Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Van Gogh Museum

Art lovers and Van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Van Gogh and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 388 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JD Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a fabulas day. If you want to pack a lot in in one day then this tour is great. It is fast paced but well organised and very informative. Our very professional guide for the day was Pieter from Keytours Excursions office at Museum Square. We were each given headphones so we could hear him from a distance. We kick started the day at the Rijksmuseum which had a fabulous collection of the old masters such as Frans Hals, Vermeer and of course Rembrandt and many more. It was fantastic to hear all about the challenges of Rembrandts life and how he made it from riches to poor and to hear the details about the individual paintings. Next was the canal trip was also great which gave us detailed information on the different areas within the canals. Aboard the cruise Pieter served us coffee/tea and also offered to take our photo. Following that which took about an hour we made our way to have lunch at the Van Gogh museum. The table was reserved for us and the service and staff there were very friendly too. After a nice lunch we returned to our group and set off on the fantastic tour of the Van Gogh museum. Pieter again was so knowledgeable about all the facts about the paintings and Van Goghs life which was amazing to hear. Even some people who were not on the tour were trying to elbow in beside our group to listen to him. Overall the whole day was a well organised and very informative. With a special thanks to Pieter who made the day, my niece and I enjoyed the day immensely.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Mr M Skitt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Tininkie ? was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She was assisted by Pieter who went out of his way to help us with local transport. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them. Touring the museum was informative and fascinating and being up close and personal to works by Rembrandt and van Gogh a real honour and privilege. The canal cruise and lunch at the van Gogh Museum was most enjoyable and bathed in sunlight the cherry on top! The museum staff were equally helpful and friendly so we say a huge thank you for making this such a superb experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Tom McGinn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Van Gogh Museum was one of the best we have experienced! Since it is dedicated to just the one artist and a few of his contemporaries you see the progression of his artwork from beginning to end. We moved through at a leisurely pace and saw everything in just a few hours. The canal bus is the way to go for easy movement around the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was wonderful and full of great facts and information. The canal cruise was very beautiful and a nice way to break up the museum tours to have in between. Nice casual lunch at the Van Gogh museum as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Jerry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had the extreme pleasure of having a private tour of the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum by Cea, who was an amazingly knowledgeable and personable tour guide. We at first thought it was a pricey luxury, but found it to be well worth EVERY EURO!! Many thanks for providing us with such a special day! We highly recommend this tour to anyone - it was a five star event!! June and Jerry

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Amsterdam Guided Tour

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was Great! Pieter did a wonderful job of explaining, illuminating and adding interest. The museums are outstanding, plus there was a great temporary exhibit in the Van Gogh museum. All in all, I'd give it a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Dale B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see some canals and the incredible Rijksmuseum. Only issue we had was that this was only a voucher for the Van Gogh museum, so we still had to wait in a long line to get the actual ticket.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours I've ever been on. Our guide, Victoria, was incredible. She had so much knowledge and a passion for the art of Van Gogh and the works in the Rijksmuseum, that it set our tour way ahead of what we could've possibly appreciated on our own. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

EILEEN United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day - well informed and knowledgeable tour guide. She took us to all the main works of art on display. The canal cruise was very relaxing and enjoyable and lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was lovely. I would highly recommend it especially if you are only in Amsterdam for a few days.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

thegeorges40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A 75 minute canal cruise viewing Amsterdam from a different angle. A good way to mark in your mind places to revisit. Highly recommended.

What can one say about Van Gogh. This museum is stunning, with some 200 painting and 500 drawings covering all aspects of Vincent's artistic life. During our time in Europe we walked in the footsteps of Van Gogh in St Remy including a visit to the asylum he checked himself into and to Arles where more of his great works were executed. But nothing can prepare you for the Amsterdam Van Gogh Museum. A must visit for any tourist.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Canal Cruise and Van Gogh Museum

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are lucky, you will get the art tour guide, Pieter. His selections and narratives are outstanding. At one point during his telling of the sad story of Van Gogh's life, I burst into tears by the force of his words. This is a well-balanced tour with the Rijksmuseum in the morning, followed by a restful canal cruise and lunch, followed by the remainder of the afternoon for the Van Gogh Museum. This one is a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

jacevered

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic day, worth every penny! Our guide Steven was so knowledgeable about the pictures and painter's lives. He was a delight and shared so many stories, he made the day. Lunch in the Van Gogh was delicious, sitting with the sun streaming in through the spacious museum windows. We saw the long lines of people waiting to get in but our day was stress free. Just a wonderful day, perfectly timed, thanks to Steven.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Sharon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tea our guide was fantastic, her enthusiasm and knowledge of her subject matter was outstanding and completely infectious. We learnt so much about Van Gogh, his life, his work, his family and his inspirations that it really made our visit. We would highly recommend this lovely experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam Guided Tour

tleu16

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must-do tour if this is the 1st time to Amsterdam. Our guide Steve is knowledgeable and passionate about his art! Learn a lot about Van Gogh, Rembrandt, Vermeer and others. Lunch at Van Gogh is adequate and the cruise was great too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Tammy A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful experience. Victoria was fabulous ... couldn't have asked for anything better. Learned more about Van Gogh than we ever could have on our own.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam: Small Group Tour and Skip the Line Ticket

Touring Europe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was well worth taking in. The boat pick up drop off timing was good and Van Gogh Museum was really awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Freddie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Van Gogh tour was excellent. Pieter the guide was beyond GREAT

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour to take for the highlights of the Rijksmuseum. Our guide was knowledgable and took us through the museum. Be aware that it is a very quick trip and covers the highlights only. If you want to spend more time, go on your own. The canal trip through the waterways of Amsterdam is a must when you are there. A different perspective on the area. We walked over 20 miles in the 3 days we were in Amsterdam, but still needed to see the city from canal level. Lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was nothing special but the tour of the museum was very good. Our guide gave us a lot of background on the life and times of Vincent van Gogh and his art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Deanne3899

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

SO SO SO worth it! We used our large Holland Pass to visit the Rijks, Van Gogh, and Stedelijk Museums, as well as a visit to the Muiderslot Castle, the Museum of Bags and Purses, and even renting Yellow Bikes. Highly recommend- very much worth the cost!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice, get to van gogh first thing

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Pamela T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this. We had to reschedule at the last minute and there was some confusion but Viator came through for us. The rep at the actual tour meeting point was beyond rude and Viator told us no you don't need to go downtown to redo your ticket. Clearly she was spoken to as she couldn't even look at us when we arrived for our tours. Both museums were wonderful. They probably could have used more time at the Rijksmuseum but the Van Gogh museum was amazing. Our guide Eric was a hoot with tons of knowledge and a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a convenient way to plan three events at once. The voucher fir the Rijkmuseum allows immediate entrance and voucher for the Van Gogh must be traded in for a ticket, but it took less than five minutes to do that right outside the Van Gogh museum. These two museums are next to each other.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Cherie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pieter, our guide, was wonderful. Very knowledgable about the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, passionate about the artists, great sense of humor. Fabulous tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful. A little confusing about which line to use at Van Gogh museum. For Ann Frank house have to make online reservations to see it between 9 and 3 we were told that if we couldn't do that to show up around 6, which is what we did and only had to stand in line for about 30minutes. Also boat reverses course at one of the stops which you need to plan around. It's shown on the map but you have to look for it and plan around it. It was a wonderful experience!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Ron A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the hop on hop off canal boats. They were very conveniently located and a great way to see the city. We liked the Riks Museum much better than the Van Gogh Museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message