Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 555 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

alexlocam34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was a marvelous and magical experience. We went back on time on every step we climbed towards Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon.

I have told every friend I have to use Viator, we fell in love with all our tour guides because of their passion and knowledge.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

GREG S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The walking is a good deal if you only have a day or two in Athens, Otherwise , you can do it all on your own with 3 day trip. We enjoyed the tour. Cape Sounion is ok . Nice drive along the sea. But really kind of a yawn after seeing the Acropolis.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Rachelle M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was very exciting, informative, and personal. We had an AMAZING time with our guide and truly learned a lot from our experience. I would recommend this tour and this guide to anyone who plans to travel to this area of Europe. The tour was well-worth the money, and I will definitely book this tour or a similar tour the next time I travel!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

rvollebekk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Not happy with Acropolis part...only from a money standpoint. they wanted 20 Euros to go there. your brochure said 12 ...quite a difference. Overall the trip was excellent, including the guide.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Tra

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

it's a easy relaxing tour that involves mostly sitting on the tour bus, and roughly an hour at Temple of Poseidon and a short 5 minute photo stop. The view from Temple of Poseidon is gorgeous, although we missed the sunset as it is later after 7pm in September, by which time we were already on the way back to Athens. During the summer ending September, I would have like to have longer time say additional 30 minutes at the temple. I agree with a previous review that seats on the right side of the bus on the way to Cape Sounion provide the best view.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

JCouzelis United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We had a great tour guide. But the trip to cape Sounion took over one hour and we had 1.5 hours at the site. The return to Athens took 1 3/4 hours due to traffic. Too much time on the van made the trip too long.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Bharath K

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Its a nice tour. Could have shown more places in and around acropolis like the museum should have been a part of the tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Yashita S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The first half of the tour was disappointing. Our guide Laila showed up 25 mins late. The whole tour felt rushed. We didnt have enough time in between to see everything we wanted before starting the second part. The second half was better and our guide Effie was very good.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Tae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great experience and the sites were amazing. This is a must see and do.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very informative and we had a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

cpma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour! Knowledgeable guide picked us up on time at our hotel, clean, spacious air conditioned bus, no lines, excellent!!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

grios

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bet way to see an visit Athens and sounion!!! highly recommended

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Jim

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

great tour of the acropolis, very informative guide and packed a lot into 4 hours. The Cape Sounion tour was nice but not worth the extra 4 hours and the cost. Tour guide got distracted by a straggler, very unfair to those of us who were on time and stayed with the group.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

cmorones

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour of the Acropolis and the afternoon drive to the Temple of Poseidon. We would have not been able to do it on our own in such a timely manner. We learned so much and had an excellent guide. We are glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Gloria Ivonne Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Amazing place, the views from the temple are breathtaking. Our tour guide was great, very helpful and explain to us lots of things. My only complaint would be that the tour is a bit early so you really won't see the sunset, which is a shame because the place is beautiful.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Gez1964

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Stepping back in time ..... please note this tour is alot of walking with no shade. You need to take water hat and good walking shoes or your in trouble. We got heat stroke . But its a must to see

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Luis C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The interesting thing about this tour is the scenic drive from Athens to Cape Sounion. It is absolutely marvellous!! The Temple itself is rather over rated. Theres not much to see. The guide could have provided a little more info.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I have wanted to visit Delphi since 9th grade,1962 and it was worth the wait. Excellent tour guide and very nice bus.The walking tour of the Acropolis was wonderful if not hot. Super tour guide. The afternoon trip to the Temple of Poseidon was a welcome treat in the afternoon.Chat tours did fine wor

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

mcwallace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well run and helpful and friendly guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great. The company was accommodating about the pick up location. They gave us good information about the site, but it was hard to hear/understand the tour guide. There was plenty of time to look around and take photos, overall, had a wonderful ecperience!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Rosemary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pleasant tour, picked up on time at our hotel. Very interesting guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Colin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour, picked up close to our hotel, very informative guide, excellent would throughly recommend

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message