Amsterdam ATTRACTIONS See all

Van Gogh Museum

Art lovers and Van Gogh fans must reward themselves with a visit to the Van Gogh Museum, one of Amsterdam's must-sees. The museum consists of about 200 paintings and 500 drawings by Van Gogh and his friends and contemporaries (Gauguin, Monet, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 408 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good value. The only pass where the gold coupons covers Rijkmuseum and Van Gogh good for history but I'm not arty so can't understand his paintings. Gold coupons can be used for Artis Zoo, which is surprisingly a great zoo with more variety of animals than expected - need 4 hours to be worth it. Used the transport coupon for canal cruise. Stayed all nights in Schiphol, so for tranportation, purchased a 3-day all-transport pass for better value Euro 25 from Schiphol train station ticket counter.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass

s_rochette31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great value, that was definitely cheaper than buying those 3 activities separately in town. The booth to claim the tickets themselves was easy to find and process was quick and straight forward when I arrived. The canal cruise was great with a pre-recorded description in the language of your choice sounds touristy but that was clear, concise and all it needed to be. The boat's captain was kind enough to have all the kids on board steer the ship for a little while when we got onto the wider part in the harbour. One toilet is available on board and it was clean. Windows were very clear so didn't interfere too much for pictures and there is an open air portion at back of the ship.
Ticket to Rijksmuseum is given to you right away from the booth on the canal side while the one for Van Gogh museum is actually a voucher which you go exchange at the ticket office at the Van Gogh museum itself.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

deb.stevelucas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I love Vincent Van Gogh and this museum and the art it contains did not disappoint. It was a deeply moving and delightful experience. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Rick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best tour by far we have ever taken. Our guide Pieter was passionate about the art of Rembrandt and Van Gogh and shared that with our group. I wish I had an art teacher in college that made art come alive as well as he did. The Canal Cruise was great and a good break between the museums. We had lunch in the Van Gogh museum which was simple but ample and delicious. Although the Van Gogh museum only has about 35 of his works they do have Sunflowers and Potato Eaters which are two of the greatest. this is not to be missed and gives very high value for the price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

wilcoxmh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The canal cruise was interesting and enjoyable. The headsets used allow you to hear an explanation of the sights in English. explanations somehwhat cheesey However, the head sets do not block the noise from other travelers. The purchase of the ticket to the Van Gogh museum does not state that after the purchase you must reserve a time and receive a valid ticket to the Van Gogh museum. Purchasing the cruise with both museums included is a good value for the money. The package allows you to visit museums on other days from when you took the cruise. This is extremely beneficial as I do not believe you could visit both museums and take the cruise in one day and feel like you saw what you wanted.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

wilcoxmh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The canal trip was delightful. The head sets allow you to listen to explanations in English, but they do not block noises from other passengers. The museum passes are good for days other than the day of the canal cruise. This is very helpful, as I do not believe you could do both museums and the cruise in one day. I was not aware that once you purchased this tour, you still had to make reservations to see the Van Gogh museum. This was not difficult, but could have been in the summer months. Both museums were outstanding.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Ronda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was amazing and provided so much insight at both museums. She was extremely knowledgeable but also provided very accessible commentary. It was a wonderful way to make the most of our time and be sure to see all the highlights. We especially enjoyed her chronological approach to the Van Gogh museum. We would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

ratnamallar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Canal Cruise is amazing. Van Gogh Museum is worth visiting

Doing what: Amsterdam City Canal Cruise and Van Gogh Museum

Kyle P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A canal ride through the most beautiful city on earth plus Van Gogh? How could you go wrong?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Lynn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour of both museums, and our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Also, a very nice lunch at the Van Gogh museum. I would recommend this experience to anyone with a limited time to see Amsterdam's cultural sites. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Museums were fabulous. Canal tour was scenic and relaxing. Lunch at the Van Gogh museum was great. Pieter was an excellent guide...very knowledgeable and especially passionate about Vincent. Was a great day!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum are must visit places in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

JD Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a fabulas day. If you want to pack a lot in in one day then this tour is great. It is fast paced but well organised and very informative. Our very professional guide for the day was Pieter from Keytours Excursions office at Museum Square. We were each given headphones so we could hear him from a distance. We kick started the day at the Rijksmuseum which had a fabulous collection of the old masters such as Frans Hals, Vermeer and of course Rembrandt and many more. It was fantastic to hear all about the challenges of Rembrandts life and how he made it from riches to poor and to hear the details about the individual paintings. Next was the canal trip was also great which gave us detailed information on the different areas within the canals. Aboard the cruise Pieter served us coffee/tea and also offered to take our photo. Following that which took about an hour we made our way to have lunch at the Van Gogh museum. The table was reserved for us and the service and staff there were very friendly too. After a nice lunch we returned to our group and set off on the fantastic tour of the Van Gogh museum. Pieter again was so knowledgeable about all the facts about the paintings and Van Goghs life which was amazing to hear. Even some people who were not on the tour were trying to elbow in beside our group to listen to him. Overall the whole day was a well organised and very informative. With a special thanks to Pieter who made the day, my niece and I enjoyed the day immensely.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Mr M Skitt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Tininkie ? was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She was assisted by Pieter who went out of his way to help us with local transport. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them. Touring the museum was informative and fascinating and being up close and personal to works by Rembrandt and van Gogh a real honour and privilege. The canal cruise and lunch at the van Gogh Museum was most enjoyable and bathed in sunlight the cherry on top! The museum staff were equally helpful and friendly so we say a huge thank you for making this such a superb experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Tom McGinn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Van Gogh Museum was one of the best we have experienced! Since it is dedicated to just the one artist and a few of his contemporaries you see the progression of his artwork from beginning to end. We moved through at a leisurely pace and saw everything in just a few hours. The canal bus is the way to go for easy movement around the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Heather C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was wonderful and full of great facts and information. The canal cruise was very beautiful and a nice way to break up the museum tours to have in between. Nice casual lunch at the Van Gogh museum as well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Jerry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had the extreme pleasure of having a private tour of the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum by Cea, who was an amazingly knowledgeable and personable tour guide. We at first thought it was a pricey luxury, but found it to be well worth EVERY EURO!! Many thanks for providing us with such a special day! We highly recommend this tour to anyone - it was a five star event!! June and Jerry

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Amsterdam Guided Tour

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was Great! Pieter did a wonderful job of explaining, illuminating and adding interest. The museums are outstanding, plus there was a great temporary exhibit in the Van Gogh museum. All in all, I'd give it a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Dale B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see some canals and the incredible Rijksmuseum. Only issue we had was that this was only a voucher for the Van Gogh museum, so we still had to wait in a long line to get the actual ticket.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours I've ever been on. Our guide, Victoria, was incredible. She had so much knowledge and a passion for the art of Van Gogh and the works in the Rijksmuseum, that it set our tour way ahead of what we could've possibly appreciated on our own. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Small Group Amsterdam Tour

EILEEN United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day - well informed and knowledgeable tour guide. She took us to all the main works of art on display. The canal cruise was very relaxing and enjoyable and lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was lovely. I would highly recommend it especially if you are only in Amsterdam for a few days.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

thegeorges40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A 75 minute canal cruise viewing Amsterdam from a different angle. A good way to mark in your mind places to revisit. Highly recommended.

What can one say about Van Gogh. This museum is stunning, with some 200 painting and 500 drawings covering all aspects of Vincent's artistic life. During our time in Europe we walked in the footsteps of Van Gogh in St Remy including a visit to the asylum he checked himself into and to Arles where more of his great works were executed. But nothing can prepare you for the Amsterdam Van Gogh Museum. A must visit for any tourist.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Canal Cruise and Van Gogh Museum

Nancy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are lucky, you will get the art tour guide, Pieter. His selections and narratives are outstanding. At one point during his telling of the sad story of Van Gogh's life, I burst into tears by the force of his words. This is a well-balanced tour with the Rijksmuseum in the morning, followed by a restful canal cruise and lunch, followed by the remainder of the afternoon for the Van Gogh Museum. This one is a 10.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

jacevered

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic day, worth every penny! Our guide Steven was so knowledgeable about the pictures and painter's lives. He was a delight and shared so many stories, he made the day. Lunch in the Van Gogh was delicious, sitting with the sun streaming in through the spacious museum windows. We saw the long lines of people waiting to get in but our day was stress free. Just a wonderful day, perfectly timed, thanks to Steven.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Sharon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tea our guide was fantastic, her enthusiasm and knowledge of her subject matter was outstanding and completely infectious. We learnt so much about Van Gogh, his life, his work, his family and his inspirations that it really made our visit. We would highly recommend this lovely experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Skip-the-Line Van Gogh Museum Amsterdam Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message