Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 537 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I have wanted to visit Delphi since 9th grade,1962 and it was worth the wait. Excellent tour guide and very nice bus.The walking tour of the Acropolis was wonderful if not hot. Super tour guide. The afternoon trip to the Temple of Poseidon was a welcome treat in the afternoon.Chat tours did fine wor

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

mcwallace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well run and helpful and friendly guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great. The company was accommodating about the pick up location. They gave us good information about the site, but it was hard to hear/understand the tour guide. There was plenty of time to look around and take photos, overall, had a wonderful ecperience!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Rosemary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pleasant tour, picked up on time at our hotel. Very interesting guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Colin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour, picked up close to our hotel, very informative guide, excellent would throughly recommend

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Easy to find meeting place. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Awesome trip - highly recommend. Be prepared to do a lot of walking

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Stacy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We were picked up on time and then headed out of the city to see the Temple of Poseidon. The ruins are quite remarkable and the view surrounding the area is breathtaking.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of the Acropolis. Guide was wonderful and very knowledgable. The trip out to Cape Sounion seemed to be run by a different group and they weren't as good. The ride was long and not a lot of information given. When you got out there I think we spent way more time there than we needed to but I understand you have to justify the trip out there so you can't just spend 30 minutes and leave. Also, it was about 94 degrees F and being out in the sun all day just got to us so that could be why the afternoon wasn't as good as the morning.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Heather M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The ride to the temple is very beautiful and scenic. Our guide quickly gave us the back history of the site and let us have about 30 minutes to ourselves to take it in and look around. It and #39;s not a big place so that and #39;s enough time to see it. I only wish we could have stopped at a beach too.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Susan H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a pleasant day. The crowds at the Acropolis were large, and our guide did her best to accommodate our group.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

anuja2285kem

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a beautiful road to travel on and a must see if you are in Athens.
If you are hiring a car then you can drive upto the Cape Sounion but if not then this is the best option you have. A comfortable ride with a good guide.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Julia B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A very cool tour that walked you around the major attractions in Athens and later in the afternoon gave you a leisure drive along the coast line to Cape Sounion. Well worth the ride. Our guide in Athens was okay. The guide we had to Cape Sounion was super informative, loved it After doing so many European tours an enthusiastic tour guide makes the your that more enjoyable. As for the tour- as we were only in Athens for two days we really felt like we saw all the major attractions in Athens and got a great view outside the city.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Lori T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We enjoyed our tour guides. Our group was too large for the guides however to speak to everyone without headsets.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Amz Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon are worth a look but we found the half day trip from Athens very rushed and not enough time due to the long drive to the site. You would probably be better off hiring a car or actually spending a few days down near the cape, there were some amazing looking places to stay and beaches along the way. This tour was good though with a very informative tour guide.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Anita H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This is a great place to visit and is so special - but it was made to feel like a boring tour - the temple is amazing - the tour should make it feel so - but your part of a bus tour - not good! Come on Viator this is an amazing place - make it feel like it!!!!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Jean Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this!
Fun to meet other tourists and also see the sights. Very happy I booked this tour

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

rasbury1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Acropolis walking tour was amazing. To be that close to history was phenomenal and our tour guide Pantelis did a wonderful job of educating us about so many of the aspects of that era. We also had some free time to really see the Acropolis and Parthenon.
We then walked back to our meeting place where we had a short lunch break.
After lunch we took a bus to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. It was a beautiful drive along the coast and our new guide Effie did an excellent job of describing the sights along the way. She also gave us the history of the Temple of Poseidon.
There is a lot of walking on uneven ground for both of these tours, so if you can't navigate hills and rough terrain I would not recommend this tour. If you can, then it's a 'must do'.
A couple of expenses to note before you leave your ship or hotel:
Price of the cab ride to and from the meeting place.
Price of admission to the Acropolis
Price of lunch-the tour met at a hotel and they had a varied menu/excellent food

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Amanda Blair Shiff United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful trip! We were so glad we were able to make it out to Sounion also!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message