Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Red Light District

Underneath its promiscuous reputation, Amsterdam's Red Light District (De Wallen) has some of the city's prettiest canals, plus excellent bars, welcoming restaurants and plenty of shopping. While this area of the Netherlands' capital city might ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing!! Andy was our tour guide and his love for the city as well as the respect for the ladies of the district was refreshing. Andy did a great job of explaining the history of the Red Light District as well as current rules. He spent time answering questions ans i was very impressed with his demeanor, knowledge and sense of humor. A must do when visiting Amsterdam and well worth the money.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the Red Light District and to learn about the history of the area. Our guide, Fanny, was very knowledgeable and humorous. We walked through on our own and after debated whether a tour was necessary because we thought we saw it all... We did not! Take the tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

E A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting way of seeing the Red Light District and hearing about all the stories along the way. Our tour was very intertaining.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting tour. A great way to learn more about the lives of the girls working in the windows and the red light district overall.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour, excellent tour guide, very entertaining and informative. Even if just want to wander the red light district I would recommend this tour first.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Sheronda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved this tour. Oor guide was super friendly, conversational and quite informative. If you want to know more about the Red Light District Windows.... Book this tour.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I wish I could remember the name of my tour guide! She was fabulous. This is a must do tour when in Amsterdam! A full two hours of information. There's a lot to see in the Red Light District.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The red light walking tour with Steve was fun and informative. I wasn't sure we needed a tour for this area of Amsterdam, but we learned so much about the red light district, the profession, and its beginnings in Amsterdam. We would definitely recommend this tour and this guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Kirstiebay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with a lovely relaxed and knowledgeable guide. Great introduction to red light district and we felt safe and looked after. Definitely worth the money. Please make sure you are at meeting point 15mins before the start time, we were a little late and almost missed out!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Amostin161

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour to learn the red light district in Amsterdam

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Elena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour to learn more about the Red Light District and to hear how the locals live in the area. It gave me a new perspective on the district. Our guide Laura Maria was the perfect host to show us around, we had a lot of laughs with her great energy and love for the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Private Tour with a Local

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great. Informative. Steve, the guide was funny and knew so much. He answered all of our questions patiently. I would suggest to take a tour vs going on own to Red Light district.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

crispelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour, even though it was 15 minutes late starting. Tour guide was very friendly and kept us laughing though out. Highly recommended if you feel unsure about visiting Red light district alone.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Steve was great fun. Great way to see the red light destrict!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

lcarreiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour! Tony was a lot of fun, relaxed, and full of interesting facts. It was great to hear the history behind the most infamous red light district in the world and the cultural and historical situations which have lead to Amsterdam's differences from most cities. I would recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't want to wander aimlessly gawking or wondering why and how this area came to be. And I would add on the sex museum!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

midori79

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was highly knowledgeable and provided an amazing tour experience. He let us know where we were headed so we could all stay as a group. He shared about the history of the Red Light District, as well as, other information that we wouldn't have otherwise known about Amsterdam in general. We explored areas that we wouldn't have checked out, if we hadn't of gone on the tour. Great time, I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Ronald J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Steven was an excellent tour guide! Very knowledgeable, direct and most of all a fantastic sense of humour that made the tour both informative and enjoyable. We saw and learned a great deal :. You will never have the same kind of experience walking through the red light district on your own - we recommend you take this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

sacjt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an 8 PM guided tour through the red light district with Steven. Steven is a local native who is very informative and has extensive knowledge on legal implications of the prostitution in the area. We were very fortunate to have him as our guide. The red light district has brought prostitution out of the shadows and made it a legal business. The area, a historical neighborhood, is monitored by the police 24 hours a day and the girls are paying taxes on their income up to 55 which is substantial for some. They are self employed making as much as 10,000 a month. They advertise and negotiate behind secured shatterproof lock doors. They can approve or reject anyone. The tour ended at the Museum of Prostitution. I recommend wholeheartedly taking this very interesting 2 hour tour with Steven. Tom and Sharon Fischer, Denver, CO USA

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

barbara y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took this tour on May 11, 2016. We were nervous to do the Red Light District on our own as we didn't know what to expect. we are ladies in our forties and sixties We thought the tour guide Martin was very personable. He chatted away the whole time and gave us the story of drugs and prostitution in the Netherlands. Also took us through some alleys and into some buildings I am sure we wouldn't have ventured into on our own. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

amypatrick24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was such an eye-opening experience and SO MUCH FUN! Martijn is the most enthusiastic tour guide ever and all-around nice guy. I don't know that we would have ventured into the heart of the Red Light District on our own at night but he made us feel like invited guests. His knowledge of the people, the policies, and the area's history makes anyone understand how this famouse part of town fits into Amsterdam's culture. Great value!

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Judee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Shontell was so fun! She made the red light district feel safe and she was so informative!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

libs627

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an incredible tour to kick off our first evening in Amsterdam. Our guide, Martijn, was both interesting and entertaining which made for a fun night in the famous Red Light District. Perfect guide for the tour!

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

bubbles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a fantastic guide by the name of Chantelle. She had excellent knowledge of the Red Light area, made the tour very entertaining, would definitely recommend,

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Leonell M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

First off the tour guide Steve was THE BEST! He had the group close and made sure that we understood how important it was to stay together. I was a single woman on this tour and I felt very safe. Steve gave the group an education of a life time. His since of humor was blended with well informed information about the Red Light DIstrict. It was a refreshing take on the life of the sex worker and the world that they work in. The tour inside the museum was also a very important piece of this tour. A MUST SEE!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. Martin was very knowledgeable and kept the group interested even managed to expertly shush a particularly noisy member of the tour group. Great way to explore the red light district. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message