Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Auckland Museum and Institute (War Memorial Museum)

Perched on top of a dormant volcano, the Auckland War Memorial Museum is one of New Zealand’s finest museums. The Museum is the place to explore Maori and Pacific Island history with the largest collection of artifacts in the world, including ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 463 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheldon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get around the city, see the sights and visit places that would normally require a vehicle. Its worth purchasing a two day ticket as many venues will require a few hours to complete.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

dleehey34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

excellent Great day

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

bert

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good for overview

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour we are always happy with the hop on hop off

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ggyao

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Hands down choice for the best way of touring the city. A MUST for first time travellers to Auckland.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

ksorckoff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good way to see the city for a first visitor overview

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Joseph M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Wish there were more buses. Driver can be friendlier.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Mark C Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

A good way to get around the main attractions of the city though the buses were a bit cramped. Being off-season by 3 days, they run for two hours less each day and half as often but the price is still the same. Some stops still leave you a long walk which may be an issue if you have mobility problems. At least one of these was due to city rules and beyond the bus company's control. Drivers were friendly and helpful with advice about how to get the best out of the service and a few other sites to see in Auckland.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

öykü a

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Our bus broke down and we lost almost an hour and couldnt see much

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

Joseph A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour allowing visitors to Auckland to access the more notable attractions throughout the city. Purchase a two day pass so that you can enjoy both the red and blue loops without rushing.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Paula M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

a lovely way to see the city, especially if travelling on your own

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

John B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

too long of a wait time at stops

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cathy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great tour bus. it was the best of all the hop on hop off bus tours we were on. very good information on all the sites in multiple languages. buses ran often so that you could get off and on without any concern about thinking that you might not get another bus or would have to wait long.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lco323

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Hop On Hop Off bus tour is an essential tool if you want to explore Auckland on your own. Be aware though that unlike in Europe, there is only one bus for either line red or blue that is continuously going around in a loop and it comes at the stop every 30 minutes. That said, you need to time your visits or you'll be spending a lot of time waiting. I felt that we weren't able to visit all places that we wanted because it was raining that day. My tip would be for you to get the 2-day pass because that way, you save money and you're not too pressed for time either. Plenty of sights to see out there!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

very good organizing skills

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Cristelle Z

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Buses were convenient. Drivers were helpful. The Auckland aquarium was fantastic.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wallace B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was fine and hit all the highpoints. We spent so much time at the National Museum that we did not really get much use of our fare. It turned out to be cheaper by a bout .50 to just buy the ticket on the bus and not pay in advance through Viator.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Wallace B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour was fine and hit all the highpoints. We spent so much time at the National Museum that we did not really get much use of our fare. It turned out to be cheaper by a bout .50 to just buy the ticket on the bus and not pay in advance through Viator.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

locations were great just needed the bus to be available a little longer in the day 3.30pm last bus on the blue route was a little short 6pm finish would have been better

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great way of seeing Auckland. Buses on time, commentary excellent.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

kaye n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour bus drivers were excellent, thoroughly enjoyed the scenery and the places of interest pointed out. Very well done!!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good way to see the city and experience what Auckland has to offer

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

JUDITH C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I took the 2 day pass and it was well worth the money. The first day I just took both loops and got acclimated because I was just in from a long flight. On the second day I went to the places that interested me the most and really did have a good chance to see a lot of the sprawling city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robin P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Did the loop more than once but definitely found one day sufficient!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Catherine A W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

An excellent way to see the city and surrounding areas. The two different bus routes meeting at the Auckland Museum works well as you have time to visit and then join the other segment of the tour and then on the return trip swap back to return to the CBD.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message