Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 750 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lynne.speller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful, well organised day with great guides and plenty of time at each stop. We were fed every step of the way with cheese and wine, stroopwafel and a delicious 3 course lunch. Our guide Edgar chatted all day with interesting facts and looked after us all very well - along with our very safe driver Tony. Group was small 25 so none of the frustrations of large tour groups. The towns visited were very lovely and the windmills were stunning. We very much enjoyed this trip and would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Charm of Holland Tour which about 8 hours all in all. It included: visiting as the 1st stop the Zaans Schans we got to visit a wood cutting wind mill - it was very interesting and informative. Then we had a Walking tour in Volendam where we visited Woltje's backery also informative on how waffles were done and the place had a small museum in the basement. After finishing from Woltje's we headed to the Cheese Factory in Volendam you get the full explanation about how Gouda cheese are made, then you are given a glass of wine and you can sample cheeses - place was very crowded and noisy. Once done we got on the boat from Volendam to Marken about 25 minutes ride which was pleasant. We then were seated in the De Visscher Taverne we had to choose fish soup or tomato basil and for main dish: fish and chips or chicken. You also get an apple pie and coffee from the same place. Once done we had a walking tour in Marken and visited the flood museum. Next stop was the clog shoe maker where you get a full demo on how they do a clog shoe interesting but hot. Last, we had a walking tour in Edam which was not bad.


Overall: the experience was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

George L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great guide and driver. Great destinations and explanations. Fine lunch experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Pamela K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely loved this tour. A beautiful day visiting beautiful places. So much to see in one day but a nice amount of time at each place. Well worth every cent and would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see some smaller villages full of their own charm and character in one day. Such a lovely day away from the hustle bustle of the big city.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Karen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the best tour of our vacation. It was so fun! Our guide Pieter was fantastic, with a great sense of humor. He kept things moving right along, and our day went very fast. There was a lot to do and the guide kept it interesting with commentary, but not boring or long-winded. The only thing that disappointed me was that we didn't get to do any Edam cheese-tasting in Edam, only Gouda cheese tasting in Volendam. And of course, it would have been nice, as always, if we'd had more time to play in these 4 towns, but I say that on every tour! All in all, a great day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Swifty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

History on display, fantastic day watching the way cheese was sold at market in the day.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour, very interesting and terrific guide. Due to a booking error, she was late arriving - within 2 minutes of her arrival, absolutely no-one was worried about the wait. She was such a good guide. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Maureen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The best tours we have ever been on, the guide and driver very good company and learnt so much about Holland and it's history and people

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Laurence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time as did the other couples on this trip. Our guide was Aileen and she was great. Come hungry.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This pub crawl was the best way to meet fellow young travelers in a new city! We chose the Leidseplein Square crawl, and it was the best decision. All of the bars that we went to were on the small side, but that was fine as they split up the big group into smaller groups after the first bar. I don't think I had to buy one drink the whole night as you're given drink tokens for a free beer at each place, and the pub crawl promoters are always available for free shots poured directly into your mouth haha.

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

pdamking

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Was great to get out of the city and see the countryside. The guide Mary Ann was amazing and very knowledgeable and Bert was a wonderful bus driver. Lunch was absolutely first class and very filling, an unexpected 3 courses. Very glad we did this tour, great value for money!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Isabel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Superbly designed and let day trip: well-paced, informative with an excellent guide Marianne and driver Bert. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Yohann R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour! I normally don't like tours but this exceeded my expectations.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Hop on Hop off Canal Bus is fantastic - good service, and so wonderful seeing Amsterdam from the canals. Coupling this with the Heineken Experience was a fantastic idea and highly recommended. The Heineken Experience was really great and really interesting. Well worth it.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The absolutely best tour I've taken! Not too long in the bus at any one time, and really outstanding, really great: windmills and a tour of how they work, trip to a bakery for a cooking lesson on the caramel waffle cookies, tour of a cheese factory with wine and cheese, walk thru a very very old town on the north coast with a lot of draw bridges a festival was going on there so we saw a lot of local flavor!, a delicious seafood lunch there and a ferry ride back to a town where we saw how they make the wooden shoes.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jenny.best

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour, only downfall was the weather that day - it poured most of the day. Tour Guide and Driver were both excellent and very informative.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was excellent. It was exactly as advertised. We both enjoyed it immensely. We would take another tour from the company.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

KERRIE Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

GREAT TOUR.A MUST IF VISITING THE NETHERLANDS.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

CHRIS J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Vivian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this tour!!! Our guide was great and the towns were amazing! Keep in mind that the windmills are located in a contained community... not in the outskirts of town. Unfortunately did not see tulips because of the time of year--- regardless, we loved it!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Sabrina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and tour guide were great! We saw small towns and the countryside with the convenience of an air-conditioned bus. There is so much packed into one day that unfortunately there is not a lot of time to explore on your own. Consider this tour a quick introduction to the area. On a separate note: The tour company did not have a record of my reservation. I booked the tour about 4 days in advance and had received a confirmation email. Luckily I had another day in Amsterdam because I was re-booked for a tour the following day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

mayralosada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome! so much fun and a great way to meet other travelers. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Livan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was everything I expected, fast pace, but great tour. the tour guide and the driver were great!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message