With its distinctive wheel-like shape and fire-engine red rind, Edam is one of Amsterdam’s most famous exports, although the cheese looks a little different in its home town - here, the cheese has an uncharacteristic yellow rind. Edam isn’t just a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 432 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Petra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic trip, gives you a great appreciation of Amsterdam and our Tour guide was so enthusiastic and so knowledgeable couldn't have had anyone better. Must do!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

fatz

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This tour is a and #34;must to do and #34; when in Amsterdam. Our guide Pieter is very knowledgeable and funny which makes the tour even more fun.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Louis T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant tour. The Dutch countryside is exquisite and it was a pleasure to see 4 such beautiful towns. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and kind, and the food was wonderful and abundant.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an informative and well paced tour. We visited windmills, clogs, cheese, a fishing village and some really old tilted buildings. The tour guide spoke in 3 different languages, amazing that she could remember what she was saying, and she knew a lot. I enjoyed my day, even though it was very cold and icy.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Rebecca T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

While the windmills were impressive, the highlight has to be the cheese tasting!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Tuck B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent guide but due the small size of our group they had to combine us with the Spanish speakers so that was a lot to listen to.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Gary B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great day in the countryside. Towns visited were very different. Edam very traditional and Volendam very touristy. The windmill Park was the highlight of the tour. Fantastic to see the Dutch heritage preserved. Guide was very informative and proud to talk about his culture and history. Only issue was people late back to the bus which was not the guides fault. Note we were not returned to where we boarded the bus but quite some distance away at Central station. This should be made clearer from.the start of the tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Sara K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was awesome. Our guide was energetic and accommodating. We got to see demonstrations of cheese making, cookie making and shoe making. We had a boat ride. We met lots of people. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

dougiebell_14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a really enthusiastic, eager and informative Dutch tour guide. He knew all the history and knew when the right times were to speak. He was also very funny, inclusive of everyone and catered to our needs i.e. if we wanted to try a particular something for lunch. The bus ride from Amsterdam to Zaanse Schans only took half an hour-45 minutes, and from Zaanse Schans to Edam/Volendam less than half an hour, so you were not stuck on a bus for most of the tour at all! In between these stops as well, you visit this gorgeous little Dutch cheese factory, where they show you how cheese is made and stored, and there are also wooden shoes clogs to buy. They demonstrate to you how they carve the shoes- very impressive!
We were blessed to have clear blue skies on our day, and it wasn't too busy at it was November.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Noor Adzlin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My guide was a very nice lady who was friendly and made a conscious effort to interact with every member of the tour. She was very knowledgeable and answered all queries.

The tour was perfect for those who do not have much spare time. It feels like an express tour but there was ample free time to roam around and explore. Overall, it was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

karcamp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was excellent. A must when visiting Amsterdam to leave the city and experience the countryside. The village of Edam is a photographers dream as well as seeing the Windmills.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Denise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ben was the driver and Jose was the tour guide. Excellent professionals!
The tour was very well organized and the explanation of all the places we went to was very good!
We had a great day and never a boring moment!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Leslie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was amazing. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke just about every language imaginable. There was so much food to eat all day! Cheese, wine, cookies, cake - and that's not even including the lunch! The villages were beautiful and the bus ride was comfortable. All-in-all this was worth every single penny. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Ruwan K. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Yes it was fantastic. Specially Juliet who was our tour guide went out of her way to make sure that we enjoed.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Roger G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour itself was wonderful. Well worth the expense. Going to the windmill Park is educational and fun for any age. I only wish we had more time in Volderdam for shopping.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful trip. Charming villages, beautiful photo ops, Learned a lot about the history and importance of Dutch culture that I did not know before. A great investment.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The tour included a walking tour of Edam, a cheese tasting, a ferry ride from Volkendam to Marken, lunch in Marken, a walking tour of Marken, a demonstration of wooden shoe making, and a visit to windmills with a demonstration of making oil from seeds.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Towns such as Alkmaar are so historically interesting with a story to tell of themselves. The windmills are just fansinating.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Eniko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I highly recommend this tour to everyone: couples, friends and single travelers at any age.
You will not be bored for a minute - specially if will be lucky and get Pieter as a guide.
You will see so much from this beautiful country in 8 hours - and I am not talking only about places, but also local people who really enjoy what they do - cheese, clogs, stroopwafels or oil in a windmill.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

RANDALL T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a full day trip and was very informative. Our guide was knowledgeable about each of the places we visited and we had plenty of time to see and ask questions about each spot. The restaurant where we had lunch was very good. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jfchow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Comfortable coach and experience guide shown us the beautiful of Netherlands. Great lunch and it was a very nice trip

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message