Athens - cradle of democracy and birthplace of philosophy. How much of ourselves we can trace back to ancient Greece is truly remarkable, but when visiting this magnificent city, its history is not the first thing you meet. That Athens is rife ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3907 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tyler N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fofi was marvelous. We cooked great food and learned a lot about Greek cuisine. Our companions for the evening were wonderful too! I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Greek Cooking Class in an Athens Tavern

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful tour guide and intimate as the group was small. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and Acropolis et al is beautiful. Wear comfortable running shoes with traction e.g. Hiking shoes and there is a lot of climbing. An awesome tour!

Doing what: Acropolis Walking Tour Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Centre

Jeanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour off the beaten path. Our tour guide, Nicholas, was very knowledgeable and added a lot of Athens insights as well.

Doing what: Athens Street Art Walk

Sonja H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic class- very fun and informative. The meal we learned to prepare was amazing.

Doing what: Greek Cooking Class in an Athens Tavern

JUILIN C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We couldn't be happier with this 4-day trip! Our guide Lila from CHAT tour was very knowledgeable and helpful. The schedule was well arrange with guided tour and enough free time to explore on our own. Though there were long dives between some destinations, they didn't feel long at all with story telling, and frequent stops at service areas and some charming coffee shops. The hotels Amalia through out the trip was pretty good too. Buffet dinner and breakfast were included with plenty of choices. The lunch places chosen were very good with authentic Greek dish, and very reasonable prices we were worried that we would be taken to touristy places with ripping-off prices. Our tour has 22 persons so there were plenty of room on the bus for everyone. We will definitely take another tour with CHAT if we ever come back go Greece again.

Doing what: 4-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae, Olympia, Delphi, Meteora

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Просто замечательная экскурсия! За три часа 3 января 2017 года мы объехали все самые важные исторические места Афин, получили представление о городе. Наш гид Джордж - очень опытный, много знающий и остроумный профессионал. Он вел экскурсию на английском, но в дальнейшем фирма будет иметь русскоговорящих гидов. Электровелосипед - мечта туриста. Прост в управлении и никаких усилий. Наша семья с удовольствием рекомендует этот тур всем, особенно тем, у кого мало времени для осмотра города, или кто ленится много ходить.

Doing what: Athens Electric Bike Tour

jou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very Relaxing trip . Food was good . Entertainment on board was good too

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens with Optional VIP Upgrade

Corpsie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour. Guide Sisi was amazing for the Acropolis portion, both at the site and in the Museum. Normally I don't like guided tours of museums, but she pointed out stuff that I found fascinated that I would have missed otherwise. It's a remarkable museum.
We went on Christmas Eve, so no one was at the Acropolis and it was heaven. When we got to the Parthenon, there were less than 50 people up there. Glorious!
Cape Sounion was in the afternoon. Our driver was awesome and the ride was gorgeous. The key to the site is to be there at or near sunset for stunning photographs. Otherwise it's a meh excursion, you go down, you come back. Still worth doing if you are there are sunset.

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip

Beth Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We thoroughly enjoy the day cruise - the tour guides were generally knowledgeable.

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens with Optional VIP Upgrade

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour leader was enthusiastic, articulate, and very informative. In addition, she dealt tactfully with an issue in the van and also helped another tour's client who fell on the steps. What a superb representative of the Greek people!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

carcarzoom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Super hot day but loved the tour! Segway are my favorite way to explore a city

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens Segway Tour

Glenna Rose Goes United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Creativity in Crisis

Full review with dozens of photos on my blog!! Link in profile :-

I took the street art tour with Achilles on basically the Greek equivalent of Labor Day. I selfishly chose that day because most shops, museums, and sites were closed, thus limiting my options in Athens. I had been to Athens several times before, and was looking for something a little more off the beaten path. This tour certainly delivered!! I saw the less touristy areas of Gazi and Metaxourgeio with a very tiny group 3 our guide on such a quiet day due to the holiday.

Achilles is a street artist himself, thus increasing the level of insight and knowledge he brings to the tour. Sure, you will see street art on your own on even the briefest of visits to the Athens center, but learning about the artists and history behind some of the pieces adds a new dimension and appreciation. Like reading the placards alongside museum pieces, a tour guide provides the stories and insight for a fuller understanding. Achilles gave me a great foundation for spotting other pieces on my own......both later that week and again later in the summer upon a return trip.

Would definitely consider another tour with Alternative Athens in the future!

Doing what: Athens Street Art Walk

pgoyseverino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A must do in Athens!!! Our tour was highly personalized and we got to see the true Athens!! Would highly recommend!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing orientation of Athens. Loved the Parthenon and even on such busy days there was plenty of time to enjoy. Trip to Cape Sounion gives you a scenic drive along coast and worth the trip. Must do in Athens

Doing what: Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Anita W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

I climbed the Parthanon, but this Delphi hill was very difficult lots of steps and NO handrails. The museum was excellent and the lunch was very nice. It was a great way to get out of Athens and see the countryside.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Corpsie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Long day. Good tour guide and driver the roads in the Mountains are tricky, who offered some really great insight into the myth behind the site.
The stop in Arachova on the way back, was a bit of a waste of time, mainly because people were late back to the bus.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

Garry P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Guide was well informed, wasted too much time for lunch, very little time at actual sites.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

lester charles j

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good day out and great scenery, Temple of Athena down the road is worth the walk to see.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

PETER P

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

I wanted to explore Athens, and what better way than to take a Viator tour. The tour was actually provided through Chat Tours, I was picked up at my Athens Hotel, and then others were as well. We then had to get off the bus, wait in the lobby of a different hotel, then board our new bus. Then we waited for the guide. The weather was cold and it was snowing! The Guide informed us that the majority of the tour would be by bus, with the exception of the Acropolis. That was fine. Tours are great, but bring a tape recorder, because you can't retain all the information that is given without one. The bus was small and cramped.

Doing what: Athens Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Corpsie

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

This tour is convenient, but rushed, and booking this was lazy on my part. I loved Hydra and should have just booked the ferry on my own and stayed there for the day. The Poros stop was useless except to get cheaper beer than what was sold on board. Aegina was lovely, but the optional tours were rushed. The ships staff were professional and friendly, but didn't really add much value. You are better off doing it on your own at your own pace.

Doing what: Hydra, Poros and Egina Day Cruise from Athens with Optional VIP Upgrade

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful place. Comfortable bus/van, and excellent guide.

Doing what: Delphi Day Trip from Athens

John G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Lovely sunset tour. Excellent guide!

Doing what: Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Anna was an amazing tour guide who clearly loved sharing information and insights about Ancient Greece. We would most highly recommend this tour if she is to be your guide. Meal was good, but the tour was definitely the piece of this package we will always remember.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

debsallee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Awesome food tour, awesome food, great knowledge and company of guide with ample opportunities to buy products you take and take them home to share with your fellow foodies. Best foodie tour we have taken anywhere.

Doing what: Private Tour: Gourmet Food Walking Tour in Athens

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message