Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells, and is the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Prakash G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Zaanse Schans was perhaps the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Beautiful village and surroundings, loved the cheese factory, clog workshop and being inside a windmill. The tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and patient. Good transport arrangements.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

ann.nielsen

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

A quick and effective way of getting out into the Dutch countryside and seeing cheese and clog making, and working windmills first hand. The Zaanse Schans area is a bit Hollywood but I really did enjoy the half day trip. Dare I say it: a but 'cheesy', but fun.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The morning session of Zaanse Schans, windmills and cheese tasting was very interesting and enlightening. However, the afternoon session of The Hague, Madurodam and the Royal Delft was a little lengthy.
Overall though, it was a fun trip to go and gave us a glimpse of Netherlands!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Eileen F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour covers everything that they state, but commentaries at the windmills, clog shoe factory, and cheese factory lasted approximately 5-10 minutes for each site. While a recorded narration was provided, it was very limited and only offered on the bus. No information is provided while walking the grounds in Zaanse Schans, Marken or Volendam. This large group tour was very large double decker bus was filled. Better off paying the extra money and book a private or a small group tour to see these sites!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jennipher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fun day trip! Our favorite was the first stop, Zaanse Schans. The clog demonstration was fun and the windmills were beautiful! We payed the extra 4 euros to go into the windmill and we were glad we did. Only downside: it was only a half day. We would have liked to go to more places or stay longer.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Certainly it would have been difficult to see all these things by yourself. Our tour guide Aaf was very knowledgeable. The start to Zaanse Schans was very commercial, but the windmill was excellent. So many different types of cheese to taste at Volendam. Unfortunately we couldn't buy any as they were too big and heavy for us to carry in our suitcases.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rhey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely love this tour! I would love to come back. But maybe next time at least allow us enough time to take photos.Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken are both beautiful in different ways. This is the real Holland! Your visit to Netherlands is not complete if you will not see this places.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

tleu16

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The first part of the trip is nothing more than a shopping trip to buy clogs Marken and cheese Volendam. The cruise from Marken to Volendam is fairly boring. Nothing much to see along the way. Only the Zaanse Schans Windmills is worth while, but it was a little rush.
Part 2 was way more interesting. The visit to delft is mostly occupied by another shopping trip to Royal Delft. The Hague bus tour was interesting, even though it was short and very rushed photo opportunity 5 mins. Madurodam is a great overview of all the famous buildings in miniature form.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

wanderlust

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The 1st half was great except the cheese factory demo. We were told hoe cheese was made, rather than shown. More of a cheese shop than factory. The clog factory in Marken was great as was the sawmill in Zaanse Schans. The afternoon trip to Delft , the Hague and Madurodam left much to be desired. The guide wasn't very lucid or informative....just pointed out the buildings in The Hague....a little closer look would be desirable.He could have given us more on the background on Delft and what to see in the City Square. He gave no info on Madurodam and those who hadn't done their homework had no idea what it was. We had no clue as to what the scan cards we were given were to be used for, and the 1 hr allotted was too less to figure it out and enjoy the place.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Kathleen R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Loved Zaanse Schans, the windmills were wonderful to see. I think my favorite was visiting Delft, however. We loved visiting the fishing village as well and wished we had more time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Marte Å

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

2o min car drive in silence to Zaanse Schans. We were a small group of 6. Zaanse SChans is a small village museum like place. We visited clogmaking, bakery museum, cheesemaking, windmills inside a windmill as well and a chocolate museum. A lot of tourists, and we had to stand in line for a lot of the places...a lot of waiting... and all of the places we visited were practically museums with shops.. so basically, enter here, listen to some history, here you go - please buy something...
Very nice place, and some wonderful photo opportunites, but you could just as easily visit the place on your own, however nice to have a driver

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

janine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do trip, a good look at Holland its windmills at Zaanse Schans and the ferry ride to the chees factory at Volendam was great. We had a great guide that made the trip a good experience

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Marion M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful half day excursion to Zaanse Schans. Bart was friendly and knowledgeable and gave us a great understanding of the area. For those who don't have time for a full day excursion, this tour will give you the highlights and not leave you disappointed. Thanks Bart!

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

kathleen j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we had a wonderful time visiting the three lovely little villages.
Zaanse Schans was really lovely and very interesting. Edam had a cheese market the day we were there and that was great to watch. Volendam again very different from the other two places was very nice too. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see more than just the city of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thorougly enjoyed the Countryside and Windmills tour. The windmills at Zaanse Schans, the clog making at Matken and the chees factory at Volendam were all amazing.
Our local tour guides from Lindburg tours were excellent, friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent value for money. Tour guides very helpful and well informed. Loved Zaanse Schans, Voilendam and Marken.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Gayathiri P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved all aspects of this trip! From tasting the cheese in Voldenam, the delicious seafood meal in Marken and the beautiful windmills in zaanse-schans and our guide josey was very informative and attentive. It was a fun and wonderful trip! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Zaanse Schans and Marken were great to visit. I wasn't fussed on Volendam as it was very touristy and felt like a tourist trap.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

joe_witalec

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a very nice tour through the Dutch countryside. All the stops were enjoyable, although we felt a little rushed at times. At Zaanse Schans, you see a wooden shoe making demonstration and then have time to go in one or two windmills. Lots of good places to eat in Volendam boardwalk.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Kim Hwee W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide Juliet was really knowledgeable and friendly ensuring that all the people on the tour were well taken care off. Coach timings were really punctual and overall a smooth journey with no frills, just take your time to enjoy the beautiful countryside that Volendam/Edam and Zaanse Schans has to offer!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

joecool0613

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour but it did not start on time. More time would be helpful in Zaanse Schans which was the first stop. If the tour could start 15 minutes sooner we would feel less rushed in Zaanse Schans.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Anna P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a nice trip, but a little bit too rushed. I wish we had been given more free time at the Zaanse Schans windmills.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

hopwoodj

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was not a bad trip however the time needs to be better managed in Zaanse Schans you hardly had enough time to see everything, the tour company also left 2 people behind as they did not arrive on the bus at the designated time they did not wait 1 m in longer just left. Also the head set in the bus did not work very well and they should also give more information

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

KENG LOONG T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The time given to visit Zaanse Schans Windsmills is too short! We were given mere 40 minutes to visit this place, don't even have time to visit the shops around, the visit was extremely rushing and stressful.

I was glad that I made it on time.There were few people who came just slightly later than the time mentioned, they were left behind. The tour bus will just leave without any hesitation.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message