Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 578 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lovely sunset tour. Excellent guide!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

amy_french

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fantastic! The coastline on the way to the temple is so beautiful and definitely worth the drive.
This tour is also perfectly timed so that you watch the sun set whilst driving back to Athens. Highly recommend

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Richard S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The walking tour was really amazing. The guide was super friendly and personable in addition to being knowledgeable about Athens, its' sights and its' history she even gave us recommendations on restaurants. The trip to Cape Sounion in the afternoon was equally great. It was about an hour drive outside of Athens so there was quite a bit of sitting on the bus. This entire tour was totally worth it especially for people who don't have a lot of time to spend in Athens because it certainly brings you to the highlights of the city.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Julia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

First half of the day was better than the second half! Tour/Acropolis guide was wonderful, but the Temple of Poseidon felt like a long drive for only 30 minutes there.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Trevor A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

In addition to the Temple site itself, this tour provides a good opportunity to see the southeastern seaside suburbs and beaches of Athens - a very nice drive. Our guide was excellent - very friendly, helpful and engaging. The temple is spectacularly located on a high headland with cliffs down to the sea and views in all directions. The site is well restored and impressive, and it's easy to imagine the ancient sailors gliding by reassured by the site of the temple above, heralding the approaches to Athens, still some distance away. A café-restaurant is located near the car park and offers a good range of refreshments. If looking for a pleasant afternoon break from the hustle of Athens this tour is well worth taking - very good value.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

ANNABELLE P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful scenery and quite a view! The drive was very nice, the site beautiful and the guide very helpful.
Worth the trip for sure!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely stunning views and a short drive from Athens.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Denis G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable for a great tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Leia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Pace was perfect. Guides were very knowledgeable. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

pierrehsing

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It is a pity that it was a cloudy day for the half day trip, otherwise the sunset scene is a bonus. The female guide spoke clearly and gave a rich account of the history and mythology of the temple and the significance of the fortifications there. They were put in place to protect silver mining and production as well as grain import because Athens could not produce enough grains on account of its hilly terrains
We set off at 2 pm but it took one hour to pick up all customers. It should start at 1 pm instead of 2 pm because so much time was wasted. Even it is not a cloudy day, the sun sets earlier in winter.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Lawrence K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip is as advertised: a bus trip to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. The weather was uncooperative, so there was no sunset to photo. The Temple is impressive.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Lawrence K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip is as advertised: a bus trip to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon. The weather was uncooperative, so there was no sunset to photo. The Temple is impressive.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Laura B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip was fine. The destination wasn't really that exciting, but the sights along the coast made it worth it.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Shirley A

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful tour with an excellent guide.
The site has great views and an interesting history. Our guide was well-versed in her history. While at the site, she gave excellent commentary, and the option of free-time or to continue walking with her and learning a bit more about different areas around the Temple.

The one thing missing was a sunset!! After reading so much about the sunsets here, I had managed to convince myself that we would be there for one during this tour!! However, we left before the sunset arrived.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great trip combined with the presence of a knowledgeable and helpful guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Shieh Lin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good experience, especially on the walking tour. Our guide Katerina was very good and she made an effort to talk to everyone separately on the walk. She also gave many interesting facts about the Acropolis

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Brittany D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Xenia, was the best that we had the entire time that we were in Greece. She was highly knowledgeable and patient. The tour itself was also very beautiful and a must see while in Athens/Greece.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Alexander T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Morning was great: long tour of city highlights, climb Acropolis to see Parthenon and a very knowledgeable guide through the new museum, the dimensions and orientation of which mirror the Parthenon. Afternoon tour to Cape Sounion is often scenic along the coast but you spend 1.5-2 hours on the bus each way for 30-45 minute stay and the temple is frankly probably only interesting for the archaeology enthusiast. Morning is a must, afternoon something to do if you have nothing better to do.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Ellen A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Athens tour was okay, but Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon were brilliant. I would do it again and would highly recommend this half-day trip.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Danielle L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Bus was great. Were lead to believe was going to watch sunset. Not the case. Had 50 minutes at site. Disorganized.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Demetrios K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Could a more boring, less imaginative, and lower-energy tour guide have been found in all of Athens? On the way down to Sounio, we were treated to a reading of a dry lecture on the development of democracy in Athens and the idea of the Logos, the short speech each participating freeman was expected to make in support of his own views in the Athens assembly. The lecture was delivered in a monotone by a sitting tour guide facing away from us.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

alexlocam34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a marvelous and magical experience. We went back on time on every step we climbed towards Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon.

I have told every friend I have to use Viator, we fell in love with all our tour guides because of their passion and knowledge.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Gwyneth B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth the cost. Great afternoon.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

GREG S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The walking is a good deal if you only have a day or two in Athens, Otherwise , you can do it all on your own with 3 day trip. We enjoyed the tour. Cape Sounion is ok . Nice drive along the sea. But really kind of a yawn after seeing the Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Rachelle M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very exciting, informative, and personal. We had an AMAZING time with our guide and truly learned a lot from our experience. I would recommend this tour and this guide to anyone who plans to travel to this area of Europe. The tour was well-worth the money, and I will definitely book this tour or a similar tour the next time I travel!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message