For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 374 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ANGIE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the perfect tour for seeing the countryside, windmills and villages. Our guide was fantastic! Very nice people and quite knowledgeable. We enjoyed every aspect of the day, only wished we had more time at the windmill site and in Volendam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great! We had a wonderful time at the windmills. took a ferry to Marken, ate fish and chips and poffertje on the seaside at Volendam, bought cheese. The guide was excellent! The whole thing was so worthwhile and interesting. Not quite enough time for shopping at the windmills was my only thing! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great to cover north of Amsterdam in half a day. Was the only 2 participants so it became a private tour. Guide Apostoli is knowledgeable, funny, and friendly. Visited Zaanse Schans windmills, very charming. Went to cheese farm and klompen factory and did the traditional costume photo-shoot in Edam - great variety of cheese, there'll be a couple which should suit your taste. In Volendam, tasted great seafood - raw herrings and fried cod cubes are must-try at much lower price compared to Amsterdam central. Given extra tour to Monnikendam for additional snack stops and drive-bys tour.

Doing what: Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from Amsterdam Including Dutch Schnapps Tasting

Jaime W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very good! Lots of fun things to see - we would have liked to have more time in Volendam, it was a very cute city!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Eraine H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was a perfect day for a thoroughly enjoyable tour but only have a small concern when we visited Volendam. Not nearly enough time spent there, particularly in prime tourist time as very overcrowded and it took at least half an hour to get some lunch with no time left to look around.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of our favorite tours. The countryside is beautiful. Everyone was so nice and helpful. I could have used more time at Volendam. That was the lunch stop and it didn't really leave time for seeing the market

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

eve2373

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was worth every penny for us. The tour was great and the guide spoke multiple languages. We were surprise as to how much we got for our money. Coach ride with guide recordings on information about the tour and sights we were seeing. 2 tour guides to answer any questions. Presentations provided at each site we visited and a bit of time to wonder around and have lunch. Public Ferry to Volendam and back on the Coach to Amsterdam. ... it was great to be able to see so much and learn so much about The Netherlands in such a short trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

IronHorse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great experience to visit the countryside, to view real windmills and be inside one, to take a boat ride between fishing villages of Volendam and Marken and to realise how the Dutch mastered to expand their land from the sea, to sit in a clog-making demo and cheese manufacturing demo, and to try the fresh herring with diced onion and squeezed lemon. It's the tour, the experience that makes part of good memories.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Favorite Day in Holland was this extraordinary tour. We were able to be comfortable on the bus for the short ride out to Zaanse Schans to witness the surreal Windmills and then to Marken to watch wooden shoes being made and then Volendam to enjoy the seaside village.
Absolutely Amazing Tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - definitely a must do. Pieter our guide and Tom our driver are an All Pro team. The sights and tastes are not to be missed. Get out of the big cities and see more of the Netherlands. Volendam for cheese tasting and waffles, lunch in Marken and a visit to the wooden shoe craftsman and his most photographed sock in the world, and the working windmill village of Zaanse Shans are lasting memories.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

sharan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

it was a good tour and can be excellent just because it was very large group I have given it 4 star.but they managed very well marken and volendam is very beautiful.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Julia L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much and had a very nice lunch in Volendam with fresh white cod fish and fries. The ferry ride to Marken was enjoyable especially since the weather was nice.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Christine Joyce F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this tour! The city tour came first. It was ok. Our guide was very knowledgeable. There is no time for lunch so it would be wise to bring a sandwich. Expect a extensive walking tour of the windmills, Volendam and Marken. Good way to see places up close.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

s_rochette31

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour ! The bus was right on time for pick, it was clean and comfortable. Guide was very good and knowledgeable although I'd have appreciated a little more information regarding how Edam cheese bears the village's name and spoke in a very clear English. Tour was bilingual English/Spanish that day so it was just a little annoying to have to hear the same speach twice. The itinerary was great and didn't block off all my day which allowed me to do a lot that day and the time spent at each location was appropriate. Toilets are a paid service at Zaanse Schans but if you can wait until the cheese factory 3rd stop, after Edam but before Volendam then there are free toilets. Great tour to see a bit of the countryside if you are on a short 3-4 day trip like I was. Prices at the cheese factory are the same as any Henry Willig store in Amsterdam so if you'd want to carry your cheeses from that point, just wait and get them in town. Entry into the windmill itself is really the only thing that's not already included so th was 4 as of October 2016, totally worth it ! It was beautiful to see the mecanism actually spinning and grinding rocks from the inside !

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day trip touring the windmills, cheese and clog factories. The guide was very interesting and informative and spoke many languages. Seeing the inside of a working windmill was a great way to learn about Dutch history. The town of Volendam was just beautiful with enough time given to walk around to see the town.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was a very good trip to see a good overview of the windmills, cheese factory and the clog making shop. I think my favorite stop was Marken where the clog shop is. The guide takes you through the small idyllic village on a walk not strenuous and the homes a quaint and simple. This was one of my favorite parts of the trip. Volendam was lovely too and the houses facing the water were simple and beautiful. The trip to the windmills was very informative but I will tell you that it is quite a walk to the windmill that they took us to the green one. For those of you who have trouble getting around, this is quite a walk. Do take this tour. It is a very memorable one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

lkwcb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome Windmills and exploring Volendam and Marken. Enjoyed the countryside. I would recommend, due to the amount of walking required on this tour, that you state that in your guide, as there were a few older folks that had a hard time with the walking.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Alexandra N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the best tours I've ever had! I can't even say what I liked best: I explored every single inch of the 1607 mill, tasted every single sort of cheese at the Volendam factory and bought an impressive batch, was screaming with delight at the cogs demonstration, admired the masterpieces at the Delft factory and finally made a thousand pics in Madurodam. I have the most pleasant memories. Thank you for this wonderful offer!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great trip. Seeing a working windmill was of great interest to all but particularly to the engineers in the group. Volendam is a delightful town we enjoyed the museum, cheese shop and fish and chips at the recommended restaurant. The boat ride to Marken and the wooden shoe factory were also quite enjoyable. The tour guide provided insight we would not have had if we had visited these locations on our own. Loved all we did!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the best tour of our vacation. It was so fun! Our guide Pieter was fantastic, with a great sense of humor. He kept things moving right along, and our day went very fast. There was a lot to do and the guide kept it interesting with commentary, but not boring or long-winded. The only thing that disappointed me was that we didn't get to do any Edam cheese-tasting in Edam, only Gouda cheese tasting in Volendam. And of course, it would have been nice, as always, if we'd had more time to play in these 4 towns, but I say that on every tour! All in all, a great day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Charm of Holland Tour which about 8 hours all in all. It included: visiting as the 1st stop the Zaans Schans we got to visit a wood cutting wind mill - it was very interesting and informative. Then we had a Walking tour in Volendam where we visited Woltje's backery also informative on how waffles were done and the place had a small museum in the basement. After finishing from Woltje's we headed to the Cheese Factory in Volendam you get the full explanation about how Gouda cheese are made, then you are given a glass of wine and you can sample cheeses - place was very crowded and noisy. Once done we got on the boat from Volendam to Marken about 25 minutes ride which was pleasant. We then were seated in the De Visscher Taverne we had to choose fish soup or tomato basil and for main dish: fish and chips or chicken. You also get an apple pie and coffee from the same place. Once done we had a walking tour in Marken and visited the flood museum. Next stop was the clog shoe maker where you get a full demo on how they do a clog shoe interesting but hot. Last, we had a walking tour in Edam which was not bad.


Overall: the experience was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Phillip M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

good tour of the countryside could have done with a bit more time at zaanse schans ,and a little less at volendam. the city walk was very informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: City Walking Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

e_oilers_1

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour! Great way to see the countryside! Love the little towns and villages. Enjoyed the visit to the windmills as well. I was disappointed that we didn't get our cheese tasting in Edam. We did have a cheese tasting in Volendam instead.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

LJJ

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The countryside was beautiful! Felt a little rushed at the windmills. The villages of Volendam and Marken were very quaint. The cheese factory - enjoyed the cheese tasting, but there was not much info given on cheese making. The boat ride was okay and the wooden shoe maker was interesting and entertaining..

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message