Amsterdam has all the offerings of a major world capital, yet the atmosphere is more akin to a village with tree-lined canals, art museums and a strong café culture. This city offers so much to see and do it's best to point yourself toward ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 537 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Colin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were the only 2 people on the tour which was really nice as Sean taylored the walk to meet our own preferences. Sean was very knowledgeable and was able to provide a great insight into the history of Amsterdam. The walk was very easy paced and the 3 hours raced by and we were able to use the information from the walk to plan the remainder of our stay.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Big Red Buses are the ONLY way to get around in a foreign city. And the Amsterdam tour was great!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Maria Lorena B R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is amazing. They stop at almost all the landmarks in Amsterdam. Our family enjoyed this tour both by land and by cruise. The experience of passing through the bridges and lovely canals is unforgettable. Anne Frank House is definitely worth visiting despite the long line.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

CindyVan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, best way to see Amsterdam!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Sara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful way to get an overview of Amsterdam. Took us to places we would not have thought to go to. Lovely informative Tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My three days in Amsterdam did not make me an expert. But I can encourage those who are wondering whether to visit that it's marvelous whether you are on a tour or going without guidance. First of all, it's a very easy city to navigate. The I Amsterdam card makes travel very inexpensive on the trams, and most of the museums are free or discounted. Getting to the city from the airport by train is relatively easy, except that there isn't much room for luggage on a full train. Once you are settled in, you can get everywhere without fear. We saw the vanGogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum, and the Troppen Museum a special gem, as well as a number of other sites. The Anne Frank Huis, not on the card, usually requires advance reservations. I downloaded my tickets 2 months before I arrived. The card also allows you one canal boat cruise. It's a great way to learn a lot of the history of the city by way of the audio guide, which comes in about ten languages. There is dining to suit every taste, from fast food to fine dining. We never did see the Red Light District, which is to my thinking rather hyped up. There are numerous coffee shops that sell marijuana in one form or another. Just remember that you are often walking near a canal! I have no idea how strong the various wares they sell really are, but exercise caution. The people in Amsterdam are almost without exception very friendly. Many of them do smoke. I was really shocked. And if they are on a bike, which is all of them, you may get run over if you're not really careful. All in all, Amsterdam is truly a four season delight.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

test t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour in Amsterdam, first with the canal cruise. During 1 hour you can see the best spots in Amsterdam from the canal, with the audio guide, you learn a bit about the history and culture of the city. Then the Ice Bar, a lot of fun! The 3 drinks were really a plus and in the Ice Bar, the staff is really friendly, such a good experience!

Doing what: Amsterdam's Icebar Xtracold with Optional Canal Cruise

Wayne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have done 3 different Hop On and Hop Off tours in three different cities. Amsterdam was great, there are two canal tours and one bus tour. We did all three and highly recommend this course which provides a comprehensive overview of the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was the best thing to start off our stay in Amsterdam! Really got a good overview and orientation to this very cool city. Terry was fantastic! Obviously loves what he does! An intelligent and entertaining gentleman to be sure... Great guide who gave personal attention to all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This worked great for our group to be able to pick this up at the Airport and be ready to hit the streets and the canals of Amsterdam. We had a short time but were able to go to multiple museums and enjoy the canal tour on our card. We also took advantage of catching the numerous trams around the city.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

YvonneSylvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really nice tour of Amsterdam!

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

Inna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Walking around the center of Amsterdam was fun. We saw some hidden places and small street secrets.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

hrjostmeyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour Guide know history and facts well. Bus was nice. All the stops were great and had enough time to see the sights and to shop. The tiny villages were super cute, a nice change from Amsterdam and bigger cities. The Cheese shop and the Clog shop had great gifts to buy, too!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Rachael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would recommend this tour to everybody. Heineken experience is one of the best things to do in Amsterdam and the cruise was relaxing and the pizza and ice cream is great. Friendly and helpful staff make the tour great.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

lesley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My clients absolutely loved this tour. The meal was superb and staff were friendly and proffessional. They said it was one of their highlights of their Amsterdam visit to see the canal all lit up at night. I will be recommending again!
Lesley, Travel Professional. Jolly Tours, Canada

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

liz_lapsley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Very informative and entertaining.
Steve was a great guide
Highly recommend this tour if you are in Amsterdam

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing experience, the food was delicious, the Chef and her assistants were very helpful at all times, Amsterdam is a beautiful city specially at night so the tour was perfect. 100 recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing experience, the food was delicious, the Chef and her assistants were very helpful at all times, Amsterdam is a beautiful city specially at night so the tour was perfect. 100 recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We took a Walking tour with Terry O'Leary our guide and owner of Wow Tours. We were only 4 people in total on that day and Terry was amazing in terms of information provided, professionalism, attentiveness and humor. We visited a lot of places including the Rembrandt's Guild, Begijnhof courtyard with its hidden church, the Amsterdam Museum, red light district, and many other places. During the tour there is also a stop at a coffee shop and the tour length is around 3 hours time.

Very interesting and this tour is a must.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Juanita C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Hop on/off tour with the canal cruise is great. It's a great way to see Amsterdam and hear the history both from land and water. It is also great to get off and walk around at our own pace. Will defiantly do this again the next time in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Jerry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great and informative tour about this great highlight in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing!! Andy was our tour guide and his love for the city as well as the respect for the ladies of the district was refreshing. Andy did a great job of explaining the history of the Red Light District as well as current rules. He spent time answering questions ans i was very impressed with his demeanor, knowledge and sense of humor. A must do when visiting Amsterdam and well worth the money.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this dinner cruise very much. The food was great. My husband had the meat option and I had the fish option and both were prepared exquisitely. The wine served with the meal was also very nice. It was nice to see Amsterdam from the canals at night. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

randy b USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We purchased a 72 hour I amsterdam city card for the 7 of us and immediately it proved valuable. We took the train from the airport to the City Center. From there we changed for the 9 Tram to our apartment. All we did was swipe in our card and the Tram ride was taken care. BTW, we trammed everywhere everyday and multiple times a day. All taken care of. This saved us dealing with foreign currency each time we rode. Also, free entrance to museums, heineken and canal tour! Awesome!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Rush2play

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a spectacular overview and history of Amsterdam. Terry was very informed and available for all questions. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message