Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Syntagma Square

Syntagma Square is the heart of modern Athens. Also known as Constitution Square, it is a huge public plaza stretching out in front of the Greek Parliament Building. The scene for many celebrations and demonstrations, the square has recently been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 575 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shirley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very pleased with this hop on/off tour. It stopped at/near every site I wanted to see. The buses were on an excellent schedule. The pre-recorded on-board commentary was very good.
The drivers and staff at each stop were friendly and helpful and I was very happy that the drivers indicated when the next stop was coming up.
At the end of the day, there were also very good about indicating when the last bus would be coming around.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Freida M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great way to see the major sites of Athens. Great informative commentary

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dejouae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience! Very organised and perfect for a short visit when you want to see the most you can. The buses were driving on time. There was no waiting at all. We hoped on and off for two days. Dont miss busy quarter of Manastiraki and the nearby Ancient Agora. Acroplis Museum is an architectural and archaeological jewel, and should be seen after the Acropolis and Perthenon. Reserve about 2 to 3 hours for the National Archeological Museum and its splendid display of antic Greek archaeological heritage. The Sintagma and Omonia squares are worth a quick stroll, but do take some time for the historical Plaka area. And last, but not least, do visit the Metropolitan Cathedral of Athens for a view of the Christian Orthodox faith splendour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Annabeth L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our hop-on was very nice. Our guide took us on a free tour at the bottom of the Acropolis. It was delightful. We saw some things that are not on the normal tours. Our guides were friendly and informative and made our hop on very enjoyable. We never had to wait too long from stop to stop to catch a ride.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

zara f

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see Athens

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Mary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I love hop-on hop-off tours. It's a great way to see the city and learn about its history. I would recommend it while you are in Athens.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

myracarleton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way for us to see the highlights of Athens. We were limited in our time, as we were on a cruise ship. We had to take a bus into downtown Athens to catch the Hop-on-Hop-off. Athens is a big, very busy city and with 10 cruise ships in port, we decided to just stay on the bus and listen to the audio of the various sights and did not get off at the tourist sites. We would have needed more time to physically get off and see the sights, but this gave us a great overview. We found we had fun just watching the insane traffic and were amazed at how well the bus driver was able to manoeuvre that big bus on those narrow streets.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

DAVID B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Superb tour. Always good availability of buses, audio guides etc. Pay for 24 hrs get 48 is a great deal. I used it for 4 days to see as much of Athens as possible.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Suzanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very convenient. It was easy to find the buses wherever we went.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Bernido M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good , satisfied with the hop on hop off tour ride.5 star

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

fwking54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Easy and very convenient

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Haran R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great way for us to see all of Athens in 2 days, the free guided walking tour was a nice added bonus. Our Guide Demetrius was a passionate fellow who gave us the walking tour of the surrounding of the Acropolis. Totally worth it.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Got to see what I wanted to see in Athens

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Anthony W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great way to get the best out of a day there. Picked up immediately from Piraeus at 9.30 by the Green Line bus. Dropped off at the Acropolis at 10.00. Straight into the Ticket Office and up to the Parthenon. No waiting. Long queue when we came out two hours' later. Then caught the Red Route Bus from where we were first dropped off to view the old Olympic Stadium. Then went on again to the authentic Markets area and browsed up and down the narrow cobbled streets - better than Petticoat Lane in London? By five o'clock exhaustion set in, so back to Piraeus at speed.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an amazing time touring Athens! My grandfather born and raised in Greece joined us and said this was, by far, the best way to tour and sightsee in Athens! He even called my aunts and told them when they visit, they need to book this tour!

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Hussein A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed ,,but it was sunny ,,please for sun protection roof

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Brittany D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Overall, a great experience and value! You get to see most of the top things to do in Athens - just make sure that you're getting on the right bus that you paid for as there are several by the same company that go to other locations we learned this the hard way.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

bgris

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Enjoyed the Hop tour through Piraeus and parts of Athens. It was a great time to just look out the window and enjoy the marinas, beaches and to see all the people going about their daily lives. The walk to get to the bus was a long one from the port and there were no signs saying where to catch the bus at the port. A cab driver told us where to go for the bus. Otherwise it was a good way to spend an hour or two.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dougmayhew

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Excellent commentary

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Pastor Don P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Most of Athens was a disappointment. Graffiti was everywhere and they do not seem to care. Have some pride and care for the place you live! The ruins were spectacular ant there was a beautiful park that we visited downtown. A street vendor tried to rip us off. I am glad that we visited the Acropolis but other that that this was a waste of time and money, The little Gk Isle of Mykonos was much more pleasant.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to see many places in a day. Lots of information and we had a great time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best way to see many places in a day. Lots of information and we had a great time.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Rachel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

As usual, a pocket-friendly and efficient way to see a city. The 24hour ticket is valid on the day of purchase and the one after, so this was perfect for my 36hour visit to Athens and allowed me to have an evening view of the city as the sun was starting to set.
I was also able to take advantage of one of the free walking tours from the Acropolis- the guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining and it was an excellent way to learn some of the hidden secrets/random facts about Athens and Greek history. If you've got the stamina, do both of them as they differ.
The staff at the bus stops were also very friendly and knowledgeable, willing to give suggestions on things to see/do while waiting for the next bus.
I'm already looking forward to my next City Sightseeing experience :

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

CHRISTINE A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great way to see Athens.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Athens Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message