The most popular tourist city in Guatemala, Antigua is not only a great place to explore itself, but also provides a fantastic jumping off point for plenty of historic and cultural attractions outside its borders. From touring historic sites and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour, with an excellent guide. Mirko made sure to explain everything along the way.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Rudy D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We arranged with Viator for a driver and guide to take us from Antigua to Pacaya volcano, which entailed an hour drive. Our driver arrived punctually, was good natured, and spoke English well. He graciously introduced us to the local guide who would be taking us up the mountain, and he too was fluent in English, mostly knowledgeable about the flora and fauna we encountered, and in great shape. The hike up to the 6,000 foot viewing area was intensely steep, but well worth the effort - you do need to be in reasonably decent shape to make the hike. Bring along some food for the chucho's, the adorable and tame street dogs you'll encounter on the trail. Be careful of the caca from the horses - the locals employ them for lazy gringos who can't make it up the mountain on their own two legs. Note that you do not ascend all the way up to the summit of Pacaya - it's one of the most active volcanoes in the country and was venting thick white columns of steam and noxious gases while we were there. Our guide brought anjelitos - marshmallows - so that we could roast them on the still hot lava rocks found at a terminal moraine formed by the last eruption in 2014.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Steven W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the second day we had Miguel as a guide, and we were looking forward to another great adventure. The previous day we had discussed the traffic situation on the way to the lake, and we decided to get an earlier start. Miguel picked us up promptly, and we were on our way. He made sure to tell us the history of a lot of the towns we drove through as well as the cultural significance of many of the locations we drove by. We stopped for breakfast at a local restaurant at about the halfway point in the drive to sample some of the local dishes and the excellent Guatemalan coffee. After a breakfast of fresh fruit and freshly made tortillas with an excellent jam, we were back on the road. We took in some breathtaking views while driving into the mountains surrounding the lake, even stopping to get an excellent panoramic picture of the lake with two of the volcanoes towering over it.

Miguel again did a great job of telling us the history and culture of some of the small Mayan towns we drove through on the way to the lake. Once there, we boarded a boat to head out to San Juan La Laguna. The boat ride was a nice change of pace, and we really enjoyed crossing the lake while taking pictures of the volcanoes on the shore. On the way out, Miguel told us the history of the lake as well as some of the surrounding countryside.

San Juan La Laguna did not disappoint. There were several local Mayan artisans selling their artwork and textiles, and it was a very pleasant shopping experience. Miguel pointed out several of the murals painted on the walls, and we even got to meet one of the artists that painted some of them as well as shop in her gallery. We wandered into a local church and marveled at the architecture, and strolled the cobblestone streets while constantly looking around. We watched local artists spun cotton into different colored yarn to make several textile products you could buy right there in the shop. After picking up some Guatemalan coffee grown in the town and roasted the night before, it was time to head back across the lake.

The ride back was a little bumpier as the winds had kicked up, but it was still a fun experience. Once back on the other shore, we at lunch at a restaurant overlooking the lake. It was a beautiful view and one we'll remember for the rest of our lives. Miguel drove us back, we returned to the hotel, and we've been talking about our trip ever since.

I can't recommend the tour with Guatemalan Adventures enough, and I'm really happy with the service as well as the communication. Miguel was excellent, and the 2 year old that traveled with us loved him as well. If you're planning a trip to Guatemala, check them out.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Steven W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Hiking the Pacaya volcano was one of the main reasons we planned our trip to Guatemala. Booking through Guatemalan Adventures was easy and painless. We were met in the hotel lobby by our guide, Miguel, that morning running slightly late. That happens when you're traveling with a two year old, though. We got in the van, and then we were on our way to the volcano.

On the drive out, Miguel pointed out a lot of the local sites as we went by. He made sure to give us the history of some of the other volcanoes and point out two more on the drive to Pacaya. We even got a little bit of background information on Guatemala City. Miguel gave us an overview of what to expect when we got to the volcano as well as pointing out more natural sites on the way up.

When we arrived at the base of the volcano, there were several locals trying to sell us sticks or rent us horses. Best thing to do is just say No and keep walking if you don't want them. Miguel introduced us to another local guide making the climb with us, Luis. After a quick restroom break, we were on our way up.

The first little bit is a little steep and tough as it's almost rocky cobblestones. Once you're past that, it gets a bit easier. Luis and Miguel stopped several times to point out some of the local flora and fauna of interest, and we would stop several times for pictures overlooking some incredible views. The hike itself isn't strenuous if you're an active person, but I could see it being pretty tough for people that aren't used to physical exercise. Trekking poles would have definitely made the climb a bit easier, and we found ourselves wishing we had brought them a couple of times. Some of the spots get slippery in places, especially on the way down, but Luis and Miguel were always quick to point those areas out to us.

Once we got to the top or as close to the top as you can get without special permits, the view was well worth the work. It was simply stunning. We could see some steam rising out of Pacaya, and we had a great view of the Agua and Fuego volcanoes as well. Once we took in the view for a bit, we descended into a field of cooled lava rock. Well, most of it was cool. Stopping to roast marshmallows over a steam vent was one of the highlights of our trip. Dogs will follow you, but they're mostly just hoping you drop your marshmallows. Luis and Miguel had marshmallows with them, but if you have special dietary needs we're vegan, so the gelatin in normal marshmallows is a no-go for us, you can bring your own.

On the hike back down the mountain, the two year old traveling with us wanted to walk down rather than ride in my girlfriend's traveling pack she brought for him. Luis and Miguel helped him most of the way down the mountain, and he loved it! We left the volcano talking the whole way back about how the hike up and down was so amazing and incredible.

Once back at the hotel, I realized I might have left my cel phone in the van, so I emailed Guatemalan Adventures to ask about it. Miguel had my phone, turned around and drove 20 minutes back to our hotel just to bring my cel phone back to me. He was our guide the next day, so I was perfectly fine knowing my phone was safe, and I would have it tomorrow. I really appreciated the extra mile he went to get it back to me so quickly.

If you're planning a trip to Pacaya, I can't recommend Guatemalan Adventures enough. Book them knowing you'll be treated well, and if you get Miguel as your guide, know you're in for a first class experience.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Alan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were mainly interested in Iximche and the tour guide was excellent , he had excellent English and was very knowledgable on the Mayan ruins and culture .

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Hlavarreda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great Trip I cant say enough about it.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome family activity. The climb is fun and the views are spectacular. Miguel and Louis were great.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day, made even better by our outstanding guide Miguel who was friendly, informative and even went out of his way to bring us to a store when my wife needed some items.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Beth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you want the most experience out of the shortest time, this is the perfect day trip. You are very well taken care of from the time you are picked up until you are delivered back to your hotel. Everyone is professional and friendly. Our Tikal guide, Elder, was personable and knowledgeable and obviously cared about Mayan history. He was eager to share his knowledge. If possible, read up on your Mayan history to get the most of your experience here. There is quite a bit of walking on some rough terrain so wear appropriate shoes. Also, if possible, be prepared with mosquito repellent and sun protection. At the first stop on the way to Tikal you will be shown a small cultural exhibit then have a bit of free time to shop. But beware, the prices are very steep, so choose wisely.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Snita M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Iximche tour was fun.. the guide had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the tour.. the city tour was meh.... the churches were closed in the afternoon.. most of the places we saw from outside.. and took pics.. we were able to spend 3 hrs.. but i am not sure if we needed a guide.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

William C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

A very long 16 hour day! Hot humid 5 hour difficult
Hiking with no food until 230 pm. Loved seeing the pyramids but the tour pushes you to the limits
Hiking is moderately strenuous. Be prepared

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Aleia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible and worth every penny! It and #39;s a long trip but made easier by the friendliness and timeliness of the drivers and plane staff. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Tikal itself was unreal and is a must see. It was great to see Flores too. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Miguel was our Guide and he is so knowledgeable. From our pickup and drop-off in Antigua all aspects of this excursion were excellent. The drive to Panjachel was beautiful.The boat ride on Lake Atitlan was a wonderful experience and the visit to the village of Santiago de Atitlan was very exciting.
My husband and I give this excursion 5 STARS.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Judith M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Miguel was our Guide for this excursion. He has a world of information about the Mayan culture. His knowledge about Iximche helped bring the site alive. The stops that were made in Antigua City were wonderful to see. It was great walking through the city and seeing the people as they go about their daily lives.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Judith M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I already submitted a review.

Doing what: Mixco Viejo Day Trip from Antigua

Erik V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A very relaxing day trip. The hike is not so hard, the views are very nice, and the marshmallows were very tasty. We really enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Lawrence C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Amazing trip, so glad to have gotten to Tikal for the day all the way from Antigua. The place was amazing and the time spent was sufficient.

I knocked off 1 star for the following issues. I understand with flights involved, timelines need to be a bit loose, but I did find that it was a bit too loose with many many hours spent at airports waiting for the flights. The other issue of annoyance was that this all inclusive tour failed to mention that I had to pay departure airport tax out of Flores airport. They wouldn't even accept USD so that was quite annoying. Ended up having to use credit card just to get the flight home!

Otherwise, the guide was good, the transfers were good and Tikal itself was spectacular!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Simone W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour blew away my expectations!
We agreed our guide, Manuel, was the best guide we've ever had. He's been giving tours of Tikkal and Yaxha for 25 years and it shows! He's patient and knowledgeable, and he takes visitors through the sites in a unique way: unlike other guides who go straight for the big plazas first, he saves them for last. He even took us hiking off the paths so we could see the hidden back sides and ruins no one else visits!
The food was absolutely delicious! Both lunches were authentic Guatemalan 3-course spreads we even tried Maya nut chicken and soup! and the breakfast was filling and delicious.
And the hotel was the best hotel in the area -- a 5 store resort. After an early morning wake-up call to catch our flight and after hiking the ruins all day, it was just what we needed to relax and restore ourselves.
I highly recommend this trip!!

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Erick did a great job leading our small group! It was a beautiful hike with an informative and trustworthy guide.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Terri P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Fun trip for the whole family. I would highly recommend this!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Robin R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

What a complicated trip and it all worked out perfectly- a long and intriguing day and I didn't have to worry or make a plan all day

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Dennis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Trip was awesome!! Only glitch was the weather in Flores delayed departure by 30-40 minutes. the rain cleared out by the time we left in the shuttle. However, due to the delay, we were not able to spend any time in the museum/gift shop. Our guide was very informative and helpful, lunch was quite good, and the weather cleared up and was great the rest of the day with small shower here and there but nothing to dampen our excitement at visiting this amazing place!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Laura U

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This trip was wonderful, the driver was the best one we could have! He told us a lot of the history about Guatemala. He was an expert on driving besides it is a difficult road. The only thing we miss was our walk through Santander Street, we just went to it by car and that was it! We wonder why?

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Gabriele G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Just awful, not worth the money at all!

Doing what: Mixco Viejo Day Trip from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour organized by Guatemalan adventure. Coffee tour is the best part. There was a misunderstanding of the places that we were taken compared to what was in the description. Contacted Lorena in the Guatemalan adventure was she was able to make it up by offering half day tour next day for free. Best customer service from Guatemalan adventure. Our tour guide Mirko Zea was nice too.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message