Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Amsterdam Red Light District

Underneath its promiscuous reputation, Amsterdam's Red Light District (De Wallen) has some of the city's prettiest canals, plus excellent bars, welcoming restaurants and plenty of shopping. While this area of the Netherlands' capital city might ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A must do tour while in Amsterdam. Daphne was amazing. A lovely knowledgeable lady who showed us what we were interested in which wasn and #39;t all about the workers in the red light district. We looked at architecture and got a real feel for how life used to be. Thank you we loved it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Old Town and Red Light District Walking Tour

mand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Recommend this tour. I purchased for my sister and her husband. They were going to Amsterdam for my brother in laws 60th birthday. I wanted to buy them a tour they would enjoy and would probably not book themselves. It was definitely the right one to go for. They had a wonderful time, had a young 19 year old chap who was very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting. They sent me photos of the visit but I don't think they would be happy if I sent these for all to see. If you know of anyone or you yourself like to find out more about the red light district and popular coffee shops this is the tour and can't believe anyone wouldn't enjoy it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If your a bit apprehensive, don't. Our tour guide took care of the group as there were a large number of people in the streets, she was very informative and a very pleasant person.The tour was more of an education in the life of many of the people who work the Red light district. Would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

mle3134

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour because it is very informative of things you wouldn't have known about otherwise. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor! There was a lot of interesting things I learned about it all. The tour may not be necessary to be able to see all of the red light district but it is definitely needed to appreciate at and know all the secrets. My only issue was that there were over 20 of us so it was tough to stay together and get through the crowds. It was also tough to hear what the guide was saying unless you were upfront because the area gets pretty lively at night. Also our guide had to say everything twice, once in English and once in Spanish. While this is nice that they could accommodate everyone, it slowed us down significantly and was kind of annoying when you couldn't understand what he was joking about half of the time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Austin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was amazing! He gave us the behind the scenes look of the red light district we would not have gotten on our own. We did this on our first evening in Amsterdam and would recommend others do the same if you can. It was a good introduction as to what to see and do while you are in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

passek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was J. He was awesome. The tour was a great introduction to the Red Light District. J had a nice way of talking about the area and the different venues without making it awkward. His knowledge about the history of the area was informative and added to the tour. We really enjoyed this tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide was great. Told of his own personal experience on what really happens in a brothel, and the detailed history and inside operations of the red light district. If you would like to know what goes on behind the red trimmed windows, without actually having to step inside, then this tour will educate you, while being fun and unusual.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing!! Andy was our tour guide and his love for the city as well as the respect for the ladies of the district was refreshing. Andy did a great job of explaining the history of the Red Light District as well as current rules. He spent time answering questions ans i was very impressed with his demeanor, knowledge and sense of humor. A must do when visiting Amsterdam and well worth the money.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see the Red Light District and to learn about the history of the area. Our guide, Fanny, was very knowledgeable and humorous. We walked through on our own and after debated whether a tour was necessary because we thought we saw it all... We did not! Take the tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

E A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting way of seeing the Red Light District and hearing about all the stories along the way. Our tour was very intertaining.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting tour. A great way to learn more about the lives of the girls working in the windows and the red light district overall.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome tour, excellent tour guide, very entertaining and informative. Even if just want to wander the red light district I would recommend this tour first.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Sheronda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved this tour. Oor guide was super friendly, conversational and quite informative. If you want to know more about the Red Light District Windows.... Book this tour.

Doing what: Offbeat Amsterdam Red Light District Nighttime Walking Tour with a Local Guide

Margaret B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I wish I could remember the name of my tour guide! She was fabulous. This is a must do tour when in Amsterdam! A full two hours of information. There's a lot to see in the Red Light District.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The red light walking tour with Steve was fun and informative. I wasn't sure we needed a tour for this area of Amsterdam, but we learned so much about the red light district, the profession, and its beginnings in Amsterdam. We would definitely recommend this tour and this guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Kirstiebay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with a lovely relaxed and knowledgeable guide. Great introduction to red light district and we felt safe and looked after. Definitely worth the money. Please make sure you are at meeting point 15mins before the start time, we were a little late and almost missed out!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Amostin161

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour to learn the red light district in Amsterdam

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Elena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour to learn more about the Red Light District and to hear how the locals live in the area. It gave me a new perspective on the district. Our guide Laura Maria was the perfect host to show us around, we had a lot of laughs with her great energy and love for the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Private Tour with a Local

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great. Informative. Steve, the guide was funny and knew so much. He answered all of our questions patiently. I would suggest to take a tour vs going on own to Red Light district.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

crispelle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour, even though it was 15 minutes late starting. Tour guide was very friendly and kept us laughing though out. Highly recommended if you feel unsure about visiting Red light district alone.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Steve was great fun. Great way to see the red light destrict!

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

lcarreiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour! Tony was a lot of fun, relaxed, and full of interesting facts. It was great to hear the history behind the most infamous red light district in the world and the cultural and historical situations which have lead to Amsterdam's differences from most cities. I would recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't want to wander aimlessly gawking or wondering why and how this area came to be. And I would add on the sex museum!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

midori79

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was highly knowledgeable and provided an amazing tour experience. He let us know where we were headed so we could all stay as a group. He shared about the history of the Red Light District, as well as, other information that we wouldn't have otherwise known about Amsterdam in general. We explored areas that we wouldn't have checked out, if we hadn't of gone on the tour. Great time, I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Ronald J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Steven was an excellent tour guide! Very knowledgeable, direct and most of all a fantastic sense of humour that made the tour both informative and enjoyable. We saw and learned a great deal :. You will never have the same kind of experience walking through the red light district on your own - we recommend you take this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

sacjt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an 8 PM guided tour through the red light district with Steven. Steven is a local native who is very informative and has extensive knowledge on legal implications of the prostitution in the area. We were very fortunate to have him as our guide. The red light district has brought prostitution out of the shadows and made it a legal business. The area, a historical neighborhood, is monitored by the police 24 hours a day and the girls are paying taxes on their income up to 55 which is substantial for some. They are self employed making as much as 10,000 a month. They advertise and negotiate behind secured shatterproof lock doors. They can approve or reject anyone. The tour ended at the Museum of Prostitution. I recommend wholeheartedly taking this very interesting 2 hour tour with Steven. Tom and Sharon Fischer, Denver, CO USA

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message