With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 337 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour with highlights including a tour of a working windmill and a fantastic demonstration of wooden shoe manufacturing. Very scenic walking tours. Edgar was an excellent guide!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

bmille22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice trip - -many good sights. Suggested updates to itinerary is to say you will only see Tulips in season, and should warn participants that restroom stops are not free and they should have some Euro Coins with them for these stops

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

LILA N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The places we visit are beautiful, Edgar the tour guide is excellent

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Monica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! I took my two 13 year old kids on this tour and this was one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam. The town of Alkmaar is beautiful with lots of shopping opportunities. The cheese was delicious. Our only regret is that we didn't purchase more cheese! The tour of the Windmills was incredibly interesting. We were surprised by how much we learned and enjoyed it. You can go inside the windmills and climb to the top and see first hand how they work. Very picturesque countryside. Lots of photo opportunities!! Very nice tour guide who provided much information about the Netherlands!!

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Alison P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour, nice and relaxing around the country side a great escape from the hustle and bustle of the city! The guide was excellent and trip was very informing and beautiful!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

karen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. It was put together well. Beautiful countryside. If you find yourself in Amsterdam, dont miss this.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

kathleen j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we had a wonderful time visiting the three lovely little villages.
Zaanse Schans was really lovely and very interesting. Edam had a cheese market the day we were there and that was great to watch. Volendam again very different from the other two places was very nice too. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see more than just the city of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour outside of the city. Our tour guide provided us with a lot of good, easy to understand information. My 13 year old and 15 year old both thought it was great. We enjoyed having some time on our own in Alkmaar, combined with a tour of the town. We also learned a lot from the information our tour guide told us while on the bus. I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

mollyvarquez13 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really had fun. It's highly recommended for first timer in the country.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The driver and guide are extremely caring. They make sure you have an exceptional good tour experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Dian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I always love visiting villages.
We had a very nice companion within the tour.
Love the food for lunch too.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

M D P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pieter was a fantastic tour guide -- humorous, respectful, kind, knowledgeable. The bus driver Bert was very courteous and helpful for my handicapped wife. The tour of the countryside was just what we wanted to see. Put this on your bucket list. Bar none!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Loved learning about the tulips and harvesting.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

timthoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable and picturesque day trip. Highly recommended for someone who wants a quick introduction to the Dutch countryside. The tour guide - Maryanne and coach driver - Brett were very friendly and provided excellent service. Be prepared to walk a bit. The group size was just right to make it a very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

ilove2travel United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved it! After St. Petersburg, the best tour of our whole trip!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

roaminjj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable full day overview tour. The bus was comfortable, the driver excellent, and the tour guide very knowledgeable and nice. We were well received everywhere we went and although it was touristy and somewhat crowded in some of the spots, I was not disappointed. We visited Edam, Vollendam, Maarken, and Zandt - nice scenery, people, food, and luckily also weather! I found it a great day and an excellent value.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

joe_witalec

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a very nice tour through the Dutch countryside. All the stops were enjoyable, although we felt a little rushed at times. At Zaanse Schans, you see a wooden shoe making demonstration and then have time to go in one or two windmills. Lots of good places to eat in Volendam boardwalk.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

rasaky

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This day tour out into the beautiful countryside of Amsterdam was wonderful. The guide we had Fanny was brillant her knowledge of the areas we visited was excellent. Edam and the lovely cheese Volendam cheese factory was a wonderful stop, the beautiful ferry trip to Markem. A lovely lunch in Markem. A very long day but definitely a worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Timothy S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgeable. The only negative was the schedule was a little tight and did not allow enough time to explore.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Leigh W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We had a lovely day. Very interesting and most enjoyable. Very beautiful country with very friendly people

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Deborah M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour was very informative, low key, and highlighted several sites I'd wanted to see. The time allotted for the walking tours of the towns was very good, not too fast but not too slow either. Lots of historical information shared. The tour guide was a bit soft spoken on the bus so there we times it was hard to hear. Other than that it was great. When I can bring family over just might take it again.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Amy S T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the 2 small towns a lot! Beautiful, quaint environment. The lunch was nothing special. The windmills were interesting but it was just a few of them. I think it was more like a 'tourist theme park' than a 'back to the future' experience. Still good since we've never seen a real windmill before.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message