Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 285 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mnsweeps

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to Tiri was awesome. I just got the tickets from Viator as I had a 10 off coupon. You can purchase them directly from 360 Discovery for same price..Basically Viator purchase doesn't add any value to purchase itself unless you have a coupon.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Malou Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Everything is on time. The tour driver is very jolly and gave us lots of information. The island is great!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Kalpana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the highlight of my visit! I was struck by the sheer dedication of the volunteers who have brought the flora and Fauna of this island back. We saw the pictures of the barren landscape in 1984! We heard and saw so many of the native birds listed as living on the island.
Bring a good camera along! Every visitor to New Zealand should see this lovely little paradise!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Katherine B K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Loved all the vineyards that we stopped at as well as the olive grove. The lunch was very good, and the views from one of the wineries were fantastic! Josselyn, our guide/bus driver was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed this day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoy birding, but we enjoyed the hiking as much as the birding on this trip. The ferry ride to the Island was also very enjoyable, with great views of Aukland.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Mackenzie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One word. SEAN. This tour has a lot of driving, but it's absolutely worth it. A crazy train, a hot spring beach, fantastic lunch and some stops in little towns that you'd never seen on a bigger tour. This includes some of the best views I've ever experienced and Sean is so knowledgeable about any and everything New Zealand. He made the tour. I can't say that I've ever had such a pleasant, intelligent and thoughtful tour guide in all of my travels. What a beautiful country and wonderful tour... ask Sean to stop at the pig farm so that you can pat the pigs!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

qsnipe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a beautiful Island! The tour was very informative and very flexible. Being able to go from one end of the island to the other, find out all about the history and some other tasty insights, you can get off at the end and take your time coming back the way you came using the local transportation as many times as you like. I'd definitely lower some of the prices of food and other items on the island if I were in charge but I guess the economy warrants it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Pbaileyhb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fabulous time on this tour. Mudbrick Vineyard was amazing. This is one of the most beautiful vineyards I've ever seen. Prepare to hick to the top of the property for an amazing view of the whole island. Oh, and the wine was good too! We also went to a winery called Stonyridge. That's where we had lunch. It was delicious! One of our stops was to an olive tasting. It was so good that we had to bring some home. What really helped make this a wonderful trip was tour guide. She was fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wine tasting was fantastic! We had Evelyn as tour guide for the day and she was adorable. The wines and the olive oil from the four places we went to were great, regretted now buying more!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

zon05454

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was absolutely beautiful seeing the birds! The guide was very knowledgable. It was somewhat difficult to walk the steep inclines with my bad knees but the views were spectacular!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic trip from leaving the quay side on the ferry. The skipper of the boat was brilliant provided commentary whilst going along the coast and coming in to dock. Our guide Gill was amazing! the guided walk should have been 1hr 30mins, however, she spent about 3 hours with us as we walked from the beach to the top of the hill to the lighthouse. She pointed out birds, told us which birds we could hear and showed us some penguin nesting boxes one of which actually had a penguin in it. Be sure to take a packed lunch in a backpack because you do not get back to Auckland until about 5pm. Although complimentary tea and coffee are provided when you get to the lighthouse and visitor centre and there is a shop here too, proceeds go directly to the upkeep of the island. Loved our day there thank you again Gill.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

June M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was wonderful to see the birds up so close and to have the tour guide explain a great deal about the history of the island and the flora and fauna. Not overly touristy, so that was refreshing.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Cheryl F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a very fun and informative tour. We enjoyed tasting the wines, olive oils, and beer. It gave us a good overview of the island. We stayed behind for a while and used the bus service to return to the ferry.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Louis W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It is a great trip with good guide. A must go.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Liz S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Overall, I thought the tour was good but I am not sure I would book it again. There were a lot of people on the tour and I think I would have preferred a smaller group experience. We had to wait for a second ferry which delayed our departure so we felt rushed through lunch and had to play catch up the rest of the day. My hands down favorite was Wild on Waiheke - the owner was lovely, great samples of beer and wine and would have preferred to have lunch there. The Mudbrick vineyard was nice as well but a bit rushed. I just didn't feel the overall value for the ticket cost was very good. Our tour host was very knowledgeable, funny and pleasant but overall, if you have done previous wine tours - you might be disappointed with the tastings, pace and large group.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great, however one could not use the e-ticket feature a paper ticket must be presented
at the time of travel to the island. Fortunately the young lady at the booking counter in Aukland was able to get us tickets. Disaster avoided.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Kelly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great wine, beer, and olive oil and the views are spectacular!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

diane-crow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Each of the wineries as well as the olive oil facility were fabulous. The wines were delicious I just wish I could get them in Texas. The staff were generous and accommodating and we had a great time.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Dandre D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The volunteers have done an amazing job of preserving this island, and our volunteer tour guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Saw birds we had never seen before. REally great trip for eco-conscious travelers, bird watchers, hikers, just plain fun seekers!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Ms K B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous island, but our volunteer guide was not willing to modify her set routine to cater for three birdwatchers who clearly were focused on locating rare beautiful endemic birdlife. Sadly, this wasted valuable time, and we lucked out on potential opportunities to spot birdlife seen nowhere else. The island is deserving of its reputation and status as a must visit location. It is wonderful to see so many volunteers keen to preserve and nurture endemic NZ flora and fauna. And, I managed to buy a coveted hand made kakapo beanie at the very reasonably priced shop - where purchases all contribute to ongoing work with endangered birds and work on the island. Overall, highly recommended, but be careful to select a guide compatible with your area/s of interest, as the day goes fast and before you know it, you are back in Auckland! Don't forget to pack a lunch, and have a rain poncho handy just in case the weather turns.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

erinrosejonasson

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a rainy day when we went on this tour so that affected it. This would have been way better if it was a nice sunny day out. Some of the things we weren't able to do because of the weather which of course isn't their fault but was a bit of a bummer. We were also a bit rushed at each spot and I am not sure if that is because we were running behind or if that's just how it usually is. All in all I don't regret doing this tour and would still recommend and wish you the best for a nice sunny day. The lunch was also great and the island is beautiful.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful day. The ferry trip to the island was great and a nice way to see Auckland from the water. The properties we visited were varied and showed off the produce of the island extremely well. The lunch supplied at the first vineyard was very tasty. It was a great day out and we were back in Auckland by 4.45pm after another great ferry ride

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Sacha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just an incredible experience !

Doing what: Auckland Helicopter Tour and Waiheke Island Winery Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message