Windmills have always played an important part in the life of Holland and its inhabitants, forming a unique element in the Dutch landscape of wide plains, far horizons, glittering canals and floating clouds. The Dutch built windmills for many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vijay J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great view of Holland's countryside - windmills and all.
Clog making and cheese making demonstrations were good.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Carole D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour of Northern Holland. Loved seeing the windmills, cheese shop. Great opportunity to have lunch on the beautiful town of Vollendam. Loved the wooden shoe factory. Tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Rosemarie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I loved this tour! It was a real revelation of Hollands unique countryside.....working windmills which we saw operating as a saw mill,villages and much more......one of the highlights of our travels.5 star recommendation!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Kate H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guides were excellent. Bus was good. There was a full bus of tourists but it went well. Long day but worth it. You do not have to do a tour of an area ie the cheese factory but keep an eye on the time so you can meet the group afterwards. Windmill was included in the price so keep with the group or you pay 4 euros for entrance. Defiantly a good day trip to experience some of Holland outside the city center.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

janine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do trip, a good look at Holland its windmills at Zaanse Schans and the ferry ride to the chees factory at Volendam was great. We had a great guide that made the trip a good experience

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a great way to see the country side of the Netherlands as a contrast to the urban area of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken had outstanding views of small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and small cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were given a post card view. Climbing up into actual working windmills at Zaanse Schans was a real thrill who could leave Holland without being in windmill?. We were given enough time a each stop as we walked through the villages. At Volendam. we had cheese tasting and started our boat ride to Marken. Our guide was easy to understand and had many insights into the Dutch culture. The hold trip was very well managed.

Doing what: Holland in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Gerald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The driver and tour guide were very friendly and informative, took photos of people and kept things moving on time. It's a nice break from Amsterdam and teaches you quite a lot about windmills, dike building and the history of northern Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed going to Zaanse Schans! Very interesting to see the windmills and especially the inside of the windmills and learn how they work. Such a pretty setting, it was everything you think of when you think of Holland! Our guide was good and knowledgable, able to answer all our questions and even take our picture. The cheese and clog factories were also fun. I would have liked to have a little more time to browse afterwards and go back to the stores of my choice.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

noelmcgarry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A real sampling of The Netherlands experience visiting three towns in the country each with its own unique history. The tour included lunch, cheese tasting, wine, boat ride, windmills all showcasing Holland. Well worth the cost for a closer encounter with this country.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kiana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a beautiful introduction to the Netherlands! I HIGHLY recommend this tour as it covers all the basics that we know and love about Holland. It is a beautiful drive out to the countryside and then walking tours through the most quaint little towns you will ever see. Trust me, you will want to move there immediately! There is also wine and cheese tasting which is delicious, a boat ride, a visit to a wooden shoe factory complete with demonstration of how they make klompen wooden shoes. The gal who did our demonstration was so funny! After the wooden shoe factory we were off to Zaans Schaans which is so beautiful with all the old windmills dotting the countryside. It is quintessential Dutch. If anything though, I do wish we would have had more time in Zaans Schaans. It was a full day but everything was excellent.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

theclarkclan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Josie made the day excellent, she had a great sense of humour and was very knowledgable. It was a good way to find out about the 'real' Amsterdam. We got to visit many villages and even have a boat ride to a lovely restaurant with a superb meal at a very timely break. The wine and cheese tasting was also very good. Visiting windmills was very interesting. All the points of interest were well chosen. it gave me a great insight into Holland. there were lots of times out of the bus which was great. a concise informative fun tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Fransisca L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour and must have this tour if you want to know more about Holland. Love the view of windmills in countryside, And I enjoyed cheese tasting in Edam. I will recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was so happy to do this tour, gets you out of the city into the countryside of beautiful Holland. The town where the Windmills are is so pretty, the Cheese Factory was amazing, you got to try the cheese and purchase them, wanted them all, the boat trip was fun which took you to the Clog making place, very interesting. I certainly recommend this tour when next in Amsterdam. :

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

beezee2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The sites visited were all enjoyable and a lot of fun! To us it was a cultural experience that is typical to Holland- windmills, cheese, wooden shoes, costumes. The only thing missing were tulips! I recommend this day tour for a taste of Holland not far from Amsterdam

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Monticello L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fabulous mix of interesting Holland experiences for an afternoon. Unfortunately showery and gray that day so not the best for pics. My partner didn't think the guide was great because he was a bit hands off. However, we had onsite presenters at windmills, wooden shoes, and cheese. Well planned with a bit of time to shop and eat. Kept to schedule and delivered what was promised.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Tony V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent experience of older Holland

Loved it - seeing working windmills and how they harnessed the power of the wind

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Rhea H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour! Just what I wanted to see about Holland! Windmills and cheese and wooden shoes and fishing villages. Very informative guise. Loved talking to the man who ran the working windmill and the tour of it.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Adriena O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Perfect day at Holland country - windmills, cheese factory with tasting cheese, lovely lunch at sea-shore village, boat trip and amazing experience at the clogs factory! And that was only morning....Delft is really nice, full of history...The Hague as well, with all historical buildings. Guide was excellent! Can only recommend for peole who love truly busy holliday

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Alister W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although our tour was called Charm of Holland rather than the above, it seems to be the same. We enjoyed visiting the countryside including Edam, Volendaam and Marken in addition to cheese tasting, visiting a clog making factory and a working windmill. All the above gave us a good overview of the countryside and we packed a lot into 8 hours. Most enjoyable
Kay and Alister

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nancy A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nicole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Dimitris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Highly Recommended Day Trip in Amsterdam! You get a good
taste of how beautiful Holland is.
The Trip is pleasant and not tiring at all. Wish we could have
more time in Zaanse Schans Windmills.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Allan V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good value and certainly epitomises what "Holland" was like in the early days.Windmills were a sensational sight! More time in Volendam would be nice.Cheesemaking demonstration was PATHETIC.More like a comedy sketch!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message