Meteora, located in central Greece, is a place of natural beauty and man-made wonder. The huge natural rock towers found here are home to 14th-century clifftop monasteries built by Eastern Orthodox hermit monks who settled in the area in the ninth ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Camila

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour. Well worth the money. The 4 star accommodation is very good and the buffet dinner and breakfast were amazing. Tour guides were excellent and knowledgeable. Bus trip is pleasant, good roads, and only curvy around Meteora. We were not disapointed!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

tom_markushewski

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A lot of time on the bus, so would have benefited from more time in Delphi and a visit to a third monastery in Meteora, but both sites are amazing. The guides were knowledgeable. The upgraded 4-star hotel was very pleasant and the dinner/breakfast buffets abundant. CHAT Tours customer service could have been better.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Sue B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Both Meteora and Delphi are fascinating.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Latha N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

When I booked the tour with your agent, we were 12 people and 6 rooms were promised for us. The agent had booked us in 4 groups Don't know why he did that. When we reached the Amelia hotel in Meteora, we only were given 4 bedrooms. This wasn't satisfactory because we were all couples. We ended up taking 2 more rooms and paying for them again from our pocket. We called your people and they also refused to allocate more rooms for us.

We will not be booking any trips with your company again. Sorry to say this.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Amir L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Was an amazing tour of Delphi and Meteora!
Very comfortable buses, knowledgable guides, and smooth pickup and drop off. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Helen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This 2 day tour is full on - 2 very long days but well worth it. Delphi was extremely interesting and our guide very knowledgeable, however, Meteora was simply AMAZING!!! We have never seen anything like this before. The monasteries are really something to see. This tour definitely had the wow factor for us.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

cagoogirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This day trip was awe inspiring. Vasillis, the tour guide, was very helpful, informative, polite, and willing to accommodate our needs. The train ride from Athens was long, but Meteora is worth it.

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Monika k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Meteora was a very interesting place to visit. The train trip was very long. The guide was very informative and the monasteries spectacular.

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Rosane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour!! This was a lifetime experience! The tour was very well organised, Delphi was incredible and our tour guide was really lovely and extremely knowledgeable. The coach journey is stunning, the views you get on the way to both Delphi and Meteora are beautiful! The hotel in Meteora was fantastic, food was really great, it was a very relaxing experience. Meteora itself was totally breathtaking, we got to stop a few times in great spots for pics which was awesome. The visits to the monasteries were great, since we started early we avoided the crowd that arrived after we finished touring. Top notch tour, totally recommended!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

William F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Meteora is incredible. Our driver Velissus was awesome. Had local knowledge and went out of his way to accommodate us. The train ride could have been better. We were not given specific seat numbers in First Class and had to change seats several times due to being in wrong seats. The AC worked ok in the morning, but not in the afternoon. Hot and muggy in train on the way back. Also, smoking in the hallways of train car was a bit of a nuisance.

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Amit V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A tour worth it for the stunning sights of Meteora.
The bus ride can be long in parts but the commentary of our guide Asimenia (hope I and #39;ve got that right) was grnerally interesting. However, we had a change in bus in Delphi and the 2nd bus was smaller and cramped
as it was completely full.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Chiedza M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A trip through a lovely part of the country. There was not enough time in Delphi at all, but otherwise the trip was well organised and offered a good slice of ancient Grecian culture. The hilltop monasteries in Meteora were a real treat!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Bailey B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Meteora was amazing and well worth the trip. Our guide for Meteora was also very good at giving interesting information rather than just dates. Though the site of of Delphi was interesting, the tour was bad and difficult to understand. He also had to repeat the tour in two languages so it took twice as long as it should have and resulted in most of the group not having time to walk to the top of Delph. The entire thing seemed really rushed. Four stars because Meteora was phenomenal. I would rent a car so I had more time if I went again.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Rachael

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

This was a simple, easy way to see two beautiful sights without the stress and hassle of planning and driving yourself. The sites of Delphi and Meteora are absolutely worth seeing- they are beautiful, spiritual, historical, and I could go on. The overnight accommodations seem a little dated and I was not happy with the food, but they were clean and spacious and the pool was nice. As sometimes happens on a tour, the guide can get a little waring sometimes I yearned for quiet on the bus and occasionally timing is tough I would have liked more time in town after Delphi to get lunch on our own, rather than eating at the hotel, but in general we had enough free time to explore on our own that I was happy. Although the trip wasn't perfect, I would do it again and recommend it as a way to see the sites.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Jairam P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The 1st leg is combined with day tour to Delphi bus change at Delphi to join with 4-day tour for Meteora.

At Delphi, day group visits museum included, 2 day group skips museum and leaves after ONLY 1 hour of being at site. So climb to the top is only for athletic tourists. Strenuous in 90s temps. Not enough time!

Lunch is at Hotel Amalia and not included. Food VERY average with 4-5 entrée options. Service SLOW, irate waiters. Location scenic, and restrooms clean/plentiful, only plus points of this stop. A pre-paid, box meal, with restroom stop would allow more time at site!!! Plus trip gets to Kalambaka with PLENTY of time in evening. May be a matter of drive time for driver, not sure.

Meteroa bus was 35 seater smaller coach, badly equipped for 2 day trip, much less 4 days. Temps in 90s in July and A/C worked poorly in several parts of bus many vents did not function at all, not even warm air blowing in window seat with sun beating down, no shades decorative curtains only, 3 hour journey VERY uncomfortable.

Kalambaka stay at Hotel Amalia - Picturesque property, spacious, clean rooms. Dinner/bkfast incl buffet style. Good meals.

Monastery visits well executed crowded but inevitable at this time of year. Photo stops but no actual time in surroundings. More time would be welcome!

For lunch, our guide asked cursorily about stopping at recommended restaurant, outside Kalambaka's main district. Restaurant Palazzo was LOW point of trip! Bad food exorbitantly priced not included. Lunch option for multiple tour groups. Service is focused on herding you through cafeteria line server waiting at cash register insists on walking tray to your table ours was rude/sassy about not finding our table right away in a room of 300 people! Would have preferred eating in town and meet up at a pre-designated time.

5 hour trip to Athens in no A/C bus was very uncomfortable. Overall, not a tour we would repeat unless CHAT makes some changes.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Sarah H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The time at Delphi was very rushed. We were practically running through the sanctuary. The lunch location in Delphi had horrible service and didn't seem prepared for a group of 20 even though this tour must come through fairly regularly. They forgot to put in one of our dishes and didn't even apologize when it came out 20 minutes after everyone else's and we only had 5 minutes to eat before having to board another bus. For the Meteora half of the trip, the air conditioner on the bus was broken which made the long ride rather uncomfortable. Note that although this says you'll return to Athens by 6:30 the guide plans the schedule to return at 7:30 instead. Also for lunch on day 2 you are brought to an awful tour factory buffet. Ask the guide if you can eat in town instead. Meteora itself was amazing and definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

ankurfitzgibbons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best day tour we had on our trip in Greece! If you are questioning if this day trip is for you, stop questioning. It is 100 worth it! It was a 5 hour train ride to Meteora but when we go there, we literally knew it was worth that long trip. Meteora is such an incredible place with incredible views of the perched monasteries. Our driver was amazing. He was knowledgable and took us to all the monasteries and pointed out places we would be able to take pictures. He also took our pictures and we couldn't have been any happier. To get a private driver who takes you everywhere and also helps you with photos makes the price of this tour worth it. We also had time to go back to the main town and have a quick dinner very cheap and very good food. Honestly, if there is one day tour you have to book - it is this one!

Doing what: Meteora - Day Trip by Train from Athens

Howard G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip to Meteora was great and we enjoyed both lunch locations. The guide was very informative and it was well organized. the stop in Delphi was too rushed as we did not see it all and had 5 minutes in the museum. It's a long drive so it may be best to drop this and just do Meteora at a reduced price. The other challenge is that there is a lot of gathering of people and shifting around to get everyone on the bus they pick you up take you to central hotel and then you get shifted the correct bus. maybe start the pickup process earlier so we can get started earlier. There was an accident with our pickup bus so this did cost us 1/2 hour.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

albert

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was great. Our guide Effie/Happy was fantastic. The tour of Delphi was ok it was a long trek upwards so imperative for good walking shoes and be prepared to hike good thing the weather was ok that day but I could not imagine hiking up during the intense summer heat. We had a lot of folks in our tour bus who skipped going all the way to the top in Delphi. Meteora was great.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

David F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed our tour. Other than the pick up and drop off, which seemed random and was not communicated well, the tour was efficiently organized to Delphi and Meteora. The guides were informative and friendly, and the bus driver very efficient. Definitely recommend this trip, especially to families. Both places are spectacular and we did not feel shortchanged on time at either one.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Kara H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A lot of hours on the bus but both sites, especially Meteora, were worth it. The guide was very knowledgeable and everything very well organized.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Bhavina P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great! We learned a lot of history and about the Greek mythology legends that had taken place thousands of years ago. The hotel for Meteora was very accommodating. I wish the tour had stopped longer at Delphi because we did not have the time to see the museum.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Kelly A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Went to Meteora. The tour guide decided not to go to the Grand Monastery because it was too crowded. We pleaded that it was the most famous for a reason and had the most to see. But she refused. We went to a nunnery which had 2 rooms and then sat around for 30 minutes with nothing to do! Worst trip!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

M_DUBOISE United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The last time I was at Meteora was 1978. At that time there was only one 2 star hotel to say in. Tourist buses were not to be found. While the tourism industry surrounding Meteora has changed, the fantastic sights have not. Our tour guide was first rate. The bus and accommodations were impeccable and the food along the way was excellent. Including the fantastic sights at Delphi was a nice touch.

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Jessica C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Overall a good tour, good guidance through Delphi and Meteora.
The morning of the first day was a bit rocky, our female guide repeated herself continuously, saying the same thing over and over in about 3 different ways and giving us heaps of unnecessary information just to try to fill in the bus trip nothing wrong with silence!. To give her credit she was much better during our time in Delphi and explained the ruins quite well.
At lunch time we were Combined with another group - who had been on tour for four days. The group was great, our guide Costos spel? was a kind hearted man and very knowledgable about the places we stopped. A good tour to go on and we met lots of wonderful people!

Doing what: 2-Day Trip to Delphi and Meteora from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message