Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken, and thus, its location, a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake, is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 412 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was a very good trip to see a good overview of the windmills, cheese factory and the clog making shop. I think my favorite stop was Marken where the clog shop is. The guide takes you through the small idyllic village on a walk not strenuous and the homes a quaint and simple. This was one of my favorite parts of the trip. Volendam was lovely too and the houses facing the water were simple and beautiful. The trip to the windmills was very informative but I will tell you that it is quite a walk to the windmill that they took us to the green one. For those of you who have trouble getting around, this is quite a walk. Do take this tour. It is a very memorable one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

lkwcb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome Windmills and exploring Volendam and Marken. Enjoyed the countryside. I would recommend, due to the amount of walking required on this tour, that you state that in your guide, as there were a few older folks that had a hard time with the walking.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great trip. Seeing a working windmill was of great interest to all but particularly to the engineers in the group. Volendam is a delightful town we enjoyed the museum, cheese shop and fish and chips at the recommended restaurant. The boat ride to Marken and the wooden shoe factory were also quite enjoyable. The tour guide provided insight we would not have had if we had visited these locations on our own. Loved all we did!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Charm of Holland Tour which about 8 hours all in all. It included: visiting as the 1st stop the Zaans Schans we got to visit a wood cutting wind mill - it was very interesting and informative. Then we had a Walking tour in Volendam where we visited Woltje's backery also informative on how waffles were done and the place had a small museum in the basement. After finishing from Woltje's we headed to the Cheese Factory in Volendam you get the full explanation about how Gouda cheese are made, then you are given a glass of wine and you can sample cheeses - place was very crowded and noisy. Once done we got on the boat from Volendam to Marken about 25 minutes ride which was pleasant. We then were seated in the De Visscher Taverne we had to choose fish soup or tomato basil and for main dish: fish and chips or chicken. You also get an apple pie and coffee from the same place. Once done we had a walking tour in Marken and visited the flood museum. Next stop was the clog shoe maker where you get a full demo on how they do a clog shoe interesting but hot. Last, we had a walking tour in Edam which was not bad.


Overall: the experience was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gary B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Nice trip, good timing. Wooden shoe factory was OK. Boat and Marken was great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jason W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

just went with them 2 days back. beautiful weather, but if anything would like to stretch the tour an extra hour so that there is more time for photo taking and leisure walking

food at markens could be improved, the cod fish was overcooked

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

LJJ

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The countryside was beautiful! Felt a little rushed at the windmills. The villages of Volendam and Marken were very quaint. The cheese factory - enjoyed the cheese tasting, but there was not much info given on cheese making. The boat ride was okay and the wooden shoe maker was interesting and entertaining..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Eileen F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour covers everything that they state, but commentaries at the windmills, clog shoe factory, and cheese factory lasted approximately 5-10 minutes for each site. While a recorded narration was provided, it was very limited and only offered on the bus. No information is provided while walking the grounds in Zaanse Schans, Marken or Volendam. This large group tour was very large double decker bus was filled. Better off paying the extra money and book a private or a small group tour to see these sites!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

muhammadnaumanchught ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a half day trip, this was perfect. I would have liked to have spent more time in Volendam which I found very interesting and actually cheaper than Amsterdam city- consider spending a night here! The clog making tour in Marken was fine but not great - enjoyed the boat ride on the ijselmeer. The Windmills of course were great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

stecklercj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very fun to see countryside , and villages outside Amsterdam. Definitely worth time and cost.
Bus very nice and tour guide informative. Loved the boat trip to Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rhey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely love this tour! I would love to come back. But maybe next time at least allow us enough time to take photos.Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken are both beautiful in different ways. This is the real Holland! Your visit to Netherlands is not complete if you will not see this places.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Abdulaziz B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall was excellent. The best parts were the mills as the boat to Volendam. The later is amazing. Restaurants in Marken are also nice.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

tleu16

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The first part of the trip is nothing more than a shopping trip to buy clogs Marken and cheese Volendam. The cruise from Marken to Volendam is fairly boring. Nothing much to see along the way. Only the Zaanse Schans Windmills is worth while, but it was a little rush.
Part 2 was way more interesting. The visit to delft is mostly occupied by another shopping trip to Royal Delft. The Hague bus tour was interesting, even though it was short and very rushed photo opportunity 5 mins. Madurodam is a great overview of all the famous buildings in miniature form.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Patricia M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed seeing the countryside and towns of Marken and Volendam. Would recommend this tour to see outside of Amsterdam. Beautiful area. It was a full day and both tour guides were informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

wanderlust

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The 1st half was great except the cheese factory demo. We were told hoe cheese was made, rather than shown. More of a cheese shop than factory. The clog factory in Marken was great as was the sawmill in Zaanse Schans. The afternoon trip to Delft , the Hague and Madurodam left much to be desired. The guide wasn't very lucid or informative....just pointed out the buildings in The Hague....a little closer look would be desirable.He could have given us more on the background on Delft and what to see in the City Square. He gave no info on Madurodam and those who hadn't done their homework had no idea what it was. We had no clue as to what the scan cards we were given were to be used for, and the 1 hr allotted was too less to figure it out and enjoy the place.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Abinaya G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

On my first solo trip I decided to book this country side tour in Amsterdam and I must say I enjoyed it thoroughly. I would definitely recommend this package to all those who are willing to get a taste of the windmills village, pretty little Volendam and signature wooden shoe making village Marken!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Janet R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Not enough time in Marken. Too much time in wooden shoe factory.
We would have liked time to look in the charming houses at the dock. We had none.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Douglas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was good fun and informative. Both the guide and bus driver were first class. We got a bit of everything on this trip. To see operating windmills, with explanations from the operator, a cheese factory, a clog making factory and to walk the towns on Volendam and Marken was a great experience.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent value for money. Tour guides very helpful and well informed. Loved Zaanse Schans, Voilendam and Marken.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Gayathiri P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved all aspects of this trip! From tasting the cheese in Voldenam, the delicious seafood meal in Marken and the beautiful windmills in zaanse-schans and our guide josey was very informative and attentive. It was a fun and wonderful trip! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Zaanse Schans and Marken were great to visit. I wasn't fussed on Volendam as it was very touristy and felt like a tourist trap.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

John T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed our tour. Our guide was informative an friendly. It was pleasant walking through the side streets, of marken an volendam, and the guide walked at a casual stroll so older people could keep up which was most thoughtful. It was good to be able to also buy cold water on the bus for a euro. All in all a great overview of country Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message