With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 391 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pdamking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Was great to get out of the city and see the countryside. The guide Mary Ann was amazing and very knowledgeable and Bert was a wonderful bus driver. Lunch was absolutely first class and very filling, an unexpected 3 courses. Very glad we did this tour, great value for money!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Superbly designed and let day trip: well-paced, informative with an excellent guide Marianne and driver Bert. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a lovely surprise this tour was. Much more than we expected. The little villages were charming and our guide was quite knowledgable. Just the might mix of hokey touristy amongst the breathtaking countryside. Highly recommend this one.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Maureen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best tours we have ever been on, the guide and driver very good company and learnt so much about Holland and it's history and people

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

George L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great guide and driver. Great destinations and explanations. Fine lunch experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Pamela K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. A beautiful day visiting beautiful places. So much to see in one day but a nice amount of time at each place. Well worth every cent and would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see some smaller villages full of their own charm and character in one day. Such a lovely day away from the hustle bustle of the big city.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

joss_reinshagen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour covering a number of interesting sites - we really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Swifty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

History on display, fantastic day watching the way cheese was sold at market in the day.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the best tour of our vacation. It was so fun! Our guide Pieter was fantastic, with a great sense of humor. He kept things moving right along, and our day went very fast. There was a lot to do and the guide kept it interesting with commentary, but not boring or long-winded. The only thing that disappointed me was that we didn't get to do any Edam cheese-tasting in Edam, only Gouda cheese tasting in Volendam. And of course, it would have been nice, as always, if we'd had more time to play in these 4 towns, but I say that on every tour! All in all, a great day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Charm of Holland Tour which about 8 hours all in all. It included: visiting as the 1st stop the Zaans Schans we got to visit a wood cutting wind mill - it was very interesting and informative. Then we had a Walking tour in Volendam where we visited Woltje's backery also informative on how waffles were done and the place had a small museum in the basement. After finishing from Woltje's we headed to the Cheese Factory in Volendam you get the full explanation about how Gouda cheese are made, then you are given a glass of wine and you can sample cheeses - place was very crowded and noisy. Once done we got on the boat from Volendam to Marken about 25 minutes ride which was pleasant. We then were seated in the De Visscher Taverne we had to choose fish soup or tomato basil and for main dish: fish and chips or chicken. You also get an apple pie and coffee from the same place. Once done we had a walking tour in Marken and visited the flood museum. Next stop was the clog shoe maker where you get a full demo on how they do a clog shoe interesting but hot. Last, we had a walking tour in Edam which was not bad.


Overall: the experience was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jennifer M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was an interesting tour going to several places in the Dutch countryside, so we had a taste of several towns. The windmill area was the most interesting, and I wish we could have spent more time there. The other towns we toured were quaint and picturesque. The lunch wasn't very good, and we had to ask the waiters 3 times for the drinks we ordered before they came. But overall it was well worth it.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Fang-Chin C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

great cheese and local foods, buy the cheese here, might not found in Amsterdam with same ones

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

e_oilers_1

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour! Great way to see the countryside! Love the little towns and villages. Enjoyed the visit to the windmills as well. I was disappointed that we didn't get our cheese tasting in Edam. We did have a cheese tasting in Volendam instead.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jason W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

just went with them 2 days back. beautiful weather, but if anything would like to stretch the tour an extra hour so that there is more time for photo taking and leisure walking

food at markens could be improved, the cod fish was overcooked

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jennipher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fun day trip! Our favorite was the first stop, Zaanse Schans. The clog demonstration was fun and the windmills were beautiful! We payed the extra 4 euros to go into the windmill and we were glad we did. Only downside: it was only a half day. We would have liked to go to more places or stay longer.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Certainly it would have been difficult to see all these things by yourself. Our tour guide Aaf was very knowledgeable. The start to Zaanse Schans was very commercial, but the windmill was excellent. So many different types of cheese to taste at Volendam. Unfortunately we couldn't buy any as they were too big and heavy for us to carry in our suitcases.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

gnts9rs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was informative and the guide was knowledgeable and friendly. It was a very nice day.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Jean V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific tour into the countryside. Took a total of about 8 hours. Easy pace, with just the right amount of walking and time on your own to shop in several spots. Go on a Wednesday, so you can see the cheese market at Edam. Be sure to visit the traditional Dutch candy shop in Volderdam and make yourself some hot chocolate at the windmills.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour and tour guide, but our booking didn't go through to the agency, so they didn't have our booking, we had to wait until the tour was ready to leave until they would let us join and that was only because someone else didnt turn up, very frustrating.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to experience a little Dutch culture and get a feel for the Dutch countryside.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

kenosborn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It would not be a trip to the Netherlands if you didn't get to see working windmills and how they make cheese. The cheese samples were delicious. Many people turned down the green cheese probably due to color. My wife and I loved the green cheese.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful day visiting the outer area of Amsterdam. We met some wonderful fellow
travelers as well. This tour covers a lot of the Netherland history.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message