Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)

It is one of the 20th century's most compelling stories: a young Jewish girl forced into hiding with her family and their friends to escape deportation by the Nazis. This house that Otto Frank used as a hideaway for his family kept them safe until ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

salEdawgz United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Terry was amazing. First of all, we took the tour during a unseasonably cold and rainy April day. My 11 year-old daughter were the only people to arrive to the tour and so we basically got a private tour of the old sections of the city with excellent explanations. He asked me if I wanted to hear the history of the red light district and he was very clean and proper about it. He had interesting stories and the tour went by quickly. Tour ends at the Anne Frank House Museum. It's a great way to get to know the city. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Pitts4fun

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Our tour guide was amazing. BUT if you think you are getting a tour of Anne Frank's house where she grew up and where she and her family where hiding you are not. We were very disappointed, especially in the amount of money we paid for the tour. You are better off going on a walk of the area and saving the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Cookie

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Bit disappointed about this tour for the price charged. Over 2hrs but generally just wandering around aimlessly . The tour guide was nice but not very good on the knowledge . Also we thought this tour included Anne Frank museum again for the price .

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Maria Lorena B R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is amazing. They stop at almost all the landmarks in Amsterdam. Our family enjoyed this tour both by land and by cruise. The experience of passing through the bridges and lovely canals is unforgettable. Anne Frank House is definitely worth visiting despite the long line.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

RobS Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a very relaxed and intimate tour away from the crowds. You get to see and experience the elements of Anne Frank's life growing up in Amsterdam before her move to the Anne Frank House in the heart of Amsterdam. This tour takes you well away from the very touristy parts of Amsterdam. It is also an opportunity to see another part of Amsterdam in the suburbs and the variety of architectural styles that have evolved in pre and post WWII Amsterdam. Our guide was a delight and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Robert E G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Anne Frank Walking Tour is a very informative and also extremely interesting tour. The guide took our small group of 4 people on a 2 hours of easy walking around the suburb of Amsterdam. The guide was well informed, patient, and had plenty of information for us to view. The tour included Anne Franks house, her school and the places she played. It included the residences of family her aided her during the war. The tour concluded at a coffee shop where we could relax over a complimentary coffee and ask any further questions of the guide. This tour is highly recommended by those who wish to gain information about the private life of Anne Frank and her family.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Jerry G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great to do and learn more of where Anne Frank lived before she went into hiding in South Amsterdam.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

naccobeary .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was very good to know about Anne Frank and Jewish people who lived in Amsterdam. If I tried to do same thing by my own, I could not do. I strongly recommend to join this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour which went for about 3 hours. Our guide was Tery O'Leary a good Dutch name and he had excellent knowledge on Amsterdam history and delivered it in a humurous manner. There were only 6 of us on this tour which made it very easy to ask questions and not get tied up with large group problems. I would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

JCOXES

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So Good! Our tour guide was fantastic. It was neat to learn all about this remarkable girl, family and friends while walking the neighborhood in which they lived. Our guide was so knowledgeable and a perfect lead-in to the tour of the Anne Frank House. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

sylviagreene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This small group tour was delightful and very informative lead by Terry with a lyrical Irish accent. Even a little mist didn't deter our enjoyment. It was the very best way to get an overview of the city and it's amazing history. Along the way, he was very helpful in helping us locate and identify the Anne Frank House and how to get admission since we didn't know that we must buy tickets well in advance in order not to stand in long lines. We learned that the ticket office is open at 3:30pm and that in the afternoon long lines form waiting for hours to gain admission. We heard that the best time to get in line was at 6 pm and so we did and waited for 2 1/2 hours to get in leaving an hour to tour and go through the gift shop but, it was well worth it for our 13 year old who had just read the book and this was on her must see list as well as ours! Don't miss this Amsterdam Small Group Walking Tour and get your tickets for the Anne Frank House online in advance!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

wheezrite Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We got 48 hours bus and canal Hop-on Hop-off and thoroughly enjoyed every moment both on the bus and on the boat. The staff were very helpful and made sure we had earphones and information. We took all available trips but I think the canal trips were the most enjoyable. There were two canal routes and on one bus route and we utilized all three. I wish they had a map on the internet so we could have planned our days better but it worked out just fine. If it is a nice day try and get the open canal boat. Heaven!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

wheezrite Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We got 48 hours bus and canal Hop-on Hop-off and thoroughly enjoyed every moment both on the bus and on the boat. The staff were very helpful and made sure we had earphones and information. We took all available trips but I think the canal trips were the most enjoyable. There were two canal routes and on one bus route and we utilized all three. I wish they had a map on the internet so we could have planned our days better but it worked out just fine. If it is a nice day try and get the open canal boat.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! Our tour guide was awesome! He was very informative and personable. We learned so much about Anne Frank and her family. He also gave us great tips for our visit to Amsterdam, and the best time to go to the Anne Frank house. He was right on too! We were able to get in.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Jo-Anne P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Extremely disappointing. Tour begins way out of town 50 euro in a taxi. One assumes it begins at the Anne Frank House in central Amsterdam. It is a very simple tour with very little substance. Our guide was great and we had a great morning however no access to Anne Frank House. This tour must state where it begins much more clearly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Sue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We actually thought this tour included the Anne Frank House Museum but it did not. We are so glad that we took this tour anyway. It was excellent and our tour guide Linda was an angel. It showed where Anne Frank lived and went to school. It was away from the tourist area, quite and very interesting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Ralph

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Was a very good history lesson and provided a great deal of insight - just needs to be clear it related to Anne's time before the hide-out and does not include visiting that site - for those that want to understand the details about that time not just focus on Anne Frank

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Kevin M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

An interesting tour of the area where Anne grew up before going into hiding. A passionate and informative guide. Note this tour does not include entry to the Anne Frank museum which would have completed the tour very well especially given how difficult it it to get tickets for the museum.

Doing what: Private Tour: Anne Frank Walking Tour of Amsterdam

Salam A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

the buses were in very good condition concerning the vehicles ,seats and cleanness ,the staff very helpful
also the tour takes to see most of the city besides it included a visit to a diamond factory ,we recommend this tour it is very nice and enjoyable

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Luis Alberto P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both the bus and the boat tours were a convenient way to have a general view of Amsterdam and stop at the points of interests. It is well planned and operated. The personnel was very gentle and helpfull. I would certainly recommend the service for any first-timer in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

RAHUL S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Terry was excellent !! I think he's the only 1 guide who gives this tour. Ours was a group of 8 people. The tour started with a delay of 15 mins because an American mom-daughter were running a little late. Terry was patient enough to give them directionsthough it was simple as they were travelling via a car. Rest all were on time. He was also patient enough to let everyone click pics and also kept the group together in an impressive manner. He gave in-depth explanationeven about RLD about all places as well as answered all our questions of various kinds. The tour ended near Anne Fran House. At the end, he also gave other tips like where to stay, eat etc.
one advice to Viator : Next time, please don't mention 'Look out for Green T-shirt' around meeting point as it causes a lot of confusion to some people at least 3 people in my group were confused.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Debra J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This is my 2nd Amsterdam Tour and I would recommend it. The Canal Cruise was a great way to end our day and relax. We chose a Wednesday thinking it would be less crowded - wrong - crazy tourism but oh so worth it! Favorite stop - Anne Frank House! I do prefer the tours with a real person talking and sharing info about stops as we come upon them. This tour was not always in sinc and we were either passing the building or couldn't tell which building they were talking about. It poured rain most of the day too - so keep that in mind with how I rated this.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Felicia D USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

I have used this bus operator's tours many times and have always been impressed, but not this time. Amsterdam is a vibrant, exciting city with a lot of history, but the amount of information given was pathetically minimal. We passed by several buildings that looked unique in some way, but no information was shared. As a matter of fact, I gave this strong consideration the second day and paid very close attention to the information provided, thinking perhaps the first day I was just tired. Not so. It was disappointing to say the least.
Also, the guides seemed more intent on selling tickets to the various places we were to go (no on Anne Frank Haus, but yes to the others, many museums, the Diamond Factory, etc). Often, they would announce that we were coming up to stop # ___ for such and such and they had tickets to sell on the bus. While they were making the announcement, though, something was being said in the headset that you could not hear.
I was very disappointed and will think twice about booking a tour with this bus operator again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Mark anthony L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

we were really glad that we purchased this tour. we stayed in Amsterdam for only 1 day and this is what we booked to get around the city. The only thing that we didn't like is that the wait time for the buses is 25-30 minutes. we really got disappointed because it says that it's supposed to be only 15 minutes. The advantage in booking this tour is that it really goes around the city but you must make sure to manage your time properly when you go down in a certain area. It would be better if it really is a 15 minute interval. but overall, we still managed to see what we planned to see and we were still able to get on the canal cruise. All of this in 1 day is worth it but it could have been faster for us if the buses arrive on time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Owenita E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour is an excellent way of knowing your way around Amsterdam. Our guide Terry from Ireland is very knowledgeable. We learned a lot from him about the history of the city, the important structures and their history. The walking tour was quite long but we had a nice coffee break in between. The tour ended near Anne Frank House, so we had lunch in the area and went to Anne Frank House at 3 pm.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message