The most popular tourist city in Guatemala, Antigua is not only a great place to explore itself, but also provides a fantastic jumping off point for plenty of historic and cultural attractions outside its borders. From touring historic sites and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 73 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome family activity. The climb is fun and the views are spectacular. Miguel and Louis were great.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Carlos S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day, made even better by our outstanding guide Miguel who was friendly, informative and even went out of his way to bring us to a store when my wife needed some items.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Beth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you want the most experience out of the shortest time, this is the perfect day trip. You are very well taken care of from the time you are picked up until you are delivered back to your hotel. Everyone is professional and friendly. Our Tikal guide, Elder, was personable and knowledgeable and obviously cared about Mayan history. He was eager to share his knowledge. If possible, read up on your Mayan history to get the most of your experience here. There is quite a bit of walking on some rough terrain so wear appropriate shoes. Also, if possible, be prepared with mosquito repellent and sun protection. At the first stop on the way to Tikal you will be shown a small cultural exhibit then have a bit of free time to shop. But beware, the prices are very steep, so choose wisely.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Snita M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Iximche tour was fun.. the guide had a lot of interesting things to tell us about the tour.. the city tour was meh.... the churches were closed in the afternoon.. most of the places we saw from outside.. and took pics.. we were able to spend 3 hrs.. but i am not sure if we needed a guide.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

William C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

A very long 16 hour day! Hot humid 5 hour difficult
Hiking with no food until 230 pm. Loved seeing the pyramids but the tour pushes you to the limits
Hiking is moderately strenuous. Be prepared

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Aleia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible and worth every penny! It and #39;s a long trip but made easier by the friendliness and timeliness of the drivers and plane staff. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Tikal itself was unreal and is a must see. It was great to see Flores too. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Miguel was our Guide and he is so knowledgeable. From our pickup and drop-off in Antigua all aspects of this excursion were excellent. The drive to Panjachel was beautiful.The boat ride on Lake Atitlan was a wonderful experience and the visit to the village of Santiago de Atitlan was very exciting.
My husband and I give this excursion 5 STARS.

Doing what: Lake Atitlán Sightseeing Cruise with Transport from Antigua

Judith M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Miguel was our Guide for this excursion. He has a world of information about the Mayan culture. His knowledge about Iximche helped bring the site alive. The stops that were made in Antigua City were wonderful to see. It was great walking through the city and seeing the people as they go about their daily lives.

Doing what: Iximché Ruins and Antigua City Tour

Judith M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I already submitted a review.

Doing what: Mixco Viejo Day Trip from Antigua

Erik V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A very relaxing day trip. The hike is not so hard, the views are very nice, and the marshmallows were very tasty. We really enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Lawrence C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Amazing trip, so glad to have gotten to Tikal for the day all the way from Antigua. The place was amazing and the time spent was sufficient.

I knocked off 1 star for the following issues. I understand with flights involved, timelines need to be a bit loose, but I did find that it was a bit too loose with many many hours spent at airports waiting for the flights. The other issue of annoyance was that this all inclusive tour failed to mention that I had to pay departure airport tax out of Flores airport. They wouldn't even accept USD so that was quite annoying. Ended up having to use credit card just to get the flight home!

Otherwise, the guide was good, the transfers were good and Tikal itself was spectacular!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Simone W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour blew away my expectations!
We agreed our guide, Manuel, was the best guide we've ever had. He's been giving tours of Tikkal and Yaxha for 25 years and it shows! He's patient and knowledgeable, and he takes visitors through the sites in a unique way: unlike other guides who go straight for the big plazas first, he saves them for last. He even took us hiking off the paths so we could see the hidden back sides and ruins no one else visits!
The food was absolutely delicious! Both lunches were authentic Guatemalan 3-course spreads we even tried Maya nut chicken and soup! and the breakfast was filling and delicious.
And the hotel was the best hotel in the area -- a 5 store resort. After an early morning wake-up call to catch our flight and after hiking the ruins all day, it was just what we needed to relax and restore ourselves.
I highly recommend this trip!!

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Erick did a great job leading our small group! It was a beautiful hike with an informative and trustworthy guide.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Terri P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Fun trip for the whole family. I would highly recommend this!

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

Robin R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

What a complicated trip and it all worked out perfectly- a long and intriguing day and I didn't have to worry or make a plan all day

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Dennis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Trip was awesome!! Only glitch was the weather in Flores delayed departure by 30-40 minutes. the rain cleared out by the time we left in the shuttle. However, due to the delay, we were not able to spend any time in the museum/gift shop. Our guide was very informative and helpful, lunch was quite good, and the weather cleared up and was great the rest of the day with small shower here and there but nothing to dampen our excitement at visiting this amazing place!

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Laura U

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This trip was wonderful, the driver was the best one we could have! He told us a lot of the history about Guatemala. He was an expert on driving besides it is a difficult road. The only thing we miss was our walk through Santander Street, we just went to it by car and that was it! We wonder why?

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

Gabriele G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Just awful, not worth the money at all!

Doing what: Mixco Viejo Day Trip from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour organized by Guatemalan adventure. Coffee tour is the best part. There was a misunderstanding of the places that we were taken compared to what was in the description. Contacted Lorena in the Guatemalan adventure was she was able to make it up by offering half day tour next day for free. Best customer service from Guatemalan adventure. Our tour guide Mirko Zea was nice too.

Doing what: Antigua City Sightseeing Tour

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good tour from Guatemalan Adventure. Our guide Winston drove us to their and the local guide Marvin took us to the volcano. Winston was nice and he explained a lot of things about country and culture on our way. Best part was the marshmallows getting cooked due to the heat of the solid lava from last year. It is a long hike up and down the mountains so be prepared to walk. They also have horses which can take you back and forth the mountain for around 200 GTQ i believe. You wont be going to the actual Pacaya as it is active and is emitting harmful gasses but you will be close and walking on the lava from the previous eruptions.

Doing what: Pacaya Volcano Day Trip from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour from Guatemalan adventure is excellent except for the expensive hotel that they put us is in Camino Real Tikkal. Dinner and drinks are expensive so be prepared if in case you are on a budget. But the hotel has nice view of the lake and it is very pretty with all the ammenties. You might have to pay for wifi. We were taken on time to the airport small one beside the La aurora airport - sharing the same run way in the morning. Airport is little small and it is chaotic so be prepared and flights usually don't run on time. Make sure to have your passport. Tikkal and Yaxha are a long drive from the airport and also from each other. Our guide in Tikkal was Lopez was he was good and explained a lot about the ruins and the forests. It was a wonderful experience seeing the Mayan ruins and walking through the rainforests and getting to see all different animals and birds. Lunch is Tikkal that was provided is ok and not authentic. Yaxha was totally different compared to Tikkal it is small but very calm and peaceful away from all the crowds. We stopped at an authentic resturant for lunch and it was pretty good. We had finished our tour early so our guide took us to flores to spend some time near the lake and it was very beautiful.

Doing what: Tikal and Yaxha Overnight Trip by Air from Antigua

k.raghuveer007

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

This tour from Guatemalan adventure is ok. Market and Lake are a long drive from Antigua. Market I believe is almost 3 hrs and lake is around 1 - 1:30 hr from the Market and drive back from lake is around 3 hrs. Roads are windy and you might get sick driving up and down the hills. Traffic jams can be expected too. Market itself is nice and colorful. You can find lot of stuff to buy and you can negotiate the prices too. Our guide Ramirez I believe was a nice guy and very informative and kept us engaged throughout the trip. Lake is beatuiful surrounded by volcanoes but you wont have much time to spend at the lake. We had lunch near a lake side resturarant and spent around 15-20 mins and headed back. We couldn't find good place to walk around lake. More of resturants where we were stopped and it was dirty to walk.

Doing what: Chichicastenango and Panajachel Day Trip from Antigua

lalyblue61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must for any trip, especially first trip, to Guate. Despite unforseen glitches, such as no light in the airport office, the guides and the drivers were punctual, absolutely attentive and very knowledgeable.
Thanks for coordinating such a great experience for us.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

mrakshys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well organized and great guide.

Doing what: Tikal Day Trip by Air from Antigua with Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message