Meteora, located in central Greece, is a place of natural beauty and man-made wonder. The huge natural rock towers found here are home to 14th-century clifftop monasteries built by Eastern Orthodox hermit monks who settled in the area in the ninth ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emilie N

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This tour is exceptional u can see Delfi and Meteora but honestly you have to stay in kalampaka more than one night. it is a place where you loose sens of time where you can have the feeling of flying in time and imagination. if you dont have lot of time dont miss it.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Stephen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly highly recommend this tour! We stayed in Athens and it is worth the 5 hour train ride to see Meteora. Absolutely stunning - especially with the fall colors! It is simply amazing to see how the monasteries were built right at the edge of the rocks. Vasilis was our tour guide and he made the tour so wonderful, very knowledgeable. Ask him to stop for gyros when you get off the train - they were fabulous! Oh and pay the extra for the Class A train ticket - well worth the extra price considering the amount of time spent on the train. A must-do when you visit Athens!

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Chris Bramaje United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I was here last week and all I can say was the place was breathtaking. The moment I sat on top of the rock mountain looking and appreciating the wonder of man and nature was pure bliss. The reason why I went to Greece was to see Meteora, a place suspended in air, and it didn't disappoint me at all. I must see place away from the city of Athens with astonishing panoramic view and beautiful monasteries.

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

ANNABELLE P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I was traveling with a friend and loved the tour. The guides were both great, the one we had for Delphi did an amazing job as she explained everything in English and French, as we had people who couldn't understand English in our group. The only thing is I wish we could have a little more time to do the Museum and see the town but the route to Kalambaka takes a while so it wasn't possible.
The guide for Meteora was as great, made excellent recommendations and gave us lots of time to take pictures and enjoy the scenery. We did a great stop at Thermopylae to see the statue of King Leonidas, which was a wonderful surprise. Meteora was the most impressive thing I've seen in my littel traveller life.
I really recommend this tour as I found it was excellent value for money!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Heather N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Meteora is a long bus trip from Athens but worth it, amazing. Not 4 star accommadations but ok.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Julie M

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Good organisation. We were just super disappointed by the location of the 4-stars hotel, which wasn't located in the city, so we couldn't even see the Meteora at night. We also didn't get to see the Grand Monastery.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Paul S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Overall, it was a good experience and the sites were very interesting, just one thing that wasn't as apparent to me was the amount of travel time required, of the roughly 36 hours for the tour, about 4 hours of that is spent at the sites in Delphi and Meteora. I was hoping that we would be spending more time at the sites to fully take them in.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Bill K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An amazing tour. Delphi was a surprise in that it has such historical significance to Greek and then Roman history. Meteora was such an amazing site. The views are incredible and the majesty of the scenes of the monasteries was breathtaking. I could not stop photographing everything. I learned a lot about the history of the Orthodox Church.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Avanthi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great tour! Favourite part was visiting the 2 monasteries in Meteora. The scenery was breathtaking and the guides were wonderful. They also made photo stops along the way in Meteora. A must do on your visit to Athens!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Kyle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Long drive up north, but well worth it! Delphi was neat to see but Meteora was breathtaking. Tour guide was great!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Shieh Lin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Delphi was really interesting and Meteora was just spectacular! Our guide Katerina was really fabulous, she is really passionate about her work and gave us a brief history of Greece during the bus ride, which kept me very interested. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

CHRISTINE V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Delphi was impressive, but Meteora, especially was amazing, even more extraordinary than we had hoped. We would not have been able to do this on our own and we would not have wanted to miss it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Joy Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour is awesome! I highly recommend it. The tour allows enough time for you to take pictures for each destination. The hotel in Meteora is commendable. Catering at the Amalia Hotel is very good - their buffet is great.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Carol G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Delphi and Meteora were very interesting and beautiful. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. However, given the length of the trip from Athens I felt we were rushed through our tour of Delphi. We spent less than an hour there and did not even visit the museum.
I still would recommend the trip as I don't know if we would have done this tour on our own.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Daisy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We spend so much time changing bus to join different tour guides 3 in total, waste of valuable time instead of sightseeing. Delphi was nice but wish we had a little more time to see the rest of the sites and our tour didn't include the museum. Lunch they brought as to a restaurant at our own expense there were no other food options so basically, you have to eat there. The 4-star hotel was not as great as others have commented. The room we had was old and dirty, not worth a 4-star. Meteora was the unbelievable, the view from up there was amazing, the highlight of the trip. We visited 2 monasteries, wish we had a bit more time at the Grand Meteora Monastery.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Willmar P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Meteora is worth visiting. Beautiful place. However, the package sold through viator is misleading and also overpriced. The trip in train each way is not 4 hours, or even 5 hours like the tell you in the itinerary...it took 6 hours each way. So you will expend 12 hours in a very unconfortable and dirty train the restrooms are disgusting so you can visit Meteora for no more than 3 hours. So you have have the chance to visit at most 2 temples in a hurry. The train tickets round trip were only 25 Euros economy class so the Viator package is very overpriced. Our taxi diver/tour guide Vasilis was very nice and friendly. If you can it is better to expend the night in Kalambaka or make your own arrangements rent a car, flight to a city close by, etc.

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The drive was extremely relaxing and the hotel was the best of our trip, in my opinion. The rock formations at Meteora were inspiring and one of the highlights of my trip. I've never seen anything quite like them in all my travels! The history surrounding the monks was well explained by our guide and seeing the buildings on tops of such remote tops of rocks gave a new insight to the devotion of the monks. Be prepared for a very long walk with many stairs down and up to enter the Grand location. I was not able to do it but still enjoyed watching from the viewpoint I had while others made the trek. Definitly enjoyed this tour and the hotel.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Camila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour. Well worth the money. The 4 star accommodation is very good and the buffet dinner and breakfast were amazing. Tour guides were excellent and knowledgeable. Bus trip is pleasant, good roads, and only curvy around Meteora. We were not disapointed!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

tom_markushewski

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A lot of time on the bus, so would have benefited from more time in Delphi and a visit to a third monastery in Meteora, but both sites are amazing. The guides were knowledgeable. The upgraded 4-star hotel was very pleasant and the dinner/breakfast buffets abundant. CHAT Tours customer service could have been better.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Sue B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Both Meteora and Delphi are fascinating.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Latha N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

When I booked the tour with your agent, we were 12 people and 6 rooms were promised for us. The agent had booked us in 4 groups Don't know why he did that. When we reached the Amelia hotel in Meteora, we only were given 4 bedrooms. This wasn't satisfactory because we were all couples. We ended up taking 2 more rooms and paying for them again from our pocket. We called your people and they also refused to allocate more rooms for us.

We will not be booking any trips with your company again. Sorry to say this.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Amir L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Was an amazing tour of Delphi and Meteora!
Very comfortable buses, knowledgable guides, and smooth pickup and drop off. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Helen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This 2 day tour is full on - 2 very long days but well worth it. Delphi was extremely interesting and our guide very knowledgeable, however, Meteora was simply AMAZING!!! We have never seen anything like this before. The monasteries are really something to see. This tour definitely had the wow factor for us.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

cagoogirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This day trip was awe inspiring. Vasillis, the tour guide, was very helpful, informative, polite, and willing to accommodate our needs. The train ride from Athens was long, but Meteora is worth it.

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Monika k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Meteora was a very interesting place to visit. The train trip was very long. The guide was very informative and the monasteries spectacular.

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message