Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Olympic Stadium

Greece is where the Olympic Games began in the 11th century BC, as a festival dedicated to the god Zeus. The first modern Olympics was held in Athens in 1896 in the Panathinaiko Stadium, a 4th century BC stadium which was restored for the games. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1304 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour. I would always recommend a hop-on/hop-off bus in any city. Just make sure you know what time attractions are closing and the last bus it. We had a very short layover in Athens, and ended up JUST missing the Parthenon closing time...and also the last bus: our own, fault, of course.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jackie P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Overall it was a great day even though the weather was chilly. Our guide was dynamic. We also enjoyed mingling with other travelers. The pace of the trip was fantastic. So overall, it was well worth the investment of our money and time.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Alex M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

I was not happy with this tour. The tour guide was very boring and I felt like the tour group was too big to get anything out of it.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

jou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Relaxing way to see the city.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sherry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

As always a great way to travel and see the city, no matter what country or city you go into, I always suggest to ride around first on the top if possible to get those beautiful pictures and then decide what you really want to see and make the best use of your time if it is a short stay

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

brian g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

orientation trip

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Nathan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I took the Athens only red line since I only had one day to visit. I enjoyed it a lot and the driver's were really helpful in advising how I use my time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Valerie W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

There was no cover for the top of the bus and it rained the headphone jack did't work the best.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Hussain B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good city sightseeing , the Bus provided with heaters during winter season , the assistant was polite and helpful

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

PETER P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I wanted to explore Athens, and what better way than to take a Viator tour. The tour was actually provided through Chat Tours, I was picked up at my Athens Hotel, and then others were as well. We then had to get off the bus, wait in the lobby of a different hotel, then board our new bus. Then we waited for the guide. The weather was cold and it was snowing! The Guide informed us that the majority of the tour would be by bus, with the exception of the Acropolis. That was fine. Tours are great, but bring a tape recorder, because you can't retain all the information that is given without one. The bus was small and cramped.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Jessica A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Uninformed drivers weren't very helpful.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

firitchie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic. Highly recommend. Our guide was fabulous and so informative. Was a bit nervous about riding the Segway as I hadn't done it before but after 10 minhutes was hooting about everywhere. Really enjoyable way to get about and saves your legs if you've been already doing alot of walking on your holiday.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Marco S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

For the price of the tour, it was worth it. The tour guide was knowledgeable and very nice. For a half day of crammed knowledge and experience, I would recommend the Chart Tour.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lori L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Oh my god I loved this! I had never been on a Segway before but they made it so easy! The tour ended up just being my daughter and I and it was great. Our guide answered all of our questions and showed us the historical and modern sites of Athens.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Bob

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Our guide was great but program itself is not that much recommendable. It is basically acropolis tour with knowledgeable guide. a few stops before are not much worth.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide for this tour was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The itinerary was very good for a 1/2 day tour.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sally A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Easy way to orient ourselves with the historical sites within Athens, tour guide was knowledgable with lots of insights to the history and background of the places we saw. Having a small group gave us easy access to the guide to ask questions and hear all that was said. Would strongly recommend spending the money to appreciate this amazing city and all its historical sites.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Shirley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very pleased with this hop on/off tour. It stopped at/near every site I wanted to see. The buses were on an excellent schedule. The pre-recorded on-board commentary was very good.
The drivers and staff at each stop were friendly and helpful and I was very happy that the drivers indicated when the next stop was coming up.
At the end of the day, there were also very good about indicating when the last bus would be coming around.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Best tour I have taken. The guide was so knowledgeable and passionate.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Freida M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great way to see the major sites of Athens. Great informative commentary

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dejouae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience! Very organised and perfect for a short visit when you want to see the most you can. The buses were driving on time. There was no waiting at all. We hoped on and off for two days. Dont miss busy quarter of Manastiraki and the nearby Ancient Agora. Acroplis Museum is an architectural and archaeological jewel, and should be seen after the Acropolis and Perthenon. Reserve about 2 to 3 hours for the National Archeological Museum and its splendid display of antic Greek archaeological heritage. The Sintagma and Omonia squares are worth a quick stroll, but do take some time for the historical Plaka area. And last, but not least, do visit the Metropolitan Cathedral of Athens for a view of the Christian Orthodox faith splendour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Annabeth L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our hop-on was very nice. Our guide took us on a free tour at the bottom of the Acropolis. It was delightful. We saw some things that are not on the normal tours. Our guides were friendly and informative and made our hop on very enjoyable. We never had to wait too long from stop to stop to catch a ride.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

zara f

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Athens

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Shi R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was very informative and friendly and we stopped off at quite a few spots. The only issue was that we weren and #39;t able to enter any of the most popular spots, even if we paid for the tickets ourselves, which made the trip fun, but a tad useless if you wanted to check things out up close.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message