Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken, and thus, its location, a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake, is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 424 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Very touristy. We could have done with more time at Zaanse Schans Windmills in order to see everything in the area. Trip to Marken very swift too although timing for the boat was good. In summer the trip across the water may be more worthwhile than in damp and chilly November. Volendam seen was mostly tat shops and lunch was around 5pm and totally unnecessary so we had some time to kill walking up and down until the shops closed up waiting for those who had chosen to eat then. Perhaps a revised schedule for Autumn/Winter months would be more appropriate. Fair bit of walking for those not so able. The guides were very good as was the driver.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great! We had a wonderful time at the windmills. took a ferry to Marken, ate fish and chips and poffertje on the seaside at Volendam, bought cheese. The guide was excellent! The whole thing was so worthwhile and interesting. Not quite enough time for shopping at the windmills was my only thing! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The tour included a walking tour of Edam, a cheese tasting, a ferry ride from Volkendam to Marken, lunch in Marken, a walking tour of Marken, a demonstration of wooden shoe making, and a visit to windmills with a demonstration of making oil from seeds.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rachel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour! The bus ride included an audio tour which was great for learning while we were driving. The windmills were beautiful and incredibly interesting. We saw a cheese factory in Voldendam which was very cool and then we were given time to walk around the fishing village and have lunch. We ate some amazing friend cod for lunch. Then there was a boat ride to Marken where was walked through the town and got a tour of how wooden clogs are made. All in all it was a wonderful opportunity to see some cultural elements of the country while only being a short drive outside of Amsterdam. Highly recommend this tour if you have half a day to spare!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Wayne O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic tour - on time, efficient, comfortable, with a guide who was both multi lingual and very humorous. The on board commentary was informative and the time allowed at each location was close to ample. I would however have allowed more time at the Windmills and Marken and less time at the museum. Marken ended up being a rather quick walk to the clog factory and didn't have enough time for a good look at the village. But these are only minor grievances, overall it was an excellent overview of the Netherlands countryside and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Favorite Day in Holland was this extraordinary tour. We were able to be comfortable on the bus for the short ride out to Zaanse Schans to witness the surreal Windmills and then to Marken to watch wooden shoes being made and then Volendam to enjoy the seaside village.
Absolutely Amazing Tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - definitely a must do. Pieter our guide and Tom our driver are an All Pro team. The sights and tastes are not to be missed. Get out of the big cities and see more of the Netherlands. Volendam for cheese tasting and waffles, lunch in Marken and a visit to the wooden shoe craftsman and his most photographed sock in the world, and the working windmill village of Zaanse Shans are lasting memories.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

sharan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

it was a good tour and can be excellent just because it was very large group I have given it 4 star.but they managed very well marken and volendam is very beautiful.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Julia L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much and had a very nice lunch in Volendam with fresh white cod fish and fries. The ferry ride to Marken was enjoyable especially since the weather was nice.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Christine Joyce F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this tour! The city tour came first. It was ok. Our guide was very knowledgeable. There is no time for lunch so it would be wise to bring a sandwich. Expect a extensive walking tour of the windmills, Volendam and Marken. Good way to see places up close.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

linella g

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

A trip to the Netherlands would not be complete without seeing the windmills which is partly credited for the Dutch industrial revolution 400 years ago.Add to this the clog-making demo in Marken and the fish and chips lunch in Volandem, I should say the tour was well worth the time and money spent. The guides were professional and helpful.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was a very good trip to see a good overview of the windmills, cheese factory and the clog making shop. I think my favorite stop was Marken where the clog shop is. The guide takes you through the small idyllic village on a walk not strenuous and the homes a quaint and simple. This was one of my favorite parts of the trip. Volendam was lovely too and the houses facing the water were simple and beautiful. The trip to the windmills was very informative but I will tell you that it is quite a walk to the windmill that they took us to the green one. For those of you who have trouble getting around, this is quite a walk. Do take this tour. It is a very memorable one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

lkwcb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome Windmills and exploring Volendam and Marken. Enjoyed the countryside. I would recommend, due to the amount of walking required on this tour, that you state that in your guide, as there were a few older folks that had a hard time with the walking.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great trip. Seeing a working windmill was of great interest to all but particularly to the engineers in the group. Volendam is a delightful town we enjoyed the museum, cheese shop and fish and chips at the recommended restaurant. The boat ride to Marken and the wooden shoe factory were also quite enjoyable. The tour guide provided insight we would not have had if we had visited these locations on our own. Loved all we did!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Charm of Holland Tour which about 8 hours all in all. It included: visiting as the 1st stop the Zaans Schans we got to visit a wood cutting wind mill - it was very interesting and informative. Then we had a Walking tour in Volendam where we visited Woltje's backery also informative on how waffles were done and the place had a small museum in the basement. After finishing from Woltje's we headed to the Cheese Factory in Volendam you get the full explanation about how Gouda cheese are made, then you are given a glass of wine and you can sample cheeses - place was very crowded and noisy. Once done we got on the boat from Volendam to Marken about 25 minutes ride which was pleasant. We then were seated in the De Visscher Taverne we had to choose fish soup or tomato basil and for main dish: fish and chips or chicken. You also get an apple pie and coffee from the same place. Once done we had a walking tour in Marken and visited the flood museum. Next stop was the clog shoe maker where you get a full demo on how they do a clog shoe interesting but hot. Last, we had a walking tour in Edam which was not bad.


Overall: the experience was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gary B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Nice trip, good timing. Wooden shoe factory was OK. Boat and Marken was great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jason W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

just went with them 2 days back. beautiful weather, but if anything would like to stretch the tour an extra hour so that there is more time for photo taking and leisure walking

food at markens could be improved, the cod fish was overcooked

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

LJJ

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The countryside was beautiful! Felt a little rushed at the windmills. The villages of Volendam and Marken were very quaint. The cheese factory - enjoyed the cheese tasting, but there was not much info given on cheese making. The boat ride was okay and the wooden shoe maker was interesting and entertaining..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Bruce M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great trip with a lot of things to see. We had a big group - a full double-decker bus, but we kept nicely to schedule. Everything was fascinating - from the working wind mills at Zannse Schans to the wooden shoe factory at Marken. A little more time at each place would have been nice. Making this a 7.5 hour trip would be better. Nonetheless, we had fun, saw wonderful sights. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Eileen F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour covers everything that they state, but commentaries at the windmills, clog shoe factory, and cheese factory lasted approximately 5-10 minutes for each site. While a recorded narration was provided, it was very limited and only offered on the bus. No information is provided while walking the grounds in Zaanse Schans, Marken or Volendam. This large group tour was very large double decker bus was filled. Better off paying the extra money and book a private or a small group tour to see these sites!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

muhammadnaumanchught ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a half day trip, this was perfect. I would have liked to have spent more time in Volendam which I found very interesting and actually cheaper than Amsterdam city- consider spending a night here! The clog making tour in Marken was fine but not great - enjoyed the boat ride on the ijselmeer. The Windmills of course were great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

stecklercj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very fun to see countryside , and villages outside Amsterdam. Definitely worth time and cost.
Bus very nice and tour guide informative. Loved the boat trip to Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rhey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely love this tour! I would love to come back. But maybe next time at least allow us enough time to take photos.Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken are both beautiful in different ways. This is the real Holland! Your visit to Netherlands is not complete if you will not see this places.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message