Antigua ATTRACTIONS See all

La Merced Cathedral

This gorgeous Baroque-style church features a soft, buttery yellow exterior complimented by white trim. Originally a male monastery, La Merced was originally built in 1548. Later, in 1749, Juan de Dios began work on building today's church, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

a facinating insight into the mayan way of life and the beauty of Antigua city, reastaurant was charming iff a little expensive

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

zoehler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful complete secure and best hotels guides and transport. Everything happen as they told before. An excellent tour operator.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Joel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The bus driver was great,

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

dudleym

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

First I want to start off saying that our tour guide Juan Pablo, and driver Juan were excellent! They were the ones that really made the tour worth it. Juan picked us up from the hotel 10 minutes early and was a safe and skilled driver. We took this tour on our first day during our trip to Guatemala, although the other two couples were on the last day of their trip. In total our tour group had 7 people. I must say that Juan Pablo was one of the best tour guides I have ever had. Not only was he friendly and knowledgable, but he was also extremely accommodating and gracious, especially towards my elderly mother. He even picked up her ring which had to be sized at the jade factory during our lunch! Antigua itself was beautiful and Guatemala City was bustling just like any other city. Would definitely recommend as an introduction to Guatemala!

Doing what: Guatemala City and Antigua Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Pamela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I loved my visit to Guatemala. Guatemalan Adventures had everything planned and their tourguides - such as Michelangelo and drivers such as Henry were always prompt and very informative. They provided ample time to visit the mayan ruins and the accommodations were great!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Alan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were mainly interested in Iximche and the tour guide was excellent , he had excellent English and was very knowledgable on the Mayan ruins and culture .

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day, made even better by our outstanding guide Miguel who was friendly, informative and even went out of his way to bring us to a store when my wife needed some items.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Snita M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Iximche tour was fun.. the guide had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the tour.. the city tour was meh.... the churches were closed in the afternoon.. most of the places we saw from outside.. and took pics.. we were able to spend 3 hrs.. but i am not sure if we needed a guide.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Maite A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good experiencia
Very good frienly and good speaker guise tour

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Judith M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Miguel was our Guide for this excursion. He has a world of information about the Mayan culture. His knowledge about Iximche helped bring the site alive. The stops that were made in Antigua City were wonderful to see. It was great walking through the city and seeing the people as they go about their daily lives.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Song H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I got a private tour! The day is packed with activities and plenty of chances to shop and taking photos. Highly recommended if you want the best of two worlds Mayan ruins and Spanish history in one short period of time. I had only one day and this tour is ideal.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

y_kchin Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Nice tourguide and driver but terrible traffics

Doing what: Guatemala City and Antigua Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour organized by Guatemalan adventure. Coffee tour is the best part. There was a misunderstanding of the places that we were taken compared to what was in the description. Contacted Lorena in the Guatemalan adventure was she was able to make it up by offering half day tour next day for free. Best customer service from Guatemalan adventure. Our tour guide Mirko Zea was nice too.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice and complete tour. Antigua is a lovely city and our guide was very professional and knowledgeable telling a lot about the history of the city. Lunch was very tasty. In the afternoon we went to Guatemala City and we walked along the city center. We had plenty of time to do shopping too!! I really recommend this tour. Sandra C.

Doing what: Guatemala City and Antigua Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Elizabeth K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great taste of Guatemala for a short stay. I was the only participant, so it was a private tour! Jose was great with excellent information about Antigua, Guatemala City, and Guatemala as a whole. Highly recommend this tour as a starting point if it is your first time to Guatemala or you are only here for a short business trip.

Doing what: Guatemala City and Antigua Full-Day Sightseeing Tour

Vidjaya R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you only have one day in Antigua, Guatemala this is a must! Excellent offering from Viator. Definitely provides a wonderful overview of this quaint, historical city. Mirko our guide was friendly, knowledgable and patient with our questions. Wear comfortable shoes as the majority of the city tour involves walking along the cobble stone streets of this fascinating city. The coffee plantation tour was a fantastic end to a wonderful day. Miguel the coffee estate guide was excellent! the overview of the festivals and instruments of the Mayans was an added treat! Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

Jim B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Mirko was an excellent guide, and we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The Mayan ruins were pretty cool, and this kind of whet my appetite for maybe a visit to Tikal if we ever get an opportunity to return to Guatemala.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Mayesha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Amazing, Antigua is charming and like something out of a storybook.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Jamie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We just got back from our trip and it was excellent, whoever organized and designed this trip did an excellent job, we got to see some of the most beautiful places in the country. When I first found this trip I was a little nervous because Viator doesn't have the best reviews so I did my research, called them a couple times to understand everything, and once I booked it I contacted the tour guides in Guatemala to be sure everything was arranged as planned and it was, everything went just as planned and we couldn't be happier. The hotels were way beyond what we expected, they were beautiful, romantic, had good food and great service. The tours were wonderful, we saw amazing things way beyond our imagination and it was nice not to have to worry about transportation. Our guides were wonderful, the one we had the most in Antigua was always on time, had a great personality, and was easy to work with. My only disappointment was the day in Tikal, it just wasn't enough time to explore and our guide talked way too much, he would stop us and give us a 5-10 minute lecture and then breeze by the structures when all I really wanted to do was see and explore as much as I could, I didn't want to feel like I was in school, so that was my only complaint. If you are interested in visiting Guatemala definitely book this trip, it was well worth it!!!

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Navnit B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An easy drive from Guatemala City. Interesting historic town but watch out for the very uneven cobble-stone streets and pavements. Be prepared for a lot of walking. The views from Cerro de la Cruz are lovely. The coffee museum is interesting. In their gift shop they sell a coffee liquore - it is really good. A lot of choice in handicrafts. Of course do bargain. Our guide, Armando, knows the town and its history very well and kept us engaged and interested throughout. Overall a nice trip but the walking over the cobbled stones really tired us out. The tour part as organized by Viator was good.

Doing what: Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

Bernadette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A very interesting tour made even more enjoyable by the very knowledgeable driver/guide. He patiently answered all the questions we posed and never once did he rush us through the tour. Well done Belisario!

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour from Guatemala City

sandra e

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Interesting tour. Lunch was good despite the appearance of it. Our tour guide Armando was deaf and did not fully understand English so none of our questions were fully answered. Wish we had a different tour guide.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Having had a previous positive experience using Viator, I booked the day tour of Antiqua and could not have been more pleased. Our guide, Mirko, was fabulous. The tour provided an invaluable orientation to the history and sites of this amazing city.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

Mei-Lan O

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The itinerary is well designed. Every place is worth visiting. All the drivers and guilds always showed up on time. We didn't feel unsafe at all throughout the trip. Camino Real Antigua and Hotel Atitlan are very good accommodation choices. But there are some problems with their trip quality assurance:
1) Our guide didn't take us to Santo Domingo Monastery in Antigua. We spent more time in Azotea Coffee Farm watching video.
2) Our guide didn't take us to Santiago de Atitlan. He took us to Santa Catarina and Santa Antonio.
3) Our guide didn't take to Iximché.
4) Our local guide at Tikal explained a lot about other acropolis, temples...but didn't explain anything at the most seen Grand Plaza.
5) Hotel Peten Esplendido was not as nice as other accommodations.
6) Not agency's issue...it's a nice hike onto the top of Pacaya Volcano, but we didn't get to see any lava flowing.

And I want to say our local guide at Yaxha did a great job. Too bad I forgot his name.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Guatemala Tour: Antigua, Pacaya Volcano, Lake Atitlan and Tikal Ruins

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message