About 12 million people visit Athens every year to clamber around Europe’s most famous classical ruins at the Acropolis and discover the city’s world-class museums. These cultural havens work to relate the history of our oldest democracy from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Kostos, was fantastic. Very well informed on the subject as well as every question thrown his way, friendly, helpful and fun. My dad and I enjoyed the tour immensely!!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Tazrick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful site to see. The tour guide shared much information and I like seeing a museum this way. I'm really in to Greece history. It was nice not to stand in line for a ticket also. :- I would definitely recommend this to everyone! Rick

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Glenn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thanasos was an excellent guide and the experience was unforgettable. Without his historical/philosophical/theatrical commentary the visit would not have come alive as it did. A little more time at the museum would have been good. The restaurant Manh Manh was a wonderful culmination to our day. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Fiona R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about history and the antiquities. We learnt a lot along the way, and enjoy hearing his stories and observations. Excellent start to our Greece trip.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guided tours are essential in this type of museum. The guide reveals so much that you cannot see on your own. Our guide was personable and an expert with a degree in archeology. She personalized our visit by taking the time to get to know us. Inexpensive too.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very knowledgable. She made history come alive for us. The dinner was very good with an amazing view of the Acropolis.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Craig I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I mistakenly booked the tour for the day of our arrival so we missed the tour. Not realizing we showed up the following day. The tour guide was so helpful but his tour was full. The guide office spoke with us and encouraged us to call Viator. We did and were able to re-schedule for the following day.
The tour was enjoyable, although you have to be somewhat physically fit to complete.

The guide's knowledge was fantastic providing so much history. He answered questions, and tried to keep us in the shade as much as possible. The tour of the museum added to the overall experience. Cannot say enough about the Viator staff, the guide company, and the overall Athens experience.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

rexw77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide. He knows his stuff.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide who was very informative and interesting. I would definately recommend this tour it was the best part of our trip to athens. If we had stayed longer in athens we would have loved to do another tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

ksherring27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with wonderful and knowledgeable tour guide Effie. Recommend for people with a strong interest in art and history. The dinner was so delicious also.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the most fantastic tour we have ever been on. Mariza,, the guide really made it for us. Bringing stories from years ago, to life. She is a true asset to Viator. Thank you. Thoroughly recommend. X

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour. Our guide, Costus, was brilliant: so informative and well organised. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Craig Pascoe USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

wonderful tour and the guide was excellent

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

ilca1122917

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the Acropolis. Our tour guide Sophia was great. You could tell she was passionate about the history and information she was presenting. Not like taking a robotic guide tour, she customized for the things we seemed most interested in. To top it off dinner was amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable and took older legs into consideration. The new museum highlights key finds without being overwhelming. Fantastic day!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love, love, love this tour! Our guide was Greek and and an archeologist, so his knowledge of the history of Greece was very impressive. We went through the New Acropolis Museum first, which let the crowds and heat die down at the Acropolis. We spent about 2 hours touring the Museum. Once we got to the Acropolis, the crowds had thinned, and our guide took some really cool photos of us with the city and Parthenon. The dinner was EXCELLENT! One of the best we had during our time in Greece. This tour is worth the extra money if you're interested in history and want a real conversation with your guide, instead of someone just talking at you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

jlyristis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An unforgettable experience. Both guides were above and beyond excellence in presenting the history of the Acropolis and artifacts at the museum. 5 stars all the way. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Daniel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Definitely a must do for the Acropolis!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Theresa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour ever. Our guide was amazing and knowledgeable. Will only do private tours in the future. Really worth the extra 's.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

sergio m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was absolutely amazing. Knowledgeable and took the time to explain things thoroughly. We moved at a quite reasonable pace and he tailored the entire tour to our specifications. This was a private tour. Totally worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

singinggeorgia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The museum was great. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and didn't miss a trick.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Txyingyang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stravos is very passionate and detailed, he clearly enjoys sharing his knowledge and love of the Acropolis with the tour group. For those of us who like history and details, it was a great tour. I give this tour 5 stars because I am the one giving the review. My wife, who doesn't like as much detail, would probably have given only 4 stars because she said it was too much. If you like all the historical info like me, definitely try to get Stravos as your guide. Stravos...if you read this review, I would suggest that you ask the group before beginning the tour as to how much detail they would desire so you could adjust as needed.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

lrtrinidad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Nik did a great job explaining the history of the acropolos, and i feel the tour was well worth the price. Nik did such a great job people not part of the tour were very attentive to Nik's explaining all of the history.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

lrtrinidad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Nik did a great job explaining the history of the acropolos, and i feel the tour was well worth the price. Nik did such a great job people not part of the tour were very attentive to Nik's explaining all of the history.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Daniel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

100 would do this again! We are very interested in learning about the history and culture where we travel and we really couldn't have been happier with this! Unfortunately we were so mesmerized and enthralled with our guide and what we were doing that we completely forgot his name by the time we got back to our hotel, this is my only regret. Not only was our guide Greek and a knowledgeable archeology professor, he also had an interest in theatre and acting. So he was probably the most perfect person to give this tour with his mix of skills and background. He had great pride and insight on all things Greek, a wealth of knowledge about archeology, art, Mythology and Greek History and a way of presenting information with a bit of poetry and/or the dramatic. He spoke excellent English, as most of the Greeks we met did, and all we wished was to have more time. If you do not enjoy learning or listening or art and history then this tour is not at all for you. The meal afterwards was enjoyable and we were grateful, especially as this was our first day, to be taken around one on one and have everything taken care of. This tour was perhaps the highlight of our trip, the bar was set very high on the first day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message