Amsterdam has all the offerings of a major world capital, yet the atmosphere is more akin to a village with tree-lined canals, art museums and a strong café culture. This city offers so much to see and do it's best to point yourself toward ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 546 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Billy P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you're wandering Amsterdam on your own, this card is a must! If for no other reason, it's worth it for the free public transport. There was a tram stop right outside our hotel, and this card allows you to hop on and off whenever and wherever you want. So convenient. There's also a variety of discounts, and a map. Again, worth every penny.
Two important tips:
1. You have to collect the card at the Tourist Info Center, directly across from the central train station. It's easy enough to find. But you do have to get there first.
2. Downstairs, in the same building, is Cafe Loetje. Stop in for a beer and some bitterballen. You'll be glad you did.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Petra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic trip, gives you a great appreciation of Amsterdam and our Tour guide was so enthusiastic and so knowledgeable couldn't have had anyone better. Must do!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

engelhardtj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I came to Amsterdam solo and I didn and #39;t want to have to go to the red light district by myself. This tour was entertaining and super interesting! Our guide was from Amsterdam and shared everything he knew about the red light district and #39;s history and present day happenings.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Jazapsu United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an amazing tour. Cast aside any biases or opinions for/against the World's Oldest Profession. Keep an open mind. Listen to the history. You might just have a new prospective on prostitution. Our guide, Chantalle, was incredibly knowledgeable. If you have the opportunity, definitely experience Amsterdam's Red Light District Walking Tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Pitts4fun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A must do while in Amsterdam. Our tour guide was amazing and the tour was very classy and so much history. Loved it!! Learned how it all began.

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

A Gerald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The guide is great and the tour covered many attractions of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

dougiebell_14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a really enthusiastic, eager and informative Dutch tour guide. He knew all the history and knew when the right times were to speak. He was also very funny, inclusive of everyone and catered to our needs i.e. if we wanted to try a particular something for lunch. The bus ride from Amsterdam to Zaanse Schans only took half an hour-45 minutes, and from Zaanse Schans to Edam/Volendam less than half an hour, so you were not stuck on a bus for most of the tour at all! In between these stops as well, you visit this gorgeous little Dutch cheese factory, where they show you how cheese is made and stored, and there are also wooden shoes clogs to buy. They demonstrate to you how they carve the shoes- very impressive!
We were blessed to have clear blue skies on our day, and it wasn't too busy at it was November.

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Subhash M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best way to get oriented to Amsterdam and all it offers. We took this tour on the first day after reaching Amsterdam. Our guide was very informative and provided useful tips for follow-up visits. After this tour, we went back and explored many of the neighborhoods on foot. I addition to the day cruise, we also took a night cruise and were able to see the light exhibits.

Doing what: Amsterdam City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Colin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We were the only 2 people on the tour which was really nice as Sean taylored the walk to meet our own preferences. Sean was very knowledgeable and was able to provide a great insight into the history of Amsterdam. The walk was very easy paced and the 3 hours raced by and we were able to use the information from the walk to plan the remainder of our stay.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Big Red Buses are the ONLY way to get around in a foreign city. And the Amsterdam tour was great!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Maria Lorena B R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour is amazing. They stop at almost all the landmarks in Amsterdam. Our family enjoyed this tour both by land and by cruise. The experience of passing through the bridges and lovely canals is unforgettable. Anne Frank House is definitely worth visiting despite the long line.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

CindyVan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, best way to see Amsterdam!

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Sara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful way to get an overview of Amsterdam. Took us to places we would not have thought to go to. Lovely informative Tour guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My three days in Amsterdam did not make me an expert. But I can encourage those who are wondering whether to visit that it's marvelous whether you are on a tour or going without guidance. First of all, it's a very easy city to navigate. The I Amsterdam card makes travel very inexpensive on the trams, and most of the museums are free or discounted. Getting to the city from the airport by train is relatively easy, except that there isn't much room for luggage on a full train. Once you are settled in, you can get everywhere without fear. We saw the vanGogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum, and the Troppen Museum a special gem, as well as a number of other sites. The Anne Frank Huis, not on the card, usually requires advance reservations. I downloaded my tickets 2 months before I arrived. The card also allows you one canal boat cruise. It's a great way to learn a lot of the history of the city by way of the audio guide, which comes in about ten languages. There is dining to suit every taste, from fast food to fine dining. We never did see the Red Light District, which is to my thinking rather hyped up. There are numerous coffee shops that sell marijuana in one form or another. Just remember that you are often walking near a canal! I have no idea how strong the various wares they sell really are, but exercise caution. The people in Amsterdam are almost without exception very friendly. Many of them do smoke. I was really shocked. And if they are on a bike, which is all of them, you may get run over if you're not really careful. All in all, Amsterdam is truly a four season delight.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

test t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour in Amsterdam, first with the canal cruise. During 1 hour you can see the best spots in Amsterdam from the canal, with the audio guide, you learn a bit about the history and culture of the city. Then the Ice Bar, a lot of fun! The 3 drinks were really a plus and in the Ice Bar, the staff is really friendly, such a good experience!

Doing what: Amsterdam's Icebar Xtracold with Optional Canal Cruise

Wayne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have done 3 different Hop On and Hop Off tours in three different cities. Amsterdam was great, there are two canal tours and one bus tour. We did all three and highly recommend this course which provides a comprehensive overview of the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was the best thing to start off our stay in Amsterdam! Really got a good overview and orientation to this very cool city. Terry was fantastic! Obviously loves what he does! An intelligent and entertaining gentleman to be sure... Great guide who gave personal attention to all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This worked great for our group to be able to pick this up at the Airport and be ready to hit the streets and the canals of Amsterdam. We had a short time but were able to go to multiple museums and enjoy the canal tour on our card. We also took advantage of catching the numerous trams around the city.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

YvonneSylvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really nice tour of Amsterdam!

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Bike Tour

Inna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Walking around the center of Amsterdam was fun. We saw some hidden places and small street secrets.

Doing what: Amsterdam Walking Tour

hrjostmeyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour Guide know history and facts well. Bus was nice. All the stops were great and had enough time to see the sights and to shop. The tiny villages were super cute, a nice change from Amsterdam and bigger cities. The Cheese shop and the Clog shop had great gifts to buy, too!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

Rachael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would recommend this tour to everybody. Heineken experience is one of the best things to do in Amsterdam and the cruise was relaxing and the pizza and ice cream is great. Friendly and helpful staff make the tour great.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Heineken Experience and Canals Pizza Cruise

lesley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My clients absolutely loved this tour. The meal was superb and staff were friendly and proffessional. They said it was one of their highlights of their Amsterdam visit to see the canal all lit up at night. I will be recommending again!
Lesley, Travel Professional. Jolly Tours, Canada

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

liz_lapsley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Very informative and entertaining.
Steve was a great guide
Highly recommend this tour if you are in Amsterdam

Doing what: Amsterdam Red Light District Walking Tour

Daniel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing experience, the food was delicious, the Chef and her assistants were very helpful at all times, Amsterdam is a beautiful city specially at night so the tour was perfect. 100 recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message