Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Acropolis Museum

Until the 17th century, the Acropolis survived largely intact but since then a gunpowder accident, a Venetian bombing and tourists have taken their toll. After the creation of the Greek State, it was decided that a museum was needed to protect the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love, love, love this tour! Our guide was Greek and and an archeologist, so his knowledge of the history of Greece was very impressive. We went through the New Acropolis Museum first, which let the crowds and heat die down at the Acropolis. We spent about 2 hours touring the Museum. Once we got to the Acropolis, the crowds had thinned, and our guide took some really cool photos of us with the city and Parthenon. The dinner was EXCELLENT! One of the best we had during our time in Greece. This tour is worth the extra money if you're interested in history and want a real conversation with your guide, instead of someone just talking at you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked our tour while in Athens after realizing we'd like a little more information to know what we were looking at and the history behind it. Our tour guide Hermes was amazing, he did not disappoint! We actually ended up with a private tour of the Acropolis museum where he was very attentive and patient with our 10 year old son. It was very I formative and a great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Arie v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent and very informative tour of the fabulous Acropolis Museum!!
highly recommended in a beautiful, clean building, with great view of the Acropolis!
great value for money, incl entry ticket.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Derek M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aristotle was fantastic. Courteous, knowledgeable, and great with questions. This was a fantastic walking tour and highly recommended. The new Acropolis Museum is absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Jun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the best tours my wife and I have been on. I actually didn't realize that it was a private tour. I was expecting a small group of 4-6 but it was just the two of us with a wonderful guide, Thanakis. He's not just an archaeologist but a history professor at Geogetown. For something so significant and so rich with history, it's amazingly easy and affordable to visit the Acropolis and other archaeological sites in Athens. To make a visit to the Acropolis as special as it should be, visit it with a historian or an archaeologist. The insight, history, mythology, and rich information they can share will help you truly appreciate not only the ancient Greeks but the excruciatingly difficult work that goes into restoring the structures. I felt sorry for the majority of tourists who climbed the Acropolis just to take a selfie. It's so much more than that. I also suggest you visit the Acropolis museum AFTER you visit the Acropolis. They complement and enrich each other nicely. And a good guide can tell you the significance of the museum's architecture as well. This tour includes dinner and a bottle of wine at a nearby restaurant. The restaurant we went to was listed in 36 hours. Well done viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Stewart G USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the highlight of our visit to Athens. Our tour guide met us at our hotel and during a short walk to our first stop she gave us the itinerary she had arranged in advance. Our tour was set up by the tour guide so we would visit the New Acropolis Museum before we climbed to the Acropolis. This allowed us to learn about the Acropolis prior to actually visiting the site. Our tour guide was extremely informative with dates, history, and information we had never before knew existed about the Acropolis. We finished our tour with a quiet dinner at a Athens restaurant where the food was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a wonderful guide,
Evangelos, who escorted us through the New Acropolis Museum. He was very knowledgable and made sure to talk to all tour members. He shared fascinating insights into Greek culture, especially the swirling controversy surrounding ownership of Greek antiquities. Excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Rodney N F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an exciting day I was concerned for my wife as she has problems with her knee and walking but we were able to make it to the top of the Acropolis although it was very windy and cold that day just unbelievable this is a and it is must for anyone visiting Athens, then onto the New Acropolis Museum with our guide who was so informative and understanding of our silly questions, there are a great deal of things to see here it is a pity that you are not allow to take photos throughout the museum but that means we may have to go back. The Greek Dinner was spectacular full 3 course à la carte type meal and in a great location so good that we went back the next evening. We would recommend this to all those interested in seeing a part of Athens, from the old to the new.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

You can't visit Athens without visiting the Acropolis, and you shouldn't miss the New Acropolis Museum, which is very well done. Doing those things with the Vaitor guide made it all the more rewarding, as she was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We were a little skeptical about the post-tour dinner, but we were wrong! Great restaurant with a fabulous view of the Acropolis and a waitstaff and menu that did not make you feel like you were a tourist, just like you happened to be dining on wonderful food next to one of the world's great archeological treasures.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Thankis (spelling?) provided us with an excellent experience with history, mythology and current life in Greece. He adapted the our to allow for warm coffee in the Acropolis Museum as the weather was unseasonably cold-very appreciated.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Viator contracted Athens Walks for our tour and it was among the best tours we have ever experienced! Our tour guide was like a walking encyclopedia who knew everything about the Acropolis Museum, the history of Athens and Greece, and was so well versed that we didn't want the tour to end. The Acropolis Museum in and of itself is one of the best archaeological and art museums combined and it is designed in the most creative way. A must see when in Athens.
Our tour was also supposed to include the actual Acropolis, but the workers were on strike that day and the site was closed. Kostas at Athens Walks diligently tried to contact me beforehand to let me know and offer an alternative, but my phone was not working.
Kostas, of Athens Walks, made sure I was reimbursed the portion of the Acropolis admission, and was very apologetic, even though this was entirely out of his control. He insisted on treating to drinks at a local cafe and also invited us on a Food Tour of Athens he was running the following morning, at NO CHARGE.

The dinner portion of the tour was adequate but unnecessary. Frankly I prefer to choose my own restaurant, and there was a tiny bit of confusion once at the restaurant because our guide was no longer with us.

All in all this tour was phenomenal. We were very lucky that Viator booked ours through Athens Walks because we got the best possible guide ever!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I really enjoyed this tour for its ability to put the Parthenon and other temples of the Acropolis into context, with the Acropolis Museum as a great complement. Our guide and archaeology expert Thanasis had all kinds of interesting stories and facts about Ancient Athens to tell us as we walked around the museum. He was great at going beyond the descriptions already at the museum, providing us with more in-depth information. The museum sets the scene for going to the Acropolis itself, which we visited just before sunset. It was a bit cooler at that time of day (although still very warm!) and the light was really nice, especially for taking photos of the temples with Athens sprawled out below. Dinner was at a restaurant very near the Acropolis -- it was a short walk -- and the food (traditional Greek) was excellent. I know if I had done the museum and the Acropolis on my own, I wouldn't have nearly the knowledge of Ancient Athens that I have now, after seeing it with an expert guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Leah USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We did this tour our first day in Athens and it was the perfect choice to see the Acropolis. The tour takes place in the evening, which is really nice for fewer crowds and cooler temperatures. Our archaeologist guide was amazing -- she showed us the highlights of the Acropolis Museum, giving us all kinds of interesting history and facts about the relics and artifacts from the Acropolis. We felt like she really cared that we were having a good time and learning something. We got to the Acropolis at a great time -- the sun was just starting to set, creating a beautiful glow on the Parthenon and other temples. Our guide walked us around the Parthenon, pointing out architectural details and telling us about the restoration going on today. Then we walked back down the hill to the restaurant, which had a rooftop terrace with a great view of the Parthenon. The food was really good -- even better than I expected. The set menu included salad, a starter, main course and dessert. We had a table on the edge of the terrace, giving us a clear view of the Parthenon lighting up as it got dark. All in all, this was a fabulous experience. Highly recommended if you want to get as much out of the historic sights as possible, especially if you're into history or archaeology.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Sharon T

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Really good tour with our guide Costas who was informative helpful and set a good pace with the heat up to the Acropolis and later and the thankfully air conditioned new Acropolis museum .Brought it to life ...My only criticism is the price as you have to pay into the museum on top of the tour which is 25 euros each apart from under 18 s who pay 3 euros

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Linda P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Both the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum Tours were very informative and gave me a good historical overview. However, I am giving only 3 stars due to the tour guide's rude attitude toward me when my daughter and I arrived 3 minutes late after a break between the 2 tours. I was chastised publicly in front of the group for not following directions exactly as given earlier when our group dispersed. I felt quite embarrassed and came very close to leaving the tour but decided to remain as the tour was prepaid. About an hour later, at the end of the tour, the guide did apologize to the group as a whole for any rudeness he may have demonstrated. If not for the apology I would have given 1 star.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

jmuncey711

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

We had purchased the acropolis museum tour. It ended up being the second half of the acropolis plus acropolis museum tour. So the majority of the group was exhausted from their time up on the Acropolis. I think the tour guide therefore cut it short and did not repeat what she had already explained in the morning tour. But for the 6 of us joining at the museum the tour was light on detail and history and a little bit rushed. However the guide was very very knowledgable and stayed with us to answer about 10 minutes of questions. She was also very nice. It would be great if Viator offered a museum tour maybe of longer duration and more depth that is a museum only tour. Hints: You can only book outside guides for the Acropolis Museum. If you go to the restaurant you need your ticket to get back in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Mair R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

The Acropolis Museum was very interesting and well worth seeing but the tour was disappointing. Everyone needs to queue to go through the security checks on entering the museum so no time was saved there. We didn't need to queue to buy tickets so we saved a little time (short queue) but the tour guide was half an hour late arriving so we had a long wait. No-one in the museum knew anything about the tour so we thought it must have been cancelled and nearly left. We also had the awardness of having to go up to every tour guide we saw and ask if they were looking for us. The guide eventually turned up with a group of people and with very little introduction swept us into the museum.It slowly became apparent that we had joined a longer Athens tour as the guide kept referring to things he'd explained "earlier". There were many interesting things to see in the museum but we didn't feel we had leant much about the exhibits in this brief tour and didn't like being squeezed into the busy schedule of a longer Athens tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Janet R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

The Acropolis Museum was great and well worth a trip. The day we went, the museum wasn't crowded at all, so the "skip the line" part of the tour didn't do anything for us. The tour guide was interesting, and we probably learned some things we wouldn't have without the guide. However, we skipped so many things in the museum to keep on schedule, that my family decided we would have done better without the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Chris

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

We have used your site considerably in the past and have
future bookings with you for up and coming trips this year.
We have never had need to complain and have been very
satisfied up to now. I had booked the above trip for
myself and my wife for my birthday whilst visiting Athens.

Our guide from Athens walking tour was not well
during the course of our 4 plus hours together. The original
group had started earlier and my fellow travellers pointed out that
the guide had been vomiting since 9.30 that morning! We joined
the group at 11:15 and it was obvious from the outset
that he was not fit to lead the group.
Once up the Acropolis he had to keep walking away and
throwing up over rocks etc. This unfortunately was in view of
everybody up there. Now I appreciate somebody cannot help in being
ill but during the short dinner break we had before commencing
the Museum tour, surely a substitute guide could have been sort?
However, this was not to be. Our afternoon immersing ourselves in
the treasures of the New Acropolis museum under the knowledgable guidance
of our archaeologicaly trained guide were instead spent hanging around whilst
he visited the bathroom several times and standing back from him
in order not to catch anything he may be passing on!

Having experience similar trips with you in Rome buying more for
our June trip to the USA I feel let down that
your usual high standard was not upheld on this occasion.

Chris and Cathy
Lumb.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message