Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 688 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a fun night. The hosts/ leaders were such a riot and made this a wild, fun experience!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Suellen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed this tour! Our guide was Jaime and he was funny and knowledgeable. Lots to see during the day. A very nice lunch provided, as well.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Martin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A wonderful tour great guide and wonderful places to visit. Again more time would have been nice but thoroughly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

roaminjj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable full day overview tour. The bus was comfortable, the driver excellent, and the tour guide very knowledgeable and nice. We were well received everywhere we went and although it was touristy and somewhat crowded in some of the spots, I was not disappointed. We visited Edam, Vollendam, Maarken, and Zandt - nice scenery, people, food, and luckily also weather! I found it a great day and an excellent value.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

William J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour. Loved learning about the tulips and harvesting.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Elena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The food we had during the tour was delicious. My favorite was our visit to the up and coming Pijp district. Zohair, our guide was also great. We had alot of laughs, entertainment and good knowledge about the food and locations we visited.

Doing what: Amsterdam's Favorite Food Tour with a Local

ilove2travel United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved it! After St. Petersburg, the best tour of our whole trip!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

timthoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable and picturesque day trip. Highly recommended for someone who wants a quick introduction to the Dutch countryside. The tour guide - Maryanne and coach driver - Brett were very friendly and provided excellent service. Be prepared to walk a bit. The group size was just right to make it a very enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

M D P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pieter was a fantastic tour guide -- humorous, respectful, kind, knowledgeable. The bus driver Bert was very courteous and helpful for my handicapped wife. The tour of the countryside was just what we wanted to see. Put this on your bucket list. Bar none!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Alison P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great tour, nice and relaxing around the country side a great escape from the hustle and bustle of the city! The guide was excellent and trip was very informing and beautiful!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour outside of the city. Our tour guide provided us with a lot of good, easy to understand information. My 13 year old and 15 year old both thought it was great. We enjoyed having some time on our own in Alkmaar, combined with a tour of the town. We also learned a lot from the information our tour guide told us while on the bus. I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

mollyvarquez13 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really had fun. It's highly recommended for first timer in the country.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Dian A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I always love visiting villages.
We had a very nice companion within the tour.
Love the food for lunch too.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

amrita.patnaik.ap

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Canal during the day is a must do. It and #39;s better to do a lap or two for a couple hours and then go to the Heineken experience. Heineken is also a must do. Overall great!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Deanne3899

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A fun way to start our trip to Amsterdam was a walking food tour with Sean of Urban Adventures. It was a great way to begin to become acquainted with the city and try some new things. We learned so much about the city! Very enjoyable and totally worth it for an afternoon of treats and conversation.

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The driver and guide are extremely caring. They make sure you have an exceptional good tour experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

karen USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved this tour. It was put together well. Beautiful countryside. If you find yourself in Amsterdam, dont miss this.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

bmille22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice trip - -many good sights. Suggested updates to itinerary is to say you will only see Tulips in season, and should warn participants that restroom stops are not free and they should have some Euro Coins with them for these stops

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Monica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour! I took my two 13 year old kids on this tour and this was one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam. The town of Alkmaar is beautiful with lots of shopping opportunities. The cheese was delicious. Our only regret is that we didn't purchase more cheese! The tour of the Windmills was incredibly interesting. We were surprised by how much we learned and enjoyed it. You can go inside the windmills and climb to the top and see first hand how they work. Very picturesque countryside. Lots of photo opportunities!! Very nice tour guide who provided much information about the Netherlands!!

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fun beer tasting with a great guide. Gives you facts about both beer and the city. Also takes you to a distillery as a side stop.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Beer Tour

LILA N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The places we visit are beautiful, Edgar the tour guide is excellent

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very informative and fun

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Deb L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Food was fantastic, diversified and delicious. Our guide was fun and informative. The 1.5 mile walk took us along the canals and winding thru the cobblestone streets and alleys of the Jordaan district. We sampled pancakes, herring, sausage, cheese, bitterballen and Dutch apple pie, among others. Well worth it

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour with highlights including a tour of a working windmill and a fantastic demonstration of wooden shoe manufacturing. Very scenic walking tours. Edgar was an excellent guide!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message