Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Olympic Stadium

Greece is where the Olympic Games began in the 11th century BC, as a festival dedicated to the god Zeus. The first modern Olympics was held in Athens in 1896 in the Panathinaiko Stadium, a 4th century BC stadium which was restored for the games. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to see many places in a day. Lots of information and we had a great time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to see many places in a day. Lots of information and we had a great time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

RC S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a fun way to get a look at the highlight of Athens. You get around very quickly and safely. The guides are knowledgeable and helpful. WE HAD A BLAST.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

As usual, a pocket-friendly and efficient way to see a city. The 24hour ticket is valid on the day of purchase and the one after, so this was perfect for my 36hour visit to Athens and allowed me to have an evening view of the city as the sun was starting to set.
I was also able to take advantage of one of the free walking tours from the Acropolis- the guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining and it was an excellent way to learn some of the hidden secrets/random facts about Athens and Greek history. If you've got the stamina, do both of them as they differ.
The staff at the bus stops were also very friendly and knowledgeable, willing to give suggestions on things to see/do while waiting for the next bus.
I'm already looking forward to my next City Sightseeing experience :

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Richard D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well done. Effy was a good linguist and knwledgable guide

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Deborah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Katarina was a fabulous guide. She took us through the Acropolis, Parthenon, Acropolis Museum and many more sites in Athens. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with her and would highly recommend her as your guide. Athens is a beautiful, vibrant city seeing it through her eyes was perfect. Details such as pick up from our hotel and the description of the tour on the app were accurate as well.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

JCouzelis United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic guide and it was a great way to go up and down hills around the Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great driver and tour guide. Our tour guide took personal care of us and was aware of our needs, desires, and limitations. She was flexible providing a personalized tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

gsperling58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very professional, on time, at the right place and flexible enough for us to get a bit to eat after arriving at an early hour. Hara was a very experienced and entertaining guide, and managed to give us just the right amount of information without us feeling overwhelmed. The 400 mtr line for tickets to the Acropolis was a sure sign that a small tour group and a dedicated guide was a great decision.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

elainegrindrod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Good value and a good way to get around the city

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

bgreenindy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Anastasia was FABULOUS. By having a personal tour guide, we were able to get a lot of information about Athens and was able to go at our own pace. We also were able to sneak through the large crowds when needed, to keep moving along. Having the detailed attention made the tour more interesting. Would recommend this private tour to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

Blake A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Joanna, was very friendly and knowledgeable. We visited Parliament to watch the changing of the guards, which was a very unique and memorable experience. The highlight of our tour was visiting the Acropolis and learning about the history of the Parthenon. The journey up to the Acropolis could be challenging for some, with steep inclines and some uneven pathways but well worth the effort. Being on the tour, Joanna already had our admission tickets so we were able to bypass the LONG line of tourists who were not part of a group waiting in line to purchase their individual tickets. Once at the top, Joanna was quick to find some shade from the hot sun while she gave us our history lesson about the Acropolis and surrounding area. Given that the tour was private, it was a great opportunity to set our own pace and ask our own questions rather than being part of a larger group so you are able to learn more about what interests you, specifically.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fantastic option. The bus came to the wharf meeting our ship, and stops at many interesting areas. This way you can adjust your day to suit your particular interests. Great value

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

pamelaelf

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Liked that we got picked up at our hotel. The people with small children and strollers were NOT told that they couldn't bring the stroller into the Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

John A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful experience. Dimitra our guide was professional, polite and knowledgeable. The tour itself showed us many interesting sites with the opportunity to stop and take photographs. The only thing that would have made it better would have been headsets so that we could have heard Dimitra's commentaries better.
I definitely recommend the tour.
John

Doing what: Athens City Highlights Segway Tour

Kerry F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Gives you a great view of Athens . Recommend a once around and work out where you wish to get off
And the places you do and do not want to visit

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Kathy W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The transportation and audio were good, however, it seemed that we always had to wait much longer for our bus as others from the other companies would stop and people would load. Our first hop on was a 45 minute wait! But, overall it was a good way to get acclimated to the area and hear a little history as well!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Maria Y United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The bus drivers were actually very helpful and courteous. They made our transfers easy and stress-free.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

ange1972

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good way to see the tourist sights of Athens.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Frank S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not worth it in my opinion. 35 minutes into town, then 90 minutes to do the full red line. We ended up taking the bus into the city and taking a taxi back to our cruise terminal.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Gilbert R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The out was beneficial for access to the Acropolis and the Museum and transportation to both. However, there was a lack of communication especially on the day of - had to pick up and then change buses, not much outline of the agenda for the day, lack of coordination leading up to the Acropolis. The part where we drove around the city lacked excitement and could easily have been skipped or done on our own. The guide was ok. My group 3 of us left the group once we arrived at the Museum. I would recommend getting to the Acropolis as early as possible, get your own tickets, and avoid the mass crowds and then skip this tour...I'm not sure there as much cost savings anyway.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Diana B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

It was so hot and miserable that I never got to see anything in Athens. I waited 30 minutes to board a bus to get back to the ship and did not set foot in Athens again. There are no pictures and this is not something I would ever recommend to anyone. We didn't know where to pick up the bus at the port and finally took a taxi to our one site we visited and then figured out which bus it was to get back to the ship. I would never do this again. I would just get a guided tour and pay to know where I was going and how to do things.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Effie was the best. Patient and open to our needs and desires. Well worth the time and money spent. After this private tour, I will always look for a private tour over a bus tour as one can not only see and do more but you never feel like a number.

Doing what: Private Tour: Athens City Highlights Including the Acropolis of Athens

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was amazing. Not only was she an archaeologist, she was so helpful regarding places to eat, etc. I thought I knew a fair bit about Ancient Greece, but I learnt so much more over this half day tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message