of the tour guides and presenters at each of the locations was fantastic!! The tour group was not huge and the logistics of managing all the stops and keeping to the schedule of returning to the bus or waiting for stragglers was not an issue.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Hero.sl Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Worth the money and time. Audio recording in the coach is very informative. Guides speak English well, friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Laura L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was outstanding. Lia our tour guide was fantastic. She was very informative. Great guide to have if you have never been to Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Private City Highlights Walking Tour

paigeyp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The windmills are so beautiful. I did wish there was more time at this stop because you barely have time to use the facilities and see it all. My favorite stop was the fish town. So beautiful and had a delicious lunch. The ferry ride was great too. Unfortunately my visit was during a heat wave and the air conditioner was broken on the bus. That was the only down side.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed this tour of City. Flower market was breath taking in it's beauty. Max was a fun and experienced guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Private City Highlights Walking Tour

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful gardens. Great central location near the cruise terminal and train station for tour start and end. Much better price than cruise excursion price.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulips Fields Tour

Eileen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful gardens. The three hours spent there was about the right amount of time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Keukenhof Gardens and Tulips Fields Tour

dj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing. Great views and tour of windmills. Interesting show making. Really fun cheese production show and taste. Note-volunteer to be in the show! Really good tasting lunch in a small fishing village. The trip was also very informative of the area.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Ian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Advise all travelers to pre-book events and use hop on hop off tour facility.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message