Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Van Gogh Museum

Art lovers and Van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Van Gogh and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 362 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Freddie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Van Gogh tour was excellent. Pieter the guide was beyond GREAT

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour to take for the highlights of the Rijksmuseum. Our guide was knowledgable and took us through the museum. Be aware that it is a very quick trip and covers the highlights only. If you want to spend more time, go on your own. The canal trip through the waterways of Amsterdam is a must when you are there. A different perspective on the area. We walked over 20 miles in the 3 days we were in Amsterdam, but still needed to see the city from canal level. Lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was nothing special but the tour of the museum was very good. Our guide gave us a lot of background on the life and times of Vincent van Gogh and his art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Deanne3899

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

SO SO SO worth it! We used our large Holland Pass to visit the Rijks, Van Gogh, and Stedelijk Museums, as well as a visit to the Muiderslot Castle, the Museum of Bags and Purses, and even renting Yellow Bikes. Highly recommend- very much worth the cost!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

very nice, get to van gogh first thing

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Pamela T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this. We had to reschedule at the last minute and there was some confusion but Viator came through for us. The rep at the actual tour meeting point was beyond rude and Viator told us no you don't need to go downtown to redo your ticket. Clearly she was spoken to as she couldn't even look at us when we arrived for our tours. Both museums were wonderful. They probably could have used more time at the Rijksmuseum but the Van Gogh museum was amazing. Our guide Eric was a hoot with tons of knowledge and a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a convenient way to plan three events at once. The voucher fir the Rijkmuseum allows immediate entrance and voucher for the Van Gogh must be traded in for a ticket, but it took less than five minutes to do that right outside the Van Gogh museum. These two museums are next to each other.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Cherie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pieter, our guide, was wonderful. Very knowledgable about the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, passionate about the artists, great sense of humor. Fabulous tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Henry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful. A little confusing about which line to use at Van Gogh museum. For Ann Frank house have to make online reservations to see it between 9 and 3 we were told that if we couldn't do that to show up around 6, which is what we did and only had to stand in line for about 30minutes. Also boat reverses course at one of the stops which you need to plan around. It's shown on the map but you have to look for it and plan around it. It was a wonderful experience!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Ron A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved the hop on hop off canal boats. They were very conveniently located and a great way to see the city. We liked the Riks Museum much better than the Van Gogh Museum.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Wesley H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

canal cruise plus tickets to 2 museums. the canal cruise was very good. the tickets for both museum has extended expiry dates so you don't have to do everything in one day.
the Rijksmuseum ticket can be used as it. the Van Gogh museum ticket must be exchanged at cashier before used. However there is a special line for the exchange so it's much shorter than the regular line. it's worth it!

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Jeannette T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great way to see Amsterdam! The stops were easy to find and the Skip the line to the van gogh Museum was well worth it.
A wonderful excursion inAmsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

cyndipoeggel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Van Gogh Museum was a must see- simply breathtaking, but make sure you have enough time if you are an art lover to see it all. The cruise was really good too- definitely recommend others to take advantage of this.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Canal Cruise and Van Gogh Museum

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Paola was an excellent tourguide for our exploration of the Van Gogh museum. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam: Small Group Tour and Skip the Line Ticket

John E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you are limited on time and want a truly memorable day in Amsterdam then this tour is for you. Both the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are a must if in Amsterdam. This tour allows you to move past the long lines with your guide and enter the museums directly. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable with a sense of humor. Lunch was very light-- however, you have the option of purchasing additional food if you want. The canal cruise provided some much needed time off your feet and was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Mary Ellen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Pieter was passionate and extremely knowledgeable about Rembrandt and Van Gogh. He made the paintings come alive for us! We loved the tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

travelingsenior United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The 3-day city pass was a terrific bargain and timesaver. It provided a free canal ride, free public transportation, and free admission to many museums. It saved me possibly an hour in entering the Van Gogh Museum as I could stand in the express line instead of the long queue for buying tickets.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Charles V W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great way to skip the lines and see the best museums. We saw the Rijks Museum and Van Gogh museums in the same day. Those two alone are worth the price of the Holland pass.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

Monika M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My boyfriend and I thought the canal cruise was a great way to get a taste for the city. The combination ticket was very helpful as we did not have to wait in line to enter the Van Gogh Museum! The museum was worth the hours we spent inside-both the main exhibits and the pop up exhibit were wonderful!

Doing what: Amsterdam City Canal Cruise and Van Gogh Museum

Kate United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour - skipping the line at Van Gogh is a huge benefit of this tour as the date we were there, the line was very long. Our tour guide Marjorie I believe did a great job taking us to see key pieces of art at each museum. She was assertive to get our group a good view and shared great information about the pieces. Great way to spend the day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

eric t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great introductory cruise to see the canals and highlight spots to go visit. The Rijksmuseum was fantastic. The Van Gogh museum was meh. The Starry Night isn and #39;t there nor is there a single piece of merchandise for it, but there were plenty of other Van Gogh paintings.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Judy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Having a timed entry into the Van Gogh Museum was excellent. The opportunity to rent listening devices was one we took advantage of. I enjoyed hearing more background information on the why and how of Vincent's choices to create the works hung there. We needed about 90 minutes to travel through the complete exhibit. Just about right so my husband wouldn't get antsy and want to leave before we were done!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Early Access to Van Gogh Museum with Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Optional Canal Cruise

Kathleen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny! Pieter was an incredible guide for information, subject matter, passion about his city, knowledge about the art and artists, and entertaining as well. We gathered at the 'Tours and Tickets' signs you see around the city. Follow the voucher directions - easy to find starting point. Started the day buy leaving backpack at the desk at the meeting point. Security measures will make taking bags into museums difficult, so we opted to lighten the load and follow his suggestion. They provide a whisper phone earpiece so you can hear the guide in the museum setting without being too close to others. We learned about the history of the Rijksmuseum, the architecture, the plaza, and some of the politics of allowing bicycles to pass through. All very, very interesting. The art highlights in both musuems were just right, especially as a first time visitor. You couldn't see everything, so having Pieter made our visit efficient and purposeful. His storytelling is dynamic and so very interesting, His passion comes through and added value to the tour. The walk to the boat ride is brief. It was an interesting cruise through the canals. You listen to a prerecorded tour guide, and Pieter serves a little snack and drink. It was a nice break sitting and viewing the city. The lunch was fresh and delicious in the Van Gogh museum. We had a community table all set for our group as we arrived from our walk back from the boat cruise. Not rushed at all, pacing was pleasant. I would highly recommend this tour and the high cost does have value. We learned a great deal and were so happy with our experience, it was one of the tours we talked most about when we returned home.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Lara R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

THE Amsterdam Skip the Line Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum tour including Amserdam Cruise was excellent. Our guide unfortunately can't remember her name was ver personable and had a passion for the art in the museums. The cruise was a perfect break between museums. Would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Paul K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day . Tour guide Peter was excellent , certainly knew all there is to know about Van Gogh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Kate United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was fantastic! Pieter was our guide and he was extremely knowledgable, personable and funny. We learned so much about art history on this tour. It was just perfect for our group of 6 active American women in our 50s. The Canal tour part is a nice way to have a seat for a short respite. The lunch from the cafe in the Van Gogh museum is ok, but you're there for the art. Your lucky if you get Pieter as your guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message