Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 221 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yiying D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour on this island, it is very impressive for the volunteer Mr John, who is an gentlemen but knowledgeable, professional ,he took care of everyone in very details, especially he noticed we are from China, speak very clearly and little slowly, sothat we can get most of his speaking . It is wonderful tour to this island we learnt lot of history about this island and knowledge about various birds ,we are lucky we saw most of the kinds of birds living on the island. especially we were educated by these volunteers on how to be environment friendly. Again , appreciated all the hard work by John!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Sylvia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a very fun and fully packed adventure! Lots of good wine was consumed. The views from the wineries were spectacular! Only wish we could have spent a little more time at each winery.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Zoe R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The trip was amazing. The guided tour was outstanding - both the botanical and bird information exceeded my expectations. The time flew by. Don't forget to take water and lunch.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

mindywiener

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wish I had brought my bathing suit so we could have gone for a quick swim before returning home to downtown Auckland. . Lovely place and would definitely recommend this to bird enthusiasts

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Miriam V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Love this tour! Nice and funny bus driver, no rush, good organised, delicious lunch under olive trees and very good wines at each of the three vineyards. I would do this tour again!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A truly remarkable Island! Our guide, Hester, was fabulous, really knew her flora and fauna. We felt like we were in a different world surrounded by beautiful birds. Easy to walk around and explore. Just stunning...I and #39;m pretty sure we will be back!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Sabrina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Tiritiri Island is the perfect spot for some birdwatching and I absolutely recommend the guided walk. There was the option between a 1.5 or 2.5 hours guided walk and there was no surcharge if you wanted to take the longer walk. The volunteers had a great knowledge about the birds and nature and the hours flew by quickly.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

cmberk

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Good tour visiting wineries. Only problem was that they didn't stay on schedule so we had to skip the third winery on the tour so we could catch to the ferry to the mainland in order to return to our cruise ship on time.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Gerald W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Great if you are a bird lover / watcher. Otherwise, just OK

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Educational, delicious and varied in the type of vineyards. A wonderful tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

K L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well worth the money. To experience how New Zealand birdlife once was, was magic!! We were very lucky with the weather and the ferry ride with Team NZ training in the harbour right along side of us. The work the volunteers have done clearing and establishing the tracks after the great eradication of pests 30 years ago should be recognised by the NZ public as well as their continued dedication.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Chelsea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The beautiful scenery of Waiheke island was definitely a highlight!! The tour was run very well, with an informative local guide/bus driver. The wineries that we stopped at had stunning surroundings and great wine. The ease of not having to research where to go or having to select a designated driver makes the tour well worth it!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had such a wonderful day on Waiheke Island. Our guide was exceptional, the island is lovely, the wine tasting so much fun and delicious. This is a must do when you are in Auckland..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Donald J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Being a birder, this tour did not disappoint. The ferry ride was a great start for the island exploration of all things natural. Upon reaching the island, the large group was separated into groups of approx. ten with the opportunity to have a tour of greatest interest. The volunteer guiding our group was very knowledgeable about many aspects of the island. So it was an excellent learning experience covering history, vegetation, as well as birds. The weather also cooperated to make for great memories.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Leona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun! Our guide, Jocelyn, was amazing! The 3 vineyards were interesting although you should know that there is a very steep climb at Mudbrick you can stay below but then you miss out on tasting the second wine. Lunch at Stoney Ridge was a nice quiche and allowed some time to get to know some of our fellow tour members. One thing to note before you go - at the ferry get in line where there is a flag for tour groups rather than the general boarding line.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

mitchell s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Absolutely fantastic! One of the most beautiful islands in the world!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jacinta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing to say the least...Our tour guide was a lovely lady also.. The vineyards are amazing .. Cannot recommend this trip enough :

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent way to tour Waiheke and learn about local food and wine. Top marks.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

David R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Only so so. The driver was good but it was a big bus full of people - a smaller group would be better. For some reason we were always running late even though we started on time. wineries only ok. lunch only so so. Olive farm though was excellent. Learnt a lot there. The return ferry line up and timetable was very badly organised - a long wait and a scrum to get on and get a seat. having said that - it would be hard to get around to the wineries on the island by public transport.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Mary d

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very organized operators. Nice weather, beautiful vineyards. Our guide seemed good, but we realized that there was some misinformation as she told us a particular store was duty free. We went to that store and bought things, and then the cashier told us that there store was not duty free and that there was no such duty free stores on the island.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

mnsweeps

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to Tiri was awesome. I just got the tickets from Viator as I had a 10 off coupon. You can purchase them directly from 360 Discovery for same price..Basically Viator purchase doesn't add any value to purchase itself unless you have a coupon.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

SYLVIA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed, had a wonderful day, the tour itself was enough, some stayed longer to visit the township but alot caught ferry back after last winery. A great day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What at wonderful trip. Scenery amazing, wineries and lunch beautiful, and bus driver fantastic. A good time was had by all and I would say this is a not to be missed trip when visiting Auckland and surrounds. This trip was certainly the highlight of our time in the North Island of New Zealand.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Kalpana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the highlight of my visit! I was struck by the sheer dedication of the volunteers who have brought the flora and Fauna of this island back. We saw the pictures of the barren landscape in 1984! We heard and saw so many of the native birds listed as living on the island.
Bring a good camera along! Every visitor to New Zealand should see this lovely little paradise!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message