Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 720 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

CHRIS J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Vivian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely loved this tour!!! Our guide was great and the towns were amazing! Keep in mind that the windmills are located in a contained community... not in the outskirts of town. Unfortunately did not see tulips because of the time of year--- regardless, we loved it!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Sabrina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and tour guide were great! We saw small towns and the countryside with the convenience of an air-conditioned bus. There is so much packed into one day that unfortunately there is not a lot of time to explore on your own. Consider this tour a quick introduction to the area. On a separate note: The tour company did not have a record of my reservation. I booked the tour about 4 days in advance and had received a confirmation email. Luckily I had another day in Amsterdam because I was re-booked for a tour the following day.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

mayralosada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome! so much fun and a great way to meet other travelers. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

Livan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was everything I expected, fast pace, but great tour. the tour guide and the driver were great!!!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jerryskis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

While I'm late in writing this review, this tour was one of the best in our recent trip to Amsterdam in June. The multiple stops on the adventure really gave us a unique perspective on the foods in the area. From the herring to the chocolates and everything in between. I highly recommend this tour. I only am sorry,I am forgetting our guides name who was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Herman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It's a great day trip and see a windmill sawing logs was great. Cheese tasting offered wine and cheese in the price of out tour ticket.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The guide and itinerary were great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

mk.knowles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour. Only the two of us with the tour leader, so we had lots of time to talk and discuss all aspects of beer and brewing. The bars and walk were adjusted to our requirements and interest and the leader's knowledge of the beer scene in Amsterdam was outstanding. I would recommend this tour to all interested Brewers and beer lovers.

Doing what: Small-Group Amsterdam Beer Tour

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful day visiting the outer area of Amsterdam. We met some wonderful fellow
travelers as well. This tour covers a lot of the Netherland history.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Elizabeth N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Was a great experience good fun and well worth the visit. Good fun and well put together

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

kenosborn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It would not be a trip to the Netherlands if you didn't get to see working windmills and how they make cheese. The cheese samples were delicious. Many people turned down the green cheese probably due to color. My wife and I loved the green cheese.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jean V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific tour into the countryside. Took a total of about 8 hours. Easy pace, with just the right amount of walking and time on your own to shop in several spots. Go on a Wednesday, so you can see the cheese market at Edam. Be sure to visit the traditional Dutch candy shop in Volderdam and make yourself some hot chocolate at the windmills.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Rosemarie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour and tour guide, but our booking didn't go through to the agency, so they didn't have our booking, we had to wait until the tour was ready to leave until they would let us join and that was only because someone else didnt turn up, very frustrating.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Jim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Windmills are fantastic, Edam and Volendam for cheese shop, Marken Island for clog making

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Cheryl S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent trip. Certainly it would have been difficult to see all these things by yourself. Our tour guide Aaf was very knowledgeable. The start to Zaanse Schans was very commercial, but the windmill was excellent. So many different types of cheese to taste at Volendam. Unfortunately we couldn't buy any as they were too big and heavy for us to carry in our suitcases.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Linda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent your with amazing guide Elf. She was the best

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It ended up being just the tour guide and I on the food tour. He still took me out and about and It was nice because we were able to get through it a little quicker and pop in some of the smaller shops to have a little more in-depth look at the local cuisine. Loved the food! A lot of variety and planned out well. The guide was awesome and focused on supporting the small businesses in Amsterdam. I would definitely reccommend

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Gayathiri P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved all aspects of this trip! From tasting the cheese in Voldenam, the delicious seafood meal in Marken and the beautiful windmills in zaanse-schans and our guide josey was very informative and attentive. It was a fun and wonderful trip! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour. This really gives you a full day experience. The villages we toured were beautiful. Ferry ride to island was fun and lunch was delicious. Enjoyed the cheese shop, clog demonstration and windmill tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The food was introductory to what food is indigenous to Amsterdam or what locals are. I loved this tour. I wish it was available more days so I could have taken it on the 1st day and learned where to go back and eat. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message