Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 258 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

djb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you like bird watching this is a great place to go. We took the guided walk for the first part. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and plants. We saw some rare birds and had a super day. I would recommend buying the map of the island with the trails on it. Also keep track of your time to get back to the ferry.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Guilherme R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really cool.
Glenn, the tour guide, is a real funny chap.
Great scenic, good route and sights.
a bit over priced though.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Richard N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wineries were a little disappoining was really looking forward but only the last stop was worth the time. Tour driver was very informative

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jessica A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved it! had to use our imagination because it wasn't sunny! also wish there was a few more places to visit, wouldn't really call it food and wine tasting tour, more wine tasting with some lunch : our Tour lady was lovely!!!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Lynn C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice tour. Wine and food were good.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Lynn C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice tour. Wine and food were good.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Monica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing! Did the guided walk and it was spectacular.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Sandee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ferry and bus tour around the island were great with options to be dropped off anywhere and picked up later. I would like to have been dropped off for wine tasting but it was raining so I chose to stay on the bus.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Kirstin E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great and the guide was very funny and informed, however it felt very rushed as one of the wineries was having a wedding so we finished early.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Suellen W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Amazing lunch at Stonyridge Vineyard. Wild on Waiheke was superb!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Coralie v

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a nice trip, but.... it was very rushed, I think it would have been nice to have a little longer at each place to have the time to drink a glass of wine at leisure. The people that did purchase a glass tended to end up either leaving it or skulling it.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

dotherring

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was a good tour, but if you have the time, I would recommend spending more than a day in Coromandel because there is so much to see and do. Warren was a very good guide, but it was just a long time spent in the van.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A special city friendly, great hotel and wonderful food. Great side trips

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Taryn C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will start off and say that our guide and driver, David, was great - entertaining and knowledgeable. However, the tour was listed as 'food and wine tasting'. A title like that makes you assume you will have a variety of both food and wine, but that was not the case. We were given lunch at our first winery, which was nice, but that was the only food we had. Olive oil tastings during the tour doesn't qualify for me as food tasting.

As for the 'wine tastings', we had 6 tastings of wine. We have done several wine tastings around the world and never have we had such a small sampling of wine. At our first winery, Stonyridge we were given two tastings before lunch. At our second winery, Wild on Waiheke, we were given ONE sample of wine! That winery happened to brew beer and they provided 2 beer samples and a non-alcoholic ginger beer. We love craft beer and had actually done a beer tour the previous day, but we signed up for a WINE tour. The last winery, Mudbrick, was the best of the three and also had the best wines, but we were still only given 3 varieties of wine.

While at Mudbrick, we noticed that you could try 5 wines 3 of which we had for just 10 NZD 7 USD. If you can get 5 tastings for this price, what did our money actually go to? At each winery we were given the option to buy more samples, but this should be part of a wine tour in the first place, but there also wasn't very much time at each winery if you did want to buy more wine.

If you want to actually taste a variety of wines, I would recommend a different tour or take the ferry yourself to Waiheke and take the bus, a cab, or rent bikes to get to the wineries. All-in-all a big disappointment.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Shelley A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous day out, great cruise and very informative tour of Tiritiri Matangi. Our volunteer guide Sahrah was very knowledgeable and a excellent birder. We saw kereru, takahe, tui, bell birds, quail, kokao , saddlebacks and stich birds. We couldn't have asked for more. The free teas and coffees were a nice surprise too.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend the food and wine tasting. It makes for a great day trip from Auckland. The ferry ride was scenic and fun. The wineries were superb as was the olive oil vineyard we sampled. The lunch and wine at Stoney Ridge was delicious. The view of Auckland from the hilltop at Mud Brick was incredible. We stayed on the island after the tour and had a late afternoon snack at The Oyster Inn enjoying the seaside view from the open veranda on the second floor while sampling some of the island wines. What a way to end the day. We then walked back from the town to the ferry following the island trails through the bush. Wonderful day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Beautiful island. The tour guide and hosts at the wineries were very friendly and informative. Food, wine and beer was great.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jeanette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Exceeded our expectations. Great day out, lovely boat trip across Auckland Harbour, Excellent lunch and wines. Our hosts at each winery were infirmative and entertaining. Comfortable coach and good driver to transport us around.
It would have been good to be informed that we had to go to the ticket office to collect our tickets and make your own way across to the island where you are met.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

jillmjackson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very nice tour, the Island is beautiful, and the wineries were fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Alex J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! A lot of good information and some nice places to stop. Definitely recommended if you only have half a day or day too see as much of the island as possible :

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

mary d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour...absolutely brilliant! The wineries we visited were excellent, the olive oil tasting was quite enjoyable, and the lunch was good as well. Our tour guide, David, was exceptional. He made the tour so much fun and he was extremely friendly and informative. We could not have had a better person leading our tour. Having the tour end at Mudbrick Winery, with those spectacular views...it just capped off the day and tour beautifully. We would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Rellim001 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful day out. The tour driver was knowledgeable. Plenty of time, and quite easy, to visit some wineries using your all day bus pass.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Vikram N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour for nature lovers and as such I would call this an eco tour Our group turned out to be small just me and my wife. Our guide Tony was phenomenal, and very knowledgable. He knew the local flora and fauna in and out. The whole Coromandel Peninsula was stunning. Its one of the most beautiful places in the world. Our trip included an visit to rain forest where we hiked to a few 2000 yr old native Kauri trees. Along the way Tony kept us entertained by talking about a variety of subjects like nature, history, people of NZ etc. Lunch was @ a beautiful restaurant near hot water beach. Lunch was delicious and fresh. Hot water beach is unique in the fact that it has hot water spring on the beach. Its unique and has to be experienced. Overall this trip is highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message