Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Agora of Athens

The political and social heart of the ancient city of Athens, the famous Agora of Athens (or the Forum of Athens) is one of the city's most important archeological sites -- the remainder of the civic center and marketplace where Greek democracy was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

debsallee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome food tour, awesome food, great knowledge and company of guide with ample opportunities to buy products you take and take them home to share with your fellow foodies. Best foodie tour we have taken anywhere.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

mrs e n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a really special afternoon with our guide Anabelia. She was fun, informative and knowledgeable about the food and the area, we took in the markets and small independent retailers selling spices, sausages, cheese and organic Greek produce. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Segway is just the BEST way to see a big city with lots to see in a short amount of time! The real beauty of Segway in Athens, is it is the best way to cover ground in the HEAT!!! Tour was fabulous. We saw SO MUCH and had a fabulous guide who was very knowledgeable and made the tour so interesting. I would absolutely do this one again!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens Segway Tour

Jan

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

What a magical way to see Athens! We covered lots of ground. It was a great overview of some of the sights that we went back to later during the day. We went in November, so it was cool. Remember there is a wind chill when riding the Segway. Hat, scarf and gloves are recommended. The addition of a guide communication system with microphone and headsets for guests would make the experience much more pleasurable because hearing the guide was challenging in some of the noisy, bustling streets of Athens.

Doing what: Athens Night Segway Tour

Shi R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

It was nice walking around checking out food places. Our guide was nice and friendly but we got the feeling that his main goal was to take us shopping rather than check out the local cuisine as he tried to persuade us to buy things at every place we shopped.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Paige H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour is well worth the money. Our guide, Constance, took us out of the tourist areas to try places we never would have found without him. We got to try some coffee, desserts, meats/cheese, and walk through the local markets. He made us a traditional greek salad from local ingredients, while we enjoyed a glass of wine. Constance also gave us a brief background on all of the areas that we were walking through. I was not able to eat the rest of the day because I was so full when the tour was over. Come hungry folks!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Rajiv S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best for tour we had got. Our food guide Ana was amazing. An Argentinian living in Greece for 5 years, Ana knew the Greek food in good detail and was also able to give an outsider and #39;s perspective. The choice of places gave us a good feel of regular and off beat food and drinks. Try it out!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

pboytor United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent way to see Athens and get insights on the archaeological spots in Athens all in the span of two hours. For those who like to be adventurous, this tour is for you!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens Segway Tour

Claire C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific! Our guide was great sorry I have forgotten your name, she was vvery knowledgeable and knew her stuff. Her English was excellent. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens Segway Tour

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a high point in our stay in Athens. We Our wonderful guide, Anna, took us off the tourist track and showed us aspects of Athens that we would probably have missed otherwise.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Geraldine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had an absolutely wonderful time. Next week when I rent a flat for 14 days in Plaka, I will be going to those places we went. I would do it again, and I will definitely recommend the tour and tour guide to others.
Ευχαριστώ πολύ, Kostas!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Vicky P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Vera was wonderful and we had so much fun riding around the city after dark. It is very easy to learn to ride a Segway and only takes about 5 minutes. A fun way to get around.

Doing what: Athens Night Segway Tour

Cynthia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very enjoyable time sampling the culinary delights of Athens. Tonia was extremely helpful also with the history of how various foods and spices came to be popular. It was both a relaxing and extremely interesting way to spend the afternoon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Kamille b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Kostas was the best!!! He was prompt, friendly, knowledgeable, professional, funny and just an all around great guy!! We went to places that we wouldn't have found on our own. It was definitely one of the highlights of our Greece trip! :

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Brad N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It seems like they don't have this small group tour anymore. The tour operator called me the day before and told me they only had the large group one without the Agora available. They gave me back 21 Euro in cash at their office which was the difference in price of small and large group tour. The only difference was not seeing the Agora, which you can easily do on your own when the tour ends.

Overall it was definitely a very informative and great tour. The guide was great and she provided so much info at each sight. Plenty of free time at the Parthenon to take as many pics as you wanted. The Acropolis Museum was amazing and I learned a ton.

I'd book this tour again, small group or not.

Doing what: Small-Group Acropolis of Athens and City Highlights Tour

Ricky S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

GREAT TOUR !!! Our guide Costa was the best. Really took time to explain Greek culture and food and took us to some really great places. Areas we would have never been to just as a tourist in paris. Highly recommend this tour !!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had an amazing food tour with Kostas and his associate Anna. Kostas was very knowledgable and took us to some amazing places where we may not have ventured on our own, but certainly would now that we have gone once. Definitely be prepared to have a variety of food for a few hours...it seems like we never stopped eating! A great tour with a great guide!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Faye O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour we've ever taken, and we have done 25 tours in multiple European cities. Costa was our guide, and also the owner of this tour company. We two American couples, ages 60-something. Costa delivered as advertised, and a whole lot more. We toured small restaurants and specialty food shops, sampling plates of food at each stop. Also toured the meat, fish, and farmers markets - a very visual and local experience. What made this tour so special was Costa's world experiences and knowledge of foods, peoples, history, and cultures, which he wonderfully worked into his commentaries as we walked about and/or sat and talked while eating. His tour price included the cost of all foods sampled at the half dozen or so stops he paid at each stop. If you can only fit in one tour while in Athens, this is the one to book!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Julie J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was patient, knowledgeable and provided us with valuable information about each site. I would recommend the tour as a great alternative to walking and loads of fun once you get the hang of the Segway. I would recommend that the company add the address and map to the confirmation as we found it a challenge to find the shop. Even the local police sent us in the wrong direction.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens Segway Tour

Ana M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Our guide was a pleasant young lady from Buenos Aires but she lacked depth. I don and #39;t understand a food tour of Athens without olives or moussaka or souvlaki. We have taken tours in other countries with much more food and commentaries. This tour doesn and #39;t compare well with them and were even left hungry

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

tammyholland1165

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was our favorite tour of our whole vacation!!! Vivian was phenomenal! It wound up being just our tour guide, and my husband and I - very exclusive tour! She started by asking about our food preferences and allergies, and then customized the tour to our likes. She made us feel so special and waited on us like a consummate host! We ate so much incredible food, there was no need for dinner later. I feel I really got to know Greece through this tour and we got a behind-the-scenes look at the Greek culture. Vivian was the absolute best tour guide we've ever had!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Victoria J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent way to see the bottom area of the Acropolis!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens Segway Tour

mpower_666

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had such an enjoyable time on this tour!! Vivian was probably the best tour guide I have EVER come across! She was so patient with all the questions I had. She knew her food! I would HIGHLY recommend this tour for foodies who really appreciate open markets, mom and pop joints and excellent service. I was like a lost child in a sweet shop! Vivian even made us a proper Greek salad after buying the cherry tomatoes together from the local market. The personalized touch just added another level to the whole food tour of Athens. A

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Vic J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We've done food tours in lots of cities like New York, New Orleans, etc. This was by far the best tour we've ever been on and the biggest reason was Vivien Vivian?. She was AMAZING in every way. Knowledgable, friendly, eager to serve, she kept us on pace without pushing us. All six of us agreed best ever! The stops and food were very good especially the pastourma and no bad experiences or food at any of them. But, again, the difference was Vivien. Ask for her and you can't go wrong!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Cynthia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour with a wonderful guide. We got to see parts of Athens that we would never be able to see by car and with the heat it was a great way to travel . Full points on this tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message