Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 297 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Educational, delicious and varied in the type of vineyards. A wonderful tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

K L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well worth the money. To experience how New Zealand birdlife once was, was magic!! We were very lucky with the weather and the ferry ride with Team NZ training in the harbour right along side of us. The work the volunteers have done clearing and establishing the tracks after the great eradication of pests 30 years ago should be recognised by the NZ public as well as their continued dedication.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Iris B. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Definitely recommended. We got to go on a private tour bus after our beautiful boat ride to the island. The tour was very informative and entertaining. We got to see most of the island and had time to take pictures.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Chelsea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The beautiful scenery of Waiheke island was definitely a highlight!! The tour was run very well, with an informative local guide/bus driver. The wineries that we stopped at had stunning surroundings and great wine. The ease of not having to research where to go or having to select a designated driver makes the tour well worth it!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had such a wonderful day on Waiheke Island. Our guide was exceptional, the island is lovely, the wine tasting so much fun and delicious. This is a must do when you are in Auckland..

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Donald J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Being a birder, this tour did not disappoint. The ferry ride was a great start for the island exploration of all things natural. Upon reaching the island, the large group was separated into groups of approx. ten with the opportunity to have a tour of greatest interest. The volunteer guiding our group was very knowledgeable about many aspects of the island. So it was an excellent learning experience covering history, vegetation, as well as birds. The weather also cooperated to make for great memories.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Leona C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun! Our guide, Jocelyn, was amazing! The 3 vineyards were interesting although you should know that there is a very steep climb at Mudbrick you can stay below but then you miss out on tasting the second wine. Lunch at Stoney Ridge was a nice quiche and allowed some time to get to know some of our fellow tour members. One thing to note before you go - at the ferry get in line where there is a flag for tour groups rather than the general boarding line.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

David R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Only so so. The driver was good but it was a big bus full of people - a smaller group would be better. For some reason we were always running late even though we started on time. wineries only ok. lunch only so so. Olive farm though was excellent. Learnt a lot there. The return ferry line up and timetable was very badly organised - a long wait and a scrum to get on and get a seat. having said that - it would be hard to get around to the wineries on the island by public transport.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Mary d

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Very organized operators. Nice weather, beautiful vineyards. Our guide seemed good, but we realized that there was some misinformation as she told us a particular store was duty free. We went to that store and bought things, and then the cashier told us that there store was not duty free and that there was no such duty free stores on the island.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

mnsweeps

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to Tiri was awesome. I just got the tickets from Viator as I had a 10 off coupon. You can purchase them directly from 360 Discovery for same price..Basically Viator purchase doesn't add any value to purchase itself unless you have a coupon.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was exactly as describe. The ferry ride over was beautiful. Our tour guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. The island was beyond our expectations. We used the all day bus pass to visit one of the towns we saw on the tour. The beaches are beautiful and so is the scenery. So glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

SYLVIA G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed, had a wonderful day, the tour itself was enough, some stayed longer to visit the township but alot caught ferry back after last winery. A great day.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

What at wonderful trip. Scenery amazing, wineries and lunch beautiful, and bus driver fantastic. A good time was had by all and I would say this is a not to be missed trip when visiting Auckland and surrounds. This trip was certainly the highlight of our time in the North Island of New Zealand.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Malou Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Everything is on time. The tour driver is very jolly and gave us lots of information. The island is great!

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Kalpana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the highlight of my visit! I was struck by the sheer dedication of the volunteers who have brought the flora and Fauna of this island back. We saw the pictures of the barren landscape in 1984! We heard and saw so many of the native birds listed as living on the island.
Bring a good camera along! Every visitor to New Zealand should see this lovely little paradise!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Katherine B K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! Loved all the vineyards that we stopped at as well as the olive grove. The lunch was very good, and the views from one of the wineries were fantastic! Josselyn, our guide/bus driver was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed this day!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoy birding, but we enjoyed the hiking as much as the birding on this trip. The ferry ride to the Island was also very enjoyable, with great views of Aukland.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Mackenzie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One word. SEAN. This tour has a lot of driving, but it's absolutely worth it. A crazy train, a hot spring beach, fantastic lunch and some stops in little towns that you'd never seen on a bigger tour. This includes some of the best views I've ever experienced and Sean is so knowledgeable about any and everything New Zealand. He made the tour. I can't say that I've ever had such a pleasant, intelligent and thoughtful tour guide in all of my travels. What a beautiful country and wonderful tour... ask Sean to stop at the pig farm so that you can pat the pigs!

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

qsnipe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a beautiful Island! The tour was very informative and very flexible. Being able to go from one end of the island to the other, find out all about the history and some other tasty insights, you can get off at the end and take your time coming back the way you came using the local transportation as many times as you like. I'd definitely lower some of the prices of food and other items on the island if I were in charge but I guess the economy warrants it.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Pbaileyhb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a fabulous time on this tour. Mudbrick Vineyard was amazing. This is one of the most beautiful vineyards I've ever seen. Prepare to hick to the top of the property for an amazing view of the whole island. Oh, and the wine was good too! We also went to a winery called Stonyridge. That's where we had lunch. It was delicious! One of our stops was to an olive tasting. It was so good that we had to bring some home. What really helped make this a wonderful trip was tour guide. She was fabulous!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The wine tasting was fantastic! We had Evelyn as tour guide for the day and she was adorable. The wines and the olive oil from the four places we went to were great, regretted now buying more!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

zon05454

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was absolutely beautiful seeing the birds! The guide was very knowledgable. It was somewhat difficult to walk the steep inclines with my bad knees but the views were spectacular!

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Dawn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic trip from leaving the quay side on the ferry. The skipper of the boat was brilliant provided commentary whilst going along the coast and coming in to dock. Our guide Gill was amazing! the guided walk should have been 1hr 30mins, however, she spent about 3 hours with us as we walked from the beach to the top of the hill to the lighthouse. She pointed out birds, told us which birds we could hear and showed us some penguin nesting boxes one of which actually had a penguin in it. Be sure to take a packed lunch in a backpack because you do not get back to Auckland until about 5pm. Although complimentary tea and coffee are provided when you get to the lighthouse and visitor centre and there is a shop here too, proceeds go directly to the upkeep of the island. Loved our day there thank you again Gill.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

June M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was wonderful to see the birds up so close and to have the tour guide explain a great deal about the history of the island and the flora and fauna. Not overly touristy, so that was refreshing.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message