About 12 million people visit Athens every year to clamber around Europe’s most famous classical ruins at the Acropolis and discover the city’s world-class museums. These cultural havens work to relate the history of our oldest democracy from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Glenna Rose Goes United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Creativity in Crisis

Full review with dozens of photos on my blog!! Link in profile :-

I took the street art tour with Achilles on basically the Greek equivalent of Labor Day. I selfishly chose that day because most shops, museums, and sites were closed, thus limiting my options in Athens. I had been to Athens several times before, and was looking for something a little more off the beaten path. This tour certainly delivered!! I saw the less touristy areas of Gazi and Metaxourgeio with a very tiny group 3 our guide on such a quiet day due to the holiday.

Achilles is a street artist himself, thus increasing the level of insight and knowledge he brings to the tour. Sure, you will see street art on your own on even the briefest of visits to the Athens center, but learning about the artists and history behind some of the pieces adds a new dimension and appreciation. Like reading the placards alongside museum pieces, a tour guide provides the stories and insight for a fuller understanding. Achilles gave me a great foundation for spotting other pieces on my own......both later that week and again later in the summer upon a return trip.

Would definitely consider another tour with Alternative Athens in the future!

Doing what: Athens Street Art Walk

Travellor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fabulous tour. Knowledgeable guide. A must do in Athens!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Floriane Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was a very nice experience, our Guide Dorina knowed a lot and was very nice too... Would recommend it to everyone,

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Thomas W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was an archeologist and full of information. My kids 8 and 11 loved it and were very engaged. Important to note there is a great deal of walking on uneven surfaces on this tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Anna was an amazing tour guide who clearly loved sharing information and insights about Ancient Greece. We would most highly recommend this tour if she is to be your guide. Meal was good, but the tour was definitely the piece of this package we will always remember.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Debbe N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was wonderful and thoughtful about our wishes. The Acropolis was spectacular and the museum was fantastic too. If you go to the Acropolis, don't miss the museum, the history it houses is incredible. Our dinner was great, food was excellent and ambience was perfect. We would definitely recommend this tour and restaurant.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

vdicatarina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing! Marisa was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and funny. She had no problems answering all our questions, and her great personality makes the tour so much fun. We had a great time, and learned a lot along the way. Definitely recommend this tour if you'll be in Athens. The acropolis is magical plus you get stunning views of the city, and visiting the museum is a great combo. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

AINAN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing tour. The guide Anna was highly professional and knowledgeable about the subject matter. Learned so much that I would have missed without the tour. She maintained a high level of energy throughout the entire visit and also shared a lot about Greek life and society beyond the content of the tour. Dinner was perfect too. Highly recommended for both a quick stopover in Athens or a longer stay.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Jana E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The new Acropolis Museum is a MUST see!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Neil S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour with a very knowledgeable tour guide who made sure she let others know that our tour was private! Fantastic dinner afterward at Attikos restaurant.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Robin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Kostos, was fantastic. Very well informed on the subject as well as every question thrown his way, friendly, helpful and fun. My dad and I enjoyed the tour immensely!!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Tazrick United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful site to see. The tour guide shared much information and I like seeing a museum this way. I'm really in to Greece history. It was nice not to stand in line for a ticket also. :- I would definitely recommend this to everyone! Rick

Doing what: Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum

Glenn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thanasos was an excellent guide and the experience was unforgettable. Without his historical/philosophical/theatrical commentary the visit would not have come alive as it did. A little more time at the museum would have been good. The restaurant Manh Manh was a wonderful culmination to our day. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Fiona R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about history and the antiquities. We learnt a lot along the way, and enjoy hearing his stories and observations. Excellent start to our Greece trip.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guided tours are essential in this type of museum. The guide reveals so much that you cannot see on your own. Our guide was personable and an expert with a degree in archeology. She personalized our visit by taking the time to get to know us. Inexpensive too.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very knowledgable. She made history come alive for us. The dinner was very good with an amazing view of the Acropolis.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Craig I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I mistakenly booked the tour for the day of our arrival so we missed the tour. Not realizing we showed up the following day. The tour guide was so helpful but his tour was full. The guide office spoke with us and encouraged us to call Viator. We did and were able to re-schedule for the following day.
The tour was enjoyable, although you have to be somewhat physically fit to complete.

The guide's knowledge was fantastic providing so much history. He answered questions, and tried to keep us in the shade as much as possible. The tour of the museum added to the overall experience. Cannot say enough about the Viator staff, the guide company, and the overall Athens experience.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

rexw77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great guide. He knows his stuff.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful tour guide who was very informative and interesting. I would definately recommend this tour it was the best part of our trip to athens. If we had stayed longer in athens we would have loved to do another tour.

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

ksherring27

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour with wonderful and knowledgeable tour guide Effie. Recommend for people with a strong interest in art and history. The dinner was so delicious also.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the most fantastic tour we have ever been on. Mariza,, the guide really made it for us. Bringing stories from years ago, to life. She is a true asset to Viator. Thank you. Thoroughly recommend. X

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding tour. Our guide, Costus, was brilliant: so informative and well organised. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

Craig Pascoe USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

wonderful tour and the guide was excellent

Doing what: Acropolis of Athens and New Acropolis Museum Tour

ilca1122917

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the best way to see the Acropolis. Our tour guide Sophia was great. You could tell she was passionate about the history and information she was presenting. Not like taking a robotic guide tour, she customized for the things we seemed most interested in. To top it off dinner was amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Acropolis of Athens, New Acropolis Museum and Greek Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message