For a glimpse into the past, and a drive along the low-lying fields and windmills of North Holland, Volendam is an ideal day trip destination from Amsterdam. Too cute to be true, the quaint fishing village surrounds a picture-postcard harbor lined ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 383 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

salEdawgz United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour is full day and goes by quickly. The trip to Bruges on a very comfortable coach was long and maybe took a little longer than expected but they made it up to us by staying a bit longer. Bruges was lovely and our guide was an elderly gentleman who gave a great historical tour of this small town.
The tour of Zaanse Schans, Marken and Volendam was fantastic Great places to visit and learned a lot about the Netherlands in general. We got to taste some very fresh seafood sandwiches and bought our clogs at one of the shops. Very cool and highly recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Bruges Day Trip plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Larry M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was the 2nd Viator tour we've taken. The first was to Bryce Canyon and Zion National Parks from Salt Lake City which was very enjoyable. This one was truly extraordinary. Keukenhof Gardens are only open two months out of the year. We were lucky enough to be in the area during this time. There were over 7.5 million tulips in bloom at the gardens. We could have spent all day just wandering around there. But the windmills, Volendam and Marken were also well worth seeing. The Netherlands would not have been complete without this tour. I highly recommend it to anyone who has the opportunity to take advantage of this offer. Our guide spoke excellent English and arranged things to best accommodate the passengers.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Jeffspdca

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We did both the city tour and the afternoon tour to the windmills, Volendam, and Marken. Excellent guides. Great information. A highlight was the walk through back streets of Volendam. Our guide really knew the place. The windmills are incredible! This tour is not to be missed!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were a little apprehensive about this trip because the large coach was full and we expected a somewhat impersonal tour. Instead, it was great! Our guide, Edgar, was a delight. Very informative, very funny and very caring about the group. The coach driver and the volunteers at the windmills, the wood shoe factory and the cheese factory were all great. The scenery was exceptional even in the cold and heavy fog on that day. Finally a delicious seafood lunch in Volendam. A memorable experience to be repeated!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Gary B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Great day in the countryside. Towns visited were very different. Edam very traditional and Volendam very touristy. The windmill Park was the highlight of the tour. Fantastic to see the Dutch heritage preserved. Guide was very informative and proud to talk about his culture and history. Only issue was people late back to the bus which was not the guides fault. Note we were not returned to where we boarded the bus but quite some distance away at Central station. This should be made clearer from.the start of the tour.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Amitabh T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent Dutch countryside tour covering the windmills at Zaanse Schans, museum visit, demonstration of cheese making and Cheese tasting at Volendam, cruise over the Zuiderzee, a walk through the picture postcard Marken village and a demonstration of traditional clog making. The guide was very helpful and knowledgeable. Worth the effort to walk through Marken village which is very beautiful. Make sure to bring along warm clothes since the Zuiderzee can get pretty chilly even in summer.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

syed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A great tour cover north of Amsterdam which cover Zaanse Schans Windmill, Volendam and Marken. It was easy to follow the direction to the meeting point. Our tour guide is very friendly and knowledgeable in which we learnt about culture and traditional life the Dutch countryside. He also allow just right time to stay in each location. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from Amsterdam Including Dutch Schnapps Tasting

dougiebell_14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a really enthusiastic, eager and informative Dutch tour guide. He knew all the history and knew when the right times were to speak. He was also very funny, inclusive of everyone and catered to our needs i.e. if we wanted to try a particular something for lunch. The bus ride from Amsterdam to Zaanse Schans only took half an hour-45 minutes, and from Zaanse Schans to Edam/Volendam less than half an hour, so you were not stuck on a bus for most of the tour at all! In between these stops as well, you visit this gorgeous little Dutch cheese factory, where they show you how cheese is made and stored, and there are also wooden shoes clogs to buy. They demonstrate to you how they carve the shoes- very impressive!
We were blessed to have clear blue skies on our day, and it wasn't too busy at it was November.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

alexander j

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Good Value tour, started with great photo opportunities, though the cheese making and waffle making demonstrations were a bit more of a sales opportunity than an actual demonstration. Again Marken and Volendam and the ferry trip were good photo ops.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

ANGIE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the perfect tour for seeing the countryside, windmills and villages. Our guide was fantastic! Very nice people and quite knowledgeable. We enjoyed every aspect of the day, only wished we had more time at the windmill site and in Volendam.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great! We had a wonderful time at the windmills. took a ferry to Marken, ate fish and chips and poffertje on the seaside at Volendam, bought cheese. The guide was excellent! The whole thing was so worthwhile and interesting. Not quite enough time for shopping at the windmills was my only thing! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great to cover north of Amsterdam in half a day. Was the only 2 participants so it became a private tour. Guide Apostoli is knowledgeable, funny, and friendly. Visited Zaanse Schans windmills, very charming. Went to cheese farm and klompen factory and did the traditional costume photo-shoot in Edam - great variety of cheese, there'll be a couple which should suit your taste. In Volendam, tasted great seafood - raw herrings and fried cod cubes are must-try at much lower price compared to Amsterdam central. Given extra tour to Monnikendam for additional snack stops and drive-bys tour.

Doing what: Small Group Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Old Villages Tour from Amsterdam Including Dutch Schnapps Tasting

Jaime W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was very good! Lots of fun things to see - we would have liked to have more time in Volendam, it was a very cute city!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Eraine H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was a perfect day for a thoroughly enjoyable tour but only have a small concern when we visited Volendam. Not nearly enough time spent there, particularly in prime tourist time as very overcrowded and it took at least half an hour to get some lunch with no time left to look around.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of our favorite tours. The countryside is beautiful. Everyone was so nice and helpful. I could have used more time at Volendam. That was the lunch stop and it didn't really leave time for seeing the market

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

eve2373

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was worth every penny for us. The tour was great and the guide spoke multiple languages. We were surprise as to how much we got for our money. Coach ride with guide recordings on information about the tour and sights we were seeing. 2 tour guides to answer any questions. Presentations provided at each site we visited and a bit of time to wonder around and have lunch. Public Ferry to Volendam and back on the Coach to Amsterdam. ... it was great to be able to see so much and learn so much about The Netherlands in such a short trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

IronHorse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great experience to visit the countryside, to view real windmills and be inside one, to take a boat ride between fishing villages of Volendam and Marken and to realise how the Dutch mastered to expand their land from the sea, to sit in a clog-making demo and cheese manufacturing demo, and to try the fresh herring with diced onion and squeezed lemon. It's the tour, the experience that makes part of good memories.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Favorite Day in Holland was this extraordinary tour. We were able to be comfortable on the bus for the short ride out to Zaanse Schans to witness the surreal Windmills and then to Marken to watch wooden shoes being made and then Volendam to enjoy the seaside village.
Absolutely Amazing Tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - definitely a must do. Pieter our guide and Tom our driver are an All Pro team. The sights and tastes are not to be missed. Get out of the big cities and see more of the Netherlands. Volendam for cheese tasting and waffles, lunch in Marken and a visit to the wooden shoe craftsman and his most photographed sock in the world, and the working windmill village of Zaanse Shans are lasting memories.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

sharan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

it was a good tour and can be excellent just because it was very large group I have given it 4 star.but they managed very well marken and volendam is very beautiful.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Julia L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much and had a very nice lunch in Volendam with fresh white cod fish and fries. The ferry ride to Marken was enjoyable especially since the weather was nice.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Christine Joyce F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this tour! The city tour came first. It was ok. Our guide was very knowledgeable. There is no time for lunch so it would be wise to bring a sandwich. Expect a extensive walking tour of the windmills, Volendam and Marken. Good way to see places up close.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

s_rochette31

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour ! The bus was right on time for pick, it was clean and comfortable. Guide was very good and knowledgeable although I'd have appreciated a little more information regarding how Edam cheese bears the village's name and spoke in a very clear English. Tour was bilingual English/Spanish that day so it was just a little annoying to have to hear the same speach twice. The itinerary was great and didn't block off all my day which allowed me to do a lot that day and the time spent at each location was appropriate. Toilets are a paid service at Zaanse Schans but if you can wait until the cheese factory 3rd stop, after Edam but before Volendam then there are free toilets. Great tour to see a bit of the countryside if you are on a short 3-4 day trip like I was. Prices at the cheese factory are the same as any Henry Willig store in Amsterdam so if you'd want to carry your cheeses from that point, just wait and get them in town. Entry into the windmill itself is really the only thing that's not already included so th was 4 as of October 2016, totally worth it ! It was beautiful to see the mecanism actually spinning and grinding rocks from the inside !

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day trip touring the windmills, cheese and clog factories. The guide was very interesting and informative and spoke many languages. Seeing the inside of a working windmill was a great way to learn about Dutch history. The town of Volendam was just beautiful with enough time given to walk around to see the town.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Mary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was a very good trip to see a good overview of the windmills, cheese factory and the clog making shop. I think my favorite stop was Marken where the clog shop is. The guide takes you through the small idyllic village on a walk not strenuous and the homes a quaint and simple. This was one of my favorite parts of the trip. Volendam was lovely too and the houses facing the water were simple and beautiful. The trip to the windmills was very informative but I will tell you that it is quite a walk to the windmill that they took us to the green one. For those of you who have trouble getting around, this is quite a walk. Do take this tour. It is a very memorable one.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message