Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Auckland Museum and Institute (War Memorial Museum)

Perched on top of a dormant volcano, the Auckland War Memorial Museum is one of New Zealand’s finest museums. The Museum is the place to explore Maori and Pacific Island history with the largest collection of artifacts in the world, including ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 484 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Paul T Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Were in Auckland on 7th December 2016 and prebooked on the hop-on hop-off tour. Unfortunately, it was raining that day and there is no cancelation. We went on and took a ride around the city but couldn't make many stop for photos. Only stop we made was the rose garden and as I said was wet. Our other stop was at Westfield Shopping. We were told that the last bus was 4:00pm and we got to the pickup point 10 min prior. There was an elderly couple waiting there before us. The bus never came. We waited until 4:45pm and decided to take a public bus back to the Civic Centre where we boarded the coach. There 5 of us and we have to pay 5 each on the public transport. I believe there should be a refund policy when there is wet weather when you prebooked. We won't have got on if we have not prebooked.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

marie laure v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Parfait sauf que nous n'avons pas eu les explications écrites en français comme annoncé. Dommage que le bus ne circule que jusqu'à 16h30 .

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A good way to get an overview of the Auckland area with recorded commentary explaining where you were and its significance to the area. There are 16 stops on two different lines which overlap at the Auckland Museum. We got off at several stops. In our opinion the best were Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium excellent and not to be missed, Sky Tower wonderful views of the city make sure to go to the highest viewing level. WE also got off at Parnell Village and ST Lukes Westfield shopping Center. The former was mostly restaurant s and cafes and the latter can be found in every city in the US. Buses run conveniently every 30 minutes from each stop.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lelia Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Hop-on-hop-off was great! Was led to believe that you could not take one complete trip and wait until it went around again to decide where you wanted to get off so we got off at the aquarium 1st, went on to the museum 2nd and sky tower 3rd. We were able to continue the tour easily and still had xtra time. The buses ran virtually continually and the stops were VERY convenient. Would highly recommend the ho-on-hop-off buses!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

jsburnett82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour. Highly recommended

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Amy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very nice way to see lots of the city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Darryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A great way to see the city when time is limited,

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour! The stops are excellent and the guided tour on board is very good!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Robert United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great museum but recommend doing the 1 hour guided tour as well as you get to learn a huge amount. The cafe did good food at reasonable prices.

Doing what: Auckland Museum Entry Ticket including Maori Cultural Performance

Zimacs

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The service does what it says. However, the late start and early finish of the service make it questionable for 1 day the 2 day option would likely make it more attractive

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Peggy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Though the sites were good, information was very limited to just naming the sites, very little info on New Zealand and history. Probably the most boring one we have ever done.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

qsnipe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great way to see the sights. Great information on all of the sights. I would definitely recommend a two day pass as there is too much to see for one day.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Dorothy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

In Auckland the Hop-on Hop-off bus was a really good buy. It took us all around the town and we got to get off along where we wanted to.
It gave us also a view all around town. We enjoyed it very much. It was a good choice.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

aayalina

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It's a good way to visit the city and you can have discount on visit museums, zoo ....

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Danhya

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Just like any other, Auckland itself is beautiful so you will enjoy it.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jim H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Good way to review main sites of Auckland at your own pace

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Maria D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A wonderfull museum and the performance simple but nice.

Doing what: Auckland Museum Entry Ticket including Maori Cultural Performance

Jamie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend this tour, as well as getting the two-day version. It's a great way to get a feel for the layout of the city and where all the touristy things are. But make sure you plan ahead and know what you want to try. The bus only stops at each location once per hour basically, it's the same bus making a loop 6 or 7 times a day. So you'd better be there at that time, or try again in an hour. There are also two different loops or paths that the buses take, and they see different things around the city the common point is the History Museum. I recommend both loops, mostly for a great way to see the city and surrounds and for picking out highlights and popular areas that you'd like to visit.

This Tour is most advantageous if you only take one hour or two at each of the 8-9 stops on each loop. This will enable you to get on/off at almost every destination. However, if you have small kids who don't move fast, or perhaps you want to spend several hours at the aquarium or the museum or whatever, then don't plan to use this as your main way of transportation on that day. If you plan to spend several hours in one location, then this Tour is a waste of your money to just be simply used as a mode of transport. Take the bus or a taxi. But the price of this Tour is wasted if you only use it to get to one location. This is because the bus doesn't start running until 9:30am, and stops 3:30pm.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

tonya h

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Auckland Discovery City Tour

pe4328

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

OK to see what's around. It's one hour wait for the next bus. Commentary is a tape. Driver of the blue bud was good and added more info.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sheldon United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to get around the city, see the sights and visit places that would normally require a vehicle. Its worth purchasing a two day ticket as many venues will require a few hours to complete.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

dleehey34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

excellent Great day

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

bert

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good for overview

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour we are always happy with the hop on hop off

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message