For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 360 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day trip touring the windmills, cheese and clog factories. The guide was very interesting and informative and spoke many languages. Seeing the inside of a working windmill was a great way to learn about Dutch history. The town of Volendam was just beautiful with enough time given to walk around to see the town.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was a very good trip to see a good overview of the windmills, cheese factory and the clog making shop. I think my favorite stop was Marken where the clog shop is. The guide takes you through the small idyllic village on a walk not strenuous and the homes a quaint and simple. This was one of my favorite parts of the trip. Volendam was lovely too and the houses facing the water were simple and beautiful. The trip to the windmills was very informative but I will tell you that it is quite a walk to the windmill that they took us to the green one. For those of you who have trouble getting around, this is quite a walk. Do take this tour. It is a very memorable one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

lkwcb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome Windmills and exploring Volendam and Marken. Enjoyed the countryside. I would recommend, due to the amount of walking required on this tour, that you state that in your guide, as there were a few older folks that had a hard time with the walking.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Alexandra N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tours I've ever had! I can't even say what I liked best: I explored every single inch of the 1607 mill, tasted every single sort of cheese at the Volendam factory and bought an impressive batch, was screaming with delight at the cogs demonstration, admired the masterpieces at the Delft factory and finally made a thousand pics in Madurodam. I have the most pleasant memories. Thank you for this wonderful offer!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great trip. Seeing a working windmill was of great interest to all but particularly to the engineers in the group. Volendam is a delightful town we enjoyed the museum, cheese shop and fish and chips at the recommended restaurant. The boat ride to Marken and the wooden shoe factory were also quite enjoyable. The tour guide provided insight we would not have had if we had visited these locations on our own. Loved all we did!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the best tour of our vacation. It was so fun! Our guide Pieter was fantastic, with a great sense of humor. He kept things moving right along, and our day went very fast. There was a lot to do and the guide kept it interesting with commentary, but not boring or long-winded. The only thing that disappointed me was that we didn't get to do any Edam cheese-tasting in Edam, only Gouda cheese tasting in Volendam. And of course, it would have been nice, as always, if we'd had more time to play in these 4 towns, but I say that on every tour! All in all, a great day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Charm of Holland Tour which about 8 hours all in all. It included: visiting as the 1st stop the Zaans Schans we got to visit a wood cutting wind mill - it was very interesting and informative. Then we had a Walking tour in Volendam where we visited Woltje's backery also informative on how waffles were done and the place had a small museum in the basement. After finishing from Woltje's we headed to the Cheese Factory in Volendam you get the full explanation about how Gouda cheese are made, then you are given a glass of wine and you can sample cheeses - place was very crowded and noisy. Once done we got on the boat from Volendam to Marken about 25 minutes ride which was pleasant. We then were seated in the De Visscher Taverne we had to choose fish soup or tomato basil and for main dish: fish and chips or chicken. You also get an apple pie and coffee from the same place. Once done we had a walking tour in Marken and visited the flood museum. Next stop was the clog shoe maker where you get a full demo on how they do a clog shoe interesting but hot. Last, we had a walking tour in Edam which was not bad.


Overall: the experience was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Phillip M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

good tour of the countryside could have done with a bit more time at zaanse schans ,and a little less at volendam. the city walk was very informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

e_oilers_1

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour! Great way to see the countryside! Love the little towns and villages. Enjoyed the visit to the windmills as well. I was disappointed that we didn't get our cheese tasting in Edam. We did have a cheese tasting in Volendam instead.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

LJJ

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The countryside was beautiful! Felt a little rushed at the windmills. The villages of Volendam and Marken were very quaint. The cheese factory - enjoyed the cheese tasting, but there was not much info given on cheese making. The boat ride was okay and the wooden shoe maker was interesting and entertaining..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Certainly it would have been difficult to see all these things by yourself. Our tour guide Aaf was very knowledgeable. The start to Zaanse Schans was very commercial, but the windmill was excellent. So many different types of cheese to taste at Volendam. Unfortunately we couldn't buy any as they were too big and heavy for us to carry in our suitcases.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

muhammadnaumanchught ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a half day trip, this was perfect. I would have liked to have spent more time in Volendam which I found very interesting and actually cheaper than Amsterdam city- consider spending a night here! The clog making tour in Marken was fine but not great - enjoyed the boat ride on the ijselmeer. The Windmills of course were great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Cherry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

weather was not so nice, but we managed to get lot photos. the guide and driver pay lot attention to me as i was bring my mom in wheel chair. Volendam was great, foods was great and we get what we want.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Rhey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely love this tour! I would love to come back. But maybe next time at least allow us enough time to take photos.Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken are both beautiful in different ways. This is the real Holland! Your visit to Netherlands is not complete if you will not see this places.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Abdulaziz B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall was excellent. The best parts were the mills as the boat to Volendam. The later is amazing. Restaurants in Marken are also nice.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Siddharth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This Trip to the countryside was the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. We picked a small group tour and luckily for us we were the only group as we were 5 of us. ApostleTall, picked us and took us on this tour of Zaanse Schans , Volendam and the countryside. He made the trip memorable with his knowledge, continuous chit chat and trivia facts. From Eel delicacies to clog making to dutch cookies, we covered it all. If not for the Europride parade, we would have had more time to see the other treasures around Amsterdam.Highly Recommend this experience.

Doing what: Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from Amsterdam Including Dutch Schnapps Tasting

Heather W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour with Erna. She was knowledgable and we appreciated her keeping the group together and on time. The bus was comfortable and we especially liked our time in Volendam. We liked having an hour of free time to explore and try the food there. Overall, we would recommend this tour to friends and family!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

tleu16

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The first part of the trip is nothing more than a shopping trip to buy clogs Marken and cheese Volendam. The cruise from Marken to Volendam is fairly boring. Nothing much to see along the way. Only the Zaanse Schans Windmills is worth while, but it was a little rush.
Part 2 was way more interesting. The visit to delft is mostly occupied by another shopping trip to Royal Delft. The Hague bus tour was interesting, even though it was short and very rushed photo opportunity 5 mins. Madurodam is a great overview of all the famous buildings in miniature form.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Jan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very lively and enthusiastic. He seemed to know everyone we encountered along the way! His suggestion that we might enjoy the ferry from Volendam to Marken was a great one, as we did enjoy the ferry. The only complaint was that the vehicle he drove was a tad too tight for 4 adults. We were fairly squished in. But that did not diminish our enjoyment of the day in the Dutch countryside. It was a beautiful sunny day and absolutely gorgeous. A tour well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Day Trip to Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken from Amsterdam

Patricia M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed seeing the countryside and towns of Marken and Volendam. Would recommend this tour to see outside of Amsterdam. Beautiful area. It was a full day and both tour guides were informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Abinaya G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

On my first solo trip I decided to book this country side tour in Amsterdam and I must say I enjoyed it thoroughly. I would definitely recommend this package to all those who are willing to get a taste of the windmills village, pretty little Volendam and signature wooden shoe making village Marken!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Daniel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Do not be last on the bus or you will not sit with your partner. Tour guide was funny and very informative. Volendam is a wonderful and beautiful place to visit. Windmills were very interesting to see operating.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

janine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do trip, a good look at Holland its windmills at Zaanse Schans and the ferry ride to the chees factory at Volendam was great. We had a great guide that made the trip a good experience

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message