Nothing symbolizes Dutch pragmatism better than the country’s drug policy. Rather than wage war on all drugs and drive them further underground with all the criminal, anti-social activity that brings, they take a different approach. Concentrating on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Floyd P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a fun tour with our guide Tony. Having a local to tour with is the best, and Tony was able to customize the tour for our group. I would book a tour with Tony anytime.This was our first day in Amsterdam and basically up for at least 24hrs, less what ever sleep you could get on the plane. Tony actually refunded the the admission to the Sex Museum because we were all too tired.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

lcarreiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour! Tony was a lot of fun, relaxed, and full of interesting facts. It was great to hear the history behind the most infamous red light district in the world and the cultural and historical situations which have lead to Amsterdam's differences from most cities. I would recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't want to wander aimlessly gawking or wondering why and how this area came to be. And I would add on the sex museum!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enrique made this tour a lot of fun. Not just coffee houses but off the beaten track places not on other tours. Do it. You wont regret it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very informative, a must do early in to your trip to Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Kelly P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much fun! Our guide Caleb was very helpful and knowledgable and the space cakes were tasty!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

Viktoria O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great, the guide was really knowledgeable and it was a fun introduction to the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Frank N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the perfect tour and tour guide for us. We loved that it was a private tour and that we were able to set the meeting time. Tony was an awesome guide - he tailored the tour based off of what we said we were and were not interested in.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

KJ R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide, Kristalisa (sp?), was outstanding. Was very complimentary to my ongoing studies in public space within the urban environment.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

didicapo

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very informative guide. Learned about the coffee houses, the red light district and the squatters in the city . A good way to learn about a city and feel the vibe.Different from the history tour, good to do them both!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Kate A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very good! I wouldn and #39;t recommend doing the optional 3rd hour.. The guide wasn and #39;t really sure what to do with that last hour so went off track a fair bit..
The first 2 hours were great though!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

April N

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was a bit disorganized and the main coffee shop we went to was pretty dirty. The guide was friendly and did have some good information. I particularly appreciated the information about the legality of the shops.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

Archna A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was a very informative tour and the tour guide was fairly interactive

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Jackie R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

It was a decent tour but not what I expected when I booked it. It's a walking tour of the city, not really a coffee shop tour at all.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

mroehl

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour is not as advertised. We were told when we checked in that it was changed to an alternatives tour. The tour only covered about 10 minutes of the 2 hours on coffee houses, and it was cursory at best, We did not get to go in. The tour guide Axel seemed to be stretching to fill time, He almost seemed to be concocting the stories as he went along. I would not reccommend booking this tour. We were highly disappointed.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Ian W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Skipped this one. Figured it out on my own. No review. Don't post on website.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Vicki L M United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The tour is not for people over 60. Also, you have to be tall to keep up with the guide. We left the tour right after it started because they were too far ahead. We just could not keep up.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Delwyn N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a terrific way to understand the coffee shop culture...actually VIATOR u need to change the name of this tour as it is now called the Alternative tour....which also includes more info on the growth of Liberalism. A really great intro to the workings of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

jSheng

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Axel, was not only funny, personable, and open-minded, but he also offered in-depth explanations on the things that made the city and its culture so unique. Furthermore, he left us with helpful tips on how to proceed with our time in the city. This was a very enjoyable and educational tour... highly reccomend!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Sunita M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

L.B. S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

we had a really fun tour with enrique. there was NO food sampling, so that should not be part of the description. also your guides should get more support - there were confused tourists who hadn't gotten a confirmation of their tour, and who needed a german speaking tour guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

manashi D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was an informative tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

jerrell l

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great, but it wasn and #39;t a coffee shop tour like I booked. Also, when I arrived at the meeting spot, I was informed we didn and #39;t have enough people for the tour. The real tour scheduled was and #34; Alternative Amsterdam and #34;, and the guide said he would show me around, but two more

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Sunita M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great Learning experience about Street Artists, Provos and Amsterdam Coffee Culture.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Philip F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Not really the tour e thought it would be

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shops Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message