Windmills have always played an important part in the life of Holland and its inhabitants, forming a unique element in the Dutch landscape of wide plains, far horizons, glittering canals and floating clouds. The Dutch built windmills for many ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kelly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This trip was super fun! They split it up into two half day trips which was a tad inconvenient, having to go back to Amsterdam in the afternoon to switch buses, but all the places you get to visit were amazing! The Windmills were a wonderful sight to see I definitely recommend this tour if you want to see a ton of Holland in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Kate H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guides were excellent. Bus was good. There was a full bus of tourists but it went well. Long day but worth it. You do not have to do a tour of an area ie the cheese factory but keep an eye on the time so you can meet the group afterwards. Windmill was included in the price so keep with the group or you pay 4 euros for entrance. Defiantly a good day trip to experience some of Holland outside the city center.

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Craig J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a great way to see the country side of the Netherlands as a contrast to the urban area of Amsterdam. The villages of Edam and Marken had outstanding views of small canals with stone bridges, water side trees, and small cottages in the background. Almost at every turn, we were given a post card view. Climbing up into actual working windmills at Zaanse Schans was a real thrill who could leave Holland without being in windmill?. We were given enough time a each stop as we walked through the villages. At Volendam. we had cheese tasting and started our boat ride to Marken. Our guide was easy to understand and had many insights into the Dutch culture. The hold trip was very well managed.

Doing what: Holland in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Cassie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed going to Zaanse Schans! Very interesting to see the windmills and especially the inside of the windmills and learn how they work. Such a pretty setting, it was everything you think of when you think of Holland! Our guide was good and knowledgable, able to answer all our questions and even take our picture. The cheese and clog factories were also fun. I would have liked to have a little more time to browse afterwards and go back to the stores of my choice.

Doing what: Small-Group Zaanse Schans Half-Day Tour from Amsterdam

noelmcgarry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A real sampling of The Netherlands experience visiting three towns in the country each with its own unique history. The tour included lunch, cheese tasting, wine, boat ride, windmills all showcasing Holland. Well worth the cost for a closer encounter with this country.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Kiana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a beautiful introduction to the Netherlands! I HIGHLY recommend this tour as it covers all the basics that we know and love about Holland. It is a beautiful drive out to the countryside and then walking tours through the most quaint little towns you will ever see. Trust me, you will want to move there immediately! There is also wine and cheese tasting which is delicious, a boat ride, a visit to a wooden shoe factory complete with demonstration of how they make klompen wooden shoes. The gal who did our demonstration was so funny! After the wooden shoe factory we were off to Zaans Schaans which is so beautiful with all the old windmills dotting the countryside. It is quintessential Dutch. If anything though, I do wish we would have had more time in Zaans Schaans. It was a full day but everything was excellent.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

theclarkclan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide Josie made the day excellent, she had a great sense of humour and was very knowledgable. It was a good way to find out about the 'real' Amsterdam. We got to visit many villages and even have a boat ride to a lovely restaurant with a superb meal at a very timely break. The wine and cheese tasting was also very good. Visiting windmills was very interesting. All the points of interest were well chosen. it gave me a great insight into Holland. there were lots of times out of the bus which was great. a concise informative fun tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Fransisca L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour and must have this tour if you want to know more about Holland. Love the view of windmills in countryside, And I enjoyed cheese tasting in Edam. I will recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Padmanabhan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Truly amazing- Perfect guide Mr.Edgar for the perfect tour. He has great idea about the place and his narration was an icing on the cake. Majestic Holland where nature has been abundant. Must do for tourists. ..Earth's Beauty descends the countryside Zaanse Schans , Volendam, Edam, Marken, Dutch windmills reflects national heritage, cheese tasting meant indulgence, and wooden shoe factory visit signified a legacy . Weather was outstanding. Christmas decorations at homes and shops added a flavor. Nice Hospitality of Dutch a point to note..In all a Relaxed and refreshing tour. Thanks Viator. Salutes to Holland.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Tony V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent experience of older Holland

Loved it - seeing working windmills and how they harnessed the power of the wind

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Adriena O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Perfect day at Holland country - windmills, cheese factory with tasting cheese, lovely lunch at sea-shore village, boat trip and amazing experience at the clogs factory! And that was only morning....Delft is really nice, full of history...The Hague as well, with all historical buildings. Guide was excellent! Can only recommend for peole who love truly busy holliday

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Alister W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although our tour was called Charm of Holland rather than the above, it seems to be the same. We enjoyed visiting the countryside including Edam, Volendaam and Marken in addition to cheese tasting, visiting a clog making factory and a working windmill. All the above gave us a good overview of the countryside and we packed a lot into 8 hours. Most enjoyable
Kay and Alister

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nancy A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour. It was comprehensive with windmills, wooden shoe making and cheese making demonstrations that were interesting and informative and gave us a feel for Holland. The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable and the lunch was delicious. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Nicole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I definitely recommend this day trip from Amsterdam. We also did the Holland in One Day Sightseeing tour, which I do not recommend. This tour is a fun filled day, but there is actually NO cheese tasting in Edam. Viator definitely shouldn't mislead people. The tasting was just at a tourist cheese shop in Volendam. Our guide told us that cheese isn't even made in Edam. They simply named the cheese after it. There are some great authentic cheese shops in Amsterdam so seek those out where you can buy the cheese from local farms and where chefs were buying cheeses for their restaurants. Edam is a quiet little town. It was exciting to be there on their festival weekend when everyone in town was out on the streets having fun. Seeing the countryside and getting to explore a working windmill was extraordinary.

Doing what: Dutch Windmills and Countryside Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Cheese Tasting in Edam

Allan V Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Good value and certainly epitomises what "Holland" was like in the early days.Windmills were a sensational sight! More time in Volendam would be nice.Cheesemaking demonstration was PATHETIC.More like a comedy sketch!!

Doing what: Amsterdam Shore Excursion: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Of the three tours we took in Holland, this was the best of the three. The trip through the country side was great and got to see a lot of the sites. We stopped at a wooden shoe makers shop and got to see how they made the shoes. There were lots of shoes there to purchase if you wanted them (sizes were marked with the different shoe sized from the different areas of the world. The windmills were beautiful and it was great to be able to see them inside and how they work. The lunch in Volendam was good. After this part of the tour the trip to Keukenhof Gardens was what we really went on this tour for. We had been to the gardens over 40 years ago and wanted to see how they had changed. Our tour was late in the season and many of the flowers had lost their blooms. Keukenhof Gardens and planted additional tulips throughout the garden so we could see the different types of tulips. We were there just 3 days before the gardens closed this year around May 18th. The size of the gardens had more than doubled since the last time we were there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Karin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very full day and I thoroughly enjoyed all three places - a great way to learn about the "old Holland" we were taught about as kids. The gardens were absolutely beautiful, the windmills tour and demonstration about making wooden shoes were very interesting and I don't think I have ever seen a more pristine town than Volendam, would have liked more time there.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Claire M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was great from beginning to end one of the best things we did during our stay. If you want to see traditional holland you have to do this. Windmills are stunning, Bart the clog maker is so funny and Diana the tour guide was very informative and friendly

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Half-Day Tour plus Keukenhof Gardens Tour

Kathryn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Enjoyed this trip so much, you get to see the real Holland and the windmill stop is really cute! A long trip if you double up on 2 days, I would really recommend just doing this tour :)

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Tricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour was great. We enjoyed the 'touristy' attractions in Zaanse Schans where we saw windmills aplenty and got a feel for little villages in Holland. We had a great meal break in Volendam where good restaurants abound, and had a pleasant boat trip over to Marken to see the cheese/clog factory. It is clearly a set of events set up for tourists, but we are tourists so it was a charming way to get a feel for the traditions of Holland before striking out on our own.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

Rosemary United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

A good tour to see all things that Holland is well known for - cheese, clogs and windmills, plus The Hauge and a park with a miniature village. Good value but quite a tiring day.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Carlos L Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

It is a hectic day, if you are not an adventurer, don't do it! This tour takes you through the main historical sites of the country. It is an encounter with windmills, heritage, beautiful buildings, and an incredible Gulliver view at Madurodam of Holland. Do not miss it, if you like to get the most for you money!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Santosh M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good tour guide in Ms. Juliet to give you an overview of Holland's history. Thoroughly enjoyed the half a day tour walk on the dyke, cheese making and the oil extraction process in windmills balanced by the countryside lifestyle Edam and Volendam.
What stood out most during the tour was the clog manufacturing process in Zaanse Schans and to finally get my hands on an authentic black forest wooden cuckoo clock!

Doing what: Dutch Countryside and Culture Tour from Amsterdam Including Zaanse Schans, Edam and Volendam

cclark18

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The afternoon tour (Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken) was outstanding. We really enjoyed seeing the Holland countryside and experiencing all of these beautiful places, could has spent a whole day touring these three locations. On the morning city tour, we did not appreciate being dropped off at a diamond factory for about an hour. At the factory we were locked in a room with the intent of trying to get us to buy something. We felt that there were other more interesting things we could have been seeing in Amsterdam instead of spending 1/3 of the tour in the diamond factory.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Volendam and Marken Day Trip

elka a

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Fabulous tour. Provided an opportunity to visit the countryside and experience the Holland of old. Love the windmills!

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message