With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 427 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louis T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant tour. The Dutch countryside is exquisite and it was a pleasure to see 4 such beautiful towns. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and kind, and the food was wonderful and abundant.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an informative and well paced tour. We visited windmills, clogs, cheese, a fishing village and some really old tilted buildings. The tour guide spoke in 3 different languages, amazing that she could remember what she was saying, and she knew a lot. I enjoyed my day, even though it was very cold and icy.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Sara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was awesome. Our guide was energetic and accommodating. We got to see demonstrations of cheese making, cookie making and shoe making. We had a boat ride. We met lots of people. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

dougiebell_14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a really enthusiastic, eager and informative Dutch tour guide. He knew all the history and knew when the right times were to speak. He was also very funny, inclusive of everyone and catered to our needs i.e. if we wanted to try a particular something for lunch. The bus ride from Amsterdam to Zaanse Schans only took half an hour-45 minutes, and from Zaanse Schans to Edam/Volendam less than half an hour, so you were not stuck on a bus for most of the tour at all! In between these stops as well, you visit this gorgeous little Dutch cheese factory, where they show you how cheese is made and stored, and there are also wooden shoes clogs to buy. They demonstrate to you how they carve the shoes- very impressive!
We were blessed to have clear blue skies on our day, and it wasn't too busy at it was November.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Noor Adzlin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My guide was a very nice lady who was friendly and made a conscious effort to interact with every member of the tour. She was very knowledgeable and answered all queries.

The tour was perfect for those who do not have much spare time. It feels like an express tour but there was ample free time to roam around and explore. Overall, it was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

karcamp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was excellent. A must when visiting Amsterdam to leave the city and experience the countryside. The village of Edam is a photographers dream as well as seeing the Windmills.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Denise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ben was the driver and Jose was the tour guide. Excellent professionals!
The tour was very well organized and the explanation of all the places we went to was very good!
We had a great day and never a boring moment!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Leslie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was amazing. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke just about every language imaginable. There was so much food to eat all day! Cheese, wine, cookies, cake - and that's not even including the lunch! The villages were beautiful and the bus ride was comfortable. All-in-all this was worth every single penny. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ruwan K. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Yes it was fantastic. Specially Juliet who was our tour guide went out of her way to make sure that we enjoed.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour itself was wonderful. Well worth the expense. Going to the windmill Park is educational and fun for any age. I only wish we had more time in Volderdam for shopping.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip. Charming villages, beautiful photo ops, Learned a lot about the history and importance of Dutch culture that I did not know before. A great investment.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The tour included a walking tour of Edam, a cheese tasting, a ferry ride from Volkendam to Marken, lunch in Marken, a walking tour of Marken, a demonstration of wooden shoe making, and a visit to windmills with a demonstration of making oil from seeds.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Towns such as Alkmaar are so historically interesting with a story to tell of themselves. The windmills are just fansinating.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Eniko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I highly recommend this tour to everyone: couples, friends and single travelers at any age.
You will not be bored for a minute - specially if will be lucky and get Pieter as a guide.
You will see so much from this beautiful country in 8 hours - and I am not talking only about places, but also local people who really enjoy what they do - cheese, clogs, stroopwafels or oil in a windmill.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

RANDALL T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a full day trip and was very informative. Our guide was knowledgeable about each of the places we visited and we had plenty of time to see and ask questions about each spot. The restaurant where we had lunch was very good. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jfchow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Comfortable coach and experience guide shown us the beautiful of Netherlands. Great lunch and it was a very nice trip

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our first excursion on our trip to Europe, and could not been a better introduction. The tour guide was loverly, the scenery was just picture card perfect. The whole day there was always something beautiful to see. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ana Maria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour is very complete . The places we visited extraordinary. The guide tour and driver were booth very nice and helpful. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Edward G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour to cheese and wine tasting. We got to see a Guy make a wooden shoe . The cheese was so good I brought some home. Then we went on to a Village where there was 5 restored Wind Mills, animals it was very good trip because it got you away from the City into the Beautiful Country side. Highly recommend this one

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - definitely a must do. Pieter our guide and Tom our driver are an All Pro team. The sights and tastes are not to be missed. Get out of the big cities and see more of the Netherlands. Volendam for cheese tasting and waffles, lunch in Marken and a visit to the wooden shoe craftsman and his most photographed sock in the world, and the working windmill village of Zaanse Shans are lasting memories.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Janet M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Lovely cities. Edam is postcard perfect. You can't visit the Netherlands without seeing windmills!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message