Athens ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Poseidon

Follow the road to Cape Sounion, circling the idyllic Saronic Gulf, and you come to one of the most iconic sights in Greece: the columns of the Temple of Poseidon, framing the blue sea backdrop since 44 BC. One of the temple’s remaining Doric ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 545 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very informative and we had a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

cpma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour! Knowledgeable guide picked us up on time at our hotel, clean, spacious air conditioned bus, no lines, excellent!!! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

grios

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bet way to see an visit Athens and sounion!!! highly recommended

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Jim

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

great tour of the acropolis, very informative guide and packed a lot into 4 hours. The Cape Sounion tour was nice but not worth the extra 4 hours and the cost. Tour guide got distracted by a straggler, very unfair to those of us who were on time and stayed with the group.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

cmorones

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour of the Acropolis and the afternoon drive to the Temple of Poseidon. We would have not been able to do it on our own in such a timely manner. We learned so much and had an excellent guide. We are glad we booked this tour.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Gez1964

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Stepping back in time ..... please note this tour is alot of walking with no shade. You need to take water hat and good walking shoes or your in trouble. We got heat stroke . But its a must to see

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Luis C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The interesting thing about this tour is the scenic drive from Athens to Cape Sounion. It is absolutely marvellous!! The Temple itself is rather over rated. Theres not much to see. The guide could have provided a little more info.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I have wanted to visit Delphi since 9th grade,1962 and it was worth the wait. Excellent tour guide and very nice bus.The walking tour of the Acropolis was wonderful if not hot. Super tour guide. The afternoon trip to the Temple of Poseidon was a welcome treat in the afternoon.Chat tours did fine wor

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

mcwallace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well run and helpful and friendly guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great. The company was accommodating about the pick up location. They gave us good information about the site, but it was hard to hear/understand the tour guide. There was plenty of time to look around and take photos, overall, had a wonderful ecperience!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Rosemary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pleasant tour, picked up on time at our hotel. Very interesting guide

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Colin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour, picked up close to our hotel, very informative guide, excellent would throughly recommend

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Easy to find meeting place. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Awesome trip - highly recommend. Be prepared to do a lot of walking

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Stacy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We were picked up on time and then headed out of the city to see the Temple of Poseidon. The ruins are quite remarkable and the view surrounding the area is breathtaking.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of the Acropolis. Guide was wonderful and very knowledgable. The trip out to Cape Sounion seemed to be run by a different group and they weren't as good. The ride was long and not a lot of information given. When you got out there I think we spent way more time there than we needed to but I understand you have to justify the trip out there so you can't just spend 30 minutes and leave. Also, it was about 94 degrees F and being out in the sun all day just got to us so that could be why the afternoon wasn't as good as the morning.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Rosemary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The city tour was excellent with a professional tour guide. It was wonderful to see Cape Sounion but the tour guide was a mess. She dressed like a slob and had no information about the site. She simply kept saying the same thing over and over.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Heather M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The ride to the temple is very beautiful and scenic. Our guide quickly gave us the back history of the site and let us have about 30 minutes to ourselves to take it in and look around. It and #39;s not a big place so that and #39;s enough time to see it. I only wish we could have stopped at a beach too.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Susan H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a pleasant day. The crowds at the Acropolis were large, and our guide did her best to accommodate our group.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

anuja2285kem

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This is a beautiful road to travel on and a must see if you are in Athens.
If you are hiring a car then you can drive upto the Cape Sounion but if not then this is the best option you have. A comfortable ride with a good guide.

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Julia B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A very cool tour that walked you around the major attractions in Athens and later in the afternoon gave you a leisure drive along the coast line to Cape Sounion. Well worth the ride. Our guide in Athens was okay. The guide we had to Cape Sounion was super informative, loved it After doing so many European tours an enthusiastic tour guide makes the your that more enjoyable. As for the tour- as we were only in Athens for two days we really felt like we saw all the major attractions in Athens and got a great view outside the city.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Lori T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We enjoyed our tour guides. Our group was too large for the guides however to speak to everyone without headsets.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message