Antalya ATTRACTIONS See all

Hierapolis & Pammukkale

Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. Its ruins are a popular day trip from Antalya as are the spectacular white cliffs of Pamukkale. As you near the ancient city ruins of Hierapolis, you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

this tour was excellent , the hotel magnificent and kusadasi nice, well worth it

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant tour, the guide Begum was fantastic : lots of info, very good English, always helpful and smiling.
Driver and car was very good also - felt safe.
Pamukkale is worth visiting - unique in the world.

Doing what: Pamukkale Day Tour from Kusadasi

Traveller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Rich historic sites: Troy, Ephesus and Hierapolis. The guide was very knowledgeable. Gallipoli is of interest to those with an interest in the Second War history. The views are beautiful. Hierapolis if you are really interested in the history it is difficult to cover the 8km and the calcium terrace especially on a blazing hot day. It would be worthwhile to take the motor bike. No helmet! When excavation/restoration are completed on this site it will be stunning. Lots of driving in a comfortable van. It is really a four day tour the fifth is mostly driving back to Istanbul. Given the value of time an option may be to spend the day exploring and fly back to Istanbul in the evening.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Dante V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Karavan Travel people are the best. Especially Sertac Erarslan and Ms. Sevcan. They made sure that I won't have any difficulty with my re-entry into Turkey after our Aegean cruise.
It was an amazing adventure. Everything was seamless, from my arrival in Istanbul up to my flight back to Manila.
I saw all the must-see sights in my itinerary with very knowledgeable, helpful, and entertaining guides.
I highly recommend this tour for people who wants a taste of the very rich Turkish and Greek cultures.

Doing what: 8-Day Turkey and Greece Tour from Istanbul: Greek Islands and Athens Cruise plus Ephesus, Pamukkale and Cappadocia by Bus

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. I enjoyed it so much that I can't stop talking about this tour. The local tour agency that handled this wonderful great experience of Turkey. Ergun Akkan our tour leader is a jewel of this trip and for the company. He is an intelligent, loving, caring and knowledgeable and who truly loves his country. Our group are so lucky to have toured with him in explaining the history, the people of Turkey. Of course Gokhan our captain driver of the entire 7 day journey kept us very safe and on time schedule. He is as nice as Ergun. I would encourage everyone to join this tour when in Turkey to truly see the beauty of Turkey not just staying in Istanbul. I will definitely go back cause we were not able to do the hot air balloon ride due to strong wind situation. Keep it up Viator and the local tour operator. I have gained friends in this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations in both content and value for money. A large modern and comfortable bus was provided for our transportation and it was driven safely and gently at all times by our driver Gorkan.

Our guide Ergun demonstrated a rare ability to communicate freely in English and, at the same time, convey the passion and pride that he felt for his country as a Turk. His enthusiasm led us into areas we never expected to as he conveyed the history of Turkey to us. It was always appropriate to the location and particularly interesting.

We were fortunate to have a small group of travellers who bonded well and communicated freely throughout the seven days. The Australians in particular were quite moved during the visit to the Gallipoli Peninsula. Each of the other sites were fantastic in both historic content and visual impact. The contrast between the ancient history of Troy, the natural beauty of Pamukkale and the fairy chimneys of Cappadocia was truly amazing.

The accomodation provided was not five star but each location was different in theme and more than adequate for any traveller's needs. Despite the current spectre of security in Turkey, at no time did we feel unsafe or threatened.

Overall, an excellent tour managed by a most capable and entertaining guide.

John

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Tamara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour guide was able to visit this within our time frame even though we were only on a one day stop on our cruise ship. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was great fun to talk to would highly reccomed everyone to see the travertines they are just amazing.

Doing what: Private Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Tour from Kusadasi

Miguel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Everything was awesome
Thanks to Çagman and Arien

You should include Istanbul on the tour

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Donald A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fabulous. My husband and I were a little nervous about touring turkey but the US state department said to go-just avoid the Syrian border. Off we went and were so pleased. Turkey is just an amazing country and this tour gives you a taste of the history from ancient, to byzantine and ottoman. Our tour guide Charmon was 5 star. He knew and explained the history and had a knack to find out of the way places for lunch in this gourmet country. Thank you
Gretchen Deresz

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Kimberley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour covering the highlights of Turkey. Amazingly knowledable guide (Cagman) and OMG the FOOD!!! Included meals were great and varied and our guide took us to great (cheap and varied) places for lunches. Accommodation was generally good.
Overall unbeatable value for money.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Ashlee N P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing tour! Charman our guide was fantastic. 5 stars for knowledge. The iris hotel in Cannukale was ok. The bed was really hard and uncomfortable but room was clean. The other hotels were very good. Overall a very good experience and I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Sing Chow L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Generally speaking, this tour is a good one and the areas covered are rather extensive for a regular tourist. I have 2 suggestions for Viator and the tour company operator.
1. Local tour operator: offer travelers an option to have lunch separate from the group. We almost felt like pressured to have lunch together everyday.
2. Viator says tips are optional. the local tour operator gave us a package which suggests US35 per person. I would like Viator to make this very clear on its web page. No surprises please.
One suggestion for tourist participants: IF POSSIBLE, DO NOT ACCEPT THE OFFER FROM COMPANY TO CUT ANKARA and go back to Istanbul sooner. Ankara is a place you want to see and Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was Turkey's national hero. His memorial is a MUST SEE.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

ibis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

the tour was wonderful. very comprehensive with plenty of time in each location. the bus was super clean and the driver was nice. also the tour guide was very nice and caring about the passengers. loved the stop in kusadasi at the family restaurant. very authentic. the hotel in canakkale was 3* the most. all hotels had plenty of food for breakfast and dinner. in Summary: very relaxing and don't need anything else to enjoy Turkey. "TeCheKur".

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Mik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very difficult to put in to words how amazing this tour was. From Gallipoli to Pamukkale, every single moment was sensational. The in depth discussions about every place visited to the food we were eating at each stop was great. Charma sp? the guide was out of this world awesome and incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Turkey. I highly highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see the awesome sites of Turkey, but definitely look at going for the 7 day tour to get even more.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Helen M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip exceeded out expectations, our guide was well organised informative and spoke very good english, we say so many interesting sites , and our accommodation was excellent, overall it was very enjoyable and excellent value. Would have no hesitation in recommending this trip.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fez travel provided a superb driver and an outstanding tour guide Mahmet. My wife and I considered it the absolute highlight of our two weeks in Turkey

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

His

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good company of Aussies and Kiwis which makes this trip excellent. Not to forget a couple of South Africans. Hotel choices were good enough and we visited all the relevant historical sites.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was my first trip to Turkey and having spent a week in Istanbul I was keen to try more and took the 6 day small group tour which was very successful and highly recommended. Organisation, including pickups, transfers, guides, and hotel selection worked very well. It was a really good way to get a snapshot of the highlights. Ephesus was a great start with well preserved Roman ruins, and Pamukkale was spectacular with it's salt cliffs, travertine pools and the sheer scale of the site which would have been enormous originally. Cappadocia was must-see and am glad we spent several days there - definitely worth it. The hike was different than advertised Love Valley just me and the guide, very easy and peaceful. The rock formations, the Open Museum in Goreme is an incredible experience as was The Underground City, and my guide was able to get me into the hot air ballooning at short notice and was a complete knockout, well worth the high price. If time is limited, you want to see the highlights well without a rush and very comfortably, you won't regret it.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Steve M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

An excellent tour that covers the main attractions in western Turkey hitting all the major attractions. Excellent hotels at all destinations. The tour guide was really friendly and helpful always took us to places that weren't tourist traps to eat and shop. Wished we spent more time in Bursa but it seemed like we were rushing at the end. Also the ferry from Bursa to Istanbul at the end should be covered by the cost of the tour. Otherwise, overall good tour.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

Pui Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I had the worst tour guide experience EVER. His name was Cagman. He appeared to be very knowledgeable about the history of Turkey. However, his attitude, tone of voice, and facial expression were absolutely unacceptable. Anytime, if one of us asked him a question, he would unmistakably let you know that you were annoying him.. It got to be a point that we were all pretty quiet during the 7-days trip. Two of the young ladies got a tongue lashing by Cagman because they cancelled their booking for the hot air balloon ride. He yelled at me in the van in front of everyone for not going on the hot air balloon ride stating that it was a bad decision. He also took us to two of his recommended restaurants to taste home style Turkish food. The first one was okay, but the second one absolutely terrible.

It is important for a guide to be knowledgeable, but the most important quality is, no doubt, good people skill. Cagman definitely is in the wrong line of work.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback, we have heard back about this review from our tour operator, their response follows: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. We were surprised to hear your experience with this particular guide as he typically receives excellent reviews and feedback. However, the reality is that your experience was different, and I am sincerely sorry that for you this was the case. While an apology doesn’t alter the outcome of your experience, we do offer it with all sincerity. You can be assured that we take feedback very seriously, and we have systems in place to investigate complaints and counsel staff accordingly. We have used your feedback as part of our performance management processes. We do expect our staff to make our guests aware of any optional activities that are available to round out their trip to Turkey, however guests should never feel pressured to sign up to these. Your experience highlights to us the importance of making sure that all of our guides are sensitive to this, and so this issue will be raised during future staff training. We have also followed up on the issue that you have raised regarding the standard of meals during your tour, and thank you for alerting us to this. Thank you again for raising these issues with us – quality is very important to us, and we appreciate it when our guests let us know when something isn’t right. Best wishes.

teddie p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour is amazing, The best way to see the country and the sites, which are very busy. Our tour guide was Metin Pehlivan and he was amazing, very nice and knowledgeable and helpful and just a funny guy. Busses are clean and comfortable with lots of pit stops, Hotels were above average with the last Everen stone house being amazing!! Food was good, mostly buffets which is good, something for everyone, The sites were amazing!! So incredible!!! This is the best tour we have done and if you have the means book the hot air balloon over Cappadocia it is worth the money and just breathtaking!!!!!!!!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Outstanding, great places to visit, wonderful guide and driver

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message