Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Rembrandt House Museum

Situated in the former home of the renowned Dutch painter and etcher, Rembrandt Van Rijn, the Rembrandt House Museum, boasts an illustrious history with world famous paintings like the ‘Night Watch’ created between its walls. The building in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louis C V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We have learned many new and interested facts about Rembrandt, his master piece Night Watch, his artistic style, his contemporaries eg. Vermeer, from Daphne Duyne, our tour guide. Daphne is so passionate and knowledgeable about Rembrandt and other Dutch painting artist. It was a very nice and leisure walking from Rembrandt house to Rijksmuseum, we have also learned Dutch history along the way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Marcia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful walking tour with Willem! Best tour we have ever taken! Very knowledgeable and thoughtful. He gave us lots of info on Rembrandt for 4 hrs as well as giving us wonderful information on Amsterdam the city, people and historical times. He spent at least an hour in the museum giving a wealth of information not only on Rembrandt but on the Rijksmuseum and how it had been built and remodeled!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent. Our guide was very nice and informative and we saw quite a bit of Amsterdam along with the Rembrandt highlights and Rijksmuseum. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Ceegull

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed our tour and the ability to walk as fast or as slow as we wished or to linger when something interested us. Derek was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and the interesting little architectural items we never would have noticed on our own. I expected more of Rembrandt-focused tour, but Derek's information was much broader than that, encompassing the descriptions and history of each of the stops along the way, regardless of its association with Rembrandt. We found that very enlightening, since it was our first visit to Amsterdam.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

ATLPrinces

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I highly recommend this private tour. My guide, Lia Kijzer, was terrific. She was on time, very personable and knowledgeable about the history of Amsterdam, Rembrandt, the places we should see, and the Rijksmuseum. It was such a pleasant day, like spending the day with a friend :-. It was a lot of walking and talking, and the four hours went very quickly. If you like walking, love history, and are interested in learning then this tour is for you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

MISS JACQUELINE E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Having taken two Viator walkiing tours in Rome last Autumn when each group consisted of more than 20 people, my husband and I were extremely surprised to find that we were the only two tourists to be walked around Amsterdam by Massimo. He was delightful, and we enjoyed his company for more than three hours, finishing in the Rijksmuseum. Perhaps his knowledge of Rembrandt and art in general were, by his own admission, only slightly less superficial than our own, but he worked extremely hard to keep us informed and entertained.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Helen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great insight into the city and Rembrandt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Carolyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jan was our excellent guide and we learned so much as he interwined Rembrandt's career as an artist with the history of Amsterdam and its people, customs, and the land and water. Fantastic! Do when you get there! Morning walk gave plenty of time in the Rijks in the pm. Great food in museum restaurant.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a private 4 hour walking tour and entrance to the museum. Diederik Ravesloot was our guide. We had to meet him at the Rembrandt museum to start the tour. He was on time and very knowledgeable about the area. He stayed withus the whole time making sure to take us to the highlights in the museum. One of the best things we signed up for.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Robin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A fabulous way to experience Amsterdam! Although the focus was Rembrandt, our guide Willem did an excellent job answering our many questions and explaining many facets of everyday life in Amsterdam past and present. The time just flew by--what a great experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Natasha T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Museums in Amsterdam are quite pricey, so this card is worth it if you plan on going to a few. I bought the 48 hour card for 59 euro, and I've calculated the cost of the museums individually and I've found that I would have spent about 115 euro for 7 museums not including the Rijksmuseum which is not included, though you get a 2.5 euro discount with the pass, the canal cruise, and the two-day public transit pass. So for us it was worth it. The price for the two-day card is about the same as the Museumkaart which is another pass that gives you entry to a ton of museums, but that one doesn't include the canal cruise or public transit, though DOES include the Anne Frank House and Rijksmuseum. I'd recommend taking some time to figure out what museums you'd like to see before making a decision. The I Amsterdam city card also has discounts for restaurants and freebies. The museums I'd recommend: Our Lord in the Attic, Dutch Golden Age exhibit at the Amsterdam Hermitage, Rembrandthuis, the Frans Hals museum in Haarlem card also allows you 3 free postcards from their TI office, and of course the Van Gogh Museum. Loses a star for only being available for pick-up at the airport or across from the Centraal train station.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Ross K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The pass opened up many vistas for us and helped us to enjoy a wonderful set of experiences. Our stay in Amsterdam was a delight. The galleries, museums, canals and architecture were intensely interesting. The Purses and Handbag museum, Van Gogh Museum, Rembrandt's House, the Stedelijk museum were major drawcards and of significant interest to us. The Convent hotel was an excellent place from which we could easily get to so many parts of the city.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Yolanda L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I like that I could skip the line in museums, but I wish Rijkmuseum was included in the package. I had to pay for that but at least I skipped the line.

I enjoyed Van Gogh Museum, The New Church where Royalty are crowned, The Christ in the Attic Museum, The Rembrandt House which were all included. I could not see anymore in the 48 hr package I opted for.
I hardly used the tram pass included, as it seemed quicker to walk to most places. I loved Amsterdam!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Gayle M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The guide arrived on time and personalized the tour. It was less about Rembrandt than the city, but the tour worked well for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Russ Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

We had a lovely guide who met us at the appointed time at the Rembrandt Museum and she let us set our own pace. We are fast walkers and we covered a lot of the city.
Evelyn was knowledgeable and pleasant company.
In the Rijksmuseum she took us to all the major areas so we could get an idea where to come after the tour and then took us to the Rembrandts.
Well worth doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

MARSHA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The I Amsterdam card got us into every museum and gave us a discount at the Rembrandt museum. We still had to pay something. We went o about 5-6 museums and the pass got us in without paying anything else.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Hazel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

We got our money's worth with three days of the I Amsterdam Card. We went to the Rijksmuseum, Oude Kerk, Rembrandt's House, the Allard Pierson Museum. Had lunch at In de Waag and dinner at Damsteeg. We used the transit passes to see as much of the city and outlying areas as we could and enjoyed every minute of it. I cannot recommend the Damsteeg restaurant enough, it was one of the finest meals I have ever had and the service was fantastic making for a truly memorable evening. The 25 discount was great too.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Charles M United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

We enjoyed our visit to Amsterdam very much, but were disappointed that the tickets in "I Amsterdam" did not give us the priority in getting into exhibitions which we had expected, to the Caravaggio/Rembrandt at the Van Gogh Museum and to the Rembrandts at the Rijksmuseum for example. Also there was much time wasted in the queues in exchanging one ticket for another. Where queues were not a problem we really enjoyed the visits.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message