The compact center of Amsterdam packs in a huge variety of experience. That’s why it’s one of Europe’s best-loved cities: everyone gets something out of it. Not interested in coffee shops or the red light district? No problem; the city is also a big ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marijke M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We purchased the 2-day I Amsterdam card for our recent trip to the Netherlands and got good value for the money. We were able to use it for three museum visits, tram transport throughout the city and a canal cruise. Highly recommend this to anyone wanting to cram a lot of activities into a short stay in Amsterdam.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My three days in Amsterdam did not make me an expert. But I can encourage those who are wondering whether to visit that it's marvelous whether you are on a tour or going without guidance. First of all, it's a very easy city to navigate. The I Amsterdam card makes travel very inexpensive on the trams, and most of the museums are free or discounted. Getting to the city from the airport by train is relatively easy, except that there isn't much room for luggage on a full train. Once you are settled in, you can get everywhere without fear. We saw the vanGogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum, and the Troppen Museum a special gem, as well as a number of other sites. The Anne Frank Huis, not on the card, usually requires advance reservations. I downloaded my tickets 2 months before I arrived. The card also allows you one canal boat cruise. It's a great way to learn a lot of the history of the city by way of the audio guide, which comes in about ten languages. There is dining to suit every taste, from fast food to fine dining. We never did see the Red Light District, which is to my thinking rather hyped up. There are numerous coffee shops that sell marijuana in one form or another. Just remember that you are often walking near a canal! I have no idea how strong the various wares they sell really are, but exercise caution. The people in Amsterdam are almost without exception very friendly. Many of them do smoke. I was really shocked. And if they are on a bike, which is all of them, you may get run over if you're not really careful. All in all, Amsterdam is truly a four season delight.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pieter did an outstanding job of providing commentary on the museum tours. He has a deep understanding of painting and provided much insight and interpretation. Pieter also provided the relevant historical perspective. He was very willing to answer questions and to cater to individual needs. An excellent choice if you have only one full day to spend in Amsterdam. The inclusion of the canal tour and lunch between the two museum tours provided the necessary change of pace in such a full day of activities. This tour was well worth the price.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Tramaine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of the best things I did while in Amsterdam! The Hop On Hop Off option was a great way to see the city and get around to some the museums. The Heineken Experience was a great part of the trip. I was able to skip the long line outside since I bought tickets in advance. This was a great combination value. I'd recommend this package to anyone visiting Amsterdam!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

IronHorse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When in Amsterdam, never miss these two places. It's all about history and art and more art, great souvenirs at the end of the museum tour. The canal cruise provided a fantastic way to see and feel the life around the canals....pretty and posh boat houses, al-fresco dining, locals and tourist alike in a restful mood near the water, and bridges just about everywhere. Totally cool to see a beautiful old town from a different angle and view. Would love to return and see more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Pat K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Never thought much about Rembrandt until this tour. Our guide brought him to life from the house where he lived to his paintings in the Rijksmuseum. Ours was a private tour, just 4 of us. It was a great experience and I recommend it to everyone who visits Amsterdam.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This worked great for our group to be able to pick this up at the Airport and be ready to hit the streets and the canals of Amsterdam. We had a short time but were able to go to multiple museums and enjoy the canal tour on our card. We also took advantage of catching the numerous trams around the city.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Lynn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour of both museums, and our guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Also, a very nice lunch at the Van Gogh museum. I would recommend this experience to anyone with a limited time to see Amsterdam's cultural sites. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Sara T United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was everything it says it's going to be and more. We had a wonderful experience at the museum even though Van Gough isn't my favorite artist you learn so much about his life through his art. The Hop-On Hop-Off pass is the way to go in Amsterdam. We took atleast 3-4 canal rides and it was a nice relaxing way to get around town and see more of the citiy. Highly recommend getting this canal pass when in town.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Valerie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I used my card on trams and buses every day, and had discounted entry to museums, and to the Eye cinema.
The whole experience made my visit to Amsterdam much smoother and trouble free. I will be sure to use it again on my next visit.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

jackiekido

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was incredible! Our guide, Pieter, was extremely knowledgeable about the works in both museums. I cannot recommend this tour enough! Highlight of my time in Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

randy b USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We purchased a 72 hour I amsterdam city card for the 7 of us and immediately it proved valuable. We took the train from the airport to the City Center. From there we changed for the 9 Tram to our apartment. All we did was swipe in our card and the Tram ride was taken care. BTW, we trammed everywhere everyday and multiple times a day. All taken care of. This saved us dealing with foreign currency each time we rode. Also, free entrance to museums, heineken and canal tour! Awesome!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. Would have been very difficult to see both of these museums in one day without a knowledgeable guide. The midday canal tour was also a nice break. Highly recommend this tour to anyone with a limited amount of time in Amsterdam who want to make the most of the time available.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Marcia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful walking tour with Willem! Best tour we have ever taken! Very knowledgeable and thoughtful. He gave us lots of info on Rembrandt for 4 hrs as well as giving us wonderful information on Amsterdam the city, people and historical times. He spent at least an hour in the museum giving a wealth of information not only on Rembrandt but on the Rijksmuseum and how it had been built and remodeled!

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

Peter H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent. Our guide was very nice and informative and we saw quite a bit of Amsterdam along with the Rembrandt highlights and Rijksmuseum. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Amsterdam Rembrandt Art Walking Tour Including Rijksmuseum

EILEEN United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent day - well informed and knowledgeable tour guide. She took us to all the main works of art on display. The canal cruise was very relaxing and enjoyable and lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was lovely. I would highly recommend it especially if you are only in Amsterdam for a few days.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

connyswede

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a fantastic tour with a very charismatic guide with a great knowledge about the farmous artists who were the protagonists of the tour. And between the museums we had a very interesting canal cruise through Amsterdam. I enjoyed every minute of these interesting moments. I really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So glad we got city pass...in Amsterdam for 3 days...used mass transit to many included museums...really got to explore city using pass as our guide...best purchase!!!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

regesinger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed this tour, and both museums. Our guide was very good. Like most tours, we wished we would have had a little more time at one of the stops the Rijksmuseum. But, overall, a great exposure to an important part of Amsterdam.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

On my recent trip to Amsterdam, my mother and I found this card very useful. We used the public transportation a lot, so this was convenient and saved us money. The canal cruise was wonderful as well. The card allowed us to visit many museums that we otherwise might have not visited. I would definitely recommend this card for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Steve our tour guide was outstanding. He was very knowledgeable and personable. We took the tour on our first day in Amsterdam which really held us get acclimated to the city. Excellent tour of the museums with a nice relaxing lunch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Theresa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I used the card fully during my 3 days in Amsterdam. Really liked the fact that I could get on and off the tram without having to pay each time. It also covered entry to some of the museums I was interested in.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

celticrx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour to take for the highlights of the Rijksmuseum. Our guide was knowledgable and took us through the museum. Be aware that it is a very quick trip and covers the highlights only. If you want to spend more time, go on your own. The canal trip through the waterways of Amsterdam is a must when you are there. A different perspective on the area. We walked over 20 miles in the 3 days we were in Amsterdam, but still needed to see the city from canal level. Lunch at the Van Gogh Museum was nothing special but the tour of the museum was very good. Our guide gave us a lot of background on the life and times of Vincent van Gogh and his art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Robbi United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I had just one day to explore Amsterdam and this tour was just what we were looking for. Our guide, Stephen, was amazing: friendly, funny, extremely knowledgeable, and he kept our group moving at a reasonable pace throughout the entire day. He made us feel that we had gotten to know Amsterdam though our time there was so limited. The two museums are fantastic, and Stephen provided a wonderful narrative about the lives of some of my favorite artists. Even though we encountered a bit of rain during the canal cruise, it too was wonderful. We enjoyed the lunch provided, as well. This tour is very well worth the cost, and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Lunch

Deborah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Amsterdam City Card was very useful. We were able to take public transportation everywhere and never worry about paying. The tram system in Amsterdam is very convenient and it allowed us to navigate the city easily. The Amsterdam pass also allowed for discounts at many locations and free entry in many museums. It also allowed for skip the line in several locations. The only thing is, even though we picked up the card from the airport, the transportation did not include the trains in or out of the airport. That is the only thing that would have made this pass better. It was very convenient.

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message