See Amsterdam in a new light this holiday season at its Fifth Annual Light Festival, where early winter nights give way to dazzling illuminations above the city’s UNESCO-listed canals. Running from Dec. 1, 2016 to Jan. 22, 2017, this free festival ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 31 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jackie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved the canal tour with our skipper. It was a small electric boat which made the experience all the better as it was far more personal and informal. We took in the lights and when queues built up our skipper knew smaller alternative routes,which gave us more time to enjoy the sites. There were only seven guests on the trip which meant the guide could keep the conversation light and entertaining whilst giving us all opportunities to ask questions. The hot chocolate and cream pastries were very welcome as it was a cold night, but there was a heater on board and blankets if we needed them. Our skipper was well informed and obviously knew the history of the canals. A lovely trip and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see the Festival of Lights.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise with Refreshments

Natalia B Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I would highly recommend to take Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise with Refreshments It was a very memorable and absolutely lovely experience for us. I did a tour with my daughter 13 years old on Dec., 23rd. It was a very memorable and absolutely lovely experience. Marc Paping and his wife Carla put their hearts and soul into this tour. At some point we felt like they invited us to their home and they open up for us their hearts. Imagine that you are in a nice, cozy boat in a great company, with a cup of hot chocolate and amazing Dutch pastry à all this species with lots of nice jokes and endless stories about Amsterdam. What could be better? Dont look for anything else. I am sure we wont get any better experience! Thank you Marc and Carla and a very happy New Year. Natalia Switzerland

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise with Refreshments

svbeek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great experience. Great tour of the light festival. Would recommend.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise

Joanna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Small new electric boat that fits 10 people. Not on a time schedule or rush to get back to base. Excellent host, the Captain was very knowledgable and new a lot about the light sculptures. The Dutch pastries were delicious. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise with Refreshments

rocasymo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was pretty, especially at Christmas time to see the lights at night and from the water. The boat was spacious and comfortable. Had a great time. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Jo T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I would highly recommend this trip; it was gorgeous and very interesting. My only complaint was the continual queuing, as the Viator ticket needed to be exchanged for one of the tour operators own. This took ages and it would've been just as easy to queue and buy one on site.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Lucinda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant tour. Although we did wait in line to board the boat for like 50 minutes in the cold and we didn't receive our mulled wine. The tour was enjoyable and education. The boat does steam up so viewing does become a problem but we sat right at the back where the hot air vents kept out windows clear

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Diana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was our first canal cruise and it was terrific. The staff were wonderful, from checking in at the office to the captain on the boat. The boat was comfortable (we are very tall) and the audio quality was clear and informative. I highly recommend this company and encourage first timers to Amsterdam to take a cruise early during their stay. This is a great introduction to the city. Thank you!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Audrey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Good commentary, quick trip on canal. You can open window if want to take pictures.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Smiles

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour of the lights at night were great. Wish we could have had a boat with only people of the same language so the narrative could have been more in depth rather than sharing it back and forth between two different languages.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise

Jessica M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very experienced, accommodating staff. Lovely experience to take a break from the weather and the walking while still seeing the city from a different perspective.
Thank you for the trip :

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Beverly H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very nice canal cruise.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise

Larissa A

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The trip was great with interesting commentary and no waiting to get on the boat (we went approx. 6.15pm on a friday). we had hoped to see a few more light sculptures but enjoyed the ones there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Leslie B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Pretty and a warm way to see the lights and sights!

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Steven D

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Got there early to secure a window seat but was ushered to an aisle seat despite there being loads of window seats still available. Was raining obviously not their fault so visibility was poor.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise

Vicky K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We didn't go on the tour we booked as there was a 2 hour queue. We simply weren't in Amsterdam long enough to spend 2 hours of it queuing! Fortunately the tour operator allowed us to exchange our vouchers for a day time canal trip, which we really enjoyed, and actually decided was probably better than an evening trip seeing the lights, as it was a really nice way to see the city.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Shanice J

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The tour was great and our guide was exceptional!

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Cruise

John L

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

It was ordinary, nothing that special. Half the lights were off!!!! A walk around the pier became more interesting.The best part was the warm drinks at the start of the cruise.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

paul c

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

It was a shame we couldn't sit at a table and had to sit at the rear of the boat. The rain drops on the glass hindered our view somewhat. That said, if you are going as a couple, make sure you get a table! The tour itself was very nice and informative with narrated scripts. The captain mentioned a few things now and again. We would next time do a day time trip instead of the evening trip. It was nice to get out of the rain for a hour or so and get warm again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Karen W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I thought the tour was Ok, I expected more creativity in terms of sculpture lights. It was difficult for me to take clear pictures since the boat windows were not very clean.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

celal o

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

I purchased our tickets from the web site but when we get the location I hardy found how to get into the boat with my printed receipts. It was annoying because there was a long line and there is no one to guide us about what to do . But tour was fine and interesting. We enjoyed it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

David S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2014

The canal tour was fine, however the line and how it was handled to get to the tour was HORRIBLE! You really need a better way to handle the crowds. We already had tickets and still needed to wait in a LONG LINE.

Doing what: Amsterdam Light Festival Water Colors Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message