Anchorage ATTRACTIONS See all

Portage Glacier

If you’re staying in Anchorage and reading about the glaciers that are so much a part of Alaska, then head to Portage Glacier, just a little more than an hour outside of the city. Portage Glacier is truly worth the drive. Once you’re here, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rob_kir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is pretty much a full day tour in a small, comfortable custom van/bus. There was plenty of space for back packs, camera bags, etc. The pick-up and drop-off was convenient as advertised. We opted for the very up close and informative glacier cruise. Definitely worth the time and extra expense. Our driver/guide was a very knowledgeable local lady who definitely knew the area, making the tour that much more inclusive and interesting. The highlight of this tour, for us, was the stop at a wild game preserve. We got an up close look at moose, elk, black and brown bears, wolves and porcupine in their natural environment. The entire tour was fun, informative and relaxing.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Joseph W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide was extremely knowledgable and fun to be with! He treated all the passengers with respect.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Jacqueline R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great way to see some areas around Anchorage for us who only had one day for it! We saw beluga whales, ascended a mountain in a cable car, took a cruise to see a glacier calve, visited an animal sanctuary for local wildlife, and much more. We traveled as a small group, and our guide was fantastic. The somewhat steep price was well worth it!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Nancy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful experience traveling with Rebecca our tour guide. She was informative, friendly and really cared for her passengers.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

mcj299

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The scenery on the way to and from our stops was spectacular and we learned SO much for our tour guide, Chloe, who had a wealth of knowledge. Lunch was as delicious as promised. No one could do seconds even though it was family style service. The tram ride up Mt. Alyeska was breathtaking and impressive. We did not take the optional glacier cruise as it was already full. Well worth it!! Very comfortable travel coach, too.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Gerard C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day! Our guide Kevin did an excellent job. Everything about the tour was well organised and even better than we had expected.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We enjoyed the trip immensely. John was a great guide - very personable and knowledgable on all topics throughout the tour.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Corliss B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful Experience - Very knowledgeable Tour Guide - also recommending local things for us to do after the Tour. The food was wonderful at the café! Saw many animals at the Conservatory including Bears, Moose and he even stopped by a local stream where we saw Salmon. The Glacier cruise was fabulous. I highly recommend - it was everything and more. Thank you Viator

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Nicholas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Kevin from Salmon Berry was an amazing tour guide, very knowledgeable, polite, and courteous. The boat ride on the Glacier Cruise is like nothing I've ever done or seen before. Absolutely breath taking.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

sandys0702

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very much enjoyed this tour even though weather was not good. Portage Glacier was awesome to see and the history given on the tour was wonderful. Good day.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Cynthia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a great tour with our animated and informative group leader!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Monika P Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Emily R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a last minute tour to eat up some time we had in anchorage before our late night flight. So glad we booked this! Guide John was incredible! Had a vast knowledge of the area and Alaska history and was so proud to share it. Glacier tour was awesome and the wildlife center was unbelievable

Doing what: Glaciers and Wildlife - Super Scenic Guided Day Tour from Anchorage

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great option for getting the see the beauty of the Wittier/Anchorage area while being transferred from the Wittier terminal to the Anchorage airport, especially if you are part of a family or other group of up to 9 people. For about the same cost as it would have been for individual transfers booked through the cruise line, we were able to get a private van pulling a small trailer for our luggage with an engaging and extremely knowledgeable tour guide. Mike had done his research ahead of time based on our interests and had lined up a series of moderate hikes to some of the more spectacular scenery in the area. He was also extremely flexible, allowing us to linger in the areas where we wanted and changing the itinerary based on our schedule. I would highly recommend both this operator and this tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Whittier Cruise Transfer and Tour

Bill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great way to end our vacation! We had the best day, full of beauty, nature and food!

Doing what: Private Tour: Whittier Cruise Transfer and Tour

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was wonderful! Derek, our guide was all a guide should be...efficient, friendly and very knowledgeable! The day was rainy, but the views were amazing. The portage glacier cruise was worth the extra cost. The animal conservation center was better than I anticipated, and dinner at The Bakery in Girdwood was de licious!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

faith.m.quick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour and guide, very informative. Great advance communication for a traffic back up that required change in pick up time. We liked the door-to-door service and delicious meal--sour dough bread and vegetable soup were the best!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Kelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent experience with a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Turnagain Arm Tour

Bonnie C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The scenery was fantastic. Our tour guide Shermaine was very professional and we had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Gloria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great introduction to Alaska! Had a little bit of everything ( views, history, wildlife and glaciers) and our guide Kevin was great!!

Doing what: Seward Highway Tour from Anchorage: Turnagain Arm, Mt Alyeska and Optional Glacier Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message