Amsterdam in summer has lots of blue skies and a temperature of around 68°F (21°C), ideal for sitting in pavement cafés and trundling around the canals on open-top boats. The only problem is that everybody else agrees that this is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyable trip. Lovely crew, friendly waitress, nicely cooked food and plenty of prosecco and wine so no need to order expensive extras. Would probably be even better in the summer when you could see more of the city, but most places were well lit up so it was still well worthwhile. Not much commentary from the skipper, but that was not important - having already seen the sites on another trip during the day we did not want a running commentary. One comment for the organisers - on our trip, music by The Carpenters was played all evening, which is romantic but may not appeal to everyone! Some variety - a mixture of classical and modern music perhaps?

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

wilcoxmh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The canal trip was delightful. The head sets allow you to listen to explanations in English, but they do not block noises from other passengers. The museum passes are good for days other than the day of the canal cruise. This is very helpful, as I do not believe you could do both museums and the cruise in one day. I was not aware that once you purchased this tour, you still had to make reservations to see the Van Gogh museum. This was not difficult, but could have been in the summer months. Both museums were outstanding.

Doing what: Canal Cruise with Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

etimms89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We absolutely loved our cruise! Very romantic and 2 hours was the perfect length. There was plenty of food with a good selection of cheese and 3 or 4 wine refills! The boat was lovely with new leather upholstered booths and there was a good ambience with dim lighting and candles on every table. A few small comments to improve upon: the music choice was odd and should be changed to suit the occasion, I would have liked a little more commentary, outside of peak summer I think it would be best to leave a half hour earlier. We did our cruise at the end of august and the sun had set before we took off - would have been nice to get a little more twilight. All in all I Would definitely do it again and recommend it to others - good value for money

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Pamela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was the most beautiful place to be. The flowers were breath taking and I brought home the most wonderful pictures, besides ordering bulbs that will be harvested this summer and planted this fall.

Doing what: Keukenhof Gardens Day Trip from Amsterdam Including Guided Flower Fields Visit

Matthew T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I did this in January, so there were no lines...which I understand to be completely different in the summer, making the presale tickets even more valuable. This is a quick and easy tour of the city. I knew nothing about Van Gogh and learned a lot get the audio tour. I also went to the Rijks museum again, get the audio tour. Then I took the 90 minute canal tour which gave a nice flavor of the city while I slowly worked through my jet lag.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam Canal Bus Hop-On Hop-Off Day Pass

Cheng How Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was fun! It was a bit chlly during the boat ride even during Summer time, but the service is fantastic!

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

guillermo i

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great evening cruise that allowed us to see this city from the water canals. It was about an hour long and it basically circled the city. Some monuments are neon lit and look great, even from a distance and in the winter. In the summer, I would definitely recommend taking the water colors cruise also. This one was outstanding though, and the guide provided information about the city life and how it is run. Very informative. We passed by churches, monuments, and also the Anne Frank house. Highly recommend this cruise. It is basically a must.

Doing what: Highlights of Amsterdam Sightseeing Cruise

Alibongo12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Met the tour at the tour office. Left right on time on a double decker coach. Our guide (Diana?) was very informative both historically and geographically. First we drove over a dijk to Marken. Here we walked around houses in the small village, I did feel a bit uncomfortable as we were almost in their gardens. Then we went to the Clog factory and watched Bart make a clog. He too was very informative and funny. We spent time at the gift shop before walking down to the waterfront to catch the boat to Volendam. We were the last boat of the season to leave and this was an extra surprise as when booking the tour it said the day before was the last boat trip. The boat trip was quick, there are toilet and refreshment facilities on board. Volendam was beautiful I so wish we went in the summer and not on a windy, rainy November day. We went to the cheese factory and heard how cheese is made, I say heard as the lady just described the process however the woman in the room (behind glass) behind us was actually making cheese. We had about 3/4 hour free time hear to get lunch, there are numerous bars, restaurants and stalls selling food. We then walked to the coach and continued to Zaanse Schans. The first impression you get when you leave the coach is an overwhelming smell of chocolate !! There is a chocolate factory here. The first windmill is free to enter however you cannot climb up. There is a windmill that costs 3 eu and you can go to the top and outside. I will warn the steps are very steep. Here we had free time to walk around. There were plenty of photo opportunities. We then returned to Amsterdam. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

MR R PEEL P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Good value, it is probably worth taking the morning version of this trip, as the afternoon version was time affected , when we got to the windmills most of the other shops at the site etc were closed. This could well change in the summer months.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

NGUYEN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very good trip ! nice experience though I prefer to take this tour in summer instead of late autumn

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Mecka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I had beautiful time in a SUNNY Amsterdam! Was it you too? City card and the booklet were my guides, and made my first stay there comfortable. I'll be back in summer and I'll book I am card again. Thanks for the efficiency!

Doing what: I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam

Tarron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Had the most amazing time on the canal cruise, would recommend everyone to try it! made it even more special as i proprosed to the most amazing gorgeous and the love of my life and we are getting married summer 2012, never been happier and its all because of a girl whos names kirsty! Love you!xxxx

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

We participated in the Tulip and Windmills in winter tour and visited the tulip farm in Early Feb, though it was not the perfect season but with the vivid presentation and the reputation of being very hospitable (the colorful cakes, nice coffee and your well decorated guest-room), this could really compensate us with everything that we could miss. We do wish to visit again in SUMMER in short coming future.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour to Ghent and Bruges was a perfect way to take a break from walking around Amsterdam. The tour guide was very knowledgeable in the history of both cities. Unfortunately, there was a lot of road construction going on in the center of Ghent which didn't make for the prettiest of pictures but we managed to make the best of it. Bruges was another story, however. It was a very lovely, clean city and our guide recommended that we take the boat ride on the Bruges canals to get a real flavor of the city. And she was right on! We highly recommend that you not miss the opportunity to take this side trip to Bruges and Ghent where the construction is to be completed this summer.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

g_racheva

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The boat is very cosy, the dinner is excellent, the service was excellent also. I recommend that the earlier trip is booked from 7pm or in the summer when there is more light and you can see more of the city. Anyway, this canal cruise is worthing doing and not to be missed

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

Glenna Rose Goes United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I have done 2 daytime canal cruises with various companies on previous Amsterdam trips. Those were great, but this time, I wanted a different perspective on this beautiful city. Cruise left at 9pm, just as the sun was setting in April in the summer -- when I usually visit -- it would definitely not be dark during the cruise. There was no commentary at all -- I do not know if this is typical for the evening cruise or there was perhaps an equipment failure on this trip -- so it was ok for our experienced group, but would not be ideal if you wanted to learn about the city and the sights you were passing. The nibbles were fine some chips and bread with various dips and the cocktails were better than we expected. Cocktail menu is limited there are only 5 choices but the very friendly staff was generous with the wine.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canal Cocktail Cruise

Jacques D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Professional Team, English speaking, friendly and a very good sense of humor :- Humor was needed with the bad weather that we got: strong wind, cold and rainy. But it was not their fault, they had no control over the weather. Their sense of humor help us to cope with the miserable weather. In general we had a very good experience. Next time, we will try to do this again in Spring or Summer time.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

DIROP

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very satisfied with the tour, only disappointment was seeing the Hague in the dark, if I had been on this tour in summer, would have still been in daylight. Perhaps some consideration could be to adapt the tour to hours of daylight.

Doing what: Amsterdam Super Saver: Zaanse Schans Windmills plus Delft, The Hague and Madurodam Day Trip

Helen M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Brugge is a gorgeous town but I feel more time is needed for exploring. We didnt depart amsterdam til 10am, this could have been much earlier for a summer trip which would give more time in Brugge. Unfortunately we hit a traffic jam which further delayed our time, all in all after the walk from bus to town and back we only managed 3.5 hrs there. Not nearly enough in my opinion. Our tour guide was Tina and she was excellent.

Doing what: Bruges Day Trip from Amsterdam

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Brussels is a beautiful city and one should spend a whole day there, however, be prepared to walk quite a bit and climb some steep hills (there are steps). Not for somebody who walks slowly or with difficulty. And be prepared to speak French - they frown when you do English.......It poured with rain when we reached Antwerp and my mother and I ducked into the first bar/coffeeshop and spent the afternoon playing cards until it was time to meet at the bus. Even so we were soaked and cold - I don't know how the rest of the tour coped. I would do this tour again in summer - it's worth the hours on the bus and the guide made the time go by quickly.

Doing what: Brussels and Antwerp Day Trip from Amsterdam

Linda D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

A wonderful way to spend my 60th birthday. Would love to repeat the experience but during the summer and in daylight so we could see more of the scenery.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Cruise with Freshly Prepared 4-Course Dinner

Nektaria K Cyprus

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2010

The cruise was excellent. There were lots of nuts and cheese as well as two bottles of wine per table, which I think is more than enough if you want to pay attention to what you see! The guide was really good. Perhaps it would be better, during summer, if the cruise started later. Although it was not candlelight it got dark at around 2230 I had a great time!

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Would have been a romantic way to spend an evening in the summer nights when the weather is not so cold. The half hour walk through the red light district is also an eye opener.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Jennifer W Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Packed a lot in and had great tour guide; only bad thing was weather--would have been beautiful in summer.

Doing what: Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and Volendam Half-Day Trip from Amsterdam

Paula K Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

It would be better to start the tour later in the evening on summer nights as it was only getting dark when the trip was over. It's a good value for money.

Doing what: Amsterdam Canals Candlelight Cruise Including Wine and Cheese

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message