The Acropolis (Akropolis) means "city on a hill" and dates from the 5th century BC. Dominated by its main temple, the Parthenon, the Acropolis can be seen from all around the city of Athens. In 510 BC, the Delphic Oracle told Pericles that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rvollebekk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Not happy with Acropolis part...only from a money standpoint. they wanted 20 Euros to go there. your brochure said 12 ...quite a difference. Overall the trip was excellent, including the guide.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Blake A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Joanna, was very friendly and knowledgeable. We visited Parliament to watch the changing of the guards, which was a very unique and memorable experience. The highlight of our tour was visiting the Acropolis and learning about the history of the Parthenon. The journey up to the Acropolis could be challenging for some, with steep inclines and some uneven pathways but well worth the effort. Being on the tour, Joanna already had our admission tickets so we were able to bypass the LONG line of tourists who were not part of a group waiting in line to purchase their individual tickets. Once at the top, Joanna was quick to find some shade from the hot sun while she gave us our history lesson about the Acropolis and surrounding area. Given that the tour was private, it was a great opportunity to set our own pace and ask our own questions rather than being part of a larger group so you are able to learn more about what interests you, specifically.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

GREG S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The walking is a good deal if you only have a day or two in Athens, Otherwise , you can do it all on your own with 3 day trip. We enjoyed the tour. Cape Sounion is ok . Nice drive along the sea. But really kind of a yawn after seeing the Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

gsperling58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very professional, on time, at the right place and flexible enough for us to get a bit to eat after arriving at an early hour. Hara was a very experienced and entertaining guide, and managed to give us just the right amount of information without us feeling overwhelmed. The 400 mtr line for tickets to the Acropolis was a sure sign that a small tour group and a dedicated guide was a great decision.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It seems like they don't have this small group tour anymore. The tour operator called me the day before and told me they only had the large group one without the Agora available. They gave me back 21 Euro in cash at their office which was the difference in price of small and large group tour. The only difference was not seeing the Agora, which you can easily do on your own when the tour ends.

Overall it was definitely a very informative and great tour. The guide was great and she provided so much info at each sight. Plenty of free time at the Parthenon to take as many pics as you wanted. The Acropolis Museum was amazing and I learned a ton.

I'd book this tour again, small group or not.

Doing what: Small-Group Acropolis of Athens and City Highlights Tour

Sylvia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Helen your guide was just as much a treasure as everything she so wonderfully explained about on our walking tour of the Acropolis etc. Sylvia and Frank

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very knowledgable. She made history come alive for us. The dinner was very good with an amazing view of the Acropolis.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Patty B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent overview of history or Athens, Acropolis. Our guide was informed and willing to share his opinions. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of the Acropolis. Guide was wonderful and very knowledgable. The trip out to Cape Sounion seemed to be run by a different group and they weren't as good. The ride was long and not a lot of information given. When you got out there I think we spent way more time there than we needed to but I understand you have to justify the trip out there so you can't just spend 30 minutes and leave. Also, it was about 94 degrees F and being out in the sun all day just got to us so that could be why the afternoon wasn't as good as the morning.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I have wanted to visit Delphi since 9th grade,1962 and it was worth the wait. Excellent tour guide and very nice bus.The walking tour of the Acropolis was wonderful if not hot. Super tour guide. The afternoon trip to the Temple of Poseidon was a welcome treat in the afternoon.Chat tours did fine wor

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Sharon J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! The 3 hours flew by so fast and we saw so much! Our wonderful guide Kostas was enthusiastic and informative.Athens is an amazing place and this tour during our short stay gave us lots of information and a good overview of the city. We ended the tour on the Acropolis ...amazing!!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really good tour. Very informative with a friendly and knowledgable guide. There is no way we could have seen as much as we did in a car and certainly wouldn and #39;t have seen the Acropolis, so would highly recommend the walking tour

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

ilca1122917

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the Acropolis. Our tour guide Sophia was great. You could tell she was passionate about the history and information she was presenting. Not like taking a robotic guide tour, she customized for the things we seemed most interested in. To top it off dinner was amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love, love, love this tour! Our guide was Greek and and an archeologist, so his knowledge of the history of Greece was very impressive. We went through the New Acropolis Museum first, which let the crowds and heat die down at the Acropolis. We spent about 2 hours touring the Museum. Once we got to the Acropolis, the crowds had thinned, and our guide took some really cool photos of us with the city and Parthenon. The dinner was EXCELLENT! One of the best we had during our time in Greece. This tour is worth the extra money if you're interested in history and want a real conversation with your guide, instead of someone just talking at you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Helen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Thoroughly enjoyed this tour of the Parliament and the changing of the guards to the Acropolis. Fantastic!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

jlyristis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An unforgettable experience. Both guides were above and beyond excellence in presenting the history of the Acropolis and artifacts at the museum. 5 stars all the way. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

rasbury1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Acropolis walking tour was amazing. To be that close to history was phenomenal and our tour guide Pantelis did a wonderful job of educating us about so many of the aspects of that era. We also had some free time to really see the Acropolis and Parthenon.
We then walked back to our meeting place where we had a short lunch break.
After lunch we took a bus to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. It was a beautiful drive along the coast and our new guide Effie did an excellent job of describing the sights along the way. She also gave us the history of the Temple of Poseidon.
There is a lot of walking on uneven ground for both of these tours, so if you can't navigate hills and rough terrain I would not recommend this tour. If you can, then it's a 'must do'.
A couple of expenses to note before you leave your ship or hotel:
Price of the cab ride to and from the meeting place.
Price of admission to the Acropolis
Price of lunch-the tour met at a hotel and they had a varied menu/excellent food

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Txyingyang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stravos is very passionate and detailed, he clearly enjoys sharing his knowledge and love of the Acropolis with the tour group. For those of us who like history and details, it was a great tour. I give this tour 5 stars because I am the one giving the review. My wife, who doesn't like as much detail, would probably have given only 4 stars because she said it was too much. If you like all the historical info like me, definitely try to get Stravos as your guide. Stravos...if you read this review, I would suggest that you ask the group before beginning the tour as to how much detail they would desire so you could adjust as needed.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

bknfy.yee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must when in Athens. The tour gave my wife and myself a real sense of the importance of the Acropolis ruins. Our guide was very knowledgable and gave us a sense of why it came to be. The second part of our tour to the temple of Poseidon gave us an opportunity to see the Greek coastline. The the temple is spectacular. The commanding view was worth seeing by itself.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide for the acropolis walking tour was outstanding and the tour felt very personalized to us. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and fun.

The tour to Cap Souion and the Temple of Poseidon was amazing. The drive was beautiful and we loved the ruins. There were only a handful of tourists there and it was nice to get to see this place without the throngs of people at places like the acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked our tour while in Athens after realizing we'd like a little more information to know what we were looking at and the history behind it. Our tour guide Hermes was amazing, he did not disappoint! We actually ended up with a private tour of the Acropolis museum where he was very attentive and patient with our 10 year old son. It was very I formative and a great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Joseph B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour guide was so amazing I would recommend her to anyone! She had such an amazing personality and she had such great knowledge. My wife had a little trouble keeping the pace once we got to the Acropolis and the tour guide tried everything she could to wait for us without keeping the others waiting and for that, I was very grateful. The tour began at the metro station at Syntagma Square. She walked us around the station and introduced us to Greek history by the artifacts encased. Then we saw the changing of the guard which was very interesting to see. From there we walked through the national gardens, followed by the Zappeion, then over to the Temple of Zeus and finally a walk to the Acropolis. It's a tour for any shape and size just prepare for a lot of walking and climbing up the steps and ensure you have your camera ready. It was so beautiful and full of so much history that it would be disappointing to have missed it. Make sure you head to the museum afterwards, you will see the Ancient City of Athens underneath!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Derek M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aristotle was fantastic. Courteous, knowledgeable, and great with questions. This was a fantastic walking tour and highly recommended. The new Acropolis Museum is absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Jun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the best tours my wife and I have been on. I actually didn't realize that it was a private tour. I was expecting a small group of 4-6 but it was just the two of us with a wonderful guide, Thanakis. He's not just an archaeologist but a history professor at Geogetown. For something so significant and so rich with history, it's amazingly easy and affordable to visit the Acropolis and other archaeological sites in Athens. To make a visit to the Acropolis as special as it should be, visit it with a historian or an archaeologist. The insight, history, mythology, and rich information they can share will help you truly appreciate not only the ancient Greeks but the excruciatingly difficult work that goes into restoring the structures. I felt sorry for the majority of tourists who climbed the Acropolis just to take a selfie. It's so much more than that. I also suggest you visit the Acropolis museum AFTER you visit the Acropolis. They complement and enrich each other nicely. And a good guide can tell you the significance of the museum's architecture as well. This tour includes dinner and a bottle of wine at a nearby restaurant. The restaurant we went to was listed in 36 hours. Well done viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

nz_robyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. Our tour guide was very informative and interesting. We started from syntagma square and gradually walked our way up to the Acropolis. An easy pace, we stopped along the way to view changing of the guards and the temple of Zeus and our guide pointed out many other local landmarks. She also made sure we were in the shade as she talked to us about the history and the sites we were seeing.
Walking up to the Acropolis was made easy as we stopped in the shade and listened to our guide explain various historical details about the sites.
We both found the tour informative, unhurried and our guide was wonderful.
I would highly recommend this tour .

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message