An archaeological wonder, a UNESCO World Heritage site, and one of the world’s most instantly recognizable landmarks, the Acropolis is the star attraction of ancient Athens. Dramatically perched on a jagged clifftop—the so-called sacred rock of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I got really lucky and ended up with a private tour as I was the only one who booked this 9am to 1pm tour of the Acropolis and the new museum! My guide was wonderful, so extremely knowledgeable on the subject and very accommodating to taking extra breaks or answering questions. Even taking pictures for me as I was on my own. She knows everything and easily communicated it in English. Just wish I could remember her name!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour and Acropolis Museum Visit

Debbe N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was wonderful and thoughtful about our wishes. The Acropolis was spectacular and the museum was fantastic too. If you go to the Acropolis, don't miss the museum, the history it houses is incredible. Our dinner was great, food was excellent and ambience was perfect. We would definitely recommend this tour and restaurant.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

vdicatarina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing! Marisa was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and funny. She had no problems answering all our questions, and her great personality makes the tour so much fun. We had a great time, and learned a lot along the way. Definitely recommend this tour if you'll be in Athens. The acropolis is magical plus you get stunning views of the city, and visiting the museum is a great combo. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Shieh Lin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good experience, especially on the walking tour. Our guide Katerina was very good and she made an effort to talk to everyone separately on the walk. She also gave many interesting facts about the Acropolis

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Jana E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The new Acropolis Museum is a MUST see!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

rvollebekk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Not happy with Acropolis part...only from a money standpoint. they wanted 20 Euros to go there. your brochure said 12 ...quite a difference. Overall the trip was excellent, including the guide.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Blake A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Joanna, was very friendly and knowledgeable. We visited Parliament to watch the changing of the guards, which was a very unique and memorable experience. The highlight of our tour was visiting the Acropolis and learning about the history of the Parthenon. The journey up to the Acropolis could be challenging for some, with steep inclines and some uneven pathways but well worth the effort. Being on the tour, Joanna already had our admission tickets so we were able to bypass the LONG line of tourists who were not part of a group waiting in line to purchase their individual tickets. Once at the top, Joanna was quick to find some shade from the hot sun while she gave us our history lesson about the Acropolis and surrounding area. Given that the tour was private, it was a great opportunity to set our own pace and ask our own questions rather than being part of a larger group so you are able to learn more about what interests you, specifically.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

GREG S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The walking is a good deal if you only have a day or two in Athens, Otherwise , you can do it all on your own with 3 day trip. We enjoyed the tour. Cape Sounion is ok . Nice drive along the sea. But really kind of a yawn after seeing the Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

gsperling58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very professional, on time, at the right place and flexible enough for us to get a bit to eat after arriving at an early hour. Hara was a very experienced and entertaining guide, and managed to give us just the right amount of information without us feeling overwhelmed. The 400 mtr line for tickets to the Acropolis was a sure sign that a small tour group and a dedicated guide was a great decision.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It seems like they don't have this small group tour anymore. The tour operator called me the day before and told me they only had the large group one without the Agora available. They gave me back 21 Euro in cash at their office which was the difference in price of small and large group tour. The only difference was not seeing the Agora, which you can easily do on your own when the tour ends.

Overall it was definitely a very informative and great tour. The guide was great and she provided so much info at each sight. Plenty of free time at the Parthenon to take as many pics as you wanted. The Acropolis Museum was amazing and I learned a ton.

I'd book this tour again, small group or not.

Doing what: Small-Group Acropolis of Athens and City Highlights Tour

Sylvia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Helen your guide was just as much a treasure as everything she so wonderfully explained about on our walking tour of the Acropolis etc. Sylvia and Frank

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very knowledgable. She made history come alive for us. The dinner was very good with an amazing view of the Acropolis.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Patty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent overview of history or Athens, Acropolis. Our guide was informed and willing to share his opinions. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of the Acropolis. Guide was wonderful and very knowledgable. The trip out to Cape Sounion seemed to be run by a different group and they weren't as good. The ride was long and not a lot of information given. When you got out there I think we spent way more time there than we needed to but I understand you have to justify the trip out there so you can't just spend 30 minutes and leave. Also, it was about 94 degrees F and being out in the sun all day just got to us so that could be why the afternoon wasn't as good as the morning.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I have wanted to visit Delphi since 9th grade,1962 and it was worth the wait. Excellent tour guide and very nice bus.The walking tour of the Acropolis was wonderful if not hot. Super tour guide. The afternoon trip to the Temple of Poseidon was a welcome treat in the afternoon.Chat tours did fine wor

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Sharon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! The 3 hours flew by so fast and we saw so much! Our wonderful guide Kostas was enthusiastic and informative.Athens is an amazing place and this tour during our short stay gave us lots of information and a good overview of the city. We ended the tour on the Acropolis ...amazing!!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really good tour. Very informative with a friendly and knowledgable guide. There is no way we could have seen as much as we did in a car and certainly wouldn and #39;t have seen the Acropolis, so would highly recommend the walking tour

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

ilca1122917

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the Acropolis. Our tour guide Sophia was great. You could tell she was passionate about the history and information she was presenting. Not like taking a robotic guide tour, she customized for the things we seemed most interested in. To top it off dinner was amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love, love, love this tour! Our guide was Greek and and an archeologist, so his knowledge of the history of Greece was very impressive. We went through the New Acropolis Museum first, which let the crowds and heat die down at the Acropolis. We spent about 2 hours touring the Museum. Once we got to the Acropolis, the crowds had thinned, and our guide took some really cool photos of us with the city and Parthenon. The dinner was EXCELLENT! One of the best we had during our time in Greece. This tour is worth the extra money if you're interested in history and want a real conversation with your guide, instead of someone just talking at you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour of the Parliament and the changing of the guards to the Acropolis. Fantastic!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

jlyristis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An unforgettable experience. Both guides were above and beyond excellence in presenting the history of the Acropolis and artifacts at the museum. 5 stars all the way. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

rasbury1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Acropolis walking tour was amazing. To be that close to history was phenomenal and our tour guide Pantelis did a wonderful job of educating us about so many of the aspects of that era. We also had some free time to really see the Acropolis and Parthenon.
We then walked back to our meeting place where we had a short lunch break.
After lunch we took a bus to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. It was a beautiful drive along the coast and our new guide Effie did an excellent job of describing the sights along the way. She also gave us the history of the Temple of Poseidon.
There is a lot of walking on uneven ground for both of these tours, so if you can't navigate hills and rough terrain I would not recommend this tour. If you can, then it's a 'must do'.
A couple of expenses to note before you leave your ship or hotel:
Price of the cab ride to and from the meeting place.
Price of admission to the Acropolis
Price of lunch-the tour met at a hotel and they had a varied menu/excellent food

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Txyingyang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stravos is very passionate and detailed, he clearly enjoys sharing his knowledge and love of the Acropolis with the tour group. For those of us who like history and details, it was a great tour. I give this tour 5 stars because I am the one giving the review. My wife, who doesn't like as much detail, would probably have given only 4 stars because she said it was too much. If you like all the historical info like me, definitely try to get Stravos as your guide. Stravos...if you read this review, I would suggest that you ask the group before beginning the tour as to how much detail they would desire so you could adjust as needed.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

bknfy.yee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must when in Athens. The tour gave my wife and myself a real sense of the importance of the Acropolis ruins. Our guide was very knowledgable and gave us a sense of why it came to be. The second part of our tour to the temple of Poseidon gave us an opportunity to see the Greek coastline. The the temple is spectacular. The commanding view was worth seeing by itself.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide for the acropolis walking tour was outstanding and the tour felt very personalized to us. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and fun.

The tour to Cap Souion and the Temple of Poseidon was amazing. The drive was beautiful and we loved the ruins. There were only a handful of tourists there and it was nice to get to see this place without the throngs of people at places like the acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message