With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 420 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was awesome. Our guide was energetic and accommodating. We got to see demonstrations of cheese making, cookie making and shoe making. We had a boat ride. We met lots of people. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Denise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ben was the driver and Jose was the tour guide. Excellent professionals!
The tour was very well organized and the explanation of all the places we went to was very good!
We had a great day and never a boring moment!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Leslie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was amazing. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke just about every language imaginable. There was so much food to eat all day! Cheese, wine, cookies, cake - and that's not even including the lunch! The villages were beautiful and the bus ride was comfortable. All-in-all this was worth every single penny. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ruwan K. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Yes it was fantastic. Specially Juliet who was our tour guide went out of her way to make sure that we enjoed.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour itself was wonderful. Well worth the expense. Going to the windmill Park is educational and fun for any age. I only wish we had more time in Volderdam for shopping.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip. Charming villages, beautiful photo ops, Learned a lot about the history and importance of Dutch culture that I did not know before. A great investment.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The tour included a walking tour of Edam, a cheese tasting, a ferry ride from Volkendam to Marken, lunch in Marken, a walking tour of Marken, a demonstration of wooden shoe making, and a visit to windmills with a demonstration of making oil from seeds.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Towns such as Alkmaar are so historically interesting with a story to tell of themselves. The windmills are just fansinating.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Eniko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I highly recommend this tour to everyone: couples, friends and single travelers at any age.
You will not be bored for a minute - specially if will be lucky and get Pieter as a guide.
You will see so much from this beautiful country in 8 hours - and I am not talking only about places, but also local people who really enjoy what they do - cheese, clogs, stroopwafels or oil in a windmill.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

RANDALL T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a full day trip and was very informative. Our guide was knowledgeable about each of the places we visited and we had plenty of time to see and ask questions about each spot. The restaurant where we had lunch was very good. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jfchow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Comfortable coach and experience guide shown us the beautiful of Netherlands. Great lunch and it was a very nice trip

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our first excursion on our trip to Europe, and could not been a better introduction. The tour guide was loverly, the scenery was just picture card perfect. The whole day there was always something beautiful to see. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ana Maria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour is very complete . The places we visited extraordinary. The guide tour and driver were booth very nice and helpful. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Edward G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour to cheese and wine tasting. We got to see a Guy make a wooden shoe . The cheese was so good I brought some home. Then we went on to a Village where there was 5 restored Wind Mills, animals it was very good trip because it got you away from the City into the Beautiful Country side. Highly recommend this one

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - definitely a must do. Pieter our guide and Tom our driver are an All Pro team. The sights and tastes are not to be missed. Get out of the big cities and see more of the Netherlands. Volendam for cheese tasting and waffles, lunch in Marken and a visit to the wooden shoe craftsman and his most photographed sock in the world, and the working windmill village of Zaanse Shans are lasting memories.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Janet M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Lovely cities. Edam is postcard perfect. You can't visit the Netherlands without seeing windmills!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Nancy B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very enjoyable day. Plenty to see and do. Our guide was very informative.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

kai61

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Was a good trip well worth it. There was lots of time given to look around. A long day butb went by so fast

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

kai61

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

raychen168

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Close to nature, this is what office people need, a little get away from everyday office work to enjoy a little nature.
Taking coach bus, so if the person siting in front of you decide to lay back....you might be crushed...

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Claudia S Brazil

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a great tour! The places visited are very close to Amsterdam, just a little bus ride away and we could see the wood shoemakers, lovely views, wonderful countryside and the windmills. There's also an enjoyable boat ride. The guide Aff and the bus driver Pete were very helpful and we had fun with them. The stop at a cheese factory is nice and we have the chance to try some delicious types. The lunch offered is at a charming traditional restaurant and the food is really good. Although it seems like a lot to do in one day, it's a very quiet and smooth trip I recommend for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Pat Dantas New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great value for money. The guide and driver were excellent. The lunch was great. Never felt rushed.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

s_rochette31

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour ! The bus was right on time for pick, it was clean and comfortable. Guide was very good and knowledgeable although I'd have appreciated a little more information regarding how Edam cheese bears the village's name and spoke in a very clear English. Tour was bilingual English/Spanish that day so it was just a little annoying to have to hear the same speach twice. The itinerary was great and didn't block off all my day which allowed me to do a lot that day and the time spent at each location was appropriate. Toilets are a paid service at Zaanse Schans but if you can wait until the cheese factory 3rd stop, after Edam but before Volendam then there are free toilets. Great tour to see a bit of the countryside if you are on a short 3-4 day trip like I was. Prices at the cheese factory are the same as any Henry Willig store in Amsterdam so if you'd want to carry your cheeses from that point, just wait and get them in town. Entry into the windmill itself is really the only thing that's not already included so th was 4 as of October 2016, totally worth it ! It was beautiful to see the mecanism actually spinning and grinding rocks from the inside !

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message