With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennipher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fun day trip! Our favorite was the first stop, Zaanse Schans. The clog demonstration was fun and the windmills were beautiful! We payed the extra 4 euros to go into the windmill and we were glad we did. Only downside: it was only a half day. We would have liked to go to more places or stay longer.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Certainly it would have been difficult to see all these things by yourself. Our tour guide Aaf was very knowledgeable. The start to Zaanse Schans was very commercial, but the windmill was excellent. So many different types of cheese to taste at Volendam. Unfortunately we couldn't buy any as they were too big and heavy for us to carry in our suitcases.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

gnts9rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was informative and the guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It was a very nice day.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Jean V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific tour into the countryside. Took a total of about 8 hours. Easy pace, with just the right amount of walking and time on your own to shop in several spots. Go on a Wednesday, so you can see the cheese market at Edam. Be sure to visit the traditional Dutch candy shop in Volderdam and make yourself some hot chocolate at the windmills.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour and tour guide, but our booking didn't go through to the agency, so they didn't have our booking, we had to wait until the tour was ready to leave until they would let us join and that was only because someone else didnt turn up, very frustrating.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to experience a little Dutch culture and get a feel for the Dutch countryside.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

kenosborn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It would not be a trip to the Netherlands if you didn't get to see working windmills and how they make cheese. The cheese samples were delicious. Many people turned down the green cheese probably due to color. My wife and I loved the green cheese.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful day visiting the outer area of Amsterdam. We met some wonderful fellow
travelers as well. This tour covers a lot of the Netherland history.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The guide and itinerary were great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Herman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a great day trip and see a windmill sawing logs was great. Cheese tasting offered wine and cheese in the price of out tour ticket.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Livan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was everything I expected, fast pace, but great tour. the tour guide and the driver were great!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Sabrina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and tour guide were great! We saw small towns and the countryside with the convenience of an air-conditioned bus. There is so much packed into one day that unfortunately there is not a lot of time to explore on your own. Consider this tour a quick introduction to the area. On a separate note: The tour company did not have a record of my reservation. I booked the tour about 4 days in advance and had received a confirmation email. Luckily I had another day in Amsterdam because I was re-booked for a tour the following day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Vivian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this tour!!! Our guide was great and the towns were amazing! Keep in mind that the windmills are located in a contained community... not in the outskirts of town. Unfortunately did not see tulips because of the time of year--- regardless, we loved it!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Louise R

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting to see how dykes were formed. There is a fair amount of walking so take that into consideration. Loved seeing the windmills. Would recommend the tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

sharonymonahan

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very well organized and went very smoothly. Didn't get the coffee and pastries on the boat tour...not sure what happened there. Bit the lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

MJ

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed the tour, the shoe making and windmills were fascinating however, I wished there was a little more time for shopping and exploring.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Berta K

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I was not really impressed with this tour. Too many people and you could not even walk without someone hitting you with their backpack or bumping into you. Personally, I would not do this trip again. However, I did enjoy seeing the windmills. Cheese tasting reminded me of vultures.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Larry S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Good, comfortable bus, knowledgable guide, lovely areas to visit . This is a bilingual tour , English /Spanish . The Spanish tourists monopolized the guide and were very pushing exiting the bus. It didn't inform the guests that while the bus picks up at three locations it only drops off at one. Very bad communication .

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

simard_robert Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Excellent tour and beautifull city to walk around. The Cheese Market is way too crowdy and difficult to access.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

claire1943

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Due to the fact that my plane was two hours late arriving and I had to wait for my ride to the hotel, I was unable to take the tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message