The modern Auckland Zoo has a focus on reducing the number of bars between the animals and visitors, making for more natural enclosures that rely on moats to separate animals and people. Even the pride of lions is not behind bars! Animals from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 440 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

johnandcathusa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

AS ADVERTISED, AN OVERVIEW OF AUCKLAND. THE DRIVERS AND SUPPORT STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL AND EXTREMELY PLEASANT.MAKE SURE YOU ALLOW TIME FOR THE MUSEUM AND THE MAORI CULTURAL SHOW

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

alexalena.sarnavka Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour and driver. What we like on Viator, the services they use in all countries are so very reliable and of high quality. Love Viator!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Rosa G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour travelled to all the good sites and buses came fairly regularly. The double decker bus was great some of the others were a little older. The biggest issue was the moving of the bus stop located near the port as whilst it wasn't too far from its original spot, it did get a bit much for my elderly mother to walk as well as my young son to walk the extra distance.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Adrianna G B USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Love these hop on hop off bus's you can see sites at your leisure.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

julia720530

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Can easily go to all the sightseeing spots and make your own decision which you would like to spend more time with. Good choice for the visitor.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

mwhitaker2

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great way to see city and stop at the many places. The driver does not talk like they do in other cities. This was our first tour so we were able to see the major attractions and city early.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

David M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Glorified taxi ride with not a lot to see. The 2 route bus service over rides at the museum so you do see some places twice. No mention of admission price to museum and maori show. Overpriced for what you get!!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very good!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kymberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great to be able to stop where we wanted and stay for varied length of time.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

jstirn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely a good way to get oriented to the city as well as good for transportation to the highlights of the city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Kurt S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommend taking this tour to see the city before deciding where to spend more time.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Mary Lynn T

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the hop on and hop off. Saw quite a bit of Auckland in a short period of time.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Paul T Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Were in Auckland on 7th December 2016 and prebooked on the hop-on hop-off tour. Unfortunately, it was raining that day and there is no cancelation. We went on and took a ride around the city but couldn't make many stop for photos. Only stop we made was the rose garden and as I said was wet. Our other stop was at Westfield Shopping. We were told that the last bus was 4:00pm and we got to the pickup point 10 min prior. There was an elderly couple waiting there before us. The bus never came. We waited until 4:45pm and decided to take a public bus back to the Civic Centre where we boarded the coach. There 5 of us and we have to pay 5 each on the public transport. I believe there should be a refund policy when there is wet weather when you prebooked. We won't have got on if we have not prebooked.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Doreen F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The trip was informative interesting places.The down side was too many people waiting at each stop trying to see everything. People were not getting off to see points of intErnest in case they couldn't get back on the next bus.Otherwise a very good tour of a wonderful city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

marie laure v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Parfait sauf que nous n'avons pas eu les explications écrites en français comme annoncé. Dommage que le bus ne circule que jusqu'à 16h30 .

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A good way to get an overview of the Auckland area with recorded commentary explaining where you were and its significance to the area. There are 16 stops on two different lines which overlap at the Auckland Museum. We got off at several stops. In our opinion the best were Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium excellent and not to be missed, Sky Tower wonderful views of the city make sure to go to the highest viewing level. WE also got off at Parnell Village and ST Lukes Westfield shopping Center. The former was mostly restaurant s and cafes and the latter can be found in every city in the US. Buses run conveniently every 30 minutes from each stop.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Lelia Ann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Hop-on-hop-off was great! Was led to believe that you could not take one complete trip and wait until it went around again to decide where you wanted to get off so we got off at the aquarium 1st, went on to the museum 2nd and sky tower 3rd. We were able to continue the tour easily and still had xtra time. The buses ran virtually continually and the stops were VERY convenient. Would highly recommend the ho-on-hop-off buses!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

jsburnett82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour. Highly recommended

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Amy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very nice way to see lots of the city.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Darryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A great way to see the city when time is limited,

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour! The stops are excellent and the guided tour on board is very good!

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Zimacs

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The service does what it says. However, the late start and early finish of the service make it questionable for 1 day the 2 day option would likely make it more attractive

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Peggy B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Though the sites were good, information was very limited to just naming the sites, very little info on New Zealand and history. Probably the most boring one we have ever done.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

qsnipe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great way to see the sights. Great information on all of the sights. I would definitely recommend a two day pass as there is too much to see for one day.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Dorothy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

In Auckland the Hop-on Hop-off bus was a really good buy. It took us all around the town and we got to get off along where we wanted to.
It gave us also a view all around town. We enjoyed it very much. It was a good choice.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message