Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 586 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Corpsie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour. Guide Sisi was amazing for the Acropolis portion, both at the site and in the Museum. Normally I don't like guided tours of museums, but she pointed out stuff that I found fascinated that I would have missed otherwise. It's a remarkable museum.
We went on Christmas Eve, so no one was at the Acropolis and it was heaven. When we got to the Parthenon, there were less than 50 people up there. Glorious!
Cape Sounion was in the afternoon. Our driver was awesome and the ride was gorgeous. The key to the site is to be there at or near sunset for stunning photographs. Otherwise it's a meh excursion, you go down, you come back. Still worth doing if you are there are sunset.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour leader was enthusiastic, articulate, and very informative. In addition, she dealt tactfully with an issue in the van and also helped another tour's client who fell on the steps. What a superb representative of the Greek people!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing orientation of Athens. Loved the Parthenon and even on such busy days there was plenty of time to enjoy. Trip to Cape Sounion gives you a scenic drive along coast and worth the trip. Must do in Athens

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lovely sunset tour. Excellent guide!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

amy_french

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic! The coastline on the way to the temple is so beautiful and definitely worth the drive.
This tour is also perfectly timed so that you watch the sun set whilst driving back to Athens. Highly recommend

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The walking tour was really amazing. The guide was super friendly and personable in addition to being knowledgeable about Athens, its' sights and its' history she even gave us recommendations on restaurants. The trip to Cape Sounion in the afternoon was equally great. It was about an hour drive outside of Athens so there was quite a bit of sitting on the bus. This entire tour was totally worth it especially for people who don't have a lot of time to spend in Athens because it certainly brings you to the highlights of the city.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Grant B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour with a very knowledgeable and fun tour guide!! Well worth it!!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Flash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A short tour but well worth it, not just for the Temple but also for the sights along the way.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

suzie_mary_ray

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The Landscape along the drive and at the Cape is amazing. The temple was great to see, and being winter we saw the sun set behind it which was amazing. The tour guide was nice but didn't add anything I couldn't read off the signs there. The tour is basically transport to the site and a brief orientation. We only had 45mins on site, which is enough for the temple but not to also really explore the old village and ancient shipyard beach area.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Julia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

First half of the day was better than the second half! Tour/Acropolis guide was wonderful, but the Temple of Poseidon felt like a long drive for only 30 minutes there.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Flaneuretta United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon was fine, however, we got stuck with the cruising crowd at noon at the Acropolis. We had to go back early in the morning to be able to walk the Acropolis sans the crowds.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Trevor A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

In addition to the Temple site itself, this tour provides a good opportunity to see the southeastern seaside suburbs and beaches of Athens - a very nice drive. Our guide was excellent - very friendly, helpful and engaging. The temple is spectacularly located on a high headland with cliffs down to the sea and views in all directions. The site is well restored and impressive, and it's easy to imagine the ancient sailors gliding by reassured by the site of the temple above, heralding the approaches to Athens, still some distance away. A café-restaurant is located near the car park and offers a good range of refreshments. If looking for a pleasant afternoon break from the hustle of Athens this tour is well worth taking - very good value.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

ANNABELLE P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful scenery and quite a view! The drive was very nice, the site beautiful and the guide very helpful.
Worth the trip for sure!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely stunning views and a short drive from Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Denis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable for a great tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Pace was perfect. Guides were very knowledgeable. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

pierrehsing

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It is a pity that it was a cloudy day for the half day trip, otherwise the sunset scene is a bonus. The female guide spoke clearly and gave a rich account of the history and mythology of the temple and the significance of the fortifications there. They were put in place to protect silver mining and production as well as grain import because Athens could not produce enough grains on account of its hilly terrains
We set off at 2 pm but it took one hour to pick up all customers. It should start at 1 pm instead of 2 pm because so much time was wasted. Even it is not a cloudy day, the sun sets earlier in winter.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Lawrence K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip is as advertised: a bus trip to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. The weather was uncooperative, so there was no sunset to photo. The Temple is impressive.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Lawrence K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip is as advertised: a bus trip to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. The weather was uncooperative, so there was no sunset to photo. The Temple is impressive.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Laura B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip was fine. The destination wasn't really that exciting, but the sights along the coast made it worth it.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Shirley A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful tour with an excellent guide.
The site has great views and an interesting history. Our guide was well-versed in her history. While at the site, she gave excellent commentary, and the option of free-time or to continue walking with her and learning a bit more about different areas around the Temple.

The one thing missing was a sunset!! After reading so much about the sunsets here, I had managed to convince myself that we would be there for one during this tour!! However, we left before the sunset arrived.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great trip combined with the presence of a knowledgeable and helpful guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Shieh Lin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good experience, especially on the walking tour. Our guide Katerina was very good and she made an effort to talk to everyone separately on the walk. She also gave many interesting facts about the Acropolis

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Xenia, was the best that we had the entire time that we were in Greece. She was highly knowledgeable and patient. The tour itself was also very beautiful and a must see while in Athens/Greece.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message