Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Olympic Stadium

Greece is where the Olympic Games began in the 11th century BC, as a festival dedicated to the god Zeus. The first modern Olympics was held in Athens in 1896 in the Panathinaiko Stadium, a 4th century BC stadium which was restored for the games. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1289 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

firitchie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic. Highly recommend. Our guide was fabulous and so informative. Was a bit nervous about riding the Segway as I hadn't done it before but after 10 minhutes was hooting about everywhere. Really enjoyable way to get about and saves your legs if you've been already doing alot of walking on your holiday.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide for this tour was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The itinerary was very good for a 1/2 day tour.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sally A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Easy way to orient ourselves with the historical sites within Athens, tour guide was knowledgable with lots of insights to the history and background of the places we saw. Having a small group gave us easy access to the guide to ask questions and hear all that was said. Would strongly recommend spending the money to appreciate this amazing city and all its historical sites.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Shirley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very pleased with this hop on/off tour. It stopped at/near every site I wanted to see. The buses were on an excellent schedule. The pre-recorded on-board commentary was very good.
The drivers and staff at each stop were friendly and helpful and I was very happy that the drivers indicated when the next stop was coming up.
At the end of the day, there were also very good about indicating when the last bus would be coming around.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Best tour I have taken. The guide was so knowledgeable and passionate.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Freida M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great way to see the major sites of Athens. Great informative commentary

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dejouae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience! Very organised and perfect for a short visit when you want to see the most you can. The buses were driving on time. There was no waiting at all. We hoped on and off for two days. Dont miss busy quarter of Manastiraki and the nearby Ancient Agora. Acroplis Museum is an architectural and archaeological jewel, and should be seen after the Acropolis and Perthenon. Reserve about 2 to 3 hours for the National Archeological Museum and its splendid display of antic Greek archaeological heritage. The Sintagma and Omonia squares are worth a quick stroll, but do take some time for the historical Plaka area. And last, but not least, do visit the Metropolitan Cathedral of Athens for a view of the Christian Orthodox faith splendour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Annabeth L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our hop-on was very nice. Our guide took us on a free tour at the bottom of the Acropolis. It was delightful. We saw some things that are not on the normal tours. Our guides were friendly and informative and made our hop on very enjoyable. We never had to wait too long from stop to stop to catch a ride.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

zara f

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Athens

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Shi R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was very informative and friendly and we stopped off at quite a few spots. The only issue was that we weren and #39;t able to enter any of the most popular spots, even if we paid for the tickets ourselves, which made the trip fun, but a tad useless if you wanted to check things out up close.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Annabeth L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

We had hotel pick up at 7:15 AM which was good. We picked up at several other hotels. Two hours later, we arrived and got off the bus at another hotel and waited in the lobby for 30 minutes to get on another bus. Poppi, our guide, came in sweat pants and complained several times that she was very tired. Her presentation confirmed this. It was not particularly informative. I have taken Vistor tours for 30 years and this is the worst tour we have ever had.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Mary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I love hop-on hop-off tours. It's a great way to see the city and learn about its history. I would recommend it while you are in Athens.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

myracarleton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way for us to see the highlights of Athens. We were limited in our time, as we were on a cruise ship. We had to take a bus into downtown Athens to catch the Hop-on-Hop-off. Athens is a big, very busy city and with 10 cruise ships in port, we decided to just stay on the bus and listen to the audio of the various sights and did not get off at the tourist sites. We would have needed more time to physically get off and see the sights, but this gave us a great overview. We found we had fun just watching the insane traffic and were amazed at how well the bus driver was able to manoeuvre that big bus on those narrow streets.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

DAVID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Superb tour. Always good availability of buses, audio guides etc. Pay for 24 hrs get 48 is a great deal. I used it for 4 days to see as much of Athens as possible.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Tuan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great tour guide. very friendly and knowledgeable. easy to approach and ask questions

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Dale H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

wonderful

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very convenient. It was easy to find the buses wherever we went.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

annabelle.61

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to see the Acropolis. The guide was informative and helpful. I have always booked through Viator and am never disappointed. Their tour guides and itineries are superb and the price comparable to others. Although I usually manage to pick up some tours at good discounts. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Bernido M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good , satisfied with the hop on hop off tour ride.5 star

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

fwking54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Easy and very convenient

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Haran R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way for us to see all of Athens in 2 days, the free guided walking tour was a nice added bonus. Our Guide Demetrius was a passionate fellow who gave us the walking tour of the surrounding of the Acropolis. Totally worth it.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Got to see what I wanted to see in Athens

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

jerry.dayao

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Your supplier Chattours is very professional in so many ways, from the hotel pickup to checkin and the actual trip itself. The tour guide Yota is very knowledgable and very personable. Greeks are the best!

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great way to get the best out of a day there. Picked up immediately from Piraeus at 9.30 by the Green Line bus. Dropped off at the Acropolis at 10.00. Straight into the Ticket Office and up to the Parthenon. No waiting. Long queue when we came out two hours' later. Then caught the Red Route Bus from where we were first dropped off to view the old Olympic Stadium. Then went on again to the authentic Markets area and browsed up and down the narrow cobbled streets - better than Petticoat Lane in London? By five o'clock exhaustion set in, so back to Piraeus at speed.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message