Auckland ATTRACTIONS See all

Museum of Transport and Technology

For some Auckland travelers, the best part of the city is walking by the waterfront and perusing the rows of sailboats. For others, the best part of Auckland is touring the islands or heading out west to the coast. For aviation and locomotive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jamie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend this tour, as well as getting the two-day version. It's a great way to get a feel for the layout of the city and where all the touristy things are. But make sure you plan ahead and know what you want to try. The bus only stops at each location once per hour basically, it's the same bus making a loop 6 or 7 times a day. So you'd better be there at that time, or try again in an hour. There are also two different loops or paths that the buses take, and they see different things around the city the common point is the History Museum. I recommend both loops, mostly for a great way to see the city and surrounds and for picking out highlights and popular areas that you'd like to visit.

This Tour is most advantageous if you only take one hour or two at each of the 8-9 stops on each loop. This will enable you to get on/off at almost every destination. However, if you have small kids who don't move fast, or perhaps you want to spend several hours at the aquarium or the museum or whatever, then don't plan to use this as your main way of transportation on that day. If you plan to spend several hours in one location, then this Tour is a waste of your money to just be simply used as a mode of transport. Take the bus or a taxi. But the price of this Tour is wasted if you only use it to get to one location. This is because the bus doesn't start running until 9:30am, and stops 3:30pm.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent, we were able to get around the city easily, although a little disappointed as we wanted to visit the MOTAT museum. We got to the stop only to be informed it was closed. We wish the driver had mentioned this at the pick up.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Gwenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the flexabilty of the two routes. The driver on the blue route gave us additional information other than the commentary. Great way to see the highlights of Auckland if you have limited time and no transport. Would recommend

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Noel T W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Took you to places you couldn't reach by local transport loved the views from Mt Eden

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Catriona J M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I've used hop on, hop off in many cities and this was a little different - less frequent buses (one an hour or one per half hour) and the advantage that the two days need not be consecutive. The commentary was short and sweet, the stops well chosen and staff helpful. Really useful not just for 'orientaton' but also to get transport to attractions. Good value even if a little dearer than other places.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Edith V Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

I love the tour. But, I was hoping for an open air transport.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Christopher H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

An expensive exercise for the benefit. Auckland has a good transport system. We will just use local transport next time.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Stephen J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

We arrived in Auckland on the Dawn Princess at the same time as the Voyager of the Seas so there were more than 5000 cruise tourists in port on one day. The Hop on Hop off bus was woefully underprepared for this. We took more than 40 minutes to board the bus at the first stop. By the time we boarded, the queue behind us was much longer than when we had joined it, so those clients would have had an even longer wait than we did. The lots more buses are coming did not arrive. Passengers were not able to join the bus at subsequent stops as the buses were already full. After spending time at Kelly Tarlton's Aquarium we rejoined the bus, but some of our party were disinclined to leave again in fear that we would be spending our day in very long queues standing at bus stops in the rain. The extremely long queue at the Museum justified this fear so we skipped the blue circuit entirely and continued on to Skytower where we left the bus and continued our sightseeing on foot. The theory of the Hop on Hop off bus is good, but in practice without enough buses to allow people to actually hop on and off it is a very inefficient way to see Auckland. In our particular case it just ended up being expensive transport to the aquarium. I'm sure someone should have known there were 2 ships due in port and more buses should have been ready early in the day. If passengers had been able to easily get onto buses at the beginning they would have been more inclined to get off again at the various stops and the whole procedure would have run much more smoothly.

Doing what: Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message