Anchorage ATTRACTIONS See all

Portage Glacier

If you’re staying in Anchorage and reading about the glaciers that are so much a part of Alaska, then head to Portage Glacier, just a little more than an hour outside of the city. Portage Glacier is truly worth the drive. Once you’re here, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed the trip immensely. John was a great guide - very personable and knowledgable on all topics throughout the tour.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Corliss B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful Experience - Very knowledgeable Tour Guide - also recommending local things for us to do after the Tour. The food was wonderful at the café! Saw many animals at the Conservatory including Bears, Moose and he even stopped by a local stream where we saw Salmon. The Glacier cruise was fabulous. I highly recommend - it was everything and more. Thank you Viator

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Nicholas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kevin from Salmon Berry was an amazing tour guide, very knowledgeable, polite, and courteous. The boat ride on the Glacier Cruise is like nothing I've ever done or seen before. Absolutely breath taking.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

sandys0702

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very much enjoyed this tour even though weather was not good. Portage Glacier was awesome to see and the history given on the tour was wonderful. Good day.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Cynthia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour with our animated and informative group leader!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Monika P Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Emily R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a last minute tour to eat up some time we had in anchorage before our late night flight. So glad we booked this! Guide John was incredible! Had a vast knowledge of the area and Alaska history and was so proud to share it. Glacier tour was awesome and the wildlife center was unbelievable

Doing what: Glaciers and Wildlife - Super Scenic Guided Day Tour from Anchorage

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great option for getting the see the beauty of the Wittier/Anchorage area while being transferred from the Wittier terminal to the Anchorage airport, especially if you are part of a family or other group of up to 9 people. For about the same cost as it would have been for individual transfers booked through the cruise line, we were able to get a private van pulling a small trailer for our luggage with an engaging and extremely knowledgeable tour guide. Mike had done his research ahead of time based on our interests and had lined up a series of moderate hikes to some of the more spectacular scenery in the area. He was also extremely flexible, allowing us to linger in the areas where we wanted and changing the itinerary based on our schedule. I would highly recommend both this operator and this tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Whittier Cruise Transfer and Tour

Bill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great way to end our vacation! We had the best day, full of beauty, nature and food!

Doing what: Private Tour: Whittier Cruise Transfer and Tour

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was wonderful! Derek, our guide was all a guide should be...efficient, friendly and very knowledgeable! The day was rainy, but the views were amazing. The portage glacier cruise was worth the extra cost. The animal conservation center was better than I anticipated, and dinner at The Bakery in Girdwood was de licious!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

faith.m.quick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour and guide, very informative. Great advance communication for a traffic back up that required change in pick up time. We liked the door-to-door service and delicious meal--sour dough bread and vegetable soup were the best!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent experience with a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm Tour

Bonnie C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The scenery was fantastic. Our tour guide Shermaine was very professional and we had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Gloria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great introduction to Alaska! Had a little bit of everything ( views, history, wildlife and glaciers) and our guide Kevin was great!!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Steve H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One consistent with Viator is their tour guides and Justin did Viator proud. Personable, knowledgable and just fun was Justin. The vehicle used was comfortable, there was plenty of water and snacks and lunch was awesome. This is a awesome tour that captures a glimpse of Alaska.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The guide was very knowledgable and entertaining. would definitely recommend this tour to anyone coming to Anchorage.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Roger F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The contractor that you picked to do the tour is excellent and after staying in Alaska I found out that this small contractor is state wide rather only in Anchorage which doesn't matter because the tour was worth every penny of my money.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Deana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip, enjoyed Mt Alyeska....the lunch was so good and the homemade cinnamon rolls were awesome. Our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

AZ United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful scenery throughout and a great tour guide from Salmon Berry Tours.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

YASMIN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour and our tour guide were amazing. : I really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Mathew J R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide Sarah was excellent. It is a very fun collection of different activities!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message