Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells, and is the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 314 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

janine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do trip, a good look at Holland its windmills at Zaanse Schans and the ferry ride to the chees factory at Volendam was great. We had a great guide that made the trip a good experience

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Marion M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful half day excursion to Zaanse Schans. Bart was friendly and knowledgeable and gave us a great understanding of the area. For those who don't have time for a full day excursion, this tour will give you the highlights and not leave you disappointed. Thanks Bart!

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

kathleen j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we had a wonderful time visiting the three lovely little villages.
Zaanse Schans was really lovely and very interesting. Edam had a cheese market the day we were there and that was great to watch. Volendam again very different from the other two places was very nice too. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see more than just the city of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Peter E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We thorougly enjoyed the Countryside and Windmills tour. The windmills at Zaanse Schans, the clog making at Matken and the chees factory at Volendam were all amazing.
Our local tour guides from Lindburg tours were excellent, friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent value for money. Tour guides very helpful and well informed. Loved Zaanse Schans, Voilendam and Marken.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Aaron G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Zaanse Schans and Marken were great to visit. I wasn't fussed on Volendam as it was very touristy and felt like a tourist trap.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

joe_witalec

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a very nice tour through the Dutch countryside. All the stops were enjoyable, although we felt a little rushed at times. At Zaanse Schans, you see a wooden shoe making demonstration and then have time to go in one or two windmills. Lots of good places to eat in Volendam boardwalk.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Kim Hwee W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide Juliet was really knowledgeable and friendly ensuring that all the people on the tour were well taken care off. Coach timings were really punctual and overall a smooth journey with no frills, just take your time to enjoy the beautiful countryside that Volendam/Edam and Zaanse Schans has to offer!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

joecool0613

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour but it did not start on time. More time would be helpful in Zaanse Schans which was the first stop. If the tour could start 15 minutes sooner we would feel less rushed in Zaanse Schans.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

hopwoodj

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was not a bad trip however the time needs to be better managed in Zaanse Schans you hardly had enough time to see everything, the tour company also left 2 people behind as they did not arrive on the bus at the designated time they did not wait 1 m in longer just left. Also the head set in the bus did not work very well and they should also give more information

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

KENG LOONG T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The time given to visit Zaanse Schans Windsmills is too short! We were given mere 40 minutes to visit this place, don't even have time to visit the shops around, the visit was extremely rushing and stressful.

I was glad that I made it on time.There were few people who came just slightly later than the time mentioned, they were left behind. The tour bus will just leave without any hesitation.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed going to Zaanse Schans! Very interesting to see the windmills and especially the inside of the windmills and learn how they work. Such a pretty setting, it was everything you think of when you think of Holland! Our guide was good and knowledgable, able to answer all our questions and even take our picture. The cheese and clog factories were also fun. I would have liked to have a little more time to browse afterwards and go back to the stores of my choice.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

wenstuy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So much to see and do in this tour, definitely a good one. Our guide was wonderful giving us pleanty of information. The windmills at Zaanse Schans was like stepping back in time so interesting and the atmosphere was peaceful. we could have spent a lot more time here but there was more to see. Next stop Volendam a fishing village, here we saw how cheese was made and had a chance to sample some. There was time here to have a wander and some lunch. Then onwards on a ferry this time to Marken a small village were we saw clogs being made. This was a great tour and would recommend it to all

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

YEW SOON T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic, a good Dutch experience! Unfortunate that it was raining when we visited the windmills. Would welcome more time at Zaanse Schans for some shopping.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Karen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time ! Bart made sure we got to see everything and experience all that Zaanse Schans has to offer.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Clara Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really wish we had a longer time in Zaanse Schans.I suggest that you don and #39;t go to the guided tour in one of the windmills. It and #39;s a 10min walk from the busstop and you could see other stuff in that time. Also in Volendam, I wanted to try the seafood but there and #39;s not enough time. Overall, it was great

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

kmschehl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great overview tour of the area. We got to see so many things including the wind mill area, cheese making and wooden shoe factory, fishing town and even a boat ride. We were fascinated by the wind mills in Zaanse Schans so we went back the next day in order to spend more time there.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour of the small villages in the country side of the Netherlands was very refreshing and was a good change from the urban sights of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken were exceptionally picturesque. The villages had many small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were presented with a post card view. It was a thrill to climb up into the working windmills at Zaanse Schans and see the gears and screws turning. We had cheese tasting at Volendam and then took a boat ride to Marken where we had a great lunch and were given a demonstration on the making of Dutch shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Wto2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful tour of the countryside including Edem, a cheese factory and wooden shoe maker in Vilderdam, and windmills in Zaanse Schans. Very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would take this tour again. Because of the tour, I may even just take the bus from Amsterdam out to Zaanse Schans and spend the better part of the day.

When I return with my other kids, we will take this tour again.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cindy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of my favorite excursions. The tour guides were very pleasant. Quick bus tour with a ride on a boat to Marken. All 3 stops were so beautiful and wish we had more time to wonder around Volendam. Zaanse Schans with the windmills is amazing to see and Marken for the wooden shoes was awesome. I would totally recommend this tour. Windmills, cheese and wooden shoes - who could ask for more!! Volendam was probably my least favorite and the fishing museum was ok but you have the option to pass on it and go with the other tour guide. They were so lovely. Thank you for a memorable day.
The bus restroom did not work which was not fun. :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rob W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide for both the City Tour and the Zaanse/Voldendam/Marken trips were knowledgeable and helpful. There were plenty of toilet breaks, a good itinerary with sufficient free time. My only gripes are a little too much time devoted to gift shops, and a little bit of organizational confusion by the tour company it felt like there were loads of different combo tours, so everyone was quite confused about who was going where.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Marie H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Unfortunately our tour was late in starting because the tour bus was late coming back from a morning tour of Keukenhof Gardens. The meeting up with the tour was a bit confusing because we weren't sure whether we were looking for a tour guide or a tour bus. Then we were caught in a terrible traffic jam on the motorway and as a consequence we were very late getting to Zaanse Schans. Our tour guide gave us extra time to make up for the late arrival but the village was closing down before our extra time was up. The Windmills were closed by the time we arrived but we did enjoy seeing the clog making demonstration and the cheese making demonstration and tasting. We also enjoyed walking along the dike to the Windmills and around the village. Overall we were glad we went on the tour to Zaanse Schans and our tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Amsterdam Half-Day Tour to Zaanse Schans: Windmills, Clog Museum and Cheese Farm

Calvin Chong

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Overall very rush, could be better if can spend more time at Zaanse Schans. Hope the tour operator could take this feedback seriously.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Timothy C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We did not enjoy these tours. The Zaanse Schans area is worth exploring, but we felt as though we should have done it on our own. Transportation is easy enough to figure out in the Amsterdam area. We would have been happier getting a train out to the countryside ourselves and exploring on our own. The time we spent in the different destinations felt rushed. You have free time and meet back up with the group at a set time. The guide was not able to handle such a large group. He was confusing perhaps because he was giving the tour in English and Spanish? and we missed out on the opportunity to visit the cheese shop because of his misdirections. The fishing villages were cute, but again, we felt entirely too rushed and did not have a chance to properly enjoy them.

The afternoon tour to the Hague was a complete waste of time, in our opinion. We did not enjoy it. The Delft museum is neat and worth a visit if you are in the area, but not worth going out of your way unless you are really into china. With that being said, it was the highlight of our afternoon excursion which says a lot. The tour of the Hague if you could even call it that was us riding around in the bus, on the way to Madurodam, with the guide pointing out and explaining each of the foreign embassy buildings. Honestly, I couldn't care a less about those buildings. We did not get to see anything else that the Hague had to offer, with the exception of a 20 min. break in a square. We felt rushed again, as we barely had time to enjoy our coffees. The mini Holland experience at Madurodam was ok, but once again- not worth our time. We would have rather spent our afternoon exploring Holland in a different manner. Unless you are here for a month or so, I wouldn't waste my time going to these stops.

While Zaanse Schans and the fishing villages were cute, I cannot stress enough GOING TO VISIT THEM ON YOUR OWN. You will be happier, I promise. It was too rushed and not worth the frustration.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message