The Rijksmuseum, or National Museum, is the premier art museum of the Netherlands, and no visitor to Amsterdam can afford to miss it. The collection includes some 8,000 paintings spread over 80 galleries, most importantly those by Dutch and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dale B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see some canals and the incredible Rijksmuseum. Only issue we had was that this was only a voucher for the Van Gogh museum, so we still had to wait in a long line to get the actual ticket.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours I've ever been on. Our guide, Victoria, was incredible. She had so much knowledge and a passion for the art of Van Gogh and the works in the Rijksmuseum, that it set our tour way ahead of what we could've possibly appreciated on our own. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

Marcia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful walking tour with Willem! Best tour we have ever taken! Very knowledgeable and thoughtful. He gave us lots of info on Rembrandt for 4 hrs as well as giving us wonderful information on Amsterdam the city, people and historical times. He spent at least an hour in the museum giving a wealth of information not only on Rembrandt but on the Rijksmuseum and how it had been built and remodeled!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent. Our guide was very nice and informative and we saw quite a bit of Amsterdam along with the Rembrandt highlights and Rijksmuseum. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely superb! The starting point was easy to find, began exactly on time, and was a pleasant informative and calm ride throughout the canals. It is great that the museum admissions are valid over a period of days and at all times when the museums are open. The Rijksmuseum, often crowded offers audio headsets for 5 Euros without a time limit for that day. Be sure to check it before leaving the rental desk, because not all of them have good sound quality.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are lucky, you will get the art tour guide, Pieter. His selections and narratives are outstanding. At one point during his telling of the sad story of Van Gogh's life, I burst into tears by the force of his words. This is a well-balanced tour with the Rijksmuseum in the morning, followed by a restful canal cruise and lunch, followed by the remainder of the afternoon for the Van Gogh Museum. This one is a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

regesinger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed this tour, and both museums. Our guide was very good. Like most tours, we wished we would have had a little more time at one of the stops the Rijksmuseum. But, overall, a great exposure to an important part of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Sharon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide, Paola was both highly knowledgeable and extremely charming. A lovely morning in the Rijksmuseum and highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip the Line Ticket and Guided Tour of the Rijksmuseum Amsterdam

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was excellent and definitely worth it to skip the line. Guide was very well informed and passionate about the subjects. Rijksmuseum is very large so it was good to go straight to the more popular and famous paintings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Louis C V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We have learned many new and interested facts about Rembrandt, his master piece Night Watch, his artistic style, his contemporaries eg. Vermeer, from Daphne Duyne, our tour guide. Daphne is so passionate and knowledgeable about Rembrandt and other Dutch painting artist. It was a very nice and leisure walking from Rembrandt house to Rijksmuseum, we have also learned Dutch history along the way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

PAUL W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Relaxing cruise on the canals and loved the beautiful Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Skip The Line Rijksmuseum

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was great. Our guide, an art student, was very knowledgeable and very helpful. We were very pleased. In one day we saw the highlights of both museums. The Rijksmuseum was much too large to see everything, so we were very pleased to have someone to direct us to the major attractions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour to take for the highlights of the Rijksmuseum. Our guide was knowledgable and took us through the museum. Be aware that it is a very quick trip and covers the highlights only. If you want to spend more time, go on your own. The canal trip through the waterways of Amsterdam is a must when you are there. A different perspective on the area. We walked over 20 miles in the 3 days we were in Amsterdam, but still needed to see the city from canal level. Lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was nothing special but the tour of the museum was very good. Our guide gave us a lot of background on the life and times of Vincent van Gogh and his art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Pamela T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this. We had to reschedule at the last minute and there was some confusion but Viator came through for us. The rep at the actual tour meeting point was beyond rude and Viator told us no you don't need to go downtown to redo your ticket. Clearly she was spoken to as she couldn't even look at us when we arrived for our tours. Both museums were wonderful. They probably could have used more time at the Rijksmuseum but the Van Gogh museum was amazing. Our guide Eric was a hoot with tons of knowledge and a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Cherie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pieter, our guide, was wonderful. Very knowledgable about the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, passionate about the artists, great sense of humor. Fabulous tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Wesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

canal cruise plus tickets to 2 museums. the canal cruise was very good. the tickets for both museum has extended expiry dates so you don't have to do everything in one day.
the Rijksmuseum ticket can be used as it. the Van Gogh museum ticket must be exchanged at cashier before used. However there is a special line for the exchange so it's much shorter than the regular line. it's worth it!

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

John E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are limited on time and want a truly memorable day in Amsterdam then this tour is for you. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are a must if in Amsterdam. This tour allows you to move past the long lines with your guide and enter the museums directly. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable with a sense of humor. Lunch was very light-- however, you have the option of purchasing additional food if you want. The canal cruise provided some much needed time off your feet and was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Barbara G M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed the museums. Wish we had taken more time to go through, so much to see.
Had a nice snack/lunch at Rijksmuseum.
The Canal Cruise was very nice, enjoyed all the information with provided earphones. Liked the enclosure but the overhead frame gets in the way for photos.
Would love to do the dinner cruise.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

eric t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great introductory cruise to see the canals and highlight spots to go visit. The Rijksmuseum was fantastic. The Van Gogh museum was meh. The Starry Night isn and #39;t there nor is there a single piece of merchandise for it, but there were plenty of other Van Gogh paintings.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Kathleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny! Pieter was an incredible guide for information, subject matter, passion about his city, knowledge about the art and artists, and entertaining as well. We gathered at the 'Tours and Tickets' signs you see around the city. Follow the voucher directions - easy to find starting point. Started the day buy leaving backpack at the desk at the meeting point. Security measures will make taking bags into museums difficult, so we opted to lighten the load and follow his suggestion. They provide a whisper phone earpiece so you can hear the guide in the museum setting without being too close to others. We learned about the history of the Rijksmuseum, the architecture, the plaza, and some of the politics of allowing bicycles to pass through. All very, very interesting. The art highlights in both musuems were just right, especially as a first time visitor. You couldn't see everything, so having Pieter made our visit efficient and purposeful. His storytelling is dynamic and so very interesting, His passion comes through and added value to the tour. The walk to the boat ride is brief. It was an interesting cruise through the canals. You listen to a prerecorded tour guide, and Pieter serves a little snack and drink. It was a nice break sitting and viewing the city. The lunch was fresh and delicious in the Van Gogh museum. We had a community table all set for our group as we arrived from our walk back from the boat cruise. Not rushed at all, pacing was pleasant. I would highly recommend this tour and the high cost does have value. We learned a great deal and were so happy with our experience, it was one of the tours we talked most about when we returned home.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

THE Amsterdam Skip the Line Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum tour including Amserdam Cruise was excellent. Our guide unfortunately can't remember her name was ver personable and had a passion for the art in the museums. The cruise was a perfect break between museums. Would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lauren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a great tour with Pieter, who took us through the Rijksmuseum and made it seem manageable in size, and then took us through the Van Gogh museum with a very well-done narrative about Vincent Van Gogh's life. Would recommend definitely!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

amypatrick24

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing and worth every penny! Victoria will tell you everything you ever wanted to know about the Rijksmuseum, its architecture, and its collection of Dutch masters. She is a Vincent VanGough groupie and has amazing insight and perspective on the works on display at the Van Gough Museum. If you want to spend most of the day immersed in beautiful art complimented with intelligent commentary, then look no further than this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

Denesha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this tour! I didn't have time to see the Van Gogh Museum but I did get to see the Rijksmuseum. I would definitely book it again.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Carol O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour!!! Guide was an art major. She was very knowledgeable! It was a 7 hour tour that was perfect. Rijksmuseum 1st, then canal ride, lunch and Van Gogh last. Our 9 year old grandson loved it! Until the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower a week later on our final day, the Rijksmuseum seeing Nights Watch was his favorite part of Amsterdam, Antwerp, Brugge and Paris. A definite must went in Amsterdam!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message