Delphi is the second-most important archeological site in Greece (after the Acropolis in Athens). In ancient times Delphi was considered the place where heaven and earth met so the gods were close-by. Established around the 7th century BC, Delphi ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bryan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing tour - a must see! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and the lunch included in the tour was fantastic! Thanks to this tour, we learned a lot about both Delphi and the history of Greece.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

jrthorngren

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Got to see more of Greece than Athens, and Delphi was fascinating. We took the option of lunch on our own, instead of included with the tour, and I'm glad we did. There are many restaurants/cafes in Delphi, and we ended up having one of the best meals of the trip at a small taverna, with a distant view of the sea. The guide was informative, the museum was interesting. Glad I went.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Carolina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was excellent !! Our private guide, Kostas , was a very knowledgable archeologist. The volume of information he shared made the whole trip so interesting and amazing. We learned so much about the history behind delphi and about greek mythology in general . definitely recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Delphi Day Trip from Athens Including Lunch

Melissa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour with pick up at our hotel. Our tour guide, Joy, was very knowledgeable and friendly. The bus was comfortable and made one stop each way for refreshments/shopping/bathrooms. Delphi was very hot so bring water. The museum was air conditioned and full of interesting artifacts. We stopped in the ski village on the way home where you could walk around and shop or eat quickly. We opted for the lunch and it was very good with plenty of food. Would recommend this tour although it was an all day adventure.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Margaret T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A very long and hot day, but worth it. We had a terrific guide who was very patient with the stragglers!! Lunch at the hotel in Delphi was also very nice, thanks.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Aileen L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The day trip to Delphi was good; more time is needed. A day trip is not enough. The guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Richard H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We had a very good day trip to Delphi - the guide was very knowledgeable, the bus comfortable - all in all a very worth while trip and well worth the money

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

idemetriades

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was very good. The tour guide and driver were great. My only complaint is I would have started the trip an hour earlier so that we were not walking through Delphi during the high heat of the day. We weren't picked up until 8:45 and trip could have started at 7:00 to 7:30 AM.

Doing what: Delphi, Arachova and Saint Lucas Monastery Tour from Athens

Nicole C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide, Costos, and driver, George, were absolutely wonderful. They were both very knowledgeable about not only Delphi but also about downtown Athens, and all of the spots between Athens and Delphi. Costos had a low key personality and was more than willing to answer any and all questions about Delphi. We ate lunch at the Hotel Amalia in Delphia. The view was breathtaking and the food was great. The only two things I would advise others about is the tour is a lot of walking on uneven surfaces. If you have ankle, knee, hip, back issues I might think twice about walking through the archeological site, which is the majority of the tour. And second you are on the bus for a very, very long time. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Neil M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Delphi itself was stunning. Well worth a visit. The tour was well organised although the guide was not that helpful.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Audrey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My tour guide was amazing, the trip was comfortable ,and I couldn't imaging seeing ancient Delphi without the narrative. Thank you for a great day out of Athens!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Angel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the place is stunning and beautiful, the sun was shining and I had a chance to go enjoy a delicious lunch in the town of Delphi, if you go to Athens definitely book this tour!!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Christina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My trip was incredible! It was a small group -9 people. Her English was great! She taught me a lot. The tour was more of a hike than I expected, but I like hiking so was pretty excited to be hiking through the mountains of Delphi with breath taking views of the valley and ancient sites and temples!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip to Delphi was very well done. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and we had plenty of time to wander and look through the museum. We also enjoyed a lovely lunch at a local hotel/restaurant. All in, I was pleased with the trip and the stops on the way. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Heppie

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Delphi is a lovely place and the trip up there was lovely. The only negative was that the tour guide went into too much detail about the history of Delphi especially in the museum which could have been shortened by twenty minutes therefore Having longer time for lunch which was a bit rushed and no time to see the town of Delphi itself.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

ankurfitzgibbons

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We were expecting this tour to be one of our favorites. Instead we left feeling as if we paid too much for what we got to do. We were picked up by the bus from our hotel and it took 3.5 hours to get to Delphi. We stopped at a small town along the way for a break. When we got to Delphi, our tour guide who was very knowledgable took us to the Temple of Apollo and then left us to go to the theater and stadium on our own. Unfortunately, it was a steep climb for many not suitable for older people or those with an injury and we had to see the rest on our own. We then we to the museum but it was a small museum and not worth it to be honest. They scheduled lunch for 2:30pm which is pretty late and the restaurant is REALLY BAD. As a vegetarian, all I got to eat was a cheese platter with some really hard bread. Honestly, the service and poor food left us feeling completely down. They did stop at a very cute town as we went back but wish we had more time. Honestly, put your money towards a different tour - and trust me there are a lot of other great tours viator offers from Athens.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Donald A D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It started badly. We were picked up at our hotel at 7:30 am and the gentleman on the bus tried to send us to the wrong location. When we told him we were going to Delphi he went away. About an hour later we stopped at a pick up place and a woman got on. She said her name was Joy and I will refer to her as Joyless. She was not dressed professionally and later her tone was not professional. There was still little communication. About 9:30 am I suggested a bathroom stop as the 2 cups of coffee were kicking in. She said we could not stop until the designated stop which turned out to be at 10:45 am at which time I and others on the bus were near riotous. I suggested that she inform future travelers that perhaps they go the WC at the last pick up spot and she snapped at me that the gentleman should have told me that. Later in the tour we were dropped off at the hotel in Delphi. We had no idea we were on our own. The next day we had to check out of the hotel room and wait several hours before the bus returned. A little communication goes a long way and Joy-less is a terrible guide. I would give this tour no stars if I could and I am a high rater and experienced traveler.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi from Athens

Megan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What an incredible place. We walked all the way to the stadium and had incredible views of the beautiful countryside. Our guide was fantastic and made the ride to Delphi enjoyable. We opted for our own lunch and were pleasantly surprised in the town of Delphi. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

laurentrueman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a good tour if you want to see Delphi, our tour leader Leila was very knowledgeable, although she was at times somewhat frazzled by the amount of tourists around, however she was overall a good guide. Delphi is a great thing to see, however a lot of this tour is spent driving and if you only have a few days in Athens I would prioritize other sites over Delphi.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Chelsey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Comfortable bus for the 2.5-3 hr drive out with some commentary on the way. Rest stop each way for snacks and bathroom break. Delphi tour of site and museum was fantastic. Plus a short stop at a nearby cute ski town was great to pick up a small trinket. Our tour guide Joy was absolutely amazing and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Whidden F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was beyond amazing. Maria our guide had a degree in archeology so she was not only passionate about what she was showing us, she knew every aspect of culture, history, and art. Not only did we learn an incredible amount, she maneuvered us around all the large swarms of crowds so we even got some private time sitting with the ruins at Delphi. Lunch was amazing, even the ride was amazing! Well worth the price to see it privately. I'd go back and do it all again anytime!

Doing what: Private Tour: Delphi Day Trip from Athens Including Lunch

Adam S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Delphi is beautiful and worth the drive to see.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Lori M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Delphi is a great place to visit and having a bus take you there is very helpful. For our family the tours did not give us enough time at the locations neither the historical site nor the museum.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Rolf P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Outstanding trip. The tour guide was exceptional and the time allotted to each site was just right. Highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to Delphi while visiting Athens.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

LisaLoo19

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The guide wasn't as great for our Athens tour as the Delphi tour. However, both tours were enjoyable. I would recommend getting the lunch in Delphi - it was really tasty. Be prepared for a 3 hour ride to Delphi bring an iPod or something, though the guide will give you some tidbits of information along the way.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Athens Sightseeing Tour plus Delphi Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message