Beer- and cheese-lovers are right at home in Amsterdam, where Dutch cheeses like Gouda, Edam and Leiden make up a healthy part of the cuisine and Dutch lagers are consumed heartily. To get the full cheese experience, head to a cheese market like ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 789 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

simonrobson979

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was my second time in Amsterdam so my brother suggested doing something less touristy and go on a food tour instead. For an absolute foodie as I am this was a perfect choice. Olav's a real give'r - really knew every corner of Amsterdam and made us feel like home too. We even went to every place he recommended afterwards. Real skookum deal, thanks Olav!

Doing what: Amsterdam's Favorite Food Tour with a Local

Eric S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great food tastings with detailed background along with city tour between locations

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Charles G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the city and taste the flavors of Amsterdam. Our tour guide, Donovan was very knowledgeable and made the whole experience great fun. We would walk the different streets and he would tell us stories and then we would stop at a neighborhood shop or store and try their specialty. Ended the tour at a small neighborhood pub where we created our own drink and sat around a small table and shared. Would love to do it again.

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely outstanding! Our guide, Sean, was great -- knowledgable, friendly, and funny. We sampled more than enough food, beginning with the best Belgian fries we've ever had, continuing with stoopwaffell probably spelled wrong, sausage, a local variation of pancakes, and ending with a visit to a local, very old distillery to sample a type of gin. All in all, a tour not to be missed!

Doing what: Amsterdam Food Tour

Mark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience! You get to meet new people and try different bars! Highly recommended especially for single travelers/ or groups of friends!

Doing what: Amsterdam Pub Crawl

KAREN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

outstanding guide ...food and history...a highlight

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Leslie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was amazing. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke just about every language imaginable. There was so much food to eat all day! Cheese, wine, cookies, cake - and that's not even including the lunch! The villages were beautiful and the bus ride was comfortable. All-in-all this was worth every single penny. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Denise A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Ben was the driver and Jose was the tour guide. Excellent professionals!
The tour was very well organized and the explanation of all the places we went to was very good!
We had a great day and never a boring moment!

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour - definitely a must do. Pieter our guide and Tom our driver are an All Pro team. The sights and tastes are not to be missed. Get out of the big cities and see more of the Netherlands. Volendam for cheese tasting and waffles, lunch in Marken and a visit to the wooden shoe craftsman and his most photographed sock in the world, and the working windmill village of Zaanse Shans are lasting memories.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Gradys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome!!!! Can't miss, our tour guide was great and the shops he took us to were top shelf. Delicious foods, great variety,and shop owners glad to see us.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

Ana Maria N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour is very complete . The places we visited extraordinary. The guide tour and driver were booth very nice and helpful. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

jstrasser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our first excursion on our trip to Europe, and could not been a better introduction. The tour guide was loverly, the scenery was just picture card perfect. The whole day there was always something beautiful to see. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Cathy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was very interactive from the beginning. There was very interesting information on the brewery and the family. All staff were pleasant, helpful, courteous and very informative. It being so interactive made the experience so interesting and fun more than other tours we have been on.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Tramaine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of the best things I did while in Amsterdam! The Hop On Hop Off option was a great way to see the city and get around to some the museums. The Heineken Experience was a great part of the trip. I was able to skip the long line outside since I bought tickets in advance. This was a great combination value. I'd recommend this package to anyone visiting Amsterdam!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop On Hop Off Day Pass and Heineken Experience

Lorie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful guide, food sensations and sharing! A must when in Amsterdam.
PS don't eat before you go.....

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

jfchow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Comfortable coach and experience guide shown us the beautiful of Netherlands. Great lunch and it was a very nice trip

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

RANDALL T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a full day trip and was very informative. Our guide was knowledgeable about each of the places we visited and we had plenty of time to see and ask questions about each spot. The restaurant where we had lunch was very good. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Thomas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Towns such as Alkmaar are so historically interesting with a story to tell of themselves. The windmills are just fansinating.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Eniko G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I highly recommend this tour to everyone: couples, friends and single travelers at any age.
You will not be bored for a minute - specially if will be lucky and get Pieter as a guide.
You will see so much from this beautiful country in 8 hours - and I am not talking only about places, but also local people who really enjoy what they do - cheese, clogs, stroopwafels or oil in a windmill.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Mary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour and our guide were great! We learned many interesting things about Amsterdam, the architecture, and the people. The food tastings were good-some more so that others, but it was a fun adventure.

Doing what: Amsterdam Jordaan District Food Walking Tour

rzimman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great trip with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. The tour included a walking tour of Edam, a cheese tasting, a ferry ride from Volkendam to Marken, lunch in Marken, a walking tour of Marken, a demonstration of wooden shoe making, and a visit to windmills with a demonstration of making oil from seeds.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Peter John B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this trip! Bus ride through Holland was fantastic and seeing the windmills was wonderful! Cheese market very crowded.

Doing what: Alkmaar Cheese Market and Dutch Windmills Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

lynne.speller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful, well organised day with great guides and plenty of time at each stop. We were fed every step of the way with cheese and wine, stroopwafel and a delicious 3 course lunch. Our guide Edgar chatted all day with interesting facts and looked after us all very well - along with our very safe driver Tony. Group was small 25 so none of the frustrations of large tour groups. The towns visited were very lovely and the windmills were stunning. We very much enjoyed this trip and would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nidale T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Charm of Holland Tour which about 8 hours all in all. It included: visiting as the 1st stop the Zaans Schans we got to visit a wood cutting wind mill - it was very interesting and informative. Then we had a Walking tour in Volendam where we visited Woltje's backery also informative on how waffles were done and the place had a small museum in the basement. After finishing from Woltje's we headed to the Cheese Factory in Volendam you get the full explanation about how Gouda cheese are made, then you are given a glass of wine and you can sample cheeses - place was very crowded and noisy. Once done we got on the boat from Volendam to Marken about 25 minutes ride which was pleasant. We then were seated in the De Visscher Taverne we had to choose fish soup or tomato basil and for main dish: fish and chips or chicken. You also get an apple pie and coffee from the same place. Once done we had a walking tour in Marken and visited the flood museum. Next stop was the clog shoe maker where you get a full demo on how they do a clog shoe interesting but hot. Last, we had a walking tour in Edam which was not bad.


Overall: the experience was great.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message