Few places are as unashamedly picturesque as the village of Marken, and thus, its location, a peninsular stretching onto the IJsselmeer Lake, is often found plastered on souvenir postcards. The quintessentially Dutch village has become a key ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

muhammadnaumanchught ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a half day trip, this was perfect. I would have liked to have spent more time in Volendam which I found very interesting and actually cheaper than Amsterdam city- consider spending a night here! The clog making tour in Marken was fine but not great - enjoyed the boat ride on the ijselmeer. The Windmills of course were great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

stecklercj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very fun to see countryside , and villages outside Amsterdam. Definitely worth time and cost.
Bus very nice and tour guide informative. Loved the boat trip to Marken.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rhey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely love this tour! I would love to come back. But maybe next time at least allow us enough time to take photos.Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken are both beautiful in different ways. This is the real Holland! Your visit to Netherlands is not complete if you will not see this places.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Abdulaziz B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall was excellent. The best parts were the mills as the boat to Volendam. The later is amazing. Restaurants in Marken are also nice.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

tleu16

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The first part of the trip is nothing more than a shopping trip to buy clogs Marken and cheese Volendam. The cruise from Marken to Volendam is fairly boring. Nothing much to see along the way. Only the Zaanse Schans Windmills is worth while, but it was a little rush.
Part 2 was way more interesting. The visit to delft is mostly occupied by another shopping trip to Royal Delft. The Hague bus tour was interesting, even though it was short and very rushed photo opportunity 5 mins. Madurodam is a great overview of all the famous buildings in miniature form.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Patricia M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed seeing the countryside and towns of Marken and Volendam. Would recommend this tour to see outside of Amsterdam. Beautiful area. It was a full day and both tour guides were informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Janet R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Not enough time in Marken. Too much time in wooden shoe factory.
We would have liked time to look in the charming houses at the dock. We had none.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Douglas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was good fun and informative. Both the guide and bus driver were first class. We got a bit of everything on this trip. To see operating windmills, with explanations from the operator, a cheese factory, a clog making factory and to walk the towns on Volendam and Marken was a great experience.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent value for money. Tour guides very helpful and well informed. Loved Zaanse Schans, Voilendam and Marken.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Gayathiri P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved all aspects of this trip! From tasting the cheese in Voldenam, the delicious seafood meal in Marken and the beautiful windmills in zaanse-schans and our guide josey was very informative and attentive. It was a fun and wonderful trip! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Zaanse Schans and Marken were great to visit. I wasn't fussed on Volendam as it was very touristy and felt like a tourist trap.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

John T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed our tour. Our guide was informative an friendly. It was pleasant walking through the side streets, of marken an volendam, and the guide walked at a casual stroll so older people could keep up which was most thoughtful. It was good to be able to also buy cold water on the bus for a euro. All in all a great overview of country Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rose E

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was a nice day trip out of the city. It was nice to see actual windmills. The city of Edam has not been used for cheese for quite some time, so I'm not sure exactly why the tour stops here. The best part of the tour was Marken- the entire village is quite picturesque. The museum there is not really worth seeing. However, we also stopped to see a shoemaker there, and that was definitely a good experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Robert W R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For those who have only one or two days to experience a little of the Amsterdam countryside this tour has it all. The varied schedule, great guides in all places, the sumptuous lunch in Marken, the cheese tasting in pretty Edam, and then the visit to the windmills was great value for money. We had a fabulous day and would certainly recommend this tour.
Bob and Audrey Rogers, Perth Western Australia

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

wenstuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much to see and do in this tour, definitely a good one. Our guide was wonderful giving us pleanty of information. The windmills at Zaanse Schans was like stepping back in time so interesting and the atmosphere was peaceful. we could have spent a lot more time here but there was more to see. Next stop Volendam a fishing village, here we saw how cheese was made and had a chance to sample some. There was time here to have a wander and some lunch. Then onwards on a ferry this time to Marken a small village were we saw clogs being made. This was a great tour and would recommend it to all

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour of the small villages in the country side of the Netherlands was very refreshing and was a good change from the urban sights of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken were exceptionally picturesque. The villages had many small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were presented with a post card view. It was a thrill to climb up into the working windmills at Zaanse Schans and see the gears and screws turning. We had cheese tasting at Volendam and then took a boat ride to Marken where we had a great lunch and were given a demonstration on the making of Dutch shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

melisaleunghx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely love the itinerary and the pace of the tour! Amazing Tour guide, Mary Ann is eloquent in spanish, english and french, provides interesting insights of Amsterdam history of the places covered. We have time for photos and shopping at each locations. Lunch at Marken was delicious and serves fast in good portions. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Craig J South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a unique experience and an interesting tour well worth it. A truly Dutch experience windmills , cheese , clogs and Marken everything that we associate with the Netherlands.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cindy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of my favorite excursions. The tour guides were very pleasant. Quick bus tour with a ride on a boat to Marken. All 3 stops were so beautiful and wish we had more time to wonder around Volendam. Zaanse Schans with the windmills is amazing to see and Marken for the wooden shoes was awesome. I would totally recommend this tour. Windmills, cheese and wooden shoes - who could ask for more!! Volendam was probably my least favorite and the fishing museum was ok but you have the option to pass on it and go with the other tour guide. They were so lovely. Thank you for a memorable day.
The bus restroom did not work which was not fun. :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rob W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide for both the City Tour and the Zaanse/Voldendam/Marken trips were knowledgeable and helpful. There were plenty of toilet breaks, a good itinerary with sufficient free time. My only gripes are a little too much time devoted to gift shops, and a little bit of organizational confusion by the tour company it felt like there were loads of different combo tours, so everyone was quite confused about who was going where.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

gjgrabowski

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Very poor check-in at the local tour agency. Took more than a 1/2 hour to check-in paper copies of purchase receipts, to get another paper copy to go to the bus with. Don't understand why scanned copies of purchase documentation couldn't be used, along with wireless scanners, to speed up the process!! Also, very, very limited number of washrooms, for the volume of people. Zaanse Schans windmill stop was nice. Good to see authentic working windmill. Volendam cheese making was a waste of time. Only purpose was a front to sell cheese. The 'help' to lead us to the Viator approved restaurant seating for lunch was not necessary. Sort of overpriced. There are other available options. The boat ride to Marken was ok. It was a rainy day.. The Marken clog making demo was again only a front to corral everyone, in hopes to sell souvenirs. The afternoon trip to Keukenhof was ok. Remember that this is only a transfer to and from the gardens. The gardens themselves were good. Overall, not good value for what you spend!! Note to other travellers, please ensure when you are reviewing Viator reviews, to change from ' Traveler rating ' which gives all the great reviews first ' Most recent ' to get more of a balanced view of the product you are thinking of purchasing .

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

brenda.hutton33

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Not enough time st the windmills. By the time our group of 70! walked from the bus to the open windmill, we had 20 mins before we had to be back to bus. Let us walk around volendam without having to meet the guide every 40 mins. Was told to wait until marken to shop but everything was closed there

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message