Named after the Egyptian President who started the process, Lake Nasser is a result of the construction of the Aswan High Dam which effectively modernised Egypt, doubling its electic supply and significantly increasing the amount of agricultural ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ilona B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The place itself is amazing and a must do however it was horribly expensive with this company. We had done other tours in egypt that were amazing and less than half the price with guides that were out going and extremely educated on diverse topics. On this tour I felt like we go there, we looked around and went back. On the other tours at least they gave us water, food, and pleasant conversation. I would book once getting there unless you want to throw away a lot of money! The worst thing is after paying all that money, Then they asked for a tip after. I would not go with this company, but I would definitely go to Abu Simbel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Leith Patrick K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We flew to Abu SImbel with our guide. The history of the temple, the relocation of it in the 1960s to make way for Lake Nassar and the High Dam at Aswan, made the experience even more awesome. Highly recommend Fouad from South Sanai Tours local agent for Viator. We have had other guides in Egypt and they pale in comparison to his knowledge and expertise.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

JANET S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Viator representative in Aswan, Amir, was extremely helpful in helping arrange the tour. He picked us up from hotel, took to Airport, picked up upon return and took to boat. Excellent service!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Mats U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were met up at the train station at Aswan and immediately felt well taken care of. We then travelled in a mini bus in a convoy to Abu Simbel, which took three hours one way. The guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable and gave us the historical background on the Aswan Dam and Abu Simbel. The ride thorough the Sahara desert was an experience in it self. The Abu Simbel temple was magnificent! We had a tight schedule and needed to catch our train to go back to Cairo and the guide and the driver made every effort to make sure we made it on time. The tour was all in all very well organised and we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

GLj

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Fascinating place! Even if a long trip to get there, well worth it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Long journey but worth it, amazing to see
Guide was great

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

john g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Nice easy tour of the sites, great

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Alex C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My son characterized this exhibit as the Mount Rushmore of Egypt. He is correct. This is a amazing tour and the statues are along the back of a breathtaking lake. The whole scene is quite picturesque.
** It is a long commute from Aswan to Abu Simbel. 3 hours + / - You drive through the desert with a caravan of other tour vehicles for safety. Bring water and borrow the pillow from your hotel room :-)

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

latineyes69

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Abu Simbel is amazing. But don't pay for the private tour. We were with the "group" the entire time and the private guide didn't give us anything that the Lonely planet travel guide didn't offer. But definitely a must see on your trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Cody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

My guide (Michael) and driver (Peter) were both professional and on time. The drive is roughly 3 hours (I left with the early 4 a.m. convoy). Michael spoke fluent English, and upon arrival at the site we walked to the front of the massive mountain monuments. Michael explained both momuments and their interiors (Guides are not permitted inside) for perhaps 20 minutes before giving me a full 2 hours and 15 minutes to explore by myself. This is an amazing place and a must see. Just make sure you grab a drink as soon as you step out of the car because after about 10 minutes alone I walked backed to the parking lot to buy a drink.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This is a must see. The only drawback is you spend the extra money to shorten the day by flying instead of travelling by road but spend some 3 hrs at both airports.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Michael W

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

Good to see and listen to the Nubian history and way of life to-day

Doing what: Private Tour: The Nubia Museum

NKR Prabhu India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The trip was great experience

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

NKR Prabhu India

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Philae Temple has such a great location and the whole tour was very relaxing. Unfinished obelisk was awesome. But the high dam is just a dam...

Doing what: Private Tour: Philae Temple, Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

I had an exceptional experience with my tour through Viator, especially being a woman traveling alone to Egypt. A representative (Hedra) picked me up from my ship in Aswan, got my boarding pass for me at the airport, and sent me off. There were 2 more representatives who helped me during my tour at Abu Simbel which was awesome. There were barely any other tourists there so I felt I had the place to myself (good for me, not good for Egypt). Hedra was waiting for me back at the airport in Aswan and took me to my hotel (and waited while all my accommodations were arranged). Everyone was extremely kind and made the trip easy and enjoyable for me.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Charles B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Expensive but worth the trip. Personal pick-up and assistance the entire way made the trip very easy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Ronald M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The local agency met us at our boat when we arrived in Aswan and made arrangements to met us the next day at 3:45 am. The boat provided a box breakfast and coffee/tea. My son and I were the only participants, so we basically had a private tour. We went in a car with driver and guide. Abu Simbel is well worth the long drive and early morning departure. Afterwards they took us to our hotel in Aswan and arranged for transportation to the airport the next morning. Very impressed with the service and highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

cynthia k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The service provided by South Sinai Travel was excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Tarik T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

My only critic: Once the flight is e-booked and confirmation received, no information is given re exact flight times and e-communication with Viator is slow. Otherwise, no-nonsense, helpful and attentive local staff in Aswan and Abu Simbel, good logistics and timing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel Flight and Tour from Aswan

Geoffrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

absolutely brlliant. the trip, although long, was very comfortable with just the two of us..the actual time for looking at the temples was only one hour. i thought that was not enough time to see them.i was aware that we had to go in convoy but i felt we could have gone an hour later.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Lesley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Tour went well, a bit rushed at the site however. Guide should stay with customer longer I feel. Generally good.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Jeff O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Excellent and efficient - guide included. A personal tour, all excellent.

Doing what: Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message