For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 337 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Do not be last on the bus or you will not sit with your partner. Tour guide was funny and very informative. Volendam is a wonderful and beautiful place to visit. Windmills were very interesting to see operating.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

janine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do trip, a good look at Holland its windmills at Zaanse Schans and the ferry ride to the chees factory at Volendam was great. We had a great guide that made the trip a good experience

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Douglas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was good fun and informative. Both the guide and bus driver were first class. We got a bit of everything on this trip. To see operating windmills, with explanations from the operator, a cheese factory, a clog making factory and to walk the towns on Volendam and Marken was a great experience.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

kathleen j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we had a wonderful time visiting the three lovely little villages.
Zaanse Schans was really lovely and very interesting. Edam had a cheese market the day we were there and that was great to watch. Volendam again very different from the other two places was very nice too. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see more than just the city of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thorougly enjoyed the Countryside and Windmills tour. The windmills at Zaanse Schans, the clog making at Matken and the chees factory at Volendam were all amazing.
Our local tour guides from Lindburg tours were excellent, friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Zaanse Schans and Marken were great to visit. I wasn't fussed on Volendam as it was very touristy and felt like a tourist trap.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

joe_witalec

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a very nice tour through the Dutch countryside. All the stops were enjoyable, although we felt a little rushed at times. At Zaanse Schans, you see a wooden shoe making demonstration and then have time to go in one or two windmills. Lots of good places to eat in Volendam boardwalk.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

rasaky

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This day tour out into the beautiful countryside of Amsterdam was wonderful. The guide we had Fanny was brillant her knowledge of the areas we visited was excellent. Edam and the lovely cheese Volendam cheese factory was a wonderful stop, the beautiful ferry trip to Markem. A lovely lunch in Markem. A very long day but definitely a worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed our tour. Our guide was informative an friendly. It was pleasant walking through the side streets, of marken an volendam, and the guide walked at a casual stroll so older people could keep up which was most thoughtful. It was good to be able to also buy cold water on the bus for a euro. All in all a great overview of country Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Kim Hwee W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide Juliet was really knowledgeable and friendly ensuring that all the people on the tour were well taken care off. Coach timings were really punctual and overall a smooth journey with no frills, just take your time to enjoy the beautiful countryside that Volendam/Edam and Zaanse Schans has to offer!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

wenstuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much to see and do in this tour, definitely a good one. Our guide was wonderful giving us pleanty of information. The windmills at Zaanse Schans was like stepping back in time so interesting and the atmosphere was peaceful. we could have spent a lot more time here but there was more to see. Next stop Volendam a fishing village, here we saw how cheese was made and had a chance to sample some. There was time here to have a wander and some lunch. Then onwards on a ferry this time to Marken a small village were we saw clogs being made. This was a great tour and would recommend it to all

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Clara Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really wish we had a longer time in Zaanse Schans.I suggest that you don and #39;t go to the guided tour in one of the windmills. It and #39;s a 10min walk from the busstop and you could see other stuff in that time. Also in Volendam, I wanted to try the seafood but there and #39;s not enough time. Overall, it was great

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour of the small villages in the country side of the Netherlands was very refreshing and was a good change from the urban sights of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken were exceptionally picturesque. The villages had many small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were presented with a post card view. It was a thrill to climb up into the working windmills at Zaanse Schans and see the gears and screws turning. We had cheese tasting at Volendam and then took a boat ride to Marken where we had a great lunch and were given a demonstration on the making of Dutch shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Cindy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of my favorite excursions. The tour guides were very pleasant. Quick bus tour with a ride on a boat to Marken. All 3 stops were so beautiful and wish we had more time to wonder around Volendam. Zaanse Schans with the windmills is amazing to see and Marken for the wooden shoes was awesome. I would totally recommend this tour. Windmills, cheese and wooden shoes - who could ask for more!! Volendam was probably my least favorite and the fishing museum was ok but you have the option to pass on it and go with the other tour guide. They were so lovely. Thank you for a memorable day.
The bus restroom did not work which was not fun. :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Barbara K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Tas was great! Bus very comfortable. Lots of information. Downside- need more time at windmills/ less time at Volendam- museum very quant but outdated style. Lovely to see the countryside!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We booked this trip for me, my husband, and our 7 year old son to go to Zaanse Schans and Volendam. The tour description was not exactly what we wanted but, figured it would be ok. After talking to Jaime, our guide, about we really wanted, he modified our trip a little and made it exactly what we wanted. Jaime was so friendly, so relaxed, great driver, extremely patient, flexible, and so informative. If there were 10 stars we would give him 10. He not only gave us a lot of general facts about Zaanse Schans and the other places we went but, gave us a lot of facts about The Netherlands/Dutch history and current events. Our tour was all in English also. On top of that, he helped us get skip the line tickets for a museum that our son wanted to the next day and drove us to pick them up. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this company to anyone who wants a great, personalized tour. Thank you Jaime for a great day!

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g188590-d8476384-r369311439-Guiarte_Tours-Amsterdam_North_Holland_Province.html

Doing what: Private Day Trip to Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken from Amsterdam

Teresa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A beautiful village with working windmills. The Volendam museum provided great insight into the Dutch history. The Clog factory was very interesting. Overall a fun and pleasant tour - well worth it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A full day of great sites.
Wish we had more time at Windmills and Volendam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

jagdish123 India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed these 2 half a day tours. In the morning tour, we visited the scenic Windmills - a must-see. The location was so picturesque, and the windmills were a learning experience for us. Then we went to Marken, witnessed the shoe making, and then took a nice ferry to Volendam. Here, we learnt quite a lot about dutch cheese making. Overall, a fun experience, further enhanced by our guide Edgar who was so witty and funny all through making the tour very memorable. We got dropped back at the Centraal station before we took the Kukenhof tour to see the tulips. This was our second visit to the Tulips garden and we enjoyed every bit again. Overall, recommend these tours. The only drawback I would say is that there was absolutely no time between these half a day tours for even a quick lunch.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Susan S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Overall the tour was awesome. However, there is no mention on the extensive walking on this tour. I had noted we had limited mobility. Long walk to windmills and Volendam - guide was walking at a fast pace and we were left at the end. They did ask the bus driver to walk with us so we wouldn't get lost. Really enjoyed the windmills, Volendam, lunch, ferry ride. Guide informed folks to wait until Markel to do shopping, but no time was provided. The next segment was beautiful - enjoyed the Delft pottery factory, but very short time in the town itself. The ride around town of The Hague was very interesting. We would have preferred a longer visit in Delft than time spent at Madurodam - not sure why we stopped here considering the average age of the group. All of the guides and bus drivers were friendly and informative. I thoroughly recommend this tour to all - - but warn about the walking. Most places are not wheel chair accessible.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Srikanth B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Firstly this is a 3.5 stars review, unfortunately cannot select half stars above.
The location of the office, easy to locate the office get there about 30mins before start as there is a bit of a queue to complete the formalities before boarding.
The tour itself is split into two sections.
Morning bus takes you to the windmill village, fishing village, boat ride to marken and the clog making factory. During the journey, they play an audio providing some nice information about netherlands which was nice.But we hated the windmill village part of the tour, not because it was not beautiful, actually it was absolutely amazing, but only because it was so rushed that it was almost not worth even going there like this.
Then at Volendam you go for a free cheese demonstration, which according to me was pretty useless, but you get some time to look at the local shops and buy some nice local made souvenirs here. We had some kibbeling and chips here at a local restaurant which was also very very nice.
Then a nice boat ride to Marken, which again a very beautiful village. Here you visit the local museum and also the clog making factory which was all memorable. Then you head back to Amsterdam.
We literally then got off this bus and got on to the next one for the Keukenhoff gardens, so if you are doing both these like us, I strongly suggest having lunch at Volendam.
Keukenhoff gardens tour, the guide was excellent, she kept telling us some very intersting facts throughout the journey to the gardens. The gardens itself are simply breathtaking and something everyone should see for once. You get three hours to roam around as you wish, which according to me was quite enough as you are by now very tired.
Overall a very worthwhile tour, maybe they just need to work on the windmill village part to give more time there and that would make this a perfect tour. Thanks.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Bridget L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a great trip. I expected the Windmills to be my favorite but they were anti-climactic. Edam is a gem made better by the information provided by Derrick, our guide. Volendam was also wonderful and a great introduction to a true Dutch vacation spot.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Katherine W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed the sites - the windmills, the cheese factory, the wooden shoe factory, the ferry ride, etc. Thought we had a bit too much time in Volendam. We would recommend this trip! Very nice to enjoy 3 different towns in one day!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

shalini_909

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Morning tour covering wind mills, Volendam and Marken was great as it gave you enough time to spend outdoors, have lunch enjoy the sites a little etc. The afternoon tour covering Delft, Hague and Madurodam was a little boring as most of your time was spent in the coach. Overall a great tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Jessica B W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family two adults, two children aged 6 and 8 really enjoyed this day trip. We were wowed by the windmills in Zaanse Schans, loved Volendam and its charm, the ferry ride to Marken and spending time on the island. We loved watching the clogs being made, the city tour was super informative and we opted for the canal ride as well, which was a nice, slower pace. All in all a great day, with a fantastic guide and would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message