About 12 million people visit Athens every year to clamber around Europe’s most famous classical ruins at the Acropolis and discover the city’s world-class museums. These cultural havens work to relate the history of our oldest democracy from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 110 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide who was very informative and interesting. I would definately recommend this tour it was the best part of our trip to athens. If we had stayed longer in athens we would have loved to do another tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

ksherring27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with wonderful and knowledgeable tour guide Effie. Recommend for people with a strong interest in art and history. The dinner was so delicious also.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the most fantastic tour we have ever been on. Mariza,, the guide really made it for us. Bringing stories from years ago, to life. She is a true asset to Viator. Thank you. Thoroughly recommend. X

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour. Our guide, Costus, was brilliant: so informative and well organised. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Craig Pascoe USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

wonderful tour and the guide was excellent

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

ilca1122917

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the Acropolis. Our tour guide Sophia was great. You could tell she was passionate about the history and information she was presenting. Not like taking a robotic guide tour, she customized for the things we seemed most interested in. To top it off dinner was amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable and took older legs into consideration. The new museum highlights key finds without being overwhelming. Fantastic day!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Todd R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love, love, love this tour! Our guide was Greek and and an archeologist, so his knowledge of the history of Greece was very impressive. We went through the New Acropolis Museum first, which let the crowds and heat die down at the Acropolis. We spent about 2 hours touring the Museum. Once we got to the Acropolis, the crowds had thinned, and our guide took some really cool photos of us with the city and Parthenon. The dinner was EXCELLENT! One of the best we had during our time in Greece. This tour is worth the extra money if you're interested in history and want a real conversation with your guide, instead of someone just talking at you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

jlyristis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An unforgettable experience. Both guides were above and beyond excellence in presenting the history of the Acropolis and artifacts at the museum. 5 stars all the way. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Daniel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Definitely a must do for the Acropolis!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Theresa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour ever. Our guide was amazing and knowledgeable. Will only do private tours in the future. Really worth the extra 's.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

sergio m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was absolutely amazing. Knowledgeable and took the time to explain things thoroughly. We moved at a quite reasonable pace and he tailored the entire tour to our specifications. This was a private tour. Totally worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

singinggeorgia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The museum was great. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and didn't miss a trick.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Txyingyang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Stravos is very passionate and detailed, he clearly enjoys sharing his knowledge and love of the Acropolis with the tour group. For those of us who like history and details, it was a great tour. I give this tour 5 stars because I am the one giving the review. My wife, who doesn't like as much detail, would probably have given only 4 stars because she said it was too much. If you like all the historical info like me, definitely try to get Stravos as your guide. Stravos...if you read this review, I would suggest that you ask the group before beginning the tour as to how much detail they would desire so you could adjust as needed.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

lrtrinidad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Nik did a great job explaining the history of the acropolos, and i feel the tour was well worth the price. Nik did such a great job people not part of the tour were very attentive to Nik's explaining all of the history.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

lrtrinidad

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Nik did a great job explaining the history of the acropolos, and i feel the tour was well worth the price. Nik did such a great job people not part of the tour were very attentive to Nik's explaining all of the history.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Daniel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

100 would do this again! We are very interested in learning about the history and culture where we travel and we really couldn't have been happier with this! Unfortunately we were so mesmerized and enthralled with our guide and what we were doing that we completely forgot his name by the time we got back to our hotel, this is my only regret. Not only was our guide Greek and a knowledgeable archeology professor, he also had an interest in theatre and acting. So he was probably the most perfect person to give this tour with his mix of skills and background. He had great pride and insight on all things Greek, a wealth of knowledge about archeology, art, Mythology and Greek History and a way of presenting information with a bit of poetry and/or the dramatic. He spoke excellent English, as most of the Greeks we met did, and all we wished was to have more time. If you do not enjoy learning or listening or art and history then this tour is not at all for you. The meal afterwards was enjoyable and we were grateful, especially as this was our first day, to be taken around one on one and have everything taken care of. This tour was perhaps the highlight of our trip, the bar was set very high on the first day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

ANNE T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Another must to go and see - our guide was very knowledgeable and informative with brilliant English!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked our tour while in Athens after realizing we'd like a little more information to know what we were looking at and the history behind it. Our tour guide Hermes was amazing, he did not disappoint! We actually ended up with a private tour of the Acropolis museum where he was very attentive and patient with our 10 year old son. It was very I formative and a great way to spend the day.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour and guide was excellent...

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

nigelmelville

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide was outstanding.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Arie v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent and very informative tour of the fabulous Acropolis Museum!!
highly recommended in a beautiful, clean building, with great view of the Acropolis!
great value for money, incl entry ticket.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Derek M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Aristotle was fantastic. Courteous, knowledgeable, and great with questions. This was a fantastic walking tour and highly recommended. The new Acropolis Museum is absolutely amazing.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

davidjciardi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

best tour of Greece

awesome tour guide!!!!

best knowledge!!!!

highly recommend I loved it so much Id do it again on my next trip

I went back the next day by myself just to appreciate such history

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Jun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the best tours my wife and I have been on. I actually didn't realize that it was a private tour. I was expecting a small group of 4-6 but it was just the two of us with a wonderful guide, Thanakis. He's not just an archaeologist but a history professor at Geogetown. For something so significant and so rich with history, it's amazingly easy and affordable to visit the Acropolis and other archaeological sites in Athens. To make a visit to the Acropolis as special as it should be, visit it with a historian or an archaeologist. The insight, history, mythology, and rich information they can share will help you truly appreciate not only the ancient Greeks but the excruciatingly difficult work that goes into restoring the structures. I felt sorry for the majority of tourists who climbed the Acropolis just to take a selfie. It's so much more than that. I also suggest you visit the Acropolis museum AFTER you visit the Acropolis. They complement and enrich each other nicely. And a good guide can tell you the significance of the museum's architecture as well. This tour includes dinner and a bottle of wine at a nearby restaurant. The restaurant we went to was listed in 36 hours. Well done viator!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message