The Rijksmuseum, or National Museum, is the premier art museum of the Netherlands, and no visitor to Amsterdam can afford to miss it. The collection includes some 8,000 paintings spread over 80 galleries, most importantly those by Dutch and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

s_rochette31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great value, that was definitely cheaper than buying those 3 activities separately in town. The booth to claim the tickets themselves was easy to find and process was quick and straight forward when I arrived. The canal cruise was great with a pre-recorded description in the language of your choice sounds touristy but that was clear, concise and all it needed to be. The boat's captain was kind enough to have all the kids on board steer the ship for a little while when we got onto the wider part in the harbour. One toilet is available on board and it was clean. Windows were very clear so didn't interfere too much for pictures and there is an open air portion at back of the ship.
Ticket to Rijksmuseum is given to you right away from the booth on the canal side while the one for Van Gogh museum is actually a voucher which you go exchange at the ticket office at the Van Gogh museum itself.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Pat K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Never thought much about Rembrandt until this tour. Our guide brought him to life from the house where he lived to his paintings in the Rijksmuseum. Ours was a private tour, just 4 of us. It was a great experience and I recommend it to everyone who visits Amsterdam.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum are must visit places in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

JD Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a fabulas day. If you want to pack a lot in in one day then this tour is great. It is fast paced but well organised and very informative. Our very professional guide for the day was Pieter from Keytours Excursions office at Museum Square. We were each given headphones so we could hear him from a distance. We kick started the day at the Rijksmuseum which had a fabulous collection of the old masters such as Frans Hals, Vermeer and of course Rembrandt and many more. It was fantastic to hear all about the challenges of Rembrandts life and how he made it from riches to poor and to hear the details about the individual paintings. Next was the canal trip was also great which gave us detailed information on the different areas within the canals. Aboard the cruise Pieter served us coffee/tea and also offered to take our photo. Following that which took about an hour we made our way to have lunch at the Van Gogh museum. The table was reserved for us and the service and staff there were very friendly too. After a nice lunch we returned to our group and set off on the fantastic tour of the Van Gogh museum. Pieter again was so knowledgeable about all the facts about the paintings and Van Goghs life which was amazing to hear. Even some people who were not on the tour were trying to elbow in beside our group to listen to him. Overall the whole day was a well organised and very informative. With a special thanks to Pieter who made the day, my niece and I enjoyed the day immensely.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Eric, was absolutely amazing! He made the worlds of artists at the Rijksmuseum come alive!
He told us incredible details about VanGogh's life in a way we had never heard before. What a terrific experience. We would very highly recommend this tour to anyone who loves art. The canal cruise was at least an hour long and also extremely informative. 5 Stars all the way!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Jerry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had the extreme pleasure of having a private tour of the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum by Cea, who was an amazingly knowledgeable and personable tour guide. We at first thought it was a pricey luxury, but found it to be well worth EVERY EURO!! Many thanks for providing us with such a special day! We highly recommend this tour to anyone - it was a five star event!! June and Jerry

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Amsterdam Guided Tour

Dale B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see some canals and the incredible Rijksmuseum. Only issue we had was that this was only a voucher for the Van Gogh museum, so we still had to wait in a long line to get the actual ticket.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours I've ever been on. Our guide, Victoria, was incredible. She had so much knowledge and a passion for the art of Van Gogh and the works in the Rijksmuseum, that it set our tour way ahead of what we could've possibly appreciated on our own. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

Marcia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful walking tour with Willem! Best tour we have ever taken! Very knowledgeable and thoughtful. He gave us lots of info on Rembrandt for 4 hrs as well as giving us wonderful information on Amsterdam the city, people and historical times. He spent at least an hour in the museum giving a wealth of information not only on Rembrandt but on the Rijksmuseum and how it had been built and remodeled!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent. Our guide was very nice and informative and we saw quite a bit of Amsterdam along with the Rembrandt highlights and Rijksmuseum. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely superb! The starting point was easy to find, began exactly on time, and was a pleasant informative and calm ride throughout the canals. It is great that the museum admissions are valid over a period of days and at all times when the museums are open. The Rijksmuseum, often crowded offers audio headsets for 5 Euros without a time limit for that day. Be sure to check it before leaving the rental desk, because not all of them have good sound quality.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are lucky, you will get the art tour guide, Pieter. His selections and narratives are outstanding. At one point during his telling of the sad story of Van Gogh's life, I burst into tears by the force of his words. This is a well-balanced tour with the Rijksmuseum in the morning, followed by a restful canal cruise and lunch, followed by the remainder of the afternoon for the Van Gogh Museum. This one is a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

regesinger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed this tour, and both museums. Our guide was very good. Like most tours, we wished we would have had a little more time at one of the stops the Rijksmuseum. But, overall, a great exposure to an important part of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Sharon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide, Paola was both highly knowledgeable and extremely charming. A lovely morning in the Rijksmuseum and highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip the Line Ticket and Guided Tour of the Rijksmuseum Amsterdam

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was excellent and definitely worth it to skip the line. Guide was very well informed and passionate about the subjects. Rijksmuseum is very large so it was good to go straight to the more popular and famous paintings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Louis C V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We have learned many new and interested facts about Rembrandt, his master piece Night Watch, his artistic style, his contemporaries eg. Vermeer, from Daphne Duyne, our tour guide. Daphne is so passionate and knowledgeable about Rembrandt and other Dutch painting artist. It was a very nice and leisure walking from Rembrandt house to Rijksmuseum, we have also learned Dutch history along the way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

PAUL W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Relaxing cruise on the canals and loved the beautiful Rijksmuseum.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Skip The Line Rijksmuseum

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was great. Our guide, an art student, was very knowledgeable and very helpful. We were very pleased. In one day we saw the highlights of both museums. The Rijksmuseum was much too large to see everything, so we were very pleased to have someone to direct us to the major attractions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour to take for the highlights of the Rijksmuseum. Our guide was knowledgable and took us through the museum. Be aware that it is a very quick trip and covers the highlights only. If you want to spend more time, go on your own. The canal trip through the waterways of Amsterdam is a must when you are there. A different perspective on the area. We walked over 20 miles in the 3 days we were in Amsterdam, but still needed to see the city from canal level. Lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was nothing special but the tour of the museum was very good. Our guide gave us a lot of background on the life and times of Vincent van Gogh and his art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Pamela T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this. We had to reschedule at the last minute and there was some confusion but Viator came through for us. The rep at the actual tour meeting point was beyond rude and Viator told us no you don't need to go downtown to redo your ticket. Clearly she was spoken to as she couldn't even look at us when we arrived for our tours. Both museums were wonderful. They probably could have used more time at the Rijksmuseum but the Van Gogh museum was amazing. Our guide Eric was a hoot with tons of knowledge and a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Cherie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pieter, our guide, was wonderful. Very knowledgable about the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, passionate about the artists, great sense of humor. Fabulous tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Wesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

canal cruise plus tickets to 2 museums. the canal cruise was very good. the tickets for both museum has extended expiry dates so you don't have to do everything in one day.
the Rijksmuseum ticket can be used as it. the Van Gogh museum ticket must be exchanged at cashier before used. However there is a special line for the exchange so it's much shorter than the regular line. it's worth it!

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

John E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are limited on time and want a truly memorable day in Amsterdam then this tour is for you. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are a must if in Amsterdam. This tour allows you to move past the long lines with your guide and enter the museums directly. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable with a sense of humor. Lunch was very light-- however, you have the option of purchasing additional food if you want. The canal cruise provided some much needed time off your feet and was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Barbara G M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed the museums. Wish we had taken more time to go through, so much to see.
Had a nice snack/lunch at Rijksmuseum.
The Canal Cruise was very nice, enjoyed all the information with provided earphones. Liked the enclosure but the overhead frame gets in the way for photos.
Would love to do the dinner cruise.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

eric t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great introductory cruise to see the canals and highlight spots to go visit. The Rijksmuseum was fantastic. The Van Gogh museum was meh. The Starry Night isn and #39;t there nor is there a single piece of merchandise for it, but there were plenty of other Van Gogh paintings.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message