Ever wondered what life was like in 17th and 18th century Netherlands? The Zaanse Schans, 15km north of Amsterdam, is the kind of museum that shows rather than tells, and is the perfect place to immerse yourself in all things traditionally Dutch. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan H

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Very touristy. We could have done with more time at Zaanse Schans Windmills in order to see everything in the area. Trip to Marken very swift too although timing for the boat was good. In summer the trip across the water may be more worthwhile than in damp and chilly November. Volendam seen was mostly tat shops and lunch was around 5pm and totally unnecessary so we had some time to kill walking up and down until the shops closed up waiting for those who had chosen to eat then. Perhaps a revised schedule for Autumn/Winter months would be more appropriate. Fair bit of walking for those not so able. The guides were very good as was the driver.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Christa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved this tour, although it was raining at Zaanse Schans, but we greatly enjoyed this tour, especially walking through the little towns, seeing pets and laundry hanging on the lines of homes.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

classygyal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to get away from the city center. Zaanse will be forever in my heart. The town smells like chocolate...24 hours a day! Who doesn't like chocolate? Highly recommend!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

21082649

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

3 hours is not enough to have a look around but the tour was great. The start at Victoria hotel is a bit chaotic!
Had a nice time. Went to the cheese farm and clog museum. People are very friendly. Great sights. Would go back to Zaanse Schans!
Nadia and Ryan 10.11.16

Doing what: Amsterdam Half-Day Tour to Zaanse Schans: Windmills, Clog Museum and Cheese Farm

newtownsqkitty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We met our tour guide Bart and his associate Ray in the morning. The group took two vans and we were the only two in Ray's van, he pointed out a lot of interesting things along the way. We arrived at Zaanse Scchans parking lot and met with Bart and the the other group Bart led us on a tour of this Unesco site and provided historical information and insight. He was able to answer any questions that popped up. We weren't aware you could take a boat ride back to Zaandam so we opted to pay a little more and do that. Ray piloted us there and we had lunch in Zaandam then met Bart for the ride back to town. Great tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Favorite Day in Holland was this extraordinary tour. We were able to be comfortable on the bus for the short ride out to Zaanse Schans to witness the surreal Windmills and then to Marken to watch wooden shoes being made and then Volendam to enjoy the seaside village.
Absolutely Amazing Tour!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - definitely a must do. Pieter our guide and Tom our driver are an All Pro team. The sights and tastes are not to be missed. Get out of the big cities and see more of the Netherlands. Volendam for cheese tasting and waffles, lunch in Marken and a visit to the wooden shoe craftsman and his most photographed sock in the world, and the working windmill village of Zaanse Shans are lasting memories.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

s_rochette31

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour ! The bus was right on time for pick, it was clean and comfortable. Guide was very good and knowledgeable although I'd have appreciated a little more information regarding how Edam cheese bears the village's name and spoke in a very clear English. Tour was bilingual English/Spanish that day so it was just a little annoying to have to hear the same speach twice. The itinerary was great and didn't block off all my day which allowed me to do a lot that day and the time spent at each location was appropriate. Toilets are a paid service at Zaanse Schans but if you can wait until the cheese factory 3rd stop, after Edam but before Volendam then there are free toilets. Great tour to see a bit of the countryside if you are on a short 3-4 day trip like I was. Prices at the cheese factory are the same as any Henry Willig store in Amsterdam so if you'd want to carry your cheeses from that point, just wait and get them in town. Entry into the windmill itself is really the only thing that's not already included so th was 4 as of October 2016, totally worth it ! It was beautiful to see the mecanism actually spinning and grinding rocks from the inside !

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Prakash G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Zaanse Schans was perhaps the highlight of our trip to Amsterdam. Beautiful village and surroundings, loved the cheese factory, clog workshop and being inside a windmill. The tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable and patient. Good transport arrangements.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

r.barboza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent. Only wished that we had more time in Zaanse Schans

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

smherndon1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Zaanse Schans Windmills were very interesting. I loved the farm and the gentleman who - in the
Windmill - told us all about their workings, generation of water, etc. It was obvious he loved his job and the farm where all the workers lived.

I would have been nice the have our guide stay with us and direct us back to the bus at the end of
the journey. Thank goodness, he did not talk all the way back to Amsterdam!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

cmaryv

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed getting out a bit in the country to see Zaanse Schans. We went to most of the buildings to learn about the making of wooden shoes and cheese and followed it up a a koffee afterwards. Nice afternoon!

Doing what: Amsterdam Half-Day Tour to Zaanse Schans: Windmills, Clog Museum and Cheese Farm

ann.nielsen

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

A quick and effective way of getting out into the Dutch countryside and seeing cheese and clog making, and working windmills first hand. The Zaanse Schans area is a bit Hollywood but I really did enjoy the half day trip. Dare I say it: a but 'cheesy', but fun.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The morning session of Zaanse Schans, windmills and cheese tasting was very interesting and enlightening. However, the afternoon session of The Hague, Madurodam and the Royal Delft was a little lengthy.
Overall though, it was a fun trip to go and gave us a glimpse of Netherlands!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Eileen F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The tour covers everything that they state, but commentaries at the windmills, clog shoe factory, and cheese factory lasted approximately 5-10 minutes for each site. While a recorded narration was provided, it was very limited and only offered on the bus. No information is provided while walking the grounds in Zaanse Schans, Marken or Volendam. This large group tour was very large double decker bus was filled. Better off paying the extra money and book a private or a small group tour to see these sites!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Edana United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I absolutely loved this trip. All three places we visited were beautiful, especially Volendam and Marken. The tour guides were nice and the trip there and back was fine.

At Zaanse Schans we got to go inside a working windmill and were able to climb up onto the balcony part. There was a visit to the cheese factory in Volendam and a visit to the clog factory in Marken.

The only downside is that we didn't get a lot of time in any of the places. In Zaanse Schans I didn't get any time to look around the shops which was a little disappointing. In Volendam we had about an hour of free time, which was enough time to get some lunch and walk around for a bit. In Marken we got to see the clog demonstration and that was about it. We were back in Amsterdam soon after 2pm.

Even though you don't get a lot of time in each place, I'd still recommend going on this trip. You see a lot in the 5 and 1/2 hours that you're there and it's a great chance to see a bit of the Dutch countryside. It's like a completely different world!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Jennipher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A fun day trip! Our favorite was the first stop, Zaanse Schans. The clog demonstration was fun and the windmills were beautiful! We payed the extra 4 euros to go into the windmill and we were glad we did. Only downside: it was only a half day. We would have liked to go to more places or stay longer.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Certainly it would have been difficult to see all these things by yourself. Our tour guide Aaf was very knowledgeable. The start to Zaanse Schans was very commercial, but the windmill was excellent. So many different types of cheese to taste at Volendam. Unfortunately we couldn't buy any as they were too big and heavy for us to carry in our suitcases.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rhey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely love this tour! I would love to come back. But maybe next time at least allow us enough time to take photos.Zaanse Schans, Volendam and Marken are both beautiful in different ways. This is the real Holland! Your visit to Netherlands is not complete if you will not see this places.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

tleu16

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The first part of the trip is nothing more than a shopping trip to buy clogs Marken and cheese Volendam. The cruise from Marken to Volendam is fairly boring. Nothing much to see along the way. Only the Zaanse Schans Windmills is worth while, but it was a little rush.
Part 2 was way more interesting. The visit to delft is mostly occupied by another shopping trip to Royal Delft. The Hague bus tour was interesting, even though it was short and very rushed photo opportunity 5 mins. Madurodam is a great overview of all the famous buildings in miniature form.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

wanderlust

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The 1st half was great except the cheese factory demo. We were told hoe cheese was made, rather than shown. More of a cheese shop than factory. The clog factory in Marken was great as was the sawmill in Zaanse Schans. The afternoon trip to Delft , the Hague and Madurodam left much to be desired. The guide wasn't very lucid or informative....just pointed out the buildings in The Hague....a little closer look would be desirable.He could have given us more on the background on Delft and what to see in the City Square. He gave no info on Madurodam and those who hadn't done their homework had no idea what it was. We had no clue as to what the scan cards we were given were to be used for, and the 1 hr allotted was too less to figure it out and enjoy the place.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Kathleen R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Loved Zaanse Schans, the windmills were wonderful to see. I think my favorite was visiting Delft, however. We loved visiting the fishing village as well and wished we had more time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Marte Å

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

2o min car drive in silence to Zaanse Schans. We were a small group of 6. Zaanse SChans is a small village museum like place. We visited clogmaking, bakery museum, cheesemaking, windmills inside a windmill as well and a chocolate museum. A lot of tourists, and we had to stand in line for a lot of the places...a lot of waiting... and all of the places we visited were practically museums with shops.. so basically, enter here, listen to some history, here you go - please buy something...
Very nice place, and some wonderful photo opportunites, but you could just as easily visit the place on your own, however nice to have a driver

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

janine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do trip, a good look at Holland its windmills at Zaanse Schans and the ferry ride to the chees factory at Volendam was great. We had a great guide that made the trip a good experience

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Marion M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful half day excursion to Zaanse Schans. Bart was friendly and knowledgeable and gave us a great understanding of the area. For those who don't have time for a full day excursion, this tour will give you the highlights and not leave you disappointed. Thanks Bart!

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message