Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Hauraki Gulf Islands

The sixteen Hauraki Islands are scattered off the coast of Auckland in Hauraki Bay. Auckland’s summer playground, they contain some lovely places to get away from it all and indulge in walking, horse riding, swimming, eating and drinking.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gregory W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great, however one could not use the e-ticket feature a paper ticket must be presented
at the time of travel to the island. Fortunately the young lady at the booking counter in Aukland was able to get us tickets. Disaster avoided.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Kelly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great wine, beer, and olive oil and the views are spectacular!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

diane-crow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Each of the wineries as well as the olive oil facility were fabulous. The wines were delicious I just wish I could get them in Texas. The staff were generous and accommodating and we had a great time.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Ms K B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous island, but our volunteer guide was not willing to modify her set routine to cater for three birdwatchers who clearly were focused on locating rare beautiful endemic birdlife. Sadly, this wasted valuable time, and we lucked out on potential opportunities to spot birdlife seen nowhere else. The island is deserving of its reputation and status as a must visit location. It is wonderful to see so many volunteers keen to preserve and nurture endemic NZ flora and fauna. And, I managed to buy a coveted hand made kakapo beanie at the very reasonably priced shop - where purchases all contribute to ongoing work with endangered birds and work on the island. Overall, highly recommended, but be careful to select a guide compatible with your area/s of interest, as the day goes fast and before you know it, you are back in Auckland! Don't forget to pack a lunch, and have a rain poncho handy just in case the weather turns.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

erinrosejonasson

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a rainy day when we went on this tour so that affected it. This would have been way better if it was a nice sunny day out. Some of the things we weren't able to do because of the weather which of course isn't their fault but was a bit of a bummer. We were also a bit rushed at each spot and I am not sure if that is because we were running behind or if that's just how it usually is. All in all I don't regret doing this tour and would still recommend and wish you the best for a nice sunny day. The lunch was also great and the island is beautiful.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a wonderful day. The ferry trip to the island was great and a nice way to see Auckland from the water. The properties we visited were varied and showed off the produce of the island extremely well. The lunch supplied at the first vineyard was very tasty. It was a great day out and we were back in Auckland by 4.45pm after another great ferry ride

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Sacha P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Just an incredible experience !

Doing what: Auckland Helicopter Tour and Waiheke Island Winery Lunch

carrickroads

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great boat trip, visit and tour to Tiritiri Matangi Island. Saw and identified lots of birds.
It was a full day and well worth it.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

irenetpete

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent vineyards and a beautiful tour of the island. Most places only let you taste about 2 wines though, it would be nice if you got to try more wines for the price of this tour.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

djb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you like bird watching this is a great place to go. We took the guided walk for the first part. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and plants. We saw some rare birds and had a super day. I would recommend buying the map of the island with the trails on it. Also keep track of your time to get back to the ferry.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Guilherme R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really cool.
Glenn, the tour guide, is a real funny chap.
Great scenic, good route and sights.
a bit over priced though.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Richard N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wineries were a little disappoining was really looking forward but only the last stop was worth the time. Tour driver was very informative

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Jessica A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Loved it! had to use our imagination because it wasn't sunny! also wish there was a few more places to visit, wouldn't really call it food and wine tasting tour, more wine tasting with some lunch : our Tour lady was lovely!!!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Lynn C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice tour. Wine and food were good.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Lynn C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very nice tour. Wine and food were good.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Monica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing! Did the guided walk and it was spectacular.

Doing what: Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk

Sandee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ferry and bus tour around the island were great with options to be dropped off anywhere and picked up later. I would like to have been dropped off for wine tasting but it was raining so I chose to stay on the bus.

Doing what: Waiheke Island Tour from Auckland

Kirstin E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great and the guide was very funny and informed, however it felt very rushed as one of the wineries was having a wedding so we finished early.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Suellen W

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent. Amazing lunch at Stonyridge Vineyard. Wild on Waiheke was superb!

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Coralie v

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a nice trip, but.... it was very rushed, I think it would have been nice to have a little longer at each place to have the time to drink a glass of wine at leisure. The people that did purchase a glass tended to end up either leaving it or skulling it.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

dotherring

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

It was a good tour, but if you have the time, I would recommend spending more than a day in Coromandel because there is so much to see and do. Warren was a very good guide, but it was just a long time spent in the van.

Doing what: Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A special city friendly, great hotel and wonderful food. Great side trips

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Taryn C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I will start off and say that our guide and driver, David, was great - entertaining and knowledgeable. However, the tour was listed as 'food and wine tasting'. A title like that makes you assume you will have a variety of both food and wine, but that was not the case. We were given lunch at our first winery, which was nice, but that was the only food we had. Olive oil tastings during the tour doesn't qualify for me as food tasting.

As for the 'wine tastings', we had 6 tastings of wine. We have done several wine tastings around the world and never have we had such a small sampling of wine. At our first winery, Stonyridge we were given two tastings before lunch. At our second winery, Wild on Waiheke, we were given ONE sample of wine! That winery happened to brew beer and they provided 2 beer samples and a non-alcoholic ginger beer. We love craft beer and had actually done a beer tour the previous day, but we signed up for a WINE tour. The last winery, Mudbrick, was the best of the three and also had the best wines, but we were still only given 3 varieties of wine.

While at Mudbrick, we noticed that you could try 5 wines 3 of which we had for just 10 NZD 7 USD. If you can get 5 tastings for this price, what did our money actually go to? At each winery we were given the option to buy more samples, but this should be part of a wine tour in the first place, but there also wasn't very much time at each winery if you did want to buy more wine.

If you want to actually taste a variety of wines, I would recommend a different tour or take the ferry yourself to Waiheke and take the bus, a cab, or rent bikes to get to the wineries. All-in-all a big disappointment.

Doing what: Food and Wine-Tasting Tour of Waiheke Island from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message