Arequipa ATTRACTIONS See all

Colca Canyon (Canon del Colca)

Located about 100 miles northwest of Arequipa, Colca Canyon is a canyon of the Colca River. Its main claim to fame is being touted as the “world’s deepest canyon,” with a depth of 13,650 feet. Colca Canyon can be explored in many ways, like hiking, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

adalas

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good trip, everything went well and we even saw 7 condors close to us. You can overcome the altitude effects with some tea and coca candies.

Doing what: Overnight Tour: Colca Canyon Including Horse Riding from Arequipa

Craig H

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was more of a transfer with a sandwich than a tour. The bus was comfortable and the staff cared for the passengers more than a bus ride but the places of interest happened to be along the way rather than being destinations in their own right.

Doing what: Bus from Puno to Chivay

Rodney C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip blessed with the most beautiful sunset with smoking volcanoe as well.
Loved it!

Doing what: 2-Day Group Tour to Colca Canyon from Arequipa to Puno

Siva United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

We took the Viatorlocal operator colonial tours overnight tour of Colca Canyon from Arequipa with Puno as the final destination.

We were picked at our hotel by 7.30 in the morning. There is a steady increase in the altitude from 2500 meters to almost 5000 meters at Patapampa within next 4 hours with stops in between to look at flora and fauna of the region. Our guide Ali did a wonderful job in explaining everything in detail. Lunch was provided at Chivoy as part of tour and there were wide vegetarian options. After lunch we were dropped at our hotels for the overnight stay. Our hotel was Eco Inn room rent part of tour package in a nearby town Yanque. There was optional tour to Hot springs in Chivoy in the afternoon and many of us took it instead of spending the afternoon in the hotel room. We were picked up at hotel at 3 pm and dropped back by 6 pm. The hot springs though more like a swimming pool was an enjoyable experience. The admission ticket was 15 soles.

After an early breakfast we left our hotel by 6.30 for our trip to Colca canyon which is about 50 km from Chivoy. We were in the Canyon area by 8.30 and were given about an hour to enjoy the views. People also wait here to have a look at the Candor but we were not fortunate as the bird did not turn up. On the way back there were multiple stops at different view points and we reached Chivoy by noon for lunch.

We were transferred to Puno bus operator 4M which left Chivoy at 1 pm and it took about 6 hours to each Puno. There were a couple of stops on the way mainly for rest room break and snacks. Our guide Susanna was quite helpful in making our this tedious trip due to altitude comfortable. We reached Puno by 7 pm and were transferred to our hotel by the local operator of Viator, Cultural Immersion.

Overall the trip was good but Canyon views as such were I guess a bit over rated.

Doing what: 2-Day Group Tour to Colca Canyon from Arequipa to Puno

ROSENIL S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was amazing, the guide and the driver are really kind, helpful and did try their best to make the trip as comfortable and as enjoyable as they could.
I'm not rating 5 starts because we had some issues regarding our embarking on the bus which was a bit stressful. Our guide stayed with us until the issues were resolved, still I was expecting a smooth, problem-free tour.
I still recommend this tour to anyone who's spending some time in this amazing country.

Doing what: 2-Day Group Tour to Colca Canyon from Arequipa to Puno

monica g United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing and exceeds expectations. The only thing I would recommend to people is to do a two night stay in the canyon instead of only one. The resort we stayed , the Colca Canyon Lodge, was beautiful , it had a great staff , and the hot springs were the bests we have been.

Doing what: Colca Valley Overnight Tour from Arequipa: Colca Canyon, Vicuna Reserve and Condors

Lauren B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was great. The guide was very punctual and friendly.

Doing what: Colca Valley Overnight Tour from Arequipa: Colca Canyon, Vicuna Reserve and Condors

Lucia S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour - two day tour is well planned and gives you time to enjoy the trip. The views of the canyon were amazing. We stayed at El Refugio hotel in Chivay - definitely the best hotel due to the views of the canyon. It is outside the city, but the tour guides do all the transportation so you have nothing to worry about.

Doing what: Colca Valley Overnight Tour from Arequipa: Colca Canyon, Vicuna Reserve and Condors

Rosemary D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic tour and loved all that we saw. Watching the condors from the edges of the canyon was just magical -the flew so close to us and the scenery of the snow capped mountains in the backgroud was amaazing. Our guide was great, all the stops along the way were interesting and Chivay and the other smaller towns we stopped and visited certainly gave us a snapshot of Peruvian life and customs. We saw 14 condors the day that we went -they were incredible, and we got lots of great photos.

Doing what: Colca Valley Overnight Tour from Arequipa: Colca Canyon, Vicuna Reserve and Condors

Matthias W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great views, very nice guide, fantastic Hotel and lots of condors! Simply awesome in the Classic sense of the word!

Doing what: Colca Valley Overnight Tour from Arequipa: Colca Canyon, Vicuna Reserve and Condors

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message