For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 349 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Certainly it would have been difficult to see all these things by yourself. Our tour guide Aaf was very knowledgeable. The start to Zaanse Schans was very commercial, but the windmill was excellent. So many different types of cheese to taste at Volendam. Unfortunately we couldn't buy any as they were too big and heavy for us to carry in our suitcases.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

muhammadnaumanchught ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

As a half day trip, this was perfect. I would have liked to have spent more time in Volendam which I found very interesting and actually cheaper than Amsterdam city- consider spending a night here! The clog making tour in Marken was fine but not great - enjoyed the boat ride on the ijselmeer. The Windmills of course were great.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Cherry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

weather was not so nice, but we managed to get lot photos. the guide and driver pay lot attention to me as i was bring my mom in wheel chair. Volendam was great, foods was great and we get what we want.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Rhey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely love this tour! I would love to come back. But maybe next time at least allow us enough time to take photos.Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken are both beautiful in different ways. This is the real Holland! Your visit to Netherlands is not complete if you will not see this places.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Abdulaziz B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Overall was excellent. The best parts were the mills as the boat to Volendam. The later is amazing. Restaurants in Marken are also nice.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Siddharth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This Trip to the countryside was the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. We picked a small group tour and luckily for us we were the only group as we were 5 of us. ApostleTall, picked us and took us on this tour of Zaanse Schans , Volendam and the countryside. He made the trip memorable with his knowledge, continuous chit chat and trivia facts. From Eel delicacies to clog making to dutch cookies, we covered it all. If not for the Europride parade, we would have had more time to see the other treasures around Amsterdam.Highly Recommend this experience.

Doing what: Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from Amsterdam Including Dutch Schnapps Tasting

tleu16

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The first part of the trip is nothing more than a shopping trip to buy clogs Marken and cheese Volendam. The cruise from Marken to Volendam is fairly boring. Nothing much to see along the way. Only the Zaanse Schans Windmills is worth while, but it was a little rush.
Part 2 was way more interesting. The visit to delft is mostly occupied by another shopping trip to Royal Delft. The Hague bus tour was interesting, even though it was short and very rushed photo opportunity 5 mins. Madurodam is a great overview of all the famous buildings in miniature form.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Jan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very lively and enthusiastic. He seemed to know everyone we encountered along the way! His suggestion that we might enjoy the ferry from Volendam to Marken was a great one, as we did enjoy the ferry. The only complaint was that the vehicle he drove was a tad too tight for 4 adults. We were fairly squished in. But that did not diminish our enjoyment of the day in the Dutch countryside. It was a beautiful sunny day and absolutely gorgeous. A tour well worth the money.

Doing what: Private Day Trip to Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken from Amsterdam

Patricia M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed seeing the countryside and towns of Marken and Volendam. Would recommend this tour to see outside of Amsterdam. Beautiful area. It was a full day and both tour guides were informative.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Abinaya G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

On my first solo trip I decided to book this country side tour in Amsterdam and I must say I enjoyed it thoroughly. I would definitely recommend this package to all those who are willing to get a taste of the windmills village, pretty little Volendam and signature wooden shoe making village Marken!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Daniel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Do not be last on the bus or you will not sit with your partner. Tour guide was funny and very informative. Volendam is a wonderful and beautiful place to visit. Windmills were very interesting to see operating.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

janine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do trip, a good look at Holland its windmills at Zaanse Schans and the ferry ride to the chees factory at Volendam was great. We had a great guide that made the trip a good experience

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Douglas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was good fun and informative. Both the guide and bus driver were first class. We got a bit of everything on this trip. To see operating windmills, with explanations from the operator, a cheese factory, a clog making factory and to walk the towns on Volendam and Marken was a great experience.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

kathleen j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we had a wonderful time visiting the three lovely little villages.
Zaanse Schans was really lovely and very interesting. Edam had a cheese market the day we were there and that was great to watch. Volendam again very different from the other two places was very nice too. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see more than just the city of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thorougly enjoyed the Countryside and Windmills tour. The windmills at Zaanse Schans, the clog making at Matken and the chees factory at Volendam were all amazing.
Our local tour guides from Lindburg tours were excellent, friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Zaanse Schans and Marken were great to visit. I wasn't fussed on Volendam as it was very touristy and felt like a tourist trap.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

joe_witalec

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a very nice tour through the Dutch countryside. All the stops were enjoyable, although we felt a little rushed at times. At Zaanse Schans, you see a wooden shoe making demonstration and then have time to go in one or two windmills. Lots of good places to eat in Volendam boardwalk.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

rasaky

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This day tour out into the beautiful countryside of Amsterdam was wonderful. The guide we had Fanny was brillant her knowledge of the areas we visited was excellent. Edam and the lovely cheese Volendam cheese factory was a wonderful stop, the beautiful ferry trip to Markem. A lovely lunch in Markem. A very long day but definitely a worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed our tour. Our guide was informative an friendly. It was pleasant walking through the side streets, of marken an volendam, and the guide walked at a casual stroll so older people could keep up which was most thoughtful. It was good to be able to also buy cold water on the bus for a euro. All in all a great overview of country Amsterdam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Kim Hwee W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide Juliet was really knowledgeable and friendly ensuring that all the people on the tour were well taken care off. Coach timings were really punctual and overall a smooth journey with no frills, just take your time to enjoy the beautiful countryside that Volendam/Edam and Zaanse Schans has to offer!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

wenstuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much to see and do in this tour, definitely a good one. Our guide was wonderful giving us pleanty of information. The windmills at Zaanse Schans was like stepping back in time so interesting and the atmosphere was peaceful. we could have spent a lot more time here but there was more to see. Next stop Volendam a fishing village, here we saw how cheese was made and had a chance to sample some. There was time here to have a wander and some lunch. Then onwards on a ferry this time to Marken a small village were we saw clogs being made. This was a great tour and would recommend it to all

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Clara Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really wish we had a longer time in Zaanse Schans.I suggest that you don and #39;t go to the guided tour in one of the windmills. It and #39;s a 10min walk from the busstop and you could see other stuff in that time. Also in Volendam, I wanted to try the seafood but there and #39;s not enough time. Overall, it was great

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour of the small villages in the country side of the Netherlands was very refreshing and was a good change from the urban sights of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken were exceptionally picturesque. The villages had many small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were presented with a post card view. It was a thrill to climb up into the working windmills at Zaanse Schans and see the gears and screws turning. We had cheese tasting at Volendam and then took a boat ride to Marken where we had a great lunch and were given a demonstration on the making of Dutch shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message