Nothing symbolizes Dutch pragmatism better than the country’s drug policy. Rather than wage war on all drugs and drive them further underground with all the criminal, anti-social activity that brings, they take a different approach. Concentrating on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gil O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

1.we are not native english speakers , it was very hard to understand the guide
2.we thought it will be more focused on the coffee shops and it was very general about many topics
3.the guide was nice and knowledgeable
4.high price

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

denise d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Me and my son loved it. it was very interesting and the guide knows the local history deeply and he is very very nice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

JOHN D S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tremendously interesting.

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Manjuri S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The Tour included Snacks, we were never offered any. The group didn't want to sit in any of the coffee shops so we couldn't spend time in any coffee shop. One by one people left the tour in the middle itself. At the end, only we were left and then the guide left us saying he can't do much as people were not interested.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

Arsh A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

amazing tour and tour guide was very informational and wonderful. it was a great tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

Carolyn S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ive been to this area before on my own but evidently missed all the highlights- my guide was very knowledgable and was able to navigate through this area pointing out historical sights and also current items of interest. Was time well spent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

mand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Recommend this tour. I purchased for my sister and her husband. They were going to Amsterdam for my brother in laws 60th birthday. I wanted to buy them a tour they would enjoy and would probably not book themselves. It was definitely the right one to go for. They had a wonderful time, had a young 19 year old chap who was very knowledgeable and made the tour very interesting. They sent me photos of the visit but I don't think they would be happy if I sent these for all to see. If you know of anyone or you yourself like to find out more about the red light district and popular coffee shops this is the tour and can't believe anyone wouldn't enjoy it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

Alexey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Many thank and best regards to our guide Tony.
We have a limit time but this short excursion was perfect and very interest. It was easy to find meeting point and then to go right after to the excursion. Tony gave us a lot very new information in very easy style. And showed us exactly what we had asked and we very satisfied.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

B V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When we are away we always book tours. But they never have been as FABULOUS as this one. The guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable. Provided us with lots of info and we had loads of fun. A must do when in A and #39;dam. Ps we also booked a red light tour with oranje umbrella. Don and #39;t miss that either!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

deborah a

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Coffee Shop Tour was combined with an alternative lifestyle tour, which was very interesting. Unfortunately, our tour guide walked very fast and sometimes got separated from the entire group. But, he did eventually stop to make sure everyone had caught up. The information he gave was very interesting!
Thanks Much!

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

susan d

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

I booked and paid for coffee shop tour, did not get this, it was an alternative Amsterdam tour. stopped outside 1 coffee shop as brad pitt and George Clooney filmed a scene for an oceans film.
Booked this tour because I really wanted to find out history of coffee shops, best coffee shops / worst coffee shops
If I knew it wasn't about coffee shops, I would not have booked this
Not happy

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Suzie Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and answered questions.

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Jackie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Guide,
He should us alot of cool places and the stories behind the places.
Worth going,
He was funny and friendly...

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Very informative.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

Floyd S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

What a great tour. So many things we assumed about Canabis in Amsterdam incorrect. Our tour guide was awesome and passionate about living life freely. Thank you Matayas.

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Floyd P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a fun tour with our guide Tony. Having a local to tour with is the best, and Tony was able to customize the tour for our group. I would book a tour with Tony anytime.This was our first day in Amsterdam and basically up for at least 24hrs, less what ever sleep you could get on the plane. Tony actually refunded the the admission to the Sex Museum because we were all too tired.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

lcarreiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour! Tony was a lot of fun, relaxed, and full of interesting facts. It was great to hear the history behind the most infamous red light district in the world and the cultural and historical situations which have lead to Amsterdam's differences from most cities. I would recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't want to wander aimlessly gawking or wondering why and how this area came to be. And I would add on the sex museum!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enrique made this tour a lot of fun. Not just coffee houses but off the beaten track places not on other tours. Do it. You wont regret it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very informative, a must do early in to your trip to Amsterdam.

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Kelly P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

So much fun! Our guide Caleb was very helpful and knowledgable and the space cakes were tasty!

Doing what: Amsterdam Coffee Shop Culture And Local Food Sampling Walking Tour

Viktoria O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great, the guide was really knowledgeable and it was a fun introduction to the city.

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Frank N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the perfect tour and tour guide for us. We loved that it was a private tour and that we were able to set the meeting time. Tony was an awesome guide - he tailored the tour based off of what we said we were and were not interested in.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Red Light District and Coffee Shop Tour

KJ R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide, Kristalisa (sp?), was outstanding. Was very complimentary to my ongoing studies in public space within the urban environment.

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

didicapo

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very informative guide. Learned about the coffee houses, the red light district and the squatters in the city . A good way to learn about a city and feel the vibe.Different from the history tour, good to do them both!

Doing what: Alternative Amsterdam Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message